A close look at the Zebec card: three tiers, one Mastercard prepaid shape, and a funding model that leans on your crypto wallet

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Zebec card is a Mastercard prepaid product sold in three tiers, each aimed at a different spending bracket and geographic reach. What sets it apart from most crypto cards on the market is the breadth of tokens it accepts for funding: Zebec’s own materials describe “180+ tokens across 21+ blockchains.” That range is unusual, and it shapes the card’s appeal as much as the fee structure does. This review walks through who can actually get one, what it costs to run day to day, how the top-up flow works in practice, and the questions the company’s public pages do not answer.

Zebec works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

The Zebec card earns a score of 7.1 out of 10 in the rubric used for this review. That total reflects a product that is flexible on the funding side but thin on the disclosures a cardholder normally expects from a payments provider.

Criterion Mark Notes
Who can get it 8 / 10 Silver covers the US, Canada, the UK and the EU (except Malta); Carbon USD International reaches 90+ countries; Black is global, subject to sanctions
Cost 8 / 10 Silver and Carbon carry no stated sign-up or transaction fees, though Carbon’s terms flag this as a promo; Black charges activation, top-up and monthly fees
Top-up options 9 / 10 Funded from the Zebec wallet across 180+ tokens and 21+ blockchains, the widest range of any card in this comparison
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 No public issuer, BIN sponsor, or legal entity is named; no user complaints or reviews were found; a third-party directory gives 3.3/5
Everyday use 5 / 10 All tiers support Apple Pay and Google Pay; physical card and ATM access are not described on the public pages

The card suits people whose primary need is to spend a wide range of crypto tokens through a familiar Mastercard rail, and who can live with a product whose issuer and custody arrangements are not publicly documented. It does not suit anyone who needs a transparent fee schedule, a clearly identified issuing bank, or a track record of consumer complaints to lean on. If you want a card backed by a named EMI with a published dispute process, the alternatives section points to products that fit that description better.

Who will they give you the card?

Eligibility for every Zebec tier is set by country of residence, not by citizenship. The “issue location” is the country where you declare your home address and submit your application, and the public pages do not describe a separate citizenship screen. Several jurisdictions appear on the approved list for one tier and on the restricted list for another, so it is worth reading the geography carefully before you start a sign-up.

Silver in USD is offered in the United States, Canada, Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa and the Northern Mariana Islands. Silver in GBP and Carbon in GBP cover the United Kingdom, Gibraltar, Guernsey, the Isle of Man and Jersey. Silver in EUR and Carbon in EUR cover the European Union member states, with Malta as the single stated exception. Carbon USD International extends to 90+ countries outside the US and Canada, with Japan, Singapore, Brazil, Kenya and Uruguay named as examples. Black is described as global, subject to sanctions.

There is an internal inconsistency worth flagging: the Carbon page describes its international rollout as covering “over 70 countries,” while the broader availability page puts the number at “90+.” Official pages disagree, and the higher figure is the one that governs what you will actually be offered at sign-up.

Restrictions also apply to where the card can be used, which is a separate question from where you can hold one. Cards “cannot be used” in a compliance list that includes the Russian Federation and Belarus, alongside Iran, Cuba, Syria and North Korea. The restriction is on the location of the transaction, not on your nationality, so a card issued in a permitted country still declines in those territories.

The minimum age, the list of accepted identity documents, the proof-of-address rules, and the exact KYC processing time for Silver and Carbon are not stated on the public pages. Silver’s blog mentions “limited KYC based on address” and activation “in seconds” with email confirmation; Black’s documentation says KYC information must be submitted before activation. A regional phone number in the issue country is required for Silver (SMS tokens for two-factor authentication), while Carbon USD International uses email tokens instead. If you do not have a local SIM in the region where you live, that alone can rule you out of the Silver tier.

How to get it

The card is ordered inside Zebec’s Web or Mobile SuperApp and funded from the Zebec wallet. There is no separate bank or exchange to register with first, and no third-party card-issuer sign-up flow. The three tiers are all Mastercard prepaid products, and they differ in reloadability, spending cap, and the geographies they cover rather than in the network they ride on.

Silver is a single-use card. Each issuance produces a new card number, and the load range is $10 to $1,000 with a maximum balance of $1,000. Carbon is reloadable, keeps the same number between top-ups, and operates in USD, EUR or GBP. Black is a premium reloadable card denominated in USD; the Black page also lists EUR and USD cards and says other fiat currencies are planned, though the underlying documentation describes Black as USD-only. Black is positioned for high spenders, enterprises and invited users.

The form factor is not stated on the official pages. The documentation describes digital activation only, and Black’s page refers to activation “in under a minute” after KYC, citing 30 seconds. A third-party directory, CryptoCardHub, describes the cards as virtual with a physical card “planned / not widely distributed.” Treat that as unofficial and not confirmed by Zebec itself.

Delivery time, where the card is shipped from, and any associated shipping fees are not stated. The public pages describe digital activation only, so for now the safest assumption is that you receive a card number and a set of tokenised wallet credentials rather than a piece of plastic in the post.

Fees

The cost story differs sharply between tiers, and the headline is that the two entry-level products are described as free, while the premium one is not.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Zebec payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Silver Carbon Black
Issuance / sign-up None stated None stated (no-fee promo, subject to change) Activation fee (amount not stated)
Monthly fee None stated None stated $1 monthly (per Black documentation)
Transaction fee None stated None stated (promo) Top-up fee “approximately 2%,” $0.30 per-transaction fee
FX / conversion Variable FX fees may apply; rates vary by token Variable FX fees may apply; rates vary by token Gas, crypto conversion and exchange fees variable and additional
ATM withdrawal Not stated Not stated Not stated
Minimum load $10 $10 Not stated
Load limit per top-up $1,000 $1,000 / £1,000 / €1,000 on the cards page; $10,000 USD on the Carbon page Up to $10,000
Maximum balance $1,000 $10,000 / £5,000 / €5,000 $50,000
Daily spend Not stated separately $10,000 (USD) Not stated separately

The most useful everyday illustration is a simple one. Buy a coffee in the same currency as your card: a Silver user with a USD card paying a US merchant in dollars sees no sign-up fee, no transaction fee and no FX conversion. The only cost is whatever the merchant charges for the goods. The same Silver user paying a merchant in Tokyo, by contrast, triggers a foreign-exchange step: the public pages say “variable FX fees may apply” and that the crypto-to-fiat conversion rate varies by token, but the exact percentage is not stated. The closest the documentation comes to a rule of thumb is the Silver blog’s note that FX fees can be avoided by matching the card’s denomination to the funding currency, which means a EUR card funded by EUR stablecoins is the cheapest way to spend euros.

A second illustration is the kind of monthly spending that a Carbon user is actually designed for. With a $10,000 maximum balance and a $10,000 daily spend limit, the tier is built for someone who pays rent in stablecoins or runs subscription services in fiat. The Carbon page itself flags the no-fee arrangement as a promo that may change, so the published zero is not a guarantee for the life of the card.

A third illustration is Black. The published numbers are an activation fee of $1, a monthly fee of $1, a top-up fee “approximately 2%,” and a $0.30 per-transaction fee. To those are added gas (the blockchain’s own network fee), crypto-conversion fees, and exchange fees that are described as variable. The disclosure “approximately 2%” is a reminder that the precise figure depends on the funding path and the token you are converting from.

One thing the public pages do not say is what an ATM withdrawal costs, or whether ATM access exists at all. The same goes for inactivity fees, replacement-card fees, and the fee for a declined transaction. If those matter to you, you have to ask support before you fund the card.

Top up

The card is funded from the Zebec wallet, and that wallet accepts 180+ tokens across 21+ blockchains. The list of specific coins is not published, which is unusual and means a prospective user cannot check in advance whether their preferred token is supported: you have to start a sign-up and see what the app offers.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Zebec starts with a transfer to the right network

The minimum load is $10. The maximum per top-up depends on the tier: $1,000 for Silver; $1,000 / £1,000 / €1,000 on the cards page for Carbon, with the Carbon page itself citing $10,000 USD per load; up to $10,000 for Black. The maximum balance follows the same pattern: $1,000 for Silver, $10,000 / £5,000 / €5,000 for Carbon, and $50,000 for Black.

On Black, the published top-up fee is “approximately 2%” with a $0.30 per-transaction fee on top. On Silver and Carbon, the top-up fee is not stated by amount, only as “variable FX fees may apply” and “conversion rates vary by token.” In practice that means the only cost you can predict is the blockchain’s own network fee, which is charged by the network and not by Zebec, and which changes with congestion. The cleanest funding path on the cheaper tiers is a stablecoin transfer on a low-fee network: a USDC transfer on a chain where gas is cheap at the time you send it. The riskier path is a token whose price moves between the time you initiate the transfer and the time it confirms, because Zebec converts at the rate in force when the deposit lands, not when you click send.

A direct fiat top-up from a bank account or card is not stated. The funding model is wallet-to-card, not bank-to-card, so you have to own crypto first.

Paying with it every day

Every Zebec tier is a Mastercard prepaid product, and every tier supports Apple Pay and Google Pay. That is the part of the everyday-use story that the public pages actually describe. The card can be added to a tokenised mobile wallet in the same way as any other Mastercard, and once it is there, the phone pays at contactless terminals while the card number itself stays hidden from the merchant.

A few everyday questions the documentation does not answer. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, so it is not clear from the public pages whether gambling, crypto purchases, or cash advances are restricted. The dispute and chargeback process is not described: the public pages list only a support email address, and there is no mention of reason codes, response windows, or a refund path for goods not received. If you need a card with a documented dispute procedure, this is one of the gaps to weigh.

There is no cashback programme. Rewards are limited to staking the native $ZBCN token, which the documentation describes as earning “extra rewards” without naming a rate. If you do not already hold $ZBCN, the rewards side of the product is essentially a blank.

The app itself is published as the Zebec Mobile SuperApp on iOS and Android, with a Web SuperApp as well. The App Store listing in the UAE shows a 5.0/5 average from two ratings, in English, as of 2026-10-20. The Google Play listing for the package name com.zebecrn does not publish a rating on the official store page. The user base, then, is small enough that the stars are not yet meaningful.

A small note on the Black tier: its public page currently shows the site as “temporarily offline for upgrades” with an expected resumption in Spring 2026, and a separate note that the UK is restricted pending regulatory review. The status of the relaunch after that date is not confirmed in the materials read here.

What can go wrong

The most important risk to understand is the gap in published information. The legal entity behind the card is not disclosed. The card issuer, in the sense of the bank or e-money institution licensed to issue under Mastercard’s licence, is not named. The BIN sponsor, which is the institution whose BIN range the card numbers come from, is not identified on the public pages. Mastercard appears only as a partner logo, which is the network brand rather than the issuer. For a product that holds a stored balance, the absence of a named issuer makes it harder to know whose prudential supervision applies, where customer funds are safeguarded, and which jurisdiction’s complaint procedure you would use if something went wrong.

The second risk is the complaint record. No official incidents are listed by Zebec. A user-level search did not surface Trustpilot reviews or Reddit threads specific to the Zebec card, and the absence of complaints is not the same as a clean record. The third-party directory CryptoCardHub rates Zebec Card at 3.3 out of 5 and ranks it #23 of 86 in its comparison. That is the only external data point this review found.

The third risk is custody. Zebec’s materials describe the wallet as separate from the app, with a non-custodial connection to the card, and state that the card balance is held with the card programme. The custody of the card balance itself, in the sense of who holds the customer funds at the programme level, is not stated. A user who funds the card from a non-custodial wallet keeps control of the private keys until the moment of conversion; from that point on, control moves to the programme’s books.

The fourth risk is operational. Black’s page shows the site offline for upgrades, with resumption expected in Spring 2026 and the UK restricted pending regulatory review. Carbon launched with Mastercard on 27 March, and Silver is a relaunch of an earlier product called the Zebec Instant Card. There is no 2026 issuer change in the public record, but the combination of a relaunch and an offline premium tier is a reminder that the programme is younger than the marketing implies.

A fifth risk is process. The dispute and refund process is not documented on the cards, Black, or payees pages; the only contact listed is a support email. For a cardholder, that means a chargeback or a “goods not received” claim has no published timeline or escalation route.

The mitigations a user can apply are practical ones. Enable two-factor authentication, freeze the card from the app the moment a charge looks unfamiliar, keep the wallet balance smaller than the maximum you could afford to lose, and use the card for everyday spending rather than as a long-term store of value. For Black, freezing the card is done through the Mobilum app, and Mobilum is the backend processing partner.

What to take instead

Three cards that come up in the same comparison bracket, and what they offer that Zebec does not.

MetaMask Card (7.1 / 10). A Mastercard issued by Monovate, with Crypto Life as card provider, and a self-custody model that spends directly from a connected wallet. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories; US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per the FAQ. The virtual card is free, with no annual or maintenance fee; the Metal card is $199 a year. Cashback is paid in mUSD into a Money Account: 1% on the Virtual tier, headline 3% on Metal (footnote limits 3% to the first $10,000 spent, then 1%). A $FLY bonus of 5X (Virtual) or 7X (Metal) is available through the Blackbird dining app. Funding is direct from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT named. MetaMask’s strength is the named issuer and the published fee table; the trade-off is the narrower country list and the smaller token set.

KAST (6.1 / 10). A Visa product with up to 10 cards per user, in three programmes: Standard (Visa Platinum, no annual fee), Premium (Visa Infinite metal, $1,000 a year), and Private (Visa Infinite gold-plated, $10,000 a year). The residence-based eligibility list is shown only at KYC; citizenship and the ID you hold also matter, and the terms say a VPN does not bypass the rules. Stablecoin top-up is 0%, card spend in USD is 0%, and the non-USD FX fee is 0.5% to 1.75% depending on residence, transaction country and programme. Cashback is paid in USD on authorisation: Standard 1.5% on the first $2,000 a month, Premium 2% on the first $10,000, Private 3% on the first $40,000. KAST’s edge is the stablecoin-on-stablecoin simplicity; its trade-off is the steep annual fee on the upper tiers and the fact that the country list is only revealed at sign-up.

TokenPocket (5.8 / 10). A Visa debit for a list of European countries and a Mastercard debit for a separate list including Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan and the UK. The card runs on Arbitrum and is virtual; balances are in EUR24 and USD24. Apart from a partly-subsidised NFT creation fee, “TP Card does not charge any additional fees,” and a 1% fee applies to crypto deposits into the card, with the documentation saying it is later refunded through rewards or reduced transaction fees. TokenPocket’s strength is the geo spread on the Mastercard side; the trade-off is the unofficial-sounding nature of several fee claims and the absence of a physical card.

In short, MetaMask is the closest alternative if you want a named issuer, KAST if you want stablecoin-to-stablecoin simplicity with a published FX ladder, and TokenPocket if you want the broadest regional reach on the Mastercard side. None of the three matches Zebec on raw token breadth, and that is the trade you make when you choose them.

Who I would recommend it to

The card fits a specific reader. You already hold a diverse crypto portfolio across multiple chains, you want a single Mastercard prepaid product that can spend from any of those tokens without a manual swap on an exchange first, and you do not need a physical card or ATM access to make the product useful in your day-to-day. The Apple Pay and Google Pay support covers most of what a phone-based user actually does, and the load and balance limits on Silver and Carbon are generous enough for routine spending if you top up regularly.

The card does not fit a different reader. If you want a published fee schedule with exact percentages, a named issuer whose regulator you can look up, a documented chargeback and dispute process, a clear statement of where your card balance is held, or a cashback programme that is more than a token-staking rate, the public materials do not give you enough to make an informed decision. For that kind of transparency, the alternatives section is the better starting point.

The honest summary is that Zebec has built a card that is unusually flexible on the funding side, and is unusually opaque on the issuing and custody side. The score of 7.1 out of 10 reflects that combination. If the funding breadth is the thing that matters most to you, the card earns its place. If the issuer and the published terms matter more, you should look elsewhere.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Zebec card?

The Zebec card is a Mastercard prepaid product sold in three tiers (Silver, Carbon and Black) by the company behind the Zebec wallet. It is funded from crypto balances held in that wallet and supports spending through Apple Pay and Google Pay on every tier.

How does the Zebec card work?

You fund the card from a Zebec wallet balance by transferring a supported token on a supported blockchain. Zebec converts the deposit to the card’s fiat currency at the rate in force when the deposit confirms, and the card then spends that stored balance at any merchant that accepts Mastercard.

Is Zebec a bank?

Zebec is not described as a bank on its public pages. The legal entity, the card issuer and the BIN sponsor are not named, and Mastercard appears only as a partner logo rather than as the issuer.

Who owns Zebec?

The company’s ownership structure is not publicly disclosed. Zebec states that it has been building decentralised infrastructure since 2021, with 250+ enterprise clients and 50,000+ monthly users.

Is the Zebec card available in my country?

Silver USD covers the US, Canada, Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa and the Northern Mariana Islands. Silver and Carbon in GBP cover the UK, Gibraltar, Guernsey, the Isle of Man and Jersey. Silver and Carbon in EUR cover the EU except Malta. Carbon USD International extends to 90+ countries outside the US and Canada. Black is global, subject to sanctions. Cards cannot be used in a compliance list that includes Russia, Belarus, Iran, Cuba, Syria and North Korea.

How do I get a Zebec card?

Sign up inside the Zebec Web or Mobile SuperApp, complete KYC, and order a card from the in-app card section. Silver’s documentation describes limited KYC based on address and activation in seconds with email confirmation; Black’s documentation says KYC information must be submitted before activation.

Does the Zebec card require KYC?

Yes. The depth of KYC differs by tier. Silver uses limited KYC based on address, Carbon USD International uses email tokens for two-factor authentication, and Black requires a KYC submission before activation. The exact list of accepted documents is not stated on the public pages.

How do I top up a Zebec card?

Send a supported token from your Zebec wallet to the card’s funding address on a supported blockchain. The minimum load is $10, the maximum per top-up depends on the tier ($1,000 for Silver, up to $10,000 for Carbon and Black), and Black charges a top-up fee of approximately 2% plus a $0.30 per-transaction fee.

Is the Zebec card free?

Silver has no stated sign-up or transaction fees. Carbon has no stated sign-up or transaction fees, with the documentation flagging this as a promo that may change. Black charges an activation fee of $1, a monthly fee of $1, a top-up fee of approximately 2% and a $0.30 per-transaction fee. Variable FX and conversion fees may apply on every tier.

Is the Zebec card safe to use?

The card supports two-factor authentication, mobile-wallet tokenisation and, on Black, instant card freeze. The risk profile is shaped by the gaps in the public disclosures: no named issuer, no stated BIN sponsor, no documented dispute or chargeback process, and an external directory rating of 3.3 out of 5. As with any prepaid product whose issuer is not publicly identified, the safe approach is to keep the balance small and to treat the card as a spending tool rather than a store of value.

Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team