Pyypl card, reviewed for what it actually delivers

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Pyypl pitches itself as a way to spend crypto like everyday money: a prepaid Visa you load from digital assets, paired with a mobile app and tap-to-pay through the major phone wallets. The promise is appealing, especially if you cannot easily open a regular bank account. The reality, after working through the public information and the user feedback, is narrower than the marketing. The card is only sold in three countries, most of the numbers you would normally want (the cost of issuing the card, the FX markup, ATM fees) are deliberately hidden behind the app, and the people who have written in about it have a lot to say about frozen balances and unresponsive support.

Pyypl works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

This page is an independent review. I went through the legal pages, the support centre, the app store listings, the user reports and the regulatory filings to work out what the card actually does, who it suits and where it falls short. If you are deciding whether Pyypl is the right prepaid Visa for you, this should help you make that call with your eyes open.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Pyypl scores 5.0 out of 10. That figure is not a personal opinion: it is the rounded average of five sub-scores I kept, covering who can get the card, what it costs, how you top it up, how reliable it is and how it behaves day to day. The breakdown sits in the table below.

Criterion Score Why it lands there
Who can get it 3 / 10 Only residents of the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan can open an account; the public page no longer names individual countries beyond that.
Cost 7 / 10 “No monthly fees” is the headline, but the issuance fee, FX markup, crypto-conversion fee and ATM fee are not published; you only see them in the app.
Top-up options 3 / 10 Pyypl says “supported methods in your country” without listing them. Binance Pay is not confirmed on current pages.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Licensed by the Abu Dhabi FSRA, the Central Bank of Bahrain and the Astana Financial Services Authority; Trustpilot sits at 2.5 out of 5 across 828 reviews, with frozen funds and locked accounts the recurring themes.
Everyday use 7 / 10 A prepaid Visa with a digital card in-app, Apple Pay and Google Pay, spending in USD. No physical card or cashback mentioned.
Total 5.0 / 10

Pyypl is a reasonable fit if you live in one of the three licensed countries, you want a simple USD-denominated prepaid Visa, and you are comfortable that the real fees only appear once you have installed the app. It is a poor fit if you want a card that works globally, if transparent pricing matters to you, or if you need to be sure your funds are easy to withdraw. The recurring complaints about frozen balances and locked accounts are hard to ignore, and the alternative cards I look at later score higher precisely because they publish their fees and accept residents from far more countries.

Will they give you the card

The most important fact about Pyypl is also the easiest to miss on the homepage: Pyypl is licensed for money services only in the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain and Kazakhstan. The legal page says it in plain language: *“Pyypl services are currently available to residents of the countries in which we are licensed.”* If you are not a resident of one of those three countries, the rest of this review is mostly academic.

A few details are worth pulling out, because the website and the support centre describe the reach slightly differently:

Eligibility is based on residence, not citizenship, and you do not get to choose which country the app treats you as living in. If you are an expat in Dubai with a UAE residence visa, Pyypl is for you. If you are a Kazakhstani citizen living in London, it is not, because your residence, not your passport, is what counts.

A practical point that comes up in the user reports: Pyypl is the kind of service that can be pulled from your region with very little notice. Several Trustpilot reviews from 2025 describe the app being removed or refused at sign-up for users in countries that were not on the legal list. If you are considering Pyypl because you live in a country on the edge of its licence (say, another Gulf state or another Central Asian country), be aware that the answer today is no.

How to get it

Sign-up is designed to be quick, at least when the system cooperates. The public page promises that you can “open your account in minutes using just your phone and ID”. The actual checklist is:

There is a minimum age, but the figure is not published. The support centre does not state it. Proof of address is not mentioned in the documents I read, which is unusual for a regulated money-services business and likely reflects that the address check happens against your ID document rather than a separate utility bill.

What you actually get at the end of sign-up is a digital card, a prepaid Visa that lives in the Pyypl app. The page I read does not mention a physical card, only the in-app version. The card currency is US dollars, and that cannot be changed: other currencies are converted to USD at the moment of the transaction. If you want a card denominated in euros or dirhams, this is not it.

Verification is tiered in the sense that your “verification level” affects your spending and top-up limits, but Pyypl does not name the tiers on the public pages. You find out which level you are at by looking at the limits shown in your app (under Profile or Settings, alongside the fees). If additional checks are required, processing “may take some time”, and the company does not publish a service-level target. Rejection reasons are not stated either, which means a declined application can be a black box.

Two things follow from this. First, sign-up may indeed be quick, but only if your documents are clean and the system does not flag you for manual review. Second, the limits you can spend and load are not visible until you have installed the app, registered, and gone through verification. If you want to know the headline numbers before you commit, you cannot get them from the website.

What it really costs: Fees

The fee story is the part of Pyypl that I find the most frustrating to write about, because so little of it is on the public record. Pyypl says there are “no monthly fees”, and that is true. Everything else, the issuance fee, the FX markup, the crypto-conversion fee, the ATM fee, is either marked as “may apply” or simply not stated.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Pyypl payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is the table I could put together from official sources, with the gaps marked clearly.

Fee or limit Amount Notes
Issuance not stated The support centre says a card fee “may apply” depending on country and product; the figure is shown in the app under Profile > Fees.
Replacement card not stated Same as above.
Inactivity fee may apply Same as above.
Monthly / maintenance none stated The public page says “no monthly fees”.
Foreign-currency transaction fee may apply The page says an international or FX fee “may apply” by country; amounts not published.
Crypto conversion fee not stated The fee for swapping crypto into the card’s USD balance is not on the public pages.
ATM withdrawal not stated on official pages; one unofficial source claims worldwide ATM access An AlternativeTo listing says “Mastercard” and ATM withdrawals worldwide, which conflicts with the official “Visa” line. Unofficial and unconfirmed.
Top-up, per-transaction, daily, monthly and yearly spend limits not stated The figures depend on country, verification level and regulation; they appear in the app under Profile or Settings.
Send / withdraw fees not stated Same: depend on country and product, only visible in-app.
Card currency USD Cannot be changed.

To make this more concrete, here are three everyday payments and how the fees work out.

The honest summary is: the headline “no monthly fees” is accurate, but it tells you very little about what the card will actually cost you. Before you commit, install the app, register, and look at the fee and limit pages under your profile. If the numbers there are not acceptable, do not load the card.

How to top up: Top up

Top-up is the other half of the cost story, and Pyypl is unusually quiet about it. The public description is “supported methods in your country”, and that is essentially all you get. The full list of methods, the minimum top-up, the per-method fee and the typical settlement time are not on the public pages.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Pyypl starts with a transfer to the right network

What the support centre does say is that “some methods are instant, while others may take 1-3 business days”. That is a wide range, and it covers both the slow case (a bank transfer that needs to clear) and the fast case (a stablecoin transfer that confirms on-chain in a few minutes). Binance Pay with USDT, which an earlier review of the product described as the historical top-up method, is no longer confirmed on Pyypl’s current pages.

In practice, if you are topping up from crypto, you should expect something like this:

  1. Choose the top-up method shown in your app, which will depend on the country you registered from.
  2. Send the asset on the network the app tells you to use. The app will provide a deposit address or a partner screen.
  3. Wait for the transfer to confirm and for Pyypl to credit the card balance. The wait depends on the asset, the network and the method.
  4. Check the resulting balance and any fees that were applied. The fees are only visible in the app, not on the website.

Two things go wrong here, and both come up in user feedback. First, if you send the asset on the wrong network, you may need manual support to recover it, with no guarantee of success; the help-centre guidance on blockchain transfers elsewhere in the industry is consistent that a wrong-network deposit is a common way to lose money. Second, if your top-up triggers a compliance review, the credit can take longer than 1-3 business days, with very limited recourse to escalate.

The lack of published methods is partly a regulatory choice. Pyypl works country by country, and the methods available in the UAE are not the same as the methods available in Kazakhstan. But it also means that a user evaluating Pyypl from outside the app cannot tell whether their preferred top-up method is supported. That is a real friction, and it is a clear advantage for competitors that publish their funding options.

Paying with it every day

Once the card is loaded, the everyday experience is straightforward, at least in the parts Pyypl talks about publicly.

The weakest part of the everyday experience is the lack of a clear dispute and chargeback story. The support centre has an article on gift-card refunds, and the Terms refer to product-specific terms, but the public pages do not lay out a chargeback process the way a bank-issued card would. For a prepaid card of this kind, that is a meaningful gap. If a merchant does not deliver what you paid for, your route to a refund is unclear and not laid out in the user-facing documentation.

A second soft spot is the absence of a physical card on the public page. If you want to hand a card to a family member, or you are somewhere Apple Pay and Google Pay are not yet widespread, a digital-only card is a real limitation. Pyypl may issue physical cards in some markets, but I could not find that confirmed on the pages I read.

What can go wrong

A prepaid Visa is only as useful as the company behind it, so I looked at the company, the licence, the user feedback and the safety story.

Pyypl Ltd is incorporated in the Abu Dhabi Global Market (registration number 000001116) and holds FSRA Licence No. 170031 for providing money services. The same business is also regulated by the central banks of Bahrain and Kazakhstan. The card is issued by Pyypl under its own Visa membership. Pyypl is explicit that it is not a bank, and that the balance on the card is not a bank deposit. That phrasing matters, because bank deposits in most jurisdictions come with a deposit guarantee; e-money balances typically do not.

On safety, the public pages describe a custodial prepaid e-money wallet with a freeze/unfreeze toggle in the app, real-time spend notifications, PCI DSS compliance, encryption, and 24/7 fraud monitoring. What is not stated is the safeguarding arrangement: where the customer funds sit while they are on the card, whether they are segregated from the company’s own money, and whether they are covered by any insurance or compensation scheme. The legal page treats the balance as not being a deposit, which is consistent with the e-money model but which also means the user has only the company’s safeguarding to fall back on.

The user feedback on Trustpilot is the part of the story that I think a prospective customer should read most carefully. The TrustScore is 2.5 out of 5, across 828 reviews, with 46% of reviewers giving five stars and 39% giving one star. The most common themes in the negative reviews are:

None of this means Pyypl is a fraud. The licensing is real, the regulator is real, and the company has a long operational history. But the pattern matters when you are deciding whether to keep a meaningful balance on the card. A prepaid Visa is a payment tool, not a savings account, and Pyypl’s own user base is telling you that withdrawals are not always smooth.

A last point on risk: a prepaid card is only as stable as the scheme behind it. Pyypl’s card is a Visa product issued by Pyypl itself. Visa does not issue cards directly to consumers, but it can suspend a programme if the issuer falls out of compliance. The 2018 WaveCrest suspension in Europe and the 2022 FTX US debit-card wind-down are good reminders that programme closures happen. If Pyypl’s licences were to be revoked, your ability to spend and withdraw would depend on how the wind-down is handled. That is a tail risk, not a base case, but it is the kind of risk that does not show up on a fee page.

What to take instead

If Pyypl does not fit, the alternatives I have reviewed that score higher are International Visa Card, UNi Card and Morse. None of them is a perfect substitute, because each is built around a different assumption, but each addresses at least one of the gaps Pyypl leaves open.

Card Score Best for What it does better than Pyypl
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 A US-issued Visa with a published fee schedule Publishes a clear pricing page: $5 virtual-card issuance, free in-USD spending, 2% FX fee on other currencies, three plan tiers (free Classic, $9 Pro, $19 Max). USD-stablecoin deposits at 1:1.
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 A multicurrency Mastercard with a Spend-to-Earn reward “No annual fee and no foreign transaction fee”, assets converted at live OTC rates with no hidden exchange fee, and up to 3% Spend-to-Earn rewards.
Morse 7.5 / 10 A self-custody-linked card with zero FX markup Fully virtual Visa debit, zero FX fees at the real Visa rate, free USDC/USDG/EURC deposits on Solana, Bitcoin/USDT/Ethereum and other tokens accepted. Card availability in more countries, though some markets are in closed beta.

A few things to weigh if you are choosing between these and Pyypl:

For everyday payments, all three of the alternatives do at least one of two things better than Pyypl: they publish their fees, and they accept residents from a wider set of countries. Pyypl’s edge is its presence in the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan, where some of these alternatives may not be available.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Pyypl, with reservations, to a fairly narrow reader. If you live in the UAE, Bahrain or Kazakhstan, you want a prepaid Visa in US dollars, you are comfortable with the in-app-only fee disclosure, and you are not planning to keep a large balance on the card, Pyypl will do the job. The card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, the licensing is real, and the daily-use experience is unremarkable in a good way.

I would not recommend Pyypl to a reader who is outside the three licensed countries, who needs to know the fees before installing the app, who plans to keep more than a small balance on the card, or who has a strong need for a published dispute and chargeback process. The Trustpilot pattern of frozen funds and locked accounts is the part that gives me the most pause, and it is a pattern you should weight against the convenience.

Above all, treat the card as a payment tool and not as a place to store value. Load what you intend to spend in the next few weeks, keep the rest of your crypto in a wallet you control, and do not rely on Pyypl for emergency access to a large balance. With that approach, the card is a reasonable option in a small set of countries; without it, the same product starts to look risky.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Pyypl card?

Pyypl is a prepaid Visa card issued by Pyypl Ltd, a company licensed in the Abu Dhabi Global Market, Bahrain and Kazakhstan. The card is denominated in US dollars and is offered through the Pyypl mobile app, where it lives as a digital card that can be added to Apple Pay and Google Pay. It is designed to let users spend from a balance that is funded, in practice, from digital assets.

Is Pyypl a bank?

No. Pyypl’s own legal page says: “We are not a bank, and balances … are not deposits.” The company is licensed for money services by the FSRA in Abu Dhabi, and by central authorities in Bahrain and Kazakhstan. That is a different regulatory category from a bank, and e-money balances are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes in the way bank deposits are.

Who owns Pyypl?

Pyypl Ltd is the operating company, incorporated in the Abu Dhabi Global Market under registration number 000001116. Pyypl Ltd holds FSRA Licence No. 170031 for providing money services, and is also regulated by central authorities in Bahrain and Kazakhstan. The shareholders behind the company are not broken out on the public pages I read.

Is the Pyypl card available in my country?

Only if you are a resident of the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain or Kazakhstan. The legal page says Pyypl services are “currently available to residents of the countries in which we are licensed”, and the three regulators listed correspond to those three countries. If you are a citizen of one of them but resident elsewhere, you do not qualify; the rule is by residence, not by passport.

Does the Pyypl card require KYC?

Yes. To open an account you need a smartphone, a valid mobile number, a valid government-issued ID and a selfie. Proof of address is not separately mentioned in the public documentation, which suggests the address check is run against your ID rather than a utility bill. There is also a minimum age, but the figure is not stated on the public pages.

How do I top up the Pyypl card?

Through the Top-up section of the Pyypl app. The app shows the methods available in your country; Pyypl does not publish a full list of those methods on the website. Some methods are described as instant, others as taking 1-3 business days. The fees and minimums for each method are visible in the app rather than on the public pages.

Is the Pyypl card free?

There are no monthly fees, and that is the only fee Pyypl publishes on the public site. The issuance fee, replacement-card fee, inactivity fee, foreign-transaction fee, crypto-conversion fee and ATM fee are all marked as “may apply” or simply not stated, with the actual figures only visible inside the app under Profile > Fees. The honest answer is that you do not know the total cost of using the card until you have registered and looked.

How do I add the Pyypl card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

From inside the Pyypl app. The app offers an “Add to Apple Pay” or “Add to Google Pay” option; following it tokenises the card and stores a Device Account Number in the phone’s Secure Element, rather than the real card number. Each tap-to-pay transaction then uses a one-time dynamic security code, which is the same model other Visa cards use on those wallets.

Is the Pyypl card safe?

Safer than a card with no safeguards, less reassuring than a published safeguarding arrangement. The app offers a freeze/unfreeze toggle, real-time spend notifications, PCI DSS compliance, encryption and 24/7 fraud monitoring, and the card can be tokenised into Apple Pay or Google Pay. What is not stated is the safeguarding arrangement for customer funds: whether they are segregated from the company’s own money and whether they are covered by any compensation scheme. The balance is explicitly not a bank deposit.

How do I delete my Pyypl account?

The process is handled inside the app rather than on the website. The help-centre and support pages describe closing an account through the in-app Help Center or via the contact form on the website, and the company notes that closing the account requires the balance to be at zero. What happens to a positive balance at the point of closure is not stated on the public pages.

Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team