A crypto-native Visa that does most things competently, but asks you to trust a custodian with a long list of small print
Wirex sits in an unusual middle ground. It pitches itself as an all-in-one app where you can hold cash, stablecoins and cryptocurrencies side by side, then spend any of them through a Visa or Mastercard debit card. The pitch is genuine: the app is one of the more mature “fiat-plus-crypto” wallets in this category, the card works in Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the no-monthly-fee structure is straightforward. The catch is that the details around fees, limits and company structure are not all spelled out on the card’s public pages, and a few user complaints suggest the experience can turn sour when something goes wrong. This review walks through what Wirex does well, where the small print matters, and who the card actually suits.
The conditions in this review are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Wirex earns a 6.7 out of 10 from this reviewer. The card is best understood as a competent crypto-linked debit product for people who are already comfortable holding funds inside a custodial app, and who want to spend from that balance without separately topping up a bank-issued card. It is less compelling for anyone who needs the strongest self-custody story, the clearest fee schedule, or the widest regulated coverage.
The score breaks down as follows.
| Criterion | Score | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Marketed as “Worldwide (130+ countries)”, but the official country list is not published, and unofficial sources put the active rollout closer to 35 countries, with the US excluded. |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Card issuance is free, there is no monthly fee, and ATM withdrawals are free up to a regional monthly cap. The FX fee is not published, which forces the user to discover it in the app. |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Spending can draw on cash, stablecoins or cryptocurrencies, and the exchange lists 200+ coins. The catch is that the supported coins and networks for deposit are not stated on the public pages. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Two companies are named in the public documents (Wirex Pte Ltd in Singapore and Wirex Limited in England), but the licensed issuer behind the UK and EEA programmes is not. Trustpilot themes include held funds, limited accounts, and an unresolved ATM case. |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and a metal upgrade with a higher monthly cap. ATM is on the physical card only, not the virtual one. |
What the score adds up to is a card that is genuinely useful day to day, with one or two structural concerns that hold it back from the top of the category. If you are a Europe-based user who wants a single account for fiat and crypto and you are comfortable with the custodial model, Wirex is a reasonable default. If you live in the United States, if you need an EMIs-and-regulator paper trail that is fully spelled out, or if your top priority is holding your own private keys, you should look at the alternatives section later in this review.
Who Wirex will give the card to
Wirex markets its service area as “Worldwide (130+ countries)” on its homepage, but the official country list is not published in a single place, and the same page says card availability “depends on your region”. Unofficial sources put the active card rollout at around 35 countries — most of the EU, the UK, Switzerland, Norway, Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Argentina and Brazil — and the US is not on that list. Treat that as unofficial and not confirmed by Wirex itself.
What the card’s own terms do say, plainly, is a few things that matter for eligibility:
- The minimum age is 18.
- Services are only available to verified users, so KYC is not optional.
- The country of residence you enter must match the ID you upload.
- Singapore terms bar cash withdrawals inside Singapore, and transactions with a list of “Prohibited Countries” (Iran, Cuba, Syria and others) are blocked.
- Physical card delivery is only published for a handful of countries, with separate fees for the UK, EEA, Hong Kong, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, the Philippines and Taiwan.
The fees pages on Wirex are split by region: UK, EEA, APAC, Singapore, Australia and a generic “Other”. If you live somewhere that does not appear in any of those buckets, you should treat the card as uncertain until the app confirms it during sign-up.
How to get the Wirex card
Getting the card takes a few deliberate steps, and the order matters.
You start by creating a Wirex account. From there you upgrade your status to “Starter”, which is what kicks off identity verification. The identity check accepts a passport, ID card, driving licence or residence permit, in full colour and in English, showing your full name, date of birth, photo and expiry date. The accepted document types vary by issuing country, and the upload happens inside the mobile app — there is no web path. A selfie is also required, and Wirex says it may ask for a liveness check depending on the country of residence.
After identity, address and source-of-funds checks follow. Wirex can request more information by email. None of the public pages state how long the full review takes, or what reasons might lead to a rejection. There is also no public list of accepted proof-of-address document types.
Only after the account is verified can you order a card. Wirex offers a virtual card for online use and a physical card for point-of-sale and ATMs that accept Visa or Mastercard. You can hold one of each at a time, not more. A metal upgrade is sold as a “Visa Signature debit card”. Singapore terms specify Visa; elsewhere Wirex says the network is “Visa or Mastercard” without fixing it by region. The card currency and validity period are not stated on the public pages.
Physical cards ship to a small set of countries with published fees. UK delivery is 5 GBP by Royal Mail (untracked); EEA is 5 EUR by DHL WorldMail or 15 EUR by DHL Express. Hong Kong is 39 HKD by local post or 238 HKD by DHL Express. Singapore is 5 SGD by SingPost. Australia is 1 AUD; New Zealand is 7.99 NZD or 49.99 NZD by DHL Express; the Philippines and Taiwan are 4.99 USD or 29.99 USD by DHL. UK international express is 15 GBP. Delivery can take anywhere from a few days to four weeks, and express shipping requires a starting balance. The replacement cost for a lost or damaged card is not stated.
What the Wirex card really costs — Fees
The headline cost story is friendly, but the details are uneven across Wirex’s own pages, and one or two important numbers are simply missing.

Card issuance is free in the UK, EEA, APAC, Singapore, Australia and “Other”. The metal card is the obvious exception: 45 GBP on the UK page with free DHL Express, and “only 45 EUR” as a delivery fee elsewhere. The card’s marketing page says there are “no annual or foreign exchange fees”, but the dedicated fees page does not put a number on the FX fee — it talks about “market-leading exchange rates” with the actual figure viewable in the app before you confirm a transaction. The Singapore terms mention conversion, replacement, balance-enquiry and termination fees without listing the amounts in the pages I read.
A 30 GBP one-off administrative fee applies to accounts that violate the General Terms of Service. Wirex reserves the right to change its fees, so the numbers below are a snapshot.
Here is what is published.
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Card issuance (standard, virtual and physical) | Free (UK, EEA, APAC, SG, AU, Other) |
| Metal card order | 45 GBP (UK), 45 EUR delivery fee (elsewhere) |
| PIN change | Free |
| Monthly / annual fee | None |
| Foreign exchange fee | Not published; “no foreign exchange fee” on card page; rate varies by pair and is shown in-app before confirmation |
| ATM withdrawal (EEA) | Free up to 200 EUR per month, then 2% |
| ATM withdrawal (UK and Other) | Free up to 200 GBP per month, then 2% |
| ATM withdrawal (APAC and SG) | Free up to 200 SGD per month, then 2% |
| ATM withdrawal (AU) | Free up to 400 AUD per month, then 2% |
| Single purchase limit | 30,000 EUR (virtual, plastic and metal) |
| Monthly purchase limit | 30,000 EUR (virtual, plastic), 75,000 EUR (metal) |
| Cash per day | 500 EUR (plastic, metal) |
| Cash per month | 5,000 EUR (plastic, metal) |
| SEPA bank transfer | 50,000 EUR per day |
| Faster Payments | 50,000 GBP per day |
| Account violation admin fee | 30 GBP one-off |
The FX situation is the single biggest practical unknown. If you regularly spend in a currency other than your funding currency, you should fund a small test payment in the app before relying on the card for anything larger.
To make this concrete, three everyday scenarios:
- Buying coffee in London with a euro-funded account. The card will convert at Wirex’s published in-app rate, with no flat fee on top. The actual cost of that conversion is what you see in the app, and it is not a fixed number.
- Withdrawing 150 EUR from an ATM in Berlin on the standard plan. That is well inside the 200 EUR free monthly cap, so the only cost is whatever the ATM operator charges.
- Withdrawing 250 EUR from an ATM in Berlin the same month. You pay 2% on the amount over 200 EUR, which is around 1 EUR. Marginal, but worth knowing.
How to top up the Wirex card
The card is linked to the Wirex account, and the account is what you top up. Spending can draw on cash, stablecoins or cryptocurrencies held in that account — Wirex’s homepage says cash, stablecoins and cryptocurrencies are all supported, and the exchange lists 200+ cryptocurrencies. Top-ups themselves can come from another Wirex account, from another person, or from a third-party payment provider.

Fiat deposits are free on the major regional rails: SEPA for euros, Faster Payments for pounds, ACH for dollars and PIX for reals. Crypto withdrawals inside Wirex (Wirex-to-Wirex) and on-chain withdrawals in the same network are 0%; external network fees vary by chain.
For card-based top-ups, Wirex publishes a set of numbers worth reading. The minimum top-up via external card is 12 USD. Unconfirmed cards can top up 15,000 USD per day (2,000 USD in Singapore); confirmed cards can top up 25,000 USD per day. Card-to-Wirex transfers have a 10 USD minimum, with a 10,000 USD per-transaction cap for first-party transfers and 2,500 USD for third-party transfers, and 50,000 / 10,000 USD monthly caps. The local card funding fee is described as “0% or more” depending on the currency and country.
The single biggest practical unknown on the funding side is which coins and which networks Wirex accepts for crypto deposits. The public pages I read do not state this clearly, which is a meaningful gap for anyone planning to send USDC, USDT or another token in. The home page says the exchange supports 200+ cryptocurrencies, but that is a trading claim, not a deposit-rail claim. If you are funding by crypto, confirm the supported token and network inside the app before sending.
Fiat withdrawals mirror the deposit rails — SEPA, Faster Payments, ACH and PIX are all listed as free. Crypto withdrawals are the same as the top-up rules. What happens to a balance on account closure is not stated.
Paying with the card every day
The card is meant to be used in the real world, and it is here that Wirex is strongest. The virtual card works for online purchases; the physical card works at any point-of-sale terminal and any Visa or Mastercard ATM. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, which means the physical plastic is optional for most in-person spending. There is even a help article explaining how to add the Wirex card to Revolut, in case you want to push it into a mobile wallet that already lives on your phone.
Cash withdrawals from an ATM only work on the physical card, not the virtual one. Singapore terms prohibit transactions involving drug paraphernalia, stolen goods, firearms, “certain financial products”, transfers to unrelated third parties and the same Prohibited Countries list. Gambling is excluded from the Cryptoback rewards programme rather than blocked at card level.
Speaking of rewards, Wirex pays Cryptoback in its own WXT token. The headline rate is 0.5% on the Standard plan, up to 3% on Premium, and up to 8% on Elite (and the same 8% headline on the metal card). A few important exclusions apply: ATM withdrawals, cash advances, crypto purchases, gambling, refunds, and a list of merchant category codes covering money transfers, quasi-cash and government services (4829, 6010, 6011, 6012, 6050, 6051, 6211, 6529–6532, 6534, 6536–6538, 7012, 7399, 8999, 9211, 9222, 9311, 9399). The exact reward limits and currencies can differ for UK and US customers, although the US is not currently a supported card region.
The Wirex app has a low public rating, and that is worth flagging. The main “Wirex: All-In-One Trading App” sits at 3.76 from 846 ratings on the App Store (updated 2026-01-23), and a separate “Wirex One” app — the one Wirex is migrating users to in 2026 — sits at 1.87 from 15 ratings (updated 2026-10-05). The homepage’s structured data, by contrast, shows 4.5 from 15,000 ratings. Those numbers are not consistent, and the gap between a 1.87 score on a real app and a 4.5 score on a marketing number is large enough that you should expect the new app to be rough at the edges during the migration.
What Wirex does not say publicly is how it handles disputes. The cardholder agreement was not specific on chargeback timing or reason codes, so if a payment goes wrong you should treat the in-app chat as your first point of contact and document everything.
What can go wrong
The single most important risk to understand with Wirex is the company structure. The homepage says Wirex was founded in 2014 in London and describes itself as a “Principal member of Visa and Mastercard”. In Singapore, the card issuer is named as Wirex Pte Ltd (registration number 201731976E). The App Store lists the seller as Wirex Limited for both apps. A third party, Trustee Plus, names “WIREX Limited” (England, company number 09334596) as its card issuer. What is not stated is the licensed issuer behind the UK and EEA card programmes — that information is not in the public pages I read. For a product that takes custody of your money and your crypto, that absence is a real gap.
Two live concerns follow from there:
- Custodial risk. Wirex holds your balance. If the company or its issuer has a solvency event, your claim is against the company, not against your segregated funds. The pages I read do not state how customer funds are safeguarded.
- Account-level risk. The user complaints on Trustpilot in 2026 cluster around common themes: funds held since early 2025, accounts marked as “limited” blocking crypto transfers, and an unresolved ATM withdrawal case in Cyprus from July 2025. A third-party site, Pingoru, lists several operational incidents in 2026: card payouts disabled for five days from 6 May 2026, a 5-hour 51-minute card outage on 25 June 2026, a 54-minute outage on 26 June 2026, unexpected declines on 13 July 2026, and a Wirex One transaction-processing incident on 3 September 2026. None of those are official, and the Pingoru data is a single source.
Two more things deserve attention:
- Card-versus-app outages. When the Wirex One app or card processor is having a bad day, the card declines at the till. The September 2026 incident is the most recent example on the unofficial record.
- The migration to Wirex One. Wirex is moving users to a new app in 2026, and the new app is the one with the 1.87 rating on the App Store. Plan for that to mean some friction in the short term.
Security features like 2FA, in-app freeze and safeguarding are mentioned in the help centre but the specifics are not in the pages I read, so the practical experience is what you should test for yourself. The Singapore terms do mention that merchants may place a hold of up to 20% above the anticipated bill, which is worth knowing if you pay at a hotel or a car-rental counter. Support itself is reachable through a request form, in-app chat and a Discord community; languages and hours are not stated.
No regulator suspension was found in the public record.
What to take instead
If Wirex does not quite fit, three alternatives cover the main reasons people look elsewhere.
- International Visa Card. Score 6.7 / 10. Not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam; FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case. The card is a US-issued Platinum Visa, currently virtual, and it pays in USD. Issuance is 5 USD one-time, and there is no maintenance fee. Plans are Classic (free), Pro (9 USD/month) and Max (19 USD/month). Card use in USD is free on every plan; foreign currency conversion is “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”. Deposits of any kind are free, and you can fund with USDC or USDT at 1:1, or with USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT or FedNow. There is no cashback on the published pages. A physical card is listed as “coming soon”.
- UNi Card. Score 6.1 / 10. A multicurrency Mastercard that spends from the UNi.Global account balance. No annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, and assets are converted at “live OTC rates”. Spend-to-Earn rewards go up to 3% with UNi Card. Country eligibility, physical-versus-virtual split, issuance fee and the funding rails are not officially stated.
- Morse. Score 7.5 / 10. Eligibility is by residence, not citizenship, with the app available in over 140 countries for peer-to-peer use and local add/withdraw in over 70. Closed-beta countries needing an invite code include Australia, Hong Kong, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, Switzerland, the UK and others. The card is fully virtual for now, on the Visa prepaid network, and spends from a Morse Balance in any currency. Issuance and monthly fees are not stated; the card page points to the Cardholder Agreement. “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups” is the published claim, with real-time Visa rates and free online and contactless paying. Funding supports USDC, USDG and EURC on Solana for free (other tokens or chains carry a fee), plus Bitcoin, USDT, Ethereum and other tokens. The Morse Wallet is self-custodial, which is the main reason to choose Morse over a custodial card.
Who I would recommend the Wirex card to
The honest version is that Wirex is a sensible default for a narrow kind of user, and a poor fit for several other kinds of user. A short list of who it suits, and who it does not.
Wirex makes sense if:
- You live in one of the 30 or so countries where the card is actually rolled out, and you can match your ID to your residence.
- You want a single app that holds euros, pounds, dollars, stablecoins and a long list of cryptocurrencies, and you do not mind that Wirex holds the keys.
- You plan to spend mainly in the currency you fund in, so the unstated FX margin is a non-issue.
- You want Apple Pay or Google Pay for everyday use, and a metal card is a nice-to-have rather than a must.
Wirex is the wrong choice if:
- You are in the United States, or in any country outside the active rollout.
- You need a self-custody wallet, where the keys never leave your device.
- The lack of a published FX fee is a deal-breaker for you, or you need a clearly named, separately regulated card issuer.
- You are planning to move your entire banking onto the card — the published monthly purchase caps (30,000 EUR for the standard card, 75,000 EUR for metal) and the held-funds complaints make that a stretch.
If that last bullet describes you, run a small test first. Fund the account with a small amount, place a card payment, withdraw a small amount from an ATM, and use the in-app chat to see how long support takes to respond. The 200 EUR or 200 GBP free ATM allowance is generous enough to make that test essentially free.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Wirex card?
The Wirex card is a Visa or Mastercard debit card linked to a Wirex account. The account can hold cash, stablecoins and cryptocurrencies, and the card lets you spend from that balance online, in stores and at ATMs, with support for Apple Pay and Google Pay.
How does the Wirex card work?
You hold funds in your Wirex account, choose which currency or token to spend from, and the card converts at the rate shown in the app at the time of the transaction. The card itself is prepaid in the sense that it cannot overdraw, even when the underlying balance is crypto.
Is Wirex a bank?
No. Wirex is an electronic money and crypto services provider, not a bank. Customer funds are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes in the same way.
Who owns Wirex?
Wirex was founded in 2014 in London. The Singapore card programme is run by Wirex Pte Ltd, and the App Store seller is Wirex Limited. The licensed issuer behind the UK and EEA card programmes is not named in the public pages I read.
Is the Wirex card available in my country?
Wirex says the service is available in 130+ countries, but the card itself is rolled out in a much smaller set — about 35 countries, by unofficial counts. The US is not currently a supported card region.
How do I get a Wirex card?
Create a Wirex account, upgrade to “Starter” to start identity verification, complete the document and selfie upload in the mobile app, wait for address and source-of-funds checks to clear, and then order a virtual or physical card from inside the app.
Does the Wirex card require KYC?
Yes. Identity verification is mandatory before you can use Wirex services or order a card, and the company may ask for additional information after you sign up.
How do I top up the Wirex card?
You fund the Wirex account, and the card spends from that account. Funding options include SEPA, Faster Payments, ACH, PIX, debit or credit card top-ups, and crypto deposits (with the supported coins and networks confirmed inside the app before sending).
Is the Wirex card safe?
The card adds standard protections like 2FA, in-app freeze and tokenised mobile wallets, but Wirex is a custodian, which means it holds your balance and your crypto. The licensed issuer behind the UK and EEA programmes is not publicly named, and there are user reports of funds held and limited accounts blocking crypto transfers.
Is the Wirex card worth it?
For a Europe-based user who wants a single fiat-and-crypto account and is comfortable with a custodian, yes — the free issuance, free monthly fee and Apple Pay support are genuinely useful. For a US-based user, a self-custody holdout, or anyone who needs a clearly published FX fee and a named card issuer, probably not.
App and neobank cards: when one suits you – cryptocardpicker
Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team
