A free virtual Visa with real limits, and a plastic card that only travels as far as your KYC country
Tangem Pay is one of those cards where the number that matters is not the monthly fee, because there isn’t one on the entry plan. It is the 1.5% the card adds on top of whatever Visa’s exchange rate is when you spend money in a currency other than dollars. If you spend entirely in the United States, you pay a zero transaction fee and the markup never touches you. If you spend in euros, pounds or pesos, you pay it on every single purchase, and no amount of clever setup removes it. That is the honest shape of this product: genuinely cheap in one direction, quietly expensive in another.
I scored it 7.5 out of 10 overall. That is a good card for a specific person and a mediocre card for everyone else, and the difference is almost entirely about where you live and what you already hold. If you own a Tangem hardware wallet, if you want a virtual Visa number without paying a subscription, and if you live in a country the app accepts, this is one of the better options in the category. If you need a physical card that works abroad, or you want a card with predictable protection when a merchant refuses to refund you, the picture changes quickly, and I will get to why below.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 7.5 out of 10
My score breaks down into five criteria, and the weakness is concentrated in availability and in who is actually behind the card.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Available in the US and selected countries across Latin America, Asia-Pacific, the Middle East and Africa; not every country and not every US state |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Basic plan $0, first virtual card $0, transaction fee $0, FX at Visa Exchange Rate + 1.5%, ATM 4%; Plus costs $29.99 a month |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | USDC and USDT on Polygon, Base, Arbitrum and BNB Smart Chain, plus bank transfers by ACH or Fedwire, and other tokens through a swap |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member; the programme is run by Paera LLC, and Tangem itself is not regulated as a financial services provider; unofficial reporting names a different issuer |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Basic gives you a virtual card, Plus gives you plastic, Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, ATM is 4% on Basic and 2% on Plus, though one help page still says cash withdrawals are not yet available |
| Total | 7.5 / 10 | Strong on funding and everyday use, held back by eligibility rules and an unclear issuer picture |
The audience that this fits is narrow and worth naming: hardware wallet owners who want a free virtual Visa attached to what they already hold. If that is you, the top-up score of 9 out of 10 is doing a lot of work, because the coins and networks you can load are the ones you would plausibly already hold.
The people I would steer away are equally clear. If your income arrives in a bank account and you want a normal debit card, this is more expensive than your bank. If you travel, the 1.5% FX markup adds up faster than you expect on a single large purchase. And if the phrase “the card was shipped from Hong Kong” sounds alarming to you, hold off — I explain the shipping restriction in the section on who will give you the card, because it is deliberate and it is a good sign rather than a bad one.
Who will give you the card
The card is issued to you, but you do not apply to Tangem directly. The programme is operated by Paera LLC, which describes itself as responsible for your onboarding including performing the KYC and AML checks. The card account is the thing being verified: the page says identity verification and eligibility checks apply to the card account only, which is a distinction worth holding on to if you also use the Tangem hardware wallet for something else.
Here is the part that frustrates people. The Tangem Pay page and the tariff PDF do not publish a country list. The PDF says that eligibility for some features is determined based on your country and region of residence, and that the answer is shown in the app. What is stated is that Tangem Pay is available in the US and in selected countries across Latin America, Asia-Pacific, the Middle East and Africa, and explicitly not in every country or every US state. If your region is unsupported, the application is rejected during KYC rather than at some earlier stage.
So the honest answer to “can I get this in my country” is: you find out by entering your residence country during onboarding, not by reading a list. Requirements as stated are that you are 18 or older and that your residence address is in a supported country.
One detail that catches people out: at the launch of the physical cards, Tangem said shipping is restricted in about 20 countries, including China, Russia, North Korea and Palestine, citing KYC, sanctions and banking rules. That is a good thing to see on a card’s terms. A provider that ships everywhere regardless tends to be the provider that gets shut down, and programme closures are the standard fate of this category.
How to get it
The verification runs through Sumsub, a standard identity provider, in a single pass. You give a phone number and an email, both confirmed with codes, then a government-issued ID and your residential address. Biometric data is collected by Sumsub. If you are a US resident you also give your Social Security number. You must be 18 or older. Whether a separate proof-of-address document is required is not stated on the pages I read.
The good news is speed. The card is usually issued within about 5 minutes, and in the worst case within 48 hours, after which the page tells you to write to [email protected].
Two rejection causes are named, and both are worth taking seriously rather than treating as bad luck. The first is an unsupported region or state. The second is nastier: a repeat application using the same identity is automatically rejected. If you apply, get bounced for a typo in your address, and immediately try again, you may have burned your one attempt. And Tangem cannot see the reason you were declined, so neither can you get an explanation from support.
On the forms of the card itself:
- Basic gives a Visa Platinum, virtual only.
- Plus gives a Visa Signature in plastic.
- Prestige is a Visa Infinite in virtual, plastic or metal, marked as coming soon.
Maximum cards per account are 3, 5 and 10 respectively. The card and balance run in US dollars; any purchase in another currency is converted.
Physical delivery is where the friction sits. The plastic card ships only inside the country you verified at KYC — not the country you are currently sitting in. The specific country list and an estimated delivery time appear in the app when you order. Addresses are accepted in Latin letters only, and once ordered the card cannot be cancelled. The fee comes out of your Tangem Pay balance, and here the card’s own documents disagree: the product page gives the first plastic card on Basic as $15.63–$63.45, while the tariff PDF dated 25 August 2026 gives $14.53–$82.10. Two official figures, and no note explaining the difference. On Plus the first plastic card is free and later ones carry the same fee. The card arrives inactive.
A replacement costs $5, though the tariff PDF describes a $1 replacement; an additional virtual card costs $5 and is issued in about a minute, rarely up to 48 hours.
Fees: what it really costs
The headline number is that the Basic plan has no monthly fee and the first virtual card is free. Here is everything I could find priced, and I have tried to keep it in one place because these fees live across several pages.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Basic plan fee | $0 |
| Plus plan fee | $29.99 per month, charged every 30 days |
| Prestige plan fee | $999 per year, coming soon |
| First virtual card | $0 |
| Additional virtual card | $5 |
| Replacement | $5 (tariff PDF says $1) |
| Physical card delivery | $15.63–$63.45 (tariff PDF dated 25 Aug 2026 says $14.53–$82.10); Plus first card $0 |
| Transaction fee | $0 |
| Foreign exchange | Visa Exchange Rate + 1.5% |
| On-chain withdrawal | $0 |
| Dispute fee | $30 when a formal dispute opens |
| Bank transfer in, via ACH | $1 (Basic), $0 (Plus) |
| Bank transfer in, via Fedwire | $11 (Basic), $0 (Plus) |
| ATM withdrawal | 4% Basic, 2% Plus, 1% Prestige |
| Daily spend per card | $10,000 Basic, $50,000 Plus, $100,000 Prestige |
| Annual spend per card | $10,000,000 |
| Transactions | 100 per day, 1,000 per month |
| Maximum card balance | $10,000 Basic, $50,000 Plus |
The crypto conversion spread — the difference between what the network says the token is worth and what you actually receive — is not stated. That is the number I would want to see before committing money, because it is the one that moves with the market rather than with a published tariff. Network gas for top-ups is paid by you as the sender, and the swap fee when you convert another token depends on the swap provider and is not quantified.
Now, three ordinary days, and what each one actually costs.
A coffee in your own city, in dollars. You tap, the transaction fee is $0, the balance drops by the price of the coffee. This is the case the card is built for and it costs you nothing beyond the coffee.
A hotel in another country. The hotel charges you in euros or pesos, the Visa network converts at its own rate, and the tariff adds 1.5% on top. On a booking that already carries a currency spread, you are paying a second margin for the convenience of not exchanging cash. Whether that is worth it is arithmetic, and you should do it with your own numbers.
Taking $200 out of an ATM abroad. At 4% on Basic, that is $8. At 2% on Plus, $4. The per-transaction cap is $250 and you get three withdrawals per 24 hours, with no free allowance stated — so on Basic there is no number of withdrawals where this becomes free.
One structural detail worth knowing: your USDC and USDT sit in a single combined balance, which is denominated in dollars, and money is spent from whichever side holds the larger balance first. After a purchase, the on-chain balance updates within 2 business days.
There is also a cliff you should know about. The plan fee is charged every 30 days, and if the balance cannot cover it you have 30 days to top up before the Signature cards close and your plan drops back to Basic. On Basic, where the fee is zero, this cannot happen. It is a Plus-tier problem.
And a contradiction I cannot resolve for you: one help article describes ATM withdrawals in full detail, with fees and caps, while another states that cash withdrawals are not yet available. The detailed version adds that ATMs work only at contactless-enabled machines and only on cards issued after 10 March 2026 that show Platinum or Signature in Apple Pay or Google Pay. Cards issued before that date need reissuing. Treat ATM as something to test with a small amount rather than plan around.
Top up: how the money gets in
This is where Tangem is strongest, and it earns the 9 out of 10.

You can fund the card with stablecoins or fiat straight from a bank account. The coins are USDC and USDT on Polygon, Base, Arbitrum and BNB Smart Chain. A bank transfer by ACH or Fedwire works where it is offered, and the amount is converted to USDC. Any other token goes through a swap.
There are three routes in practice:
- From your Tangem Wallet, with a swap if the token you hold is not the one you need.
- From another wallet or exchange, using the deposit address for the network in question.
- By bank transfer, where available in your region.
Limits: $100,000 loaded per day, 24 loads per day, 150 per month. The minimum top-up is not stated. Gas is paid by the sender. A bank deposit fee is deducted from the amount received rather than added on top — send $1,001 by ACH to be credited $1,000, or $1,011 by Fedwire. On Plus both are free.
The single warning I would underline: sending the wrong token or using the wrong network loses the money permanently. There is no support path that reverses it, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. Check the network name twice before you confirm, and if you are new to this, use a small first transfer.
Getting money back out works in two directions. USDC and USDT can be withdrawn to your Tangem Wallet at any time, with the on-chain withdrawal itself at $0, plus whatever the swap provider charges if you started from another token. Bank withdrawal by ACH costs $1 and by Fedwire $11, free on Plus, to US banks only, with a $10,000 cap per transaction and no stated daily or monthly limit.
Two limitations here catch people. A merchant refund goes back to your card balance and cannot be withdrawn. And if you factory-reset or delete your Tangem account, you lose access to Tangem Pay and to the funds in it — there is no relinking feature yet. Closing the account properly means withdrawing the balance and emailing [email protected].
Paying with it every day
Tangem Pay lives inside the Tangem app on iOS and Android. I could not find the app store rating or the number of ratings, so I have no read on how people rate it day to day.
Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, though Apple Pay depends on your country. When you add the card to a phone wallet, a frozen card shows as Suspended, which is a quick way to confirm the freeze actually took. The card takes a 4-digit PIN, and you can set a custom daily spending limit — including one of $0, which turns the card into a pure display of your balance rather than something spendable.
Some merchants are blocked, and the list is set by Rain rather than by Tangem: gambling and online casinos, liquor stores, and certain subscription services. That is a narrower and more predictable block list than most cards in this category impose, and it is worth reading before you assume a payment will go through.
The three tiers, since the choice of plan really is a choice about what the fees will be later:
| Basic | Plus | Prestige | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $0 per month | $29.99 per month | $999 per year, coming soon |
| Card | Visa Platinum, virtual | Visa Signature, plastic | Visa Infinite, virtual/plastic/metal |
| Cards | up to 3 | up to 5 | up to 10 |
| Daily spend per card | $10,000 | $50,000 | $100,000 |
| Cashback | 1%, capped $100/month | 2%, capped $300/month | 4%, capped $1,000/month |
| ATM fee | 4% | 2% | 1% |
| Maximum balance | $10,000 | $50,000 | — |
| Bank transfers | ACH $1 / Fedwire $11 | free | — |
| Extras | — | Visa Signature protections: extended warranty, price protection, purchase protection, auto rental insurance, airport companion lounges | — |
Cashback above is the stated rate; what currency it is paid in is not stated. An extra 5%, 10% or 15% on the first $500 and a welcome bonus of up to $75 are both marked as coming soon.
The Visa Signature protections on Plus are the most underrated part of the whole offer. Purchase protection, price protection and auto rental insurance cost you nothing beyond the subscription and would cost more than $29.99 to buy separately in many cases. If Plus is on your shortlist, this is the reason, not the 2% cashback.
On disputes: contact [email protected] and the standard Visa chargeback procedure applies. You must report within 60 days of the transaction appearing on your statement, a $30 fee is charged when a formal dispute opens, and additional documents may be requested.
What can go wrong
Let me split this into what the card itself does and what is unresolved.
The card’s own protections are real and, unusually for this category, worth listing. Funds sit in separate Tangem Pay smart-contract accounts, and your main assets stay in the non-custodial Tangem Wallet where you hold the keys. You can freeze and unfreeze the card instantly in the app, set a daily limit down to zero, and only one wallet is linkable per account. Whether deposit insurance or financial compensation applies is not stated, and Tangem’s own footer says plainly that it is not regulated as a financial services provider, with the programme run through Paera and Rain. Read that footer as what it is.
A set of human reports exists, and they are worth reading without exaggeration. One review describes a card order shipped from Hong Kong with poor support. Others dispute the self-custody claim, on the grounds that withdrawing USDC passes through a swap that charges fees. Tangem as a brand and wallet sits around 4.1 out of 5 on Trustpilot across roughly 876 reviews — but that is the hardware wallet business, not this card, and I would not transfer that rating onto the card programme. No Reddit threads surfaced, and official incident reports are not stated. One search is one search; the absence of widespread complaint themes is weaker evidence than it looks.
The unresolved item is the issuer. The official position is that the card is issued by Rain, described as a Visa Principal Member, with Paera LLC running the programme. An unofficial source, a Coin Bureau review from January 2026, says Tangem Pay is provided by Paera LLC and issued through Third National as a Visa licensed partner, with Rain providing co-signing and compliance. Third-party sources are not confirmation by the card, and where they contradict the official pages I would plan on the official pages. The registration country and licences of Paera and Rain are not stated.
Two category risks apply to you whatever this card does. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, sometimes up to seven. And merchants can decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, because the six-digit issuer identifier at the front of every card number reveals the card type and issuing country to the shop’s terminal. That is a fact about how card numbers work, not a fault of this particular card, but it is why a card that looks ordinary on the surface can be treated as foreign at the till.
The card’s timeline is also short, which matters for how much weight to put on any of this. The launch was gradual from November 2025 across 38 jurisdictions initially. Physical cards came later with a first run of 5,000 cards. ATM withdrawals only work on cards issued after 10 March 2026. A product this new has not yet been through a full cycle.
And a plain one: an extra 5% or 15% cashback on your first $500, and a welcome bonus, are coming soon. A reward that does not exist yet is not a reward to plan a year around.
What to take instead
I looked at three other cards with published terms, and the comparison is more useful than a straight ranking.
TokenPocket, 5.8 out of 10. A Visa debit for a list of European countries including Germany, France, Spain and Switzerland, and a Mastercard debit for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the UK, with the Americas described as planned. It runs on Arbitrum, cards are virtual, and balances are held in EUR24 and USD24. The economics are different in kind from Tangem’s: a 1% fee on depositing crypto into the card, described as later refunded through rewards or reduced transaction fees, and apart from that no additional fees are charged. If your priority is Europe rather than the US, or if you want a card with no FX markup story to decode, this is the one to look at.
MetaMask, 7.1 out of 10. Close to Tangem, with a different shape. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries including Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain and Uruguay, with other regions on a waitlist, proof of residency required, and US and UK sign-ups temporarily closed per the FAQ. It is a Mastercard, one card per user, virtual first and instant, with a metal version that can be pre-ordered after approval for $199 a year against a free virtual card. Fees are described as minimal per transaction with no additional MetaMask fees and no foreign transaction fee, Mastercard’s rate being used. It spends directly from the connected wallet rather than from a loaded balance, on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana. Cashback is 1% on Virtual, and on Metal the headline is 3% but the footnote limits 3% to the first $10,000 spent and 1% after.
KAST, 6.1 out of 10. The most transparent fee schedule of the four, and the most expensive. Standard is free, Premium is $1,000 a year, Private is $10,000 a year, all billed annually upfront. Stablecoin top-ups, USD card spend, transaction fees and Apple and Google Pay are all 0%; the non-USD FX fee is 0.5% to 1.75% depending on your country and the transaction country; declined transactions cost $0.50. Cashback is 1.5%, 2% and 3% on the first $2,000, $10,000 and $40,000 a month respectively, paid in dollars. It accepts USDT, USDC, PYUSD and RLUSD, though its own terms say the acceptable tokens are currently USDT and USDC.
| Tangem | MetaMask | KAST | TokenPocket | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| My score | 7.5 | 7.1 | 6.1 | 5.8 |
| Network | Visa | Mastercard | Visa Platinum / Infinite | Visa and Mastercard |
| Free tier | Yes, $0 | Yes, free virtual | Yes, Standard $0 | — |
| FX markup | Visa rate + 1.5% | No FX fee stated | 0.5%–1.75% | Not stated |
| Cash deposit fee | $1 ACH / $11 Fedwire on Basic | Not stated | None | 1% on crypto deposit |
| Cashback | 1% (Basic) | 1% Virtual | 1.5% Standard | None stated |
| Physical card | Plus tier | Metal, $199/year | Yes, Standard $0 + $40 delivery | Virtual |
| Loads from | USDC/USDT on 4 chains, bank transfer | Connected wallet | Stablecoins | TokenPocket wallet |
One thing that applies across all four, and to this category generally: the card number starts with an issuer identifier of six or eight digits that any merchant terminal can read. That is how a card issued in one country comes to look foreign to a shop in another, and no amount of care on your part changes it.
Who I would recommend it to
Three kinds of person, in order of how confident I am.
If you already keep assets in a Tangem hardware wallet and you want a Visa number to spend from without handing your balance to another provider, this is the clearest fit in the category. The virtual card is free, the load coins and networks are the mainstream ones, and the main assets stay in a wallet you control. That is the version of this card I would actually use.
If you are in the US or a supported country, spend mostly in dollars, and want a virtual card with a real spending limit you can set to zero, plus instant freeze — the Basic plan at $0 is hard to argue with. Add Plus only if you will genuinely use the ATM network, the free bank transfers, or the Visa Signature protections. $29.99 a month is a real number and the Signature benefits are the reason to consider it, not the cashback.
If you travel often, or you want a card that a merchant abroad will treat like any other card, or you want the strongest published protection against a disputed transaction, look elsewhere first. The 1.5% FX markup, the plastics-only shipping zone tied to your KYC country, and the $30 dispute fee all tell you what kind of card this is.
And if you are blocked by the country list, that is genuinely it. There is no workaround, and anyone offering you one is offering you something else. A rejected KYC cannot be appealed into existence, and a second application with the same identity is auto-rejected.
Before you commit, three things I would check in the app: whether your country and state are accepted, what the conversion spread looks like at the moment you want to trade, and whether your card’s issue date is after 10 March 2026 if ATMs matter to you.
Frequently asked questions
What is Tangem card?
Tangem is best known as a hardware wallet brand — a physical self-custody card that stores your keys. Tangem Pay is a separate thing built on top of it: a prepaid-style Visa you load with stablecoins or dollars and spend like an ordinary card. The card lives inside the Tangem mobile app, and it comes in virtual or physical form depending on the plan.
Is Tangem a bank?
No, and it is worth being precise about this. Tangem Pay is run by Paera LLC, which handles onboarding and identity checks, with the card issued through Rain as a Visa Principal Member. Tangem’s own footer states that the company is not regulated as a financial services provider. Your balance is a stored payment balance, not a bank deposit.
How does the Tangem card work?
You top it up, and then you spend from the balance. Load USDC or USDT from a wallet or exchange, or send money by bank transfer where that is offered. Purchases are converted and charged to that balance. Unlike a classic debit card tied to a current account, the balance must be there first, which is why the card cannot overdraw.
Does the Tangem card require KYC?
Yes, for the card account specifically. Verification runs through Sumsub and asks for a phone number, email, government-issued ID and your residential address, with biometrics collected by the provider. US residents also give a Social Security number and must be 18 or older. The identity checks apply to the card account only, not to your Tangem Wallet.
How do I get a Tangem card?
You enter your country of residence during onboarding, and the app tells you whether the card is offered there. Assuming it is, you complete the single KYC pass and the card is usually issued in about 5 minutes, 48 hours at worst. There is no country list published on the site, and the card’s documents say eligibility depends on your country and region of residence.
What does a Tangem card cost?
The Basic plan has no monthly fee and the first virtual card is free, with a $0 transaction fee on ordinary dollar spending. Costs appear in three places: foreign exchange at Visa’s rate plus 1.5%, ATM withdrawals at 4% on Basic, and $15.63–$63.45 for physical card delivery, though the tariff PDF gives a different range of $14.53–$82.10. The Plus tier costs $29.99 a month.
Is the Tangem card safe?
It is safer than most of its category, and that is a real statement rather than reassurance. The main assets stay in the non-custodial Tangem Wallet, card funds sit in separate smart-contract accounts, and you can freeze the card instantly and set a daily limit as low as zero. But deposit protection is not stated, Tangem is not regulated as a financial services provider, and a review reported on third-party sites names a different issuer than the official pages do.
How do I top up the Tangem card?
Three ways: directly from your Tangem Wallet, including a swap if you hold a different token; from another wallet or exchange using the deposit address for the right network; or by bank transfer via ACH or Fedwire where available. USDC and USDT are supported on Polygon, Base, Arbitrum and BNB Smart Chain. Sending the wrong token on the wrong network loses the money permanently, so check the network carefully.
Can I use Tangem Apple Pay and Google Pay?
Yes, both are supported, and Apple Pay depends on your country. Once added, the card is tokenised to the device rather than handing your number to the phone maker, and a frozen card shows as Suspended in the wallet — a quick way to confirm a freeze took effect. If you want ATM access, the card also has to have been issued after 10 March 2026.
Is a Tangem card worth it?
For spending dollars in the US or another supported country, the free Basic virtual card is worth it on cost alone. It stops being obviously worth it the moment you spend abroad often, when the 1.5% FX markup compounds on every foreign purchase, or when you need a physical card that works outside your KYC country. Compare the Plus tier’s $29.99 against the Visa Signature protections and free bank transfers rather than against the 2% cashback.
Wallet cards: who should pick one – cryptocardpicker
Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team
