A euro Visa card on a crypto balance, and what the numbers actually say

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Bitwala card is a Visa debit card that spends a euro balance you can top up with crypto. It is aimed at people who live in the European Economic Area, want a normal euro account with an IBAN, and want to hold Bitcoin, Ether or USDC in the same app. That is a real niche, and for a lot of people who struggle to get an ordinary bank card it is a genuine answer. But it is not a bank account in the ordinary sense, several of the details people actually need are missing from the public pages, and the company has a history that any reasonable reader should know about before depositing anything. My score: 6.1 out of 10.

Bitwala works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.1 out of 10

Here is the card as I scored it, criterion by criterion, with the reason for each mark.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bitwala starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Verified Bitwala account and residence in the EEA — a narrow geographic gate, and what “verified” requires is not published
Cost 7 / 10 Account and subscription are free; virtual €0.99 once, physical €9.99 once plus delivery; euro payments free, crypto payments €0.20 + 1 %, ATM €2 + 1 %
Top-up options 6 / 10 Bitcoin, Ether, USDC and euros; crypto is swapped to euros in the app; networks not stated
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Bitwala GmbH (Germany), euro account and IBAN via Solarisbank; card issuer not named; in 2022 the former company Nuri filed for bankruptcy, with 2022 complaints about blocks
Everyday use 8 / 10 Visa debit, virtual and physical; Google Pay works, Apple Pay via Curve; ATM available, limits and freezing in the app
Total 6.1 / 10 A workable card for a specific person, with gaps in what the public pages tell you

Who this suits: EEA residents who want a crypto-linked euro account with Visa, and who can tolerate a provider that publishes little and has failed before. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a card tomorrow, anyone outside the EEA, anyone who wants a fully published fee schedule including currency exchange, and anyone whose main worry is the safety of funds rather than the convenience of one app.

Will they give you the card?

One line decides this: “Anyone with a verified Bitwala account and residency in the EEA”. The gate is residence, not citizenship, and it is the EEA — the European Union plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway — not Europe in general and not the United Kingdom.

That is the whole published eligibility rule. It sounds simple, and it is the part most people need. What it does not tell you is how thorough the verification is: the required documents, whether proof of address is checked, what age rule applies, and what the verification tiers are are all not stated on the card’s public pages. So if you are trying to work out whether your papers will be enough, you will not find the answer here. Ask the support centre before you send anything.

Two further limits on the answer. First, residence-based eligibility means that if you move, your eligibility moves with you — a card opened as an EEA resident is not something you can keep using from outside. Second, the wider rule that many providers publish, a blocklist of countries and a note about sanctions, is not stated for this card, so do not assume any particular country treatment; check inside the app, which is where the card says the live position sits.

How to get it

Registration is described as instant, and that is the one encouraging word in this section. The sequence is straightforward: create a Bitwala account, complete verification, then order either a virtual card or a physical one. The card is a Visa debit card and it comes in both forms, virtual and physical.

The virtual card is the fast one — it exists in the app and you can start spending before anything arrives in the post. The physical card costs more and takes longer: €9.99 plus shipping. The card’s public pages do not state which countries it ships to, nor how long delivery takes, so if the physical card is the point of the exercise, treat timing as unknown until you order.

If you lose the card, you can freeze it in the app and order a replacement. What a replacement costs is not stated, so the sensible assumption is that it is not free, and that freezing is the cheap half of the answer.

What the card currency is, is also not stated — the account underneath is in euros, but a Visa debit card can carry its own presentation currency, and that distinction matters when you are abroad. Ask.

Fees: what it really costs

The cost of this card divides into three quite different pieces: getting hold of it, spending euros, and spending crypto. Only two of them are fully published.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bitwala payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Account Free, no monthly subscription
Virtual card issuance €0.99 one-time
Physical card €9.99 one-time, plus shipping
Euro payments Free
Crypto payments €0.20 + 1 % per transaction
Cash at ATM €2 + 1 %
Foreign exchange fee Not stated separately
Card currency Not stated
Free ATM allowance Not stated
Spending limits No amounts published; limits can be set in the app
Tiers Not stated

Let me run three everyday payments through that table, because the difference between them is the single most useful thing on this page.

A coffee at €3.50, paid in euros. This is free. No fee, no percentage, nothing to subtract. If your spending is ordinary domestic spending in the euro area, this card behaves like an ordinary free euro card.

A €40 subscription paid from crypto. Here you pay €0.20 plus 1 %, so €0.60 on top of the €40. That is not a conversion rate quoted in advance — it is a per-transaction charge on the crypto side, and how the crypto itself is priced at that moment is a separate question the card does not answer on its public pages.

€100 taken out of a cash machine. That is €2 plus 1 %, so €3. Where the machine belongs matters as much as the amount: the ATM may add its own charge, the cash is converted into euros at whatever rate the network gives, and there is no published free allowance. Cash is the most expensive thing this card does, and it is the use people most often get wrong.

The gap in the middle of that table is the one to sit with. Foreign exchange fee: not stated separately. That could mean there is none, and it could mean it is folded into something else. Either way, you are not entitled to assume that spending in a foreign currency is free. Add the ATM case above and you have a card that is genuinely free at home and unpriced abroad.

How to top it up

Topping up is the part Bitwala is actually built around, and the list is short: Bitcoin, Ether, USDC and euros. The crypto assets are swapped to euros inside the app, and from then on the card is just a euro card spending a euro balance. There is no card-level “I paid in bitcoin” — there is a balance in euros that crypto has been converted into.

That distinction should appeal to anyone who has tried to spend directly from a crypto balance: the conversion happens once, at a moment you choose, rather than at every till. It also means the exchange rate matters. The app does the swap and the page does not publish the spread or the rate source, so the honest position is that you find out what you got after the conversion, not before.

Two things are not stated and both are load-bearing. The networks are not stated. If you send USDC on a network the provider does not support, the transfer can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee — blockchain transfers are one-way. Before your first deposit, find out which networks are supported and confirm your token’s network matches. Second, SEPA is mentioned on the home page without fees, so the euro route exists and its price is not published either.

Withdrawal: not stated. That means you do not know from the public pages what it costs to get your euros back out, which for a euro-based card is a basic thing to know. There is a hard reminder here rather than a fee: in the closure of the previous company, customers had to withdraw funds by 18 December 2022. Plan your exit route before you need it.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is where this card scores best, 8 out of 10, and the reason is simple: once the money is in euros, it is a Visa debit card and it behaves like one.

Google Pay works. Apple Pay works if you sign up with Curve — a routing layer that is inserted between the card number and your phone, which is worth knowing about even though the benefit to you is just that the card goes in the wallet. A lost or misplaced card can be frozen and unfrozen in the app, and you can set spending limits yourself in the same place. Both of those are the small controls that make a card you carry abroad survivable.

There is an ATM network, with the pricing you have already seen.

What is missing in this section is as telling as what is there. Whether any merchant categories are blocked is not stated — and this matters more than it sounds, because certain category codes, gambling above all, are blocked by policy on many issuers and the list varies by issuer. Whether there are rewards or cashback is not stated. How good the app is, how disputes work, whether you can raise a chargeback when something goes wrong — none of it is stated. If a recurring payment is stolen from, your first call will be to a support centre whose languages and opening hours are themselves not stated.

What can go wrong

There are two separate risks here, and I would not let them blur into one.

The operational risk. Complaints from 2022 cover a specific set of failures: SMS and card functions failing, an account suspended without explanation, support unreachable. A Google Play report from October 2022 describes a locked account with access later restored. On Trustpilot, the score and the review count were not read, and the 2022 themes were login and SMS failure, suspended accounts and unanswered support.

The existential risk, and this is the part that should govern your decision. In August 2022 the former company Nuri, which had been Bitwala, filed for insolvency and announced its closure in October 2022. Digital-asset trading ran until 30 November 2022, and customers were told to withdraw their funds by 18 December 2022. Outlets differ slightly on the date of the filing, 9 or 10 August, which tells you how much precision is available. This is what happens when a custodial crypto platform fails: the balance you were spending from is money someone else was holding for you, and it goes at a date the company chooses.

Who you are dealing with today: Bitwala GmbH in Germany, and it partners with Solarisbank, a licensed German bank, for the euro account and the IBAN. The card issuer is not named on the page, which for a Visa debit card is a real gap — the issuer is the party that stands behind the card programme. The support centre exists; its languages and hours are not stated.

What none of this means: it is not a prediction. Providers fail and come back, and a licensed bank partner is not the same thing as a guarantee for your euros. But if you are choosing between two cards with similar fees, the one whose provider has been through this is the one to think about twice.

The everyday risks are more boring and more likely. Sending crypto on the wrong network, or to the wrong address, and the money is simply gone — blockchain transfers are irreversible. Losing access to your account during a check and having no way in. Finding at the ATM that the fee and the conversion together cost more than the cash was worth.

What to take instead

I looked at three alternatives. Here they are side by side, with their own scores, so you can see what you give up and what you gain.

Bitwala International Visa Card UNi Card Morse
Score 6.1 / 10 6.7 / 10 6.1 / 10 7.5 / 10
Card Visa debit, virtual and physical, euro account U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, pays in USD; physical “coming soon” Multicurrency UNi Card on Mastercard Virtual Visa prepaid debit
Who can get it Verified account, EEA residence Not residents or registrants of a long blocklist; FATF grey list case by case Not stated 18+ and resident in a supported country; app in over 140 countries; some countries closed beta with an invite code
Cost Free account; €0.99 virtual, €9.99 physical $5 virtual issuance, no maintenance; Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month No annual fee; issuance fee not stated Not stated; card page points to a Cardholder Agreement
Foreign exchange Not stated separately Visa exchange rate + 2 % FX fee No foreign transaction fee; live OTC rates, no hidden exchange fees Zero foreign exchange fees or markups, real-time Visa rate
Top-up Bitcoin, Ether, USDC, euros USDC, USDT, USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow Not stated Debit card, stablecoin transfer, bank details in USD, EUR, MXN, COP; USDC, USDG, EURC free via Solana

A few things stand out when you line them up.

Morse scores highest at 7.5 and publishes the thing Bitwala does not: zero foreign exchange fees or markups, a real-time Visa rate, and paying online or contactless for free. Its deposit routes are also the most explicit, and its wallet is self-custodial, which puts the key risk on you rather than on the provider. What it withholds is the fee schedule itself and the country list — the card is available only in certain countries, the list is not published, and you have to check the app. Several countries, including the UK, Switzerland, Singapore and Australia, are in closed beta and need an invite code.

The International Visa Card publishes more about costs than anyone: a $5 issuance, no maintenance, and a blunt 2 % foreign exchange fee. In exchange you get a U.S.-issued card paying in dollars, a long blocklist of countries by residence or registration, no physical card yet, and tiers that cost up to $19.00 a month. The heavier fee is on spending abroad, and that is where most people feel it.

UNi Card matches Bitwala’s score at 6.1 and makes the opposite trade: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, live OTC rates, and spend-to-earn rewards up to 3 %. Against that, who can get it, how you fund it and whether the card is physical or virtual are all not stated — which is the same problem Bitwala has, in a different direction.

If your money is largely spent outside the euro area, the published 2 % or zero-markup alternatives are more informative than Bitwala’s silence.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to one specific person: someone living in the EEA who already holds crypto, wants a euro balance and a Visa card in the same app, and has read the 2022 history and decided to use it anyway with an amount they could afford to lose. For that person it is a sensible tool, and 8 out of 10 for everyday use is not a fluke.

I would not recommend it as a first card, as a primary account, or as a place to hold money you cannot replace. I would not recommend it to anyone outside the EEA. And I would hold off on anything larger than a test amount until you have personally confirmed, in the app or from support, the three things the pages do not say: which networks to send crypto on, what a withdrawal costs, and what the foreign exchange treatment is.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bitwala card?

It is a Visa debit card that spends a euro balance held in a Bitwala app account. You can top that balance with euros or with Bitcoin, Ether or USDC, and crypto is swapped into euros inside the app. The card comes in a virtual and a physical version. It is not a bank card issued by a bank you hold an account relationship with in the usual sense.

Is Bitwala a bank?

No. The company is Bitwala GmbH in Germany, and it partners with Solarisbank, a licensed German bank, for the euro account and the IBAN. The card issuer is not named on the public page. So you get a euro account with an IBAN without getting ordinary deposit-guarantee protection that comes with a bank deposit.

Who can get the Bitwala card?

Anyone with a verified Bitwala account who resides in the EEA — the EU plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. It is residence, not citizenship, that decides. The documents required for verification, whether proof of address is needed, and the age rule are not stated on the public pages, so ask before you upload anything.

How much does the Bitwala card cost?

The account is free with no monthly subscription. A virtual card costs €0.99 once and a physical card €9.99 once plus shipping. Paying in euros is free, paying from crypto costs €0.20 plus 1 % per transaction, and cash at an ATM costs €2 plus 1 %. The foreign exchange fee is not stated separately, which is the number I would want before travelling.

Can I use the Bitwala card outside my own country?

A Visa debit card should work wherever Visa is accepted, but two things apply. Spending abroad is exactly where the unstated foreign exchange treatment bites, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because of what the issuer lookup shows. Apple Pay, if you want it, needs you to sign up with Curve first. Google Pay works without that step.

How do I top up the Bitwala card?

With euros, or with Bitcoin, Ether or USDC, which the app converts to euros for you. What is not stated is which blockchain networks are supported, and that matters more than it sounds — a transfer on an unsupported network can be lost, because blockchain transfers cannot be reversed. Confirm the network in the app before your first deposit.

Is the Bitwala card safe?

Safety has two meanings here. Technically the card can be frozen and unfrozen in the app, limits can be set in the app, and the account sits with a German company and a licensed bank partner. But your balance is held by a provider, not by you, and crypto transfers are irreversible. And in 2022 the previous company, Nuri, filed for insolvency and told customers to withdraw by 18 December 2022. Size your deposit accordingly.

Does Bitwala have rewards or cashback?

The public pages do not state any rewards or cashback, so I would plan as though there are none. Spending limits you can set yourself, card freezing, and both mobile wallets are the real features here — control and reachability, not perks.

What should I check before depositing a large amount?

Three things the pages leave out: which networks to use, what withdrawal costs, and how foreign exchange is charged. Then a fourth from the past: what happened in 2022 and why this is a new company. None of that is a reason to refuse the card, but all of it is a reason to start small.

Who should look at a different card?

If most of your spending happens outside the euro area, a card that publishes its foreign exchange terms — zero markup, or a stated 2 % — is easier to reason about. If you want to hold your own keys, a self-custodial wallet card puts the risk on you instead of on a provider. If you simply want a dependable everyday euro card, an ordinary bank debit card may still be the calmer choice.

Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team