A Visa debit card from the Italian exchange, with more questions than answers on its public page
Young is a Visa debit card from Young Platform, the Italian crypto exchange and broker regulated by Consob and Banca d’Italia. On paper it is a payment card you can spend from a crypto balance, the kind of product that lets you skip a bank transfer and pay in a shop with a card that drew on a bitcoin or stablecoin sale. In practice the card’s public page leaves a great deal unsaid: who can apply, what it costs to load or to spend, and which networks the exchange accepts for funding are all questions the website does not answer in a way a reader can act on. This review goes through what Young itself publishes, what the company confirms only indirectly, and what the alternative Italian-market sources report, and gives you my view of whether the card earns its place in your wallet.
The conditions in this review are current as of October 28, 2026. Dates that come from the underlying facts (the card’s 30 November 2025 launch, for example) keep their original year.
Verdict
Young earns 5.7 out of 10 in this review. The score is dragged down by the parts of the card you would most want explained before you sign up. Cost, top-up, country eligibility and everyday details are missing or only available from third-party sites; the things Young does say clearly, the regulation of the parent company and the choice of an Italian e-money institution as the payment partner, are solid and pull the score back up. The card fits an Italian-market user who already holds YNG on the exchange, values the staking- and token-based cashback that comes from the platform’s own club tiers, and is comfortable funding the card from a trading account rather than from an external wallet. It does not suit a reader who needs to know the conversion fee, the foreign-exchange margin, the ATM charge or the monthly limit before they open an account, and it is the wrong product for anyone who wants to fund a card from a self-custody wallet rather than a custodial exchange.

Here is how the score breaks down by criterion:
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | The country list is not disclosed, and there is no confirmation of any country restriction on the public page. |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Unofficial sources say issuance and the monthly fee are free; the conversion fee and the ATM charge are not disclosed. |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | The supported coins and networks for topping up the card are not disclosed; the card is tied to the exchange account. |
| Reliability and complaints | 8 / 10 | Young Platform S.p.A. is supervised by Consob and Banca d’Italia; the payment partner is TPPay S.p.A. (IMEL); the card issuer is not named; the exchange scores 4.4 out of 5 on Trustpilot. |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Unofficial reports describe a Visa debit card linked to the exchange account; the wallet options, the virtual-versus-physical mix and ATM access are not stated. |
| Total | 5.7 / 10 | The regulated company and the payment licence keep the score respectable; the missing disclosures on cost, eligibility and funding keep it from going higher. |
Who Young will issue a card to
The short answer is that Young Platform does not say, on the public pages you can read without an account, who can get the card. The card’s terms are not in the section of the site a new reader sees first, and eligibility is the kind of detail that tends to live behind the login or in a help-centre article rather than on the marketing page. That alone is unusual: most crypto cards in the EEA market (Coinbase Card, OKX, the larger Binance cards) publish a country list on the card page itself.
The reason this matters is practical. If you live outside Italy and are reading the review hoping to find out whether you are eligible, the card’s public material will not give you a clear answer. The exchange is authorised by Consob and Banca d’Italia as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCAR, and the payment side is run through TPPay S.p.A., an Italian electronic money institution (IMEL) registered with the Bank of Italy. A licence in one EU member state can support services across the EEA, so a regulated pathway to other countries is not impossible, but the card page does not promise it. Until Young publishes a country list, the only safe reading is that eligibility is decided case by case during sign-up.
That puts the verification step itself, identity checks, sanctions screening and proof of address, in the same place it sits for most regulated EU cards. EU rules require the issuer to verify name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documents, run sanctions and politically exposed person checks, and decide whether to take the relationship on. If the check cannot be completed, the institution is required to step back from the relationship. The card’s public page does not describe the KYC flow in these terms, so what the process looks like in practice is something you would only see once you have started the application.
How to get the card
Again, the card’s public page does not give a step-by-step you can follow without an account, and the second- and third-party sources only fill in some of the gaps. The clearest public statement is that a Visa debit card is linked to the Young Platform exchange trading account: that picture comes from an Italian review site (Finanza Digitale, 2026), not from Young’s own marketing, and the company itself does not confirm a “linked to the exchange account” framing on the card page. So before you sign up you would be relying on a description that Young has not officially endorsed.
Beyond that, the steps a reader will recognise (identity verification, choosing a virtual or physical card, activating it, adding it to a wallet) are not explained on the public page. Delivery time for a physical card is not stated. Whether you can get a virtual card without a plastic one, or whether the plastic card is the default, is also not stated on the public page. The activation flow, the PIN setup, the 3-D Secure enrolment, all of it lives in the same “not stated” bucket.
What is clear is that the card is one product in a wider Young Platform relationship. You do not just open a card account; you open an exchange account that may or may not include a card. The YNG-token club tiers the exchange runs (Essential, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum) sit at the heart of the card’s reward structure, and you only have access to them once you have an account and the token holdings that go with each tier. That is unusual among EEA crypto cards, where the rewards are usually a flat rate or a tier that depends on the amount of the exchange’s own token you hold. The trade-off is that you are committing to a single platform for both your trading and your card, and that tying the two together is a choice you have to make deliberately.
What the card really costs
Young’s own pages do not give a costs table you can read before signing up, which is the first thing a careful reader would look for. The official disclosure on what you pay to hold, load or spend with the card is “not stated” on the public page. Third-party sources fill some of this in, but you should treat anything that does not come from Young itself as unofficial.
On the unofficial side, Finanza Digitale (2026) lists the monthly fee and the issuance cost as free. That is encouraging, but it leaves the two fees that matter most to everyday use, the conversion fee and the foreign-exchange margin, exactly as the official page does: not stated. Without those two numbers you cannot tell whether paying in euros from a stablecoin balance, or paying in dollars abroad, will eat one percent, three percent or a fraction of a percent of the spend. The ATM charge is not stated either, and neither is the daily or monthly limit on what the card will let you spend or withdraw.
A second piece of the cost picture is the YNG-token club structure. Young does publish the rewards of the tiers, even if it does not publish the fees of the card, and the tiers are the place where the on-chain side of the product meets the off-chain side. The five tiers and the token holdings that put you in them are:
- Essential, at roughly 130 YNG: a 5% fee discount and a 1% staking APY boost.
- Bronze, at roughly 1,100 YNG: a 30% fee discount and one free card deposit a month.
- Silver, at roughly 3,600 YNG: half-price fees, a 15% staking boost and a monthly Market Report.
- Gold, at roughly 7,200 YNG: a 75% fee discount and two free card deposits a month.
- Platinum, at roughly 18,000 YNG: a 90% fee discount, three free card deposits a month and a dedicated Account Manager.
The “fee discount” wording in those tiers is the closest Young comes to telling you the card’s fees exist at all: the tiers give you a percentage off something, and a careful reader can infer that the something is a fee Young would otherwise charge on the card. The exact fee, the exact discount in euros or basis points, and how the discount is applied to a specific card transaction are all left to the sign-up flow rather than the public page.
A simple way to picture the cost of a card like this is to take three everyday payments and work out which fees touch each one. Coffee in Italy, paid in euros from a euro balance, would in most cases avoid a foreign-exchange margin and a stablecoin conversion. The fee that would still apply, if Young’s card behaves like other crypto cards, is the conversion fee between the asset you sold on the exchange to fund the card and the euro the merchant receives. The card’s page does not tell you what that fee is, so the cost of a coffee is something you only learn after you have signed up and topped up. A subscription in dollars on a US streaming service would in most cases add a foreign-exchange margin on top of the conversion. A cash withdrawal from an ATM in Italy, in euros, would add the ATM fee and would also be limited by a daily or monthly cap that is not stated. Without those numbers, comparing Young’s card to a bank debit card on pure cost is not something a careful reader can do in advance.
Here is the cost picture in one table, with the values officially available on the site and from industry commentary:
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Not stated officially; unofficial source lists it as free. |
| Monthly fee | Not stated officially; unofficial source lists it as free. |
| Conversion fee | Not stated. |
| Foreign-exchange margin | Not stated. |
| ATM fee | Not stated. |
| Daily and monthly limits | Not stated. |
The unofficial tier discounts imply a fee schedule exists, and the lack of public numbers means you have to accept that the company can change them with little public notice, and that you only see the cost of an individual transaction when it lands in the app.
Top up
The card’s public page does not describe how you load it, which is a notable gap. What is clear from the way the product is described is that funding is tied to the exchange account rather than to an external wallet, and that the card is therefore best thought of as a way to spend from a Young Platform trading balance rather than a way to spend from a self-custody wallet. If you hold your crypto on a hardware wallet or on a non-custodial software wallet, this card is not designed to receive a transfer from you: there is no published receiving address, no list of supported networks, and no list of supported coins.

The practical consequence is that topping up the card means selling or transferring inside the Young Platform app, and the cost of that step is the conversion fee the company does not publicly disclose. The token-based club tiers include “free card deposits” at the higher levels, which suggests there is normally a per-deposit charge, but the amount of that charge is not stated. The card deposit is also a separate step from a withdrawal from the exchange: a withdrawal moves funds out of the exchange to a bank or to an external wallet, and that is not the same as a card top-up.
For a reader who already has a Young Platform account and trades there, this is workable: you sell into the currency the card spends in, you load the card, you spend. For a reader who is choosing a card as a way to spend a self-custody balance, this product is the wrong fit. The card cannot be funded from your own wallet, and the company does not publish the list of networks on which it would receive a transfer if it did.
Paying with it every day
A Visa debit card issued under the Visa network is, on the merchant side, a familiar object: chip, contactless, online, mobile wallet. What is unusual about a crypto-linked card is the way the balance is held and converted, and on this card the details that other issuers publish, the wallet support, the ATM policy, the contactless limit, are not stated on the public page. Unofficial sources describe a Visa debit card linked to the exchange trading account. The wallet apps, whether the card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and the ATM policy are not confirmed.
The reward side is clearer, and it is the part of the product the company does describe. Cashback is paid in YNG tokens, and the rate depends on the club tier you hold. The stated rates are 0.1% at Essential, 1.8% at Gold and 3.6% at Platinum; the Bronze and Silver rates are not stated. That makes the card most attractive at the top tiers, and those tiers require YNG token holdings in the tens of thousands of units, which is a meaningful commitment and a meaningful concentration in the platform’s own token.
The app is on iOS and Android; the store ratings were not read for this review. The support channel, for both the exchange and the card, is the Young Platform support centre. There is no separate card support desk described, and the disputes process for the card, what to do if a transaction is wrong, missing or fraudulent, is not stated on the card page or in the help centre.
What can go wrong
The first risk is concentration. The card spends from a balance held at a single exchange, and the exchange is also the place where the card’s reward token is held. If the exchange has a bad day, a security incident, a regulatory action or a solvency problem, the card balance, the rewards and the ability to spend all move together. The card is not a separate account in the way a bank debit card is a separate account from a brokerage account.
The second risk is the disclosure gap. The company is regulated, the payment partner is regulated, the exchange scores 4.4 out of 5 on Trustpilot, but the public information on cost, eligibility and top-up is thin. That makes it hard to compare the card to a competitor on price before you sign up, and it means the cost of a transaction is something you find out at the point of sale rather than in advance. The lack of a stated card issuer is also worth flagging: the page does not name the bank or e-money institution that actually issues the Visa card, which is unusual and which limits the recourse a customer has outside the Young Platform support channel.
The third risk is the experience of the exchange, which is the only signal we have. Trustpilot (Young Platform exchange, not the card) reads at 4.4 out of 5 from 980 reviews, sampled on 2026-10-21. The themes from user reports are: unclear or undisclosed fees on instant bank transfers, unhelpful support, a site bug that led to a loss of about €100 (the company acknowledged the bug and offered compensation) and stablecoins no longer being available. None of the reviews visible discusses the card payments themselves, so the card’s reliability in everyday use is not directly evidenced by the user reports.
The fourth risk is the regulatory horizon. MiCA’s transitional (grandfathering) period lets providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation. Young Platform is already authorised under MiCAR, so it is past that transition, but the broader market is mid-shift, and the card’s terms and supported coins may change as the rules settle.
The fifth risk is the stablecoin side. Stablecoins are not stable by definition: USDT and USDC are the two largest by market capitalisation, USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and is backed mostly by an SEC-registered government money market fund, and both have historically held their peg with a small number of notable exceptions. Tether has, on its own account, frozen funds tied to illicit activity, which means the stablecoin side of a card is not censorship-proof. If a stablecoin you hold on the exchange is delisted, the balance you had earmarked for card spending may have to be moved or sold at a moment’s notice.
The sixth risk is the irrevocable nature of crypto transfers. A blockchain transfer is generally not reversible, and a deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address of another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. With a custodial card, the user is shielded from this on the funding side (the user is selling inside the exchange rather than sending a transfer from a wallet), but the shield only holds as long as the exchange is operating.
What to take instead
For a reader who wants a crypto-linked Visa or Mastercard in the EEA market, three alternatives are commonly discussed alongside Young, and they are worth walking through briefly so the comparison is yours rather than mine.
Coinbase Card scores 6.4 out of 10 in this site’s review framework. It is a Visa prepaid debit card available in all US states except Hawaii, with account opening under the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules (name, address, date of birth, ID). The card spends cash or crypto, with all crypto converted to US dollars at the time of purchase or ATM withdrawal. The cost is described by Coinbase as “zero spending fees and no annual fees”, with all fees disclosed in the Cardholder Agreement and User Agreement. There are no Coinbase transaction fees, but a spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells or trades crypto at the point of payment. Funding is by linking a bank account or by direct deposit of part of a paycheck into Coinbase, and a crypto balance on Coinbase can be spent and is converted to USD. Optional crypto rewards are available on every purchase for US card users, with a variable rate shown in the app and a rotating choice of reward token. The card is not available outside the United States, so it is not a substitute for an EEA reader; for a US reader it is the more established product.
OKX scores 6.2 out of 10. The card is a Mastercard in euros, virtual at launch, and is linked to OKX Pay. It is available across the EU plus Norway, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded (one explainer reaches a different conclusion and calls it “entire EEA”; the company-facing material is the conservative read). The card fee is none. There is no transaction fee and no OKX FX fee, and a conversion spread of around 0.1% per the explainer (May 2026) versus 0.4% market spread in the launch press release. Conversion to euro happens at purchase. Funding is in USDC or USDG held in OKX Pay, with other coins needing to be converted first; there is no auto top-up and the payment is declined if the balance is insufficient. Cashback applies only to USDG purchases, with monthly caps that vary by VIP tier. The card is newer than Coinbase’s and the funding is more limited, but the fee structure is in the open and the EEA coverage is explicit.
BingX scores 5.8 out of 10. The card is Visa debit, available in virtual form (instant, no activation) and as a metal card (mailed in 15 to 30 business days), and settles in USD. It is available in Europe (EEA), APAC, LATAM and “other selected regions”, with no published country list and an instruction to contact support to confirm. The card fee is not stated. There are no stated transaction fees; the card spends USDT from a BingX Fund Account, converted at the real-time rate. Funding is USDT only. There is no cashback described. The card is the closest to Young in terms of disclosure, and the comparison mostly comes down to which exchange you would rather have a relationship with.
In one view: Young is the option for an Italian-market reader who already uses the exchange and is comfortable with the platform’s token. OKX is the option for a reader who wants a card with the fees in the open and a euro denomination from launch. Coinbase is the option for a US reader. BingX is the option for a reader who wants a metal card and is willing to accept USDT-only funding.
Who I would recommend the card to
I would recommend the Young card to a reader who already has a Young Platform exchange account, who is comfortable trading in euros and stablecoins on the platform, and who is willing to commit YNG tokens to reach the higher cashback tiers. The product makes most sense at the Gold and Platinum tiers, where the cashback rate (1.8% and 3.6% in YNG) and the free card deposits are meaningful, and where the percentage-off-fees structure of the tiers starts to outweigh the cost of holding a meaningful YNG position. The platform is regulated, the payment partner is a regulated Italian e-money institution, and the exchange has a strong user rating.
I would not recommend the card to a reader who needs to know the fees in advance, who wants a card that is funded from a self-custody wallet, who plans to spend mostly outside the EEA, or who needs a clearly named card issuer for dispute and chargeback purposes. The disclosure gap on cost and eligibility is large enough that a reader who values transparency will find this product frustrating. The YNG-token concentration is also a real consideration: a reader who does not want to take a position in the platform’s own token will sit at the Essential tier, with a 0.1% cashback and a 5% fee discount, and will find the card’s economics less compelling.
The honest summary is that the card is workable, the company behind it is regulated, and the rewards structure is interesting if you are already in the platform’s ecosystem. It is not yet a product I would pick over a more openly priced alternative for a reader who is choosing a card for the first time.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Young card?
The Young card is a Visa debit card from Young Platform, the Italian crypto exchange and broker. It is designed to let you spend from a balance held on the exchange, and the rewards are paid in the platform’s own YNG token at a rate that depends on the club tier you hold.
How does the Young card work?
The card is linked to a Young Platform exchange account, and you spend from a balance on that account. The card’s public page does not describe the funding flow, the supported coins or the supported networks, so the practical mechanics are something you see in the app once you have signed up.
Is Young a bank?
No. Young Platform S.p.A. is a crypto-asset service provider authorised by Consob and Banca d’Italia under MiCAR, and the payment side of the card is run through TPPay S.p.A., an Italian electronic money institution (IMEL) registered with the Bank of Italy. Young is a registered Payment Services Agent of TPPay. The card issuer is not named in the public material.
Who owns Young Platform?
The Young Platform brand is owned by Young Platform S.p.A., an Italian company. The card is one product of that wider exchange and broker business.
Is the Young card available in my country?
The card’s public page does not publish a country list. Young Platform is regulated in Italy under MiCAR and the payment partner is an Italian e-money institution, but eligibility for the card is not stated on the public page, and a non-Italian reader should expect to find out at the application stage rather than before.
How do I get the Young card?
The public page does not lay out a step-by-step sign-up flow. The closest description is from an unofficial source, which describes a Visa debit card linked to the exchange trading account, with the rest of the process (identity verification, virtual or physical card, activation) handled in the app.
Does the Young card require KYC?
The card’s public page does not describe its KYC flow, but the underlying regulation does. EU rules require the institution to verify name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documents, run a sanctions check and decide whether to take the relationship on. If the check cannot be completed, the institution is required to step back from the relationship.
How do I top up the Young card?
The public page does not describe top-up, and no receiving address, supported network or supported coin is published. The card is designed to spend from the exchange account, so topping up means selling or transferring inside the Young Platform app rather than sending a transfer from a self-custody wallet.
Is the Young card free?
The monthly fee and the issuance cost are listed as free in an unofficial source (Finanza Digitale, 2026), but the conversion fee, the foreign-exchange margin, the ATM charge and the daily and monthly limits are not stated on the public page. The club tiers imply a fee schedule exists, with discounts at the higher YNG holdings.
Is the Young card worth it?
It depends on where you sit. For an Italian-market reader who already trades on Young Platform and is willing to hold YNG at the Gold or Platinum tier, the cashback and the free card deposits make the product worth a look. For a reader who is choosing a card for the first time, the disclosure gap on cost and eligibility is large enough that a more openly priced alternative will be easier to live with.
Exchange cards: choosing by where your coins sit – cryptocardpicker
Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team
