PowerPay card review: a Naira‑first virtual card whose terms leave almost nothing priced

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

PowerPay is one of a growing number of apps that turn a crypto balance into a card you can spend. The pitch is simple: keep dollars on a virtual card, top it up by selling crypto, and pay online or through a mobile wallet. In practice, the card sits in a very narrow lane. The app is built for Nigeria first, with Kenya and Ghana mentioned on the site, and the card is a virtual dollar product rather than a fully fledged debit card programme. Most of the details a normal card review would cover, fees, limits, the bank that issues it, the licence behind it, are simply not stated on the pages I could read.

PowerPay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

This review walks through what PowerPay does say, what it does not, and what that means if you are deciding whether to use it. I read the official site, the iOS and Android listings, the published terms and the support contact details, and checked for user reports and news. The conditions described here are current as of 2026-10-20.

Verdict

PowerPay scores 4.0 out of 10. The product does what it says for a narrow audience: someone in Nigeria, Kenya or Ghana who wants a virtual dollar card and is comfortable funding it by selling crypto inside the app. Outside that lane the card is hard to evaluate, because the official pages leave basic facts unstated. There is no public fee schedule, no named issuing bank, no licence number for the card programme, and no stated network brand for the card itself. For anyone outside the three countries the app is built around, or for anyone who needs a physical card, an ATM, or a transparent price list, PowerPay is not a card you can choose with confidence.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a PowerPay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The breakdown of the score:

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 The app is built for Nigeria; the site also lists Kenyan and Ghanaian currencies, but the terms are governed by Nigerian law and no country list is published.
Cost 5 / 10 The App Store mentions “competitive rates” but no figures are published; no fee table, no monthly fee, no ATM fee, nothing on FX.
Top-up options 5 / 10 You sell crypto into a wallet balance in NGN, KES or GHS and then load the card; the App Store previously mentioned USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH, but supported networks are not named.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Operator is PowerPay Limited in Abuja; the card issuer and any licences are not stated; no complaints surfaced in the searches I ran; the App Store rating rests on a single review.
Everyday use 3 / 10 Virtual dollar card with a stated “up to $10,000” threshold; Apple Pay and Google Pay are mentioned, but a physical card and ATM access are not described.

The audience this card fits is narrow and specific: Nigerian users topping up a virtual dollar card from a crypto balance. If that is not your situation, the rest of the review explains where the gaps start to matter.

Who will they give you the card

PowerPay does not publish a country or citizenship list. The App Store description calls it “Nigeria’s all-in-one app”, and the site references Nigerian naira, Kenyan shillings and Ghanaian cedis, the three currencies the wallet supports. The terms I read are governed by Nigerian law, and the company behind the app, PowerPay Limited, lists an address in Abuja. Taken together that signals a Nigeria-first product with two neighbouring markets named alongside it.

There is no public list of excluded countries, no statement about who can or cannot apply, and no residency-versus-citizenship rule on the site. For anyone outside Nigeria, Kenya or Ghana the page gives no clear answer. If you live in a different country, the application may simply not work, or it may work without any guarantee that the card will keep working, and the site does not tell you which it is.

Basic KYC is required. The terms ask for a government-issued ID, which in Nigeria means the National Identity Card, NIN (National Identification Number) or BVN (Bank Verification Number), plus a proof of address such as a utility bill or bank statement, and a valid mobile phone number. The minimum age is not stated. The terms also mention Enhanced Due Diligence for high-risk customers, which means extra source-of-funds checks, but the per-tier limits, the processing times, and the rules that trigger an upgrade from basic to enhanced checks are not published. If you are a politically exposed person, live in a high-risk jurisdiction, or send and receive unusually large amounts, expect to be asked for more documents and to wait without a stated timeline.

If you are not in Nigeria, Kenya or Ghana, the practical question is not whether the app will let you register, but whether it makes sense to rely on a card whose own terms are written under Nigerian law, whose support email is a .ng address, and whose phone number is a Nigerian mobile number.

How to get it

The signup flow is built around the mobile app. PowerPay is published as “PowerPay Ng” on the iOS App Store and on Google Play. The iOS listing shows a rating of 5.0 from a single rating, which is not a meaningful sample; the Android listing does not change the picture. After download, the app carries out KYC, which means uploading an ID and a proof of address as described in the Who will they give you the card section, and then lets you open a virtual dollar card.

The card itself is described on the site as “Instant virtual cards” in USD. The card network is not named on the pages I could read: it is not stated whether the card is Visa, Mastercard or another network, and there is no BIN/IIN published that a reader could check. For a card you plan to use at international merchants, that missing piece of information matters more than it might first look, because the card network determines where the card is accepted and how tokenisation in mobile wallets works.

The terms mention Apple Pay and Google Pay, which is consistent with a virtual card that can be tokenised in a phone wallet. The site does not describe a physical card, a delivery time, or a shipping address, and “delivery” is not stated because the product is virtual. There is no public activation step beyond the in-app setup, no PIN-by-post, and no replacement procedure to evaluate.

Because the issuer of the card is not named on the site, you are not given a separate issuer-side application, and there is no way to know which bank or e-money institution actually stands behind the card. That is unusual for a card product. It does not mean the card does not work, but it does mean you cannot check the issuer against a regulator’s register before you sign up.

What it really costs

This is the section where the gap between the marketing and the published facts is widest. There is no fee schedule on the site. The App Store description refers to “competitive rates on every swap and sale” without a number. Issuance fee, monthly fee, conversion fee, foreign exchange fee, ATM fee, daily and monthly limits, all of these are not stated on the official pages I could read. The only figure that is published is a threshold: the virtual card has a “up to $10,000” limit, which is described in the same breath as a card cap rather than a per-transaction limit, and the exact mechanics are not spelled out.

The costs table below is therefore half a table. Where the official page does not give a number, the cell says “not stated”.

Fee or limit Amount
Card issuance not stated
Monthly fee not stated
Conversion (crypto to wallet balance) not stated (“competitive rates” in app listing)
Foreign exchange fee not stated
ATM withdrawal not stated
Daily spending limit not stated
Monthly spending limit not stated
Overall card threshold up to $10,000

The wallet itself supports three currencies: NGN, KES and GHS. The card is denominated in USD. That means every top-up from the wallet is effectively a conversion, and every card payment in a non-USD currency is a second conversion. Two conversions, neither with a published rate.

To make this less abstract, here are three everyday payments and where the fees would land if you used PowerPay the way the app is designed:

A ₦20,000 grocery shop inside Nigeria. You fund the card by selling crypto into your NGN wallet and loading the card. The first conversion is crypto to NGN; the second is NGN to USD as the card balance is loaded. The site does not publish the spread or the fee on either step. The grocery merchant settles in NGN through a local acquirer, and your card balance in USD is converted back to NGN. Again, no published rate. You are paying two crypto-to-fiat conversions and one fiat-to-fiat conversion for one shop, with no published number for any of them.

A typical streaming subscription paid in US dollars. You sell crypto into your wallet, load the card, and the merchant charges the card in USD. There is no foreign exchange step here, but there is still the conversion from crypto to USD, which is not priced on the site. If the rate is competitive, the cost is the network fee on the deposit side; if it is not, the cost is hidden in the spread.

A typical purchase from a European merchant. This adds a third conversion. The merchant charges in euros, the card balance is in USD, and the card scheme converts the euro charge to USD at its own rate, which is normally visible on the statement but is rarely the rate you would get on Google. There is no published PowerPay fee on top, but again, no published fee to subtract either.

The honest summary is this: a PowerPay user pays a fee, but the size of the fee is set inside the app rather than on a published schedule, and you will not know it until you see it on a transaction. For a card you intend to use regularly, that is a structural disadvantage.

How to top up PowerPay

The funding flow has two stages, and both matter. In the first stage you sell crypto inside the app and the proceeds land in your wallet as NGN, KES or GHS, depending on the country. In the second stage you load the card from that wallet balance; the card is denominated in USD, so the load is a conversion.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up PowerPay starts with a transfer to the right network

The App Store listing previously mentioned USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH as the cryptocurrencies you could sell into the wallet. The current site does not list the supported coins, the supported networks, or the deposit addresses. In the App Store description, payment collection is handled through Paystack, Flutterwave and Kora, three payment partners that operate across West and East Africa. None of that tells you which blockchain network your deposit should be sent on, and the site does not say what happens if you send on the wrong network.

Network choice is not a minor detail. If you send USDT on a chain PowerPay does not support, the deposit may not arrive; if you send USDC to a deposit address for a different token, the result is the same. The terms note that “PowerPay may place a lien restricting access to funds”, which is a way of saying the company can hold balances while it checks the source of money, but that does not help with a deposit sent on the wrong chain. The general category rule is that blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on the wrong network to the wrong address can be lost or stranded, and recovery is up to support, with no guarantee of success.

The alternative route into the wallet is a local bank transfer through the named payment partners, but that route is also not described in detail. Limits per top-up, processing times, and the difference between a wallet top-up and a card top-up are not stated. The card-specific top-up fee, if any, is not stated either. All of this is workable if you start small and test a round trip before you commit larger sums; it is risky if you treat the card as a primary account.

A practical note for the reader: the safest first step is a small test transaction on the network the app actually confirms for you, and only after a successful sale and a successful card load should you move a larger balance. The site does not give you this guidance, but the structure of the product makes it the rational thing to do.

Paying with it every day

In day-to-day use, PowerPay is a virtual dollar card you can put into Apple Pay or Google Pay. The terms mention both wallets, and the App Store description supports the same. Once the card is tokenised in a phone wallet, you can pay contactless at point of sale, and you can pay online wherever a Visa or Mastercard is accepted, depending on the actual network the card runs on, which the site does not state.

The wallet in the app lets you “Freeze card at will”, which is a useful control. The site also lists monitoring of spend and transactions as part of the package, and a standard app-based password. None of this is unusual for a card product, and none of it is exceptional. There is no rewards or cashback programme mentioned on the pages I could read, no signup bonus, and no spend tiers. As a category note, cashback is not a standard feature of crypto-funded cards: some cards pay it, many do not, and PowerPay falls into the second group on the evidence available.

There is no mention of a physical card, and there is no mention of ATM access. That is a meaningful constraint. If you need cash, PowerPay is not set up to give it to you on the published terms. If you need a card you can hand over at a hotel reception or a car rental desk, a virtual card in a phone wallet will often be refused, and a physical card is not available to fall back on.

For online payments, a virtual card is usually fine; for in-person situations that demand a physical card, it is often not. The site does not say anything either way about merchant category restrictions, gambling blocks, or adult content blocks, all of which are common on prepaid cards, and the limits within the $10,000 overall threshold are not described.

Support for everyday problems is through [email protected] and a phone number, +234 811-9543-742, both of which are Nigerian. If you are in another time zone, the support window is not stated, and the response times are not stated either. For a card you depend on for daily spending, that is a real consideration.

Disputes follow a specific path. The terms say that product complaints go to the merchant first, which is the standard chargeback logic, and that unresolved matters go to arbitration in English before a sole arbitrator. Time frames for the arbitration process are not stated. The dispute mechanism is a private arbitration clause rather than a public court process, and that is worth knowing before you rely on the card for a high-value purchase.

What can go wrong

The first risk is the one that the published material itself points to. The site lists what the company does, but it does not name the card issuer, the licence under which the card is issued, or the regulatory framework that governs the card programme. For a payment card, that is a meaningful gap. You can, in principle, check the issuer against a regulator’s public register before you sign up. With PowerPay, you cannot, because the issuer is not named.

The second risk is the counterparty risk of a custodial wallet. PowerPay holds your crypto and your wallet balance; you do not control the private keys. The history of custodial crypto platforms is not reassuring: large failures, including Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin, have shown that holding funds with a custodian carries both hack and operational risk. The terms’ statement that PowerPay may place a lien restricting access to funds is a reminder that the company can hold balances when it chooses to. A seed phrase is not in scope here because the user is not the custodian; the trade-off is that the user is exposed to the custodian instead.

The third risk is operational. The site lists a few basic safeguards: app-based password, freeze card, monitor spend. It does not list two-factor authentication in a clear form, biometric login, device binding, or session controls. The terms put password responsibility on the user, which is fair, but the absence of more advanced security messaging leaves the question open. For an account that holds both fiat and a route into crypto, two-factor authentication should be the default rather than something you have to ask for.

The fourth risk is the country and licence risk. The terms are governed by Nigerian law, and the support address is in Nigeria. If you are outside Nigeria, the practical question is what protection you have if a dispute cannot be resolved through support. The published dispute path is private arbitration under Nigerian law, which is a defined path but not a customer-friendly one.

The fifth risk is the absence of user feedback. I did not find user complaints, news reports or regulator actions in the searches I ran. Trustpilot has a page for the PowerPay website, but it does not surface a substantive body of reviews. The App Store rating, 5.0 from a single rating, is not a signal. “No complaints” is not the same as “no problems”; it is more often a function of how new or how small a product is.

The sixth risk is structural: the price is not published. A card whose fees you cannot read before you sign up is a card whose cost you cannot compare against alternatives. That is not a risk in the sense of “something will go wrong”, but it is a risk in the sense of “you will not know what you are paying for”.

What to take instead

Because the official pages leave so much unsaid, the comparison is partly a comparison of disclosure. The three alternatives below all do something PowerPay does not, even if what they do is simply to publish a fee. None of them is a like-for-like replacement, because PowerPay’s narrow product, a virtual dollar card for Nigeria, is not the centre of gravity of any of these cards. They are alternatives in the sense that a reader who is not locked in to PowerPay should look at them.

CardFlow is a Nigeria-focused virtual USD Mastercard, aimed at “Nigerians and global users”. Card creation is described as free in the FAQ, which is a clearer starting point than PowerPay’s “competitive rates” with no number. Funding is through Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer, with networks not stated, which is the same gap as PowerPay on the network side. There is no rewards programme mentioned. CardFlow scores 4.9 out of 10 in my reading, which is similar to PowerPay on the disclosed-facts axis but a touch better on cost transparency.

HyperCard is a prepaid card with a USD or EUR balance, accepted in “more than 176 countries” on the App Store description. That figure is about acceptance, not eligibility, and the official pages do not state who is eligible, so the same “we do not know” caveat applies. Funding is by depositing USDT, BTC, ETH or other crypto into the app and converting to USD or EUR on the card. The App Store page lists no fees, which is closer to PowerPay than to a transparent fee schedule. HyperCard scores 4.7 out of 10 in my reading, again on the basis of similar disclosure gaps.

Card.fi is the more substantial alternative. Cards are available as Virtual Classic, Virtual Premium, physical Classic and Premium, and a metal card; every physical order includes a virtual card. Pricing is published: Virtual Classic is a one-time $49 and Virtual Premium is $249, with no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee. Top-up fees are 1.5% plus $1.00 for Classic and 1% for Premium; FX fees are 3.5% for Classic and 2.5% for Premium; the conversion fee is shown before each top-up. Funding is across 32 coins and 5 networks, including Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana and Kaanch, with a deposit address per card and an explicit warning that the wrong chain can mean permanent loss. Cashback is real: 0.8% on Classic, 1% on Premium, and 1.2% to 2% on Metal, with monthly caps. Card.fi scores 6.6 out of 10 in my reading, and the difference comes almost entirely from the published fees and the published networks.

If you want a card that publishes its fees, Card.fi is the obvious reference. If you want a card that targets Nigeria, CardFlow is closer to the same lane as PowerPay. If you want a card with broad stated acceptance, HyperCard sits in the middle. None of them removes the basic rule for crypto cards: check the network, check the chain, check the fee, and assume that a custodian holds the funds.

Who I would recommend it to

PowerPay is a sensible choice in a narrow and specific situation. If you are based in Nigeria, you hold crypto and you want a virtual dollar card for online payments, you can put it into Apple Pay or Google Pay, and you are willing to test a small top-up before you commit a larger balance, PowerPay is workable. The same applies to a user in Kenya or Ghana, with the caveat that the product is built first for Nigeria and the support and the legal framework are Nigerian.

PowerPay is not a sensible choice if you need a physical card, if you need cash from an ATM, if you want a published fee schedule, if you want to know which bank or e-money institution issues the card, or if you live outside Nigeria, Kenya or Ghana. It is also not a sensible choice if you want cashback, signup bonuses, or any reward for spending; none of these are mentioned.

A practical path is to test the round trip first. Sell a small amount of crypto into the wallet, load the card, make a small payment, freeze the card, unfreeze it, then add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay and make a contactless payment. If all of that works, you have a working PowerPay card. If any step fails, the published support channel is an email address and a Nigerian phone number, and the published dispute path is private arbitration, both of which are workable but neither of which is fast.

The honest summary is that PowerPay is a real product for a real audience, and the score of 4.0 out of 10 reflects how little of the product is publicly documented. The product itself can work; the documentation around it cannot be evaluated.

Frequently asked questions

What is PowerPay card?

PowerPay is a mobile app and a virtual dollar card. The app lets you sell crypto into a wallet balance in Nigerian naira, Kenyan shillings or Ghanaian cedis, and then load the card in US dollars. The card is described as a virtual card that can be added to Apple Pay and Google Pay. The company behind it is PowerPay Limited, based in Abuja.

How does PowerPay card work?

You create an account, complete basic KYC with a government ID and a proof of address, and the app generates a virtual dollar card. To fund it, you sell crypto inside the app and the proceeds land in your local-currency wallet. You then load the card from that wallet, and the card balance in USD is what you spend. Card payments are settled through the card network, which is not named on the public pages.

Is PowerPay a bank?

PowerPay is not described as a bank. The operator is PowerPay Limited, an Abuja-based company, and the card issuer and any banking or e-money licence behind the card are not stated on the public pages. The app behaves like a payment and wallet service rather than a bank account, and the terms do not describe deposit insurance or any equivalent protection.

Who owns PowerPay?

PowerPay is operated by PowerPay Limited, with an address at Plot 1954, Apo, Abuja, FCT. The iOS App Store developer is listed as ODDVPN TECHNOLOGY LTD, which appears to be the publishing entity rather than the operator. The ownership of PowerPay Limited itself, including any parent company or shareholders, is not stated on the public pages I could read.

How do I get the PowerPay card?

You download the PowerPay app from the iOS or Android store, create an account, complete KYC with a government-issued ID and a proof of address, and the app generates a virtual dollar card. The card can then be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay. There is no separate issuer-side application because the card issuer is not publicly identified.

Does PowerPay require KYC?

Yes. The terms describe basic KYC, including a government-issued ID such as a Nigerian National Identity Card, NIN or BVN, plus a proof of address such as a utility bill or bank statement, and a valid mobile phone number. The terms also describe Enhanced Due Diligence for high-risk customers, but the per-tier limits, processing times, and what triggers the upgrade are not stated.

How do I top up the PowerPay card?

You top up by selling crypto into your wallet balance in NGN, KES or GHS and then loading the card in USD. The cryptocurrencies previously mentioned in the App Store description are USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH. The supported networks are not stated on the current site, and the practical rule is to send a small test transaction on the network the app confirms before sending a larger amount.

How do I add PowerPay card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

The terms mention Apple Pay and Google Pay support. In practice, you open the wallet app on your phone, choose to add a card, and either scan the card details from the PowerPay app or enter them manually. If the card network is supported by Apple Pay or Google Pay in your country, the tokenisation will succeed. If it does not, the failure message in the wallet app is usually specific enough to indicate why.

Is PowerPay card safe?

PowerPay describes app-based password login, freeze-card functionality, and transaction monitoring. The company holds the wallet and the funds in custody, so you are exposed to the operator’s counterparty and operational risk as well as to any card-network or local-acquirer risk. There is no public information about insurance, segregation, or the regulatory regime that covers customer funds, and the card issuer is not named.

Is PowerPay card worth it?

The card is worth it for a Nigerian user who holds crypto, needs a virtual dollar card for online payments, and is comfortable with a fee that is set inside the app rather than published on a schedule. It is not worth it for someone who needs a physical card, an ATM, a published fee schedule, a named issuer, or a clear path to support outside Nigerian business hours. The score of 4.0 out of 10 reflects how little of the product is publicly documented, and the alternatives in the previous section show what a more fully documented product looks like.

Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team