Greencart card review — a self-custody Visa paid back in B3TR, but only for some countries
The Greencart card is a Visa issued under licence by Monavate Limited and run by the Greencart app on top of Gnosis Pay’s payment rails. It draws from a self-custodial crypto wallet, pays cashback in the B3TR token and carries no monthly or annual fees, with an optional paid tier called Greencart+. It suits people in the European Economic Area and a short list of Latin American countries who want a simple, low-fee way to spend from a wallet they control. It suits less anyone outside that footprint, anyone who needs Apple Pay or Google Pay, or anyone who is not comfortable with a £100 liability cap and an unregulated account.
Data current as of October 28, 2026 per the Gnosis Pay terms and public help-centre entries.
I went through the card’s public pages, the Gnosis Pay terms it leans on, the App Store listing and the help-centre entries I could reach. The conditions are current as of 2026-10-20.
Verdict
I would score the Greencart card 6.9 out of 10. That puts it comfortably above average among crypto cards I have looked at, mainly because the headline cost story is unusually clean: no issuance fee on the virtual card, no monthly fee on the base plan, no fees named for deposits, withdrawals, transfers or foreign-exchange. The card is a Visa, so it works in roughly the same places any Visa debit card works. The app sits on a self-custodial Safe, which is a real point in its favour if you care about who holds your private keys.
The mark comes down for three reasons. First, the geography is narrow: the EEA plus Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia and Mexico, and the eligible-countries page I tried to open did not render on the day I checked. Second, the cashback ceiling is modest — 0.5% as a floor, 4% as a ceiling, with a $40 monthly cap — and 48 merchant categories earn none. Third, the legal and operational framing is light: the account is described as “not a regulated product”, liability is capped at £100, and there is no safeguarding commitment in the terms. If those three things do not bother you, the Greencart card is a sensible spend-from-crypto option; if any of them does, read on before you apply.
The audience this card is built for, in my reading, is the eco-minded European who wants a Visa that pays a small reward on every purchase in a token tied to regenerative-finance projects, and who is happy to manage a self-custodial wallet in the same app.
How I scored it
| Criterion | Mark | Reason in a sentence |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Open across the EEA plus five Latin American countries through Gnosis Pay, with age and sanctions checks but no public list of blocked professions or tiers. |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | No hidden, monthly or annual fees on the base plan, no named fees for FX, deposits, transfers or withdrawals, with a cheap optional subscription. |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Bank account or crypto wallet, fiat or crypto, but the specific coins and networks are not named on the public pages. |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issuer is FCA-authorised under a Visa Europe licence; App Store rating is high; no Trustpilot or Reddit presence to triangulate against. |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual card is free, physical card exists, app is on iOS and Android, but Apple Pay, Google Pay, the card currency and the in-app rewards ceiling differ between the site and the App Store text. |
| Total | 6.9 / 10 | A clean, low-fee Visa on top of self-custody, held back by narrow geography, a soft legal frame and a small cashback ceiling. |

Who they will give the card to
Greencart is available in the European Economic Area and in Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia and Mexico, per the eligible-countries list Gnosis Pay publishes for the underlying card programme. The list itself did not load, so the boundaries are the ones Gnosis Pay states in the help-centre and the terms.
The application rules are set out in the Gnosis Pay terms and Greencart runs on the same onboarding rails. You must be at least 18. Your country of residence decides which Gnosis entity is your contracting party: Gnosis P. Tech, Unipessoal Lda for EEA residents, and Gnosis Pay Co Ltd for residents of the listed non-EEA countries. The card is personal — there is no business or joint version that I could see — and the terms bar anyone who is on a sanctions list, who is located in or controlled from a sanctioned country, or who is a national or resident of one.
I would not try to read the geography as a soft suggestion. The list is short, the entity on the other side of the contract depends on where you actually live, and the sanctions clause is worded broadly. If you sit outside the EEA and the named Latin American countries, the path of least resistance is to look at a different card rather than to assume Greencart will bend.
How to get it
You sign up in the Greencart app and the same flow covers identity, address and source-of-wealth checks, which the card’s own terms say are run by third-party compliance providers. The card is a Visa, powered by Gnosis Pay; the virtual card is free and the physical card may carry a one-off admin fee, with the exact amount not stated on the public pages. The card’s billing currency is not stated either, which is something to confirm in the app before you load a balance.
The application is personal, the age bar is 18, and the same sanctions screen that decides whether you can hold the card also decides whether the issuer can keep you. None of the public pages I looked at describe different KYC tiers with different limits; the help-centre entries for Gnosis Pay that I could see reference per-transaction and per-day caps, but Greencart itself does not restate them. Delivery time for the physical card is not stated.
In plain terms, this is an app-based sign-up. You download the app, you go through the checks, you get a virtual card immediately and a physical card in the post, and the rest of the experience lives inside the same app.
What the Greencart card really costs
The cost story is the strongest part of the proposition and the part I would tell a friend first. The site says “No hidden, monthly, or annual fees”, it does not list a fee for withdrawals, transfers, deposits or foreign exchange, and the virtual card is free. The optional Greencart+ subscription costs USD 7.99 a month, or USD 4.99 for the first two months, with an annual price of USD 79.99. The App Store also lists a separate Greencart Max plan at USD 350.00, which I would treat as a separate top-end tier.
Two everyday payments show what this looks like in practice. Buying a €40 train ticket online with the virtual card on a Saturday: no issuance fee, no monthly fee, no FX fee, no transaction fee, no top-up fee, so the only thing the issuer takes is a slice of cashback you would not have had otherwise. Paying a €9.50 lunch in a different currency at a contactless terminal while travelling: the same applies in principle, because the site names no FX fee, although the actual rate you get is Visa’s wholesale rate rather than anything Greencart sets. If your bank account charges for a foreign card transaction, that is on the bank, not on Greencart.
The cashback side is the part that can quietly cancel out a fee. The site describes a floor of 0.5% in B3TR on every purchase, rising with staked B3TR and the Greencart+ plan up to a 4% ceiling, with a $40 cap per transaction and a $40 cap per month, and 48 merchant categories excluded (cash withdrawals, transfers, gambling, taxes, insurance among them). The App Store text on the same product says “up to 8% cashback” and mentions partner purchases of up to 15%, which differs from the site. I would trust the site numbers first and treat the App Store wording as the marketing description of a future ceiling rather than a current commitment.
Greencart card costs at a glance
| Fee or limit | What Greencart states |
|---|---|
| Card issuance (virtual) | Free |
| Card issuance (physical) | May carry a one-off admin fee (amount not stated) |
| Monthly fee | None on the base plan |
| Annual fee | None on the base plan |
| Greencart+ subscription | USD 7.99 / month (USD 4.99 for the first 2 months), USD 79.99 / year |
| Greencart Max (App Store) | USD 350.00 |
| Foreign exchange (FX) | None named on the site |
| Card currency | Not stated on the public pages |
| Conversion fee | None named on the site |
| ATM withdrawal fee | Not stated; cash withdrawals are in the no-cashback category |
| Daily and monthly limits | Not stated on Greencart’s pages |
| Cashback floor | 0.5% in B3TR per purchase |
| Cashback ceiling | Up to 4% with staked B3TR and Greencart+ |
| Cashback caps | USD 40 per transaction, USD 40 per month |
| Cashback exclusions | 48 merchant categories, including cash withdrawals, transfers, gambling, taxes, insurance |
The site says no cashback is paid on cash withdrawals, transfers and a long list of merchant categories. I read that as a reminder that this is a spending card, not a cash-access card. If you plan to live on ATM cash, this is not the product for you.
Top up the Greencart card
The card is spent from a self-custodial Gnosis Pay Safe, and the app lets you recharge that Safe from a bank account or a crypto wallet, in fiat or in crypto. The site’s plain-English description is short: top it up, then spend. The specific coins, the specific networks, the minimum top-up amount and which side pays the network fee are not named on Greencart’s public pages, and that is the kind of detail you have to confirm in the app or in the help-centre before you send anything.

The funding policy on the site is permissive on the cost side: no fees for deposits. That is the right shape, but the network itself still charges gas or its equivalent when the deposit is on-chain, and that cost is paid to the blockchain, not to Greencart. The third-party help-centre I could reach, for the underlying Gnosis Pay card, gives concrete numbers (free withdrawals, then 2% after a small monthly allowance; ATM caps of 250 per withdrawal and 500 per day; spending caps of 5,000 per transaction and 8,000 per rolling 24 hours), but Greencart does not restate them and they are unofficial for Greencart-branded cards. Treat them as a guide, not a guarantee.
A practical sequence, because the public pages do not give you one: pick a network the app accepts, send a small test amount of a stablecoin to the deposit address the app shows, wait for the right number of confirmations, see the balance in the Safe, then load the card. If your wallet has the token but no native asset to pay the network fee, the transfer will not move. If you send the same token on the wrong network, the help-centre may be able to help, but blockchain transfers are not reversible and the help-centre is not a guarantee.
If you ever want to close the account, Greencart does not describe its own off-boarding; the underlying Gnosis Pay terms require you to give written notice to [email protected] and give you 60 days of platform access to move assets out of the Safe afterwards.
Paying with the Greencart card every day
The day-to-day picture is short on detail, which is the part I find most frustrating about the public information. The app exists on iOS and Android. The virtual card is free. The physical card is a Visa and should work in any shop or website that takes Visa, with the usual merchant rules about card-present versus card-not-present and the usual issuer right to decline. Beyond that, the public pages are quiet.
Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned on Greencart’s site, and the help-centre entry I could reach for the underlying Gnosis Pay card does not list them either. Tokenised mobile wallets are a near-default for new Visa programmes in 2026, so I would expect them to be either in the app, in the roadmap, or explicitly out of scope; until the site says which, I would not buy a phone on the assumption that tap-to-pay on the high street will work.
The cashback programme is the other everyday part. You earn B3TR on every purchase, the rate is recalculated weekly through the “My Level” tier shown in the app, and staked B3TR plus the paid Greencart+ plan lift the rate up to 4%. The App Store text talks about an 8% headline and a 15% partner offer; the site talks about a 4% ceiling, with caps of USD 40 per transaction and USD 40 per month. Until those two descriptions agree, I would plan around the smaller numbers and treat the larger ones as marketing. The 48 categories that earn nothing are the usual block list — cash withdrawals, transfers, gambling, taxes, insurance, and a long tail of merchants — so a normal month of groceries, transport and small online buys will earn the floor, while a casino deposit will not.
The disputes process is described in the terms. Safe-funded card transactions can be disputed or reported as fraud through the platform, complaints are acknowledged within 24 hours, the issuer aims to resolve them within 15 Working Days and to give a final response no later than 35 Working Days, and you can escalate to Monavate. The terms do not give a chargeback time frame, which is a real gap if you are used to the 120-day window most Visa issuers observe, and the practical effect is that “I never got the goods” is something you raise through the platform rather than something the network forces on the merchant.
For the in-app experience, the App Store rating in the US store was 4.86 from 44 ratings when I read it through the iTunes API, with the app page itself showing 4.9 from 44. Google Play was not read for this review. A high rating on 44 reviews is encouraging but it is a small sample, and the absence of a Trustpilot page or a Reddit thread means there is no wider word-of-mouth to lean on.
What can go wrong with the Greencart card
The risks I would think about first are the ones the card’s own paperwork puts in front of you. The Gnosis Pay terms make clear that Greencart is “not a regulated product or service”, and the same terms cap Greencart’s liability at £100. That is a small number. It is consistent with how some prepaid programmes are written, but it is not the same thing as deposit insurance, and you should not read it as one.
The card is run on a self-custodial Safe, and the issuer side of the programme is a Visa licence held by Monavate Limited, an FCA-authorised electronic money institution with reference number 901097. The company behind Greencart is Linfa Inc., a Delaware corporation at 850 New Burton Road, Suite 201, Dover, Delaware 19904. The Greencart entity is registered in the US, the issuer is in the UK, the contracting party for EEA residents is a Portuguese Gnosis entity, and the contracting party for the listed non-EEA countries is a separate Gnosis Pay entity. Each of those is a different counterparty with a different legal regime, and that is worth holding in your head if anything goes wrong.
The custody model is the second risk. A self-custodial Safe means you hold the keys. Lost credentials are described as a possible permanent loss of funds, and Gnosis Pay states that it does not offer a crypto-asset wallet — the wallet is something the user brings. That is the philosophical point of the product, but it is also the failure mode: phishing, a clipboard-hijacker swapping a copied address, a seed phrase stored in a notes app, a phone left logged in, any of these can empty the Safe in a way the issuer cannot reverse. The standard crypto-card safeguards — app-based 2FA, instant card freeze, per-transaction limits, 3-D Secure confirmation — are not listed on Greencart’s pages as features the card has, and that is the kind of gap I would want closed before I put a large balance on it.
The support side is small. The contact addresses on the public pages are [email protected] and [email protected], with Greencart+ subscribers told they get “priority support”, and the underlying Gnosis Pay help channel is [email protected] and an in-app chat bot. Languages and hours are not stated. A small support footprint is normal for a young programme, but it is the first thing that hurts when something goes wrong, and it is the second thing (after the £100 liability cap) that I would tell a careful user to keep in mind.
The news flow is short. The most recent update I could find, dated March 2026, is that the app passed 1 million users and that more than USD 1.2 million in crypto rewards had been distributed, with the Greencart debit card paying cashback in B3TR having recently launched. That is a useful data point: it tells you the programme is in production and paying out. It does not tell you how a customer service complaint goes in the bad week.
The complaints picture is unusually empty. I searched for Greencart card reviews on Trustpilot and Reddit and found nothing. There is no Trustpilot page for greencart.ai, and no Reddit thread that surfaces in a normal search. That can mean the card is new, or that the user base has not produced many public complaints yet, or that the kind of customer who has a problem is not the kind of customer who posts about it. I would not read silence as satisfaction, and I would not read it as trouble either; I would read it as “we do not know yet”.
What to take instead
If the Greencart card is not quite right, three alternatives come up most often alongside it. They are not perfect substitutes — none of them is a clone of the Greencart proposition — but they give a sense of where the trade-offs sit.
GoMining Card is a card product from the GoMining mining-and-yield brand. Its review score in my notes is 6.6 out of 10. The eligibility framing is “may not be available in your jurisdiction”, which is a softer line than Greencart’s country list, and earlier checks of the same product say it is available worldwide outside the usual prohibited jurisdictions. A virtual card is live and a physical card is described as “coming soon”. The cost side is not stated on the public pages, but opening a card grants a free 1 TH of mining power, which is the unusual feature. Top-ups are funded from the GoMining wallet in BTC, USDT, GOMINING and other coins, and cashback is paid in mining power that rises with your VIP level, with a headline rate of “up to 5%”. If you want a card that doubles as a small mining starter, GoMining is the one to look at; if you want a clean cashback percentage in a token you can read on a chart, it is not.
Kinesis Virtual Card is the lighter end of the field, with a review score of 4.8 out of 10. The public page is thin on the basics — network, card currency, fees and eligible countries are not all stated — and the starting data I had said the card was available in the United States, Latin America and the Caribbean. The funding model is the interesting part: spending converts at the point of sale from a Kinesis account balance in gold (KAU), silver (KAG), crypto or the C1USD stablecoin, with the networks not stated on the page. The reward is 2% cashback in gold, free for six months from launch. If you want a precious-metals flavour and are happy with a virtual-only product, Kinesis is worth a look; if you want a physical card, a clear fee table and a wide country list, it is not.
Young Card sits in the middle, with a review score of 5.7 out of 10. The basics — eligibility, card form, fees — are not stated on the public pages I read, which is the kind of gap I would flag in any review. The interesting part is the rewards ladder: cashback is paid in YNG tokens and the rate is set by the Club tier, with Essential at 0.1%, Gold at 1.8% and Platinum at 3.6%, and Bronze and Silver not stated. If you are already inside the Young platform and the YNG token economy is something you want exposure to, the card is a small add-on; if you are choosing a card first and a token second, the basic information is too thin to commit to.
The honest comparison is that none of these three is a like-for-like Greencart. GoMining is the one with a real physical-card roadmap and a tokenised mining reward, Kinesis is the one that pays you in gold and does not pretend to be a Visa, and Young is the one for users already inside the Young token economy. If the Greencart proposition is what you want, the country list and the self-custody model are the two things no alternative reproduces exactly.
Who I would recommend the Greencart card to
I would recommend the Greencart card to three kinds of reader and I would steer the rest towards something else.
The first group is the eco-minded European who wants a Visa they can spend from a crypto balance, who is comfortable with a self-custodial wallet, who can hold a small amount of B3TR to lift the cashback rate, and who is not planning to live on ATM cash. For that group, the Greencart card is one of the cleanest cost profiles in the category, the cashback is small but it is in a token with a stated project, and the app is the same app that holds the keys, which keeps the mental model simple.
The second group is the regular traveller inside the EEA and the five listed Latin American countries, who wants a card with no foreign-exchange fee on the issuer side and who is happy to take Visa’s wholesale rate. For that group, Greencart is a sensible everyday spend card, and the cashback in B3TR is a small bonus rather than the point.
The third group is the curious user who wants a self-custody-first crypto card as a small balance to test the model. For that group, Greencart is a low-cost way to learn how a self-custodial Safe, a card programme and a tokenised cashback all sit together, and the £100 liability cap and the unregulated-account framing are not large enough concerns at a small balance to be dealbreakers.
I would steer other readers away. Anyone outside the EEA and the five named Latin American countries should not plan their finances around a card they cannot apply for. Anyone who needs Apple Pay, Google Pay, a card currency that is clearly stated, daily and monthly limits that are clearly stated, or a formal chargeback window, should wait until those gaps are closed on Greencart’s public pages. Anyone who cannot keep a seed phrase safe, or who is not willing to learn how a clipboard-hijacker works, should not put a meaningful balance on a self-custodial card at all. And anyone who needs the protections of a regulated bank account or a protected deposit should look at a different product, because Greencart’s terms are clear that this is not one.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Greencart card?
The Greencart card is a Visa debit card issued under licence by Monavate Limited and run from the Greencart app, which sits on top of the Gnosis Pay payment programme. The card spends from a self-custodial crypto wallet, pays cashback in the B3TR token, and charges no monthly or annual fees on the base plan.
How does the Greencart card work?
You download the app, complete the identity, address and source-of-wealth checks, and receive a free virtual Visa and an optional physical card. You top up the underlying self-custodial Safe from a bank account or another crypto wallet, in fiat or crypto, and the card draws down that balance when you pay. Cashback in B3TR is added to the Safe after each eligible purchase.
Is Greencart a bank?
No. Greencart describes its account as “not a regulated product or service”. The card is issued by Monavate Limited, an FCA-authorised electronic money institution, and the crypto side is run through a self-custodial Safe. You should not expect the protections of a regulated bank account or a covered deposit.
Who owns Greencart?
Greencart is operated by Linfa Inc., a Delaware corporation registered at 850 New Burton Road, Suite 201, Dover, Delaware 19904, in the United States. The card programme is issued by Monavate Limited under a Visa Europe licence, and the contracting entity you deal with depends on your country of residence.
Is the Greencart card available in my country?
Greencart is available in the European Economic Area and in Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia and Mexico, per the Gnosis Pay eligible-countries list the card runs on. The list itself did not load when I checked, so the boundaries are taken from Gnosis Pay’s help-centre and terms. If you live outside that footprint, the application will not progress.
How do I get the Greencart card?
You download the Greencart app on iOS or Android, complete the third-party identity and address checks, and confirm you are 18 or over and not on a sanctions list. The virtual card is issued in the app; the physical card is sent by post, with the delivery time and any one-off admin fee not stated on the public pages.
Does the Greencart card require KYC?
Yes. Onboarding is run through third-party compliance providers that collect identity, address and source-of-wealth information. The account is personal only, the age bar is 18, and the same sanctions screen is used to decide who can hold the card and who can be kept on as a customer.
How do I top up the Greencart card?
You recharge the underlying Gnosis Pay Safe from a bank account or a crypto wallet, in fiat or in crypto, and the card draws on that balance. The site states no fee for deposits; the specific coins, networks, minimum amounts and which side pays the network fee are not named on Greencart’s public pages and should be confirmed in the app before any transfer.
Is the Greencart card free?
The base plan has no issuance fee on the virtual card, no monthly fee and no annual fee, and the site names no fee for deposits, withdrawals, transfers or foreign exchange. The optional Greencart+ subscription costs USD 7.99 a month or USD 79.99 a year, the App Store lists a Greencart Max plan at USD 350.00, and the physical card may carry a one-off admin fee whose amount is not stated.
Is the Greencart card safe?
The card runs on an FCA-authorised issuer under a Visa Europe licence, the funds are held in a self-custodial Safe you control, and the App Store rating in the US is 4.86 from 44 ratings. The trade-off is that the account is described as “not a regulated product or service”, Greencart’s liability is capped at £100, and the safety of the funds depends on how well you keep your seed phrase and your device.
Credit and cashback cards: choosing between them – cryptocardpicker
Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team
