Wenia charges nothing to hold and nothing to spend in its own tokens, but tells you very little about who can open one
If you have crypto sitting in an exchange account and you want to pay for something online without touching a bank, the Wenia Card is worth a look — and a close reading of what it does not say. The pitch is unusually clean: creating the card is free, there is no “cuota de manejo”, there are no monthly charges, interest is 0%, and purchases paid in COPW, USDW or EURC carry no additional cost. That is the strongest part of this card, and it is unusual.
The weak part is disclosure. Wenia’s public pages do not list who is eligible, what the identity checks are, what currency the card is denominated in, which blockchain networks you should use for a top-up, or whether there is any foreign-exchange fee. Those are not small print items for someone choosing a card to pay with; they are the questions you would normally answer before you start.
I scored it 6.1 out of 10. It suits Colombian residents who already pay online from a crypto balance and who want to keep their crypto rather than cash it out. It does not yet suit someone who needs a physical card, an ATM, or a documented answer to “can I use this from where I am”.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | Wenia S.A.S. offers the product in Colombia through the Wenia App, but the eligibility conditions are not listed anywhere on the public pages. |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | Free to create, no management fee and no monthly charges, interest 0%; purchases in COPW, USDW or EURC carry no extra cost, though other coins can attract a conversion fee. |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | You pay from a digital-asset balance covering COPW, USDW, EURC, BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK and ADA, switchable in the Wenia Card section; the networks themselves are not named. |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Wenia S.A.S. (NIT 901656609-9) is supervised by the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio and rides the Mastercard network, but the issuing bank is not named and no complaints could be found. |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | A digital Mastercard only, with Apple Pay and Google Pay mentioned; paying in store through the mobile wallet is described as coming soon, and there is no physical card or ATM. |
| Total | 6.1 / 10 | A genuinely cheap card with a real gap in plain-English disclosure. |
Two of these deserve a word before the details. The cost mark is high because the price of holding and spending is where most cards in this category quietly take your money, and Wenia does not. The “who can get it” mark is low not because the card is restricted — nobody has said it is — but because nobody has told you either way, and an unknown eligibility rule is worth exactly as much as a guessed one.
Will they give you the card
Short answer: the card exists for Colombian customers of the Wenia App, and beyond that, the public pages do not say.
Wenia S.A.S. offers the product in Colombia through the Wenia app. Eligibility is not listed. That means the page does not tell you whether you need to be a resident, a national, an account holder already holding crypto with them, or simply an adult with an eligible Colombian address. If you are reading this from outside Colombia, that absence is the thing to note. The card’s own pages neither confirm nor deny availability abroad, and I am not going to guess on their behalf.
There is a regulatory detail that does give you something to hold on to. Wenia S.A.S. is listed with NIT 901656609-9 and supervised by the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio, the Colombian competition and consumer authority. It runs on the Mastercard network. The issuing bank behind the card is not named, which is a detail worth asking about — in this category the “crypto brand” is often only the front end, with a licensed bank or e-money institution actually holding the card programme.
A quick note on why country of issue matters at all, because it explains why this section is longer than “Colombia”: a card number begins with a six- or eight-digit issuer identification number, and any merchant can look it up to see which institution and country issued the card. Shops apply extra scrutiny when that issuer country differs from the billing address on the payment. That is the mechanism behind a lot of declines people report on cards from other countries, and it is why “available in my country” is a different question from “accepted by the shop I want to pay”.
How to get it
The stated steps are short: download the Wenia app, open an account, create the card in the app, and choose the digital asset you want to pay with. That is the whole flow as described.
What is not stated is the identity check. Wenia’s public pages do not give the KYC details — no list of documents, no indication of how long it takes, nothing about whether a selfie or a proof of address is required. You should expect to verify your identity anyway: this is a regulated product, and anti-money-laundering law generally requires regulated businesses to verify customers, screen for sanctions and keep monitoring transactions once you are on the books. If you were hoping to sign up and spend in ten minutes anonymously, that is not a realistic expectation of any card in this category.
On the card itself: it is a digital (virtual) Mastercard for online use worldwide, and no physical card is mentioned. In-store payment through a mobile wallet is described as coming soon, so today this is an online card first. The currency the card is denominated in is not stated — and that is the single most consequential unstated fact on this page, because it decides what happens to your balance when you buy something priced in dollars or euros.
Fees: what it really costs
The cost story is the reason to keep reading. Wenia is free to create, with no monthly management fee and no monthly charges (“sin cuota de manejo ni cargos mensuales”). Interest is 0%. Purchases paid in COPW, USDW or EURC carry no additional cost. Choosing some other cryptocurrency may incur a conversion fee, and the rate for that fee is not stated on the page.

Here is the honest picture, including the blanks:
| Item | What Wenia states |
|---|---|
| Card creation | Free |
| Monthly management fee | None (“sin cuota de manejo”) |
| Monthly charges | None |
| Interest | 0% |
| Purchase in COPW, USDW or EURC | No additional cost |
| Purchase in other cryptocurrencies | A conversion fee may apply; rate not stated |
| Foreign-exchange fee | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated |
| Spending limit | Up to 10,000 USD per month; higher on request via customer service |
| Daily limit | Not stated |
| ATM limit | Not stated |
Now let me put that against three ordinary payments, because a fee list on its own does not tell you what you will pay.
Buying a €30 subscription in COPW. You hold COPW, you select COPW in the Wenia Card section, and the purchase carries no additional cost. If the card spends COPW directly, this is the clean case the fee schedule was designed for.
Buying the same €30 subscription in BTC. Here you may hit the conversion fee, and because the rate is not published, you cannot predict the cost of this purchase before you make it. You are choosing to pay a stated-unknown.
Buying a USD 40 item with EURC. No additional cost is stated for EURC purchases either. But whether a cross-currency conversion happens, and at what spread, is precisely what the unstated foreign-exchange fee would cover. This is the purchase to be most careful with.
The 10,000 USD monthly ceiling is worth internalising. If you spend more than that in a month, you need to ask customer service for a higher limit in advance, and there is no promise about how quickly that comes. If you travel, a card that only works online, with a hard monthly cap and no physical option, will feel like a spare card rather than a main one.
One thing to keep in mind about the missing FX line: in the crypto-card category, the fee you are usually quoted for “conversion” is a spread inside the exchange rate rather than a separate line item. So a card that says “no additional cost” may still have a rate slightly worse than the market one. You cannot check that here, because the rate is not stated.
Top up: funding the balance
The way Wenia works is that it pays from your digital-asset balance in the app. The supported assets are COPW, USDW, EURC, BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK and ADA, and you can switch which asset it uses in the “Wenia Card” section of the app.

That list is generous — far more assets than most cards in this category accept — but the thing that actually matters for a transfer is missing: the networks are not named. And this is not a pedantic gap.
In crypto payments, the network you send on must match what the receiver supports. A transfer sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost entirely or need manual recovery with no guarantee. So before your first top-up you need one specific piece of information the card’s pages do not give you: which chain to send USDW or BTC on. Get it from support, and get it in writing.
Some background on the assets themselves, since they are not all the same kind of thing. COPW, USDW and EURC sit in the stablecoin family — tokens designed to hold a steady value against a currency. USDT and USDC are dollar-pegged, and the BIS notes that the stablecoin market is concentrated in these two. Circle says USDC is fully backed by cash and cash equivalents and redeemable one-for-one, with monthly reserve attestations. But stablecoins are not guaranteed to hold their peg: TerraUSD collapsed and USDC briefly lost its peg during the US banking crisis. BTC, ETH, SOL and the rest move in value, which is exactly why Wenia flags a conversion fee on them.
Two further network facts that affect a transfer. On Ethereum, fees are paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot actually send it. And on Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy, often by burning TRX. Circle also stopped supporting USDC on Tron, so sending “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option.
One last thing about transfers: on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by Wenia. Whatever the card charges, the network takes its own cut.
Paying with it every day
Daily use, today, means online payments and the two mobile wallets. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both mentioned on Wenia’s home page. That is the whole everyday picture.
The virtual card is a Mastercard for online use worldwide, and the in-store route through the mobile wallet is described as coming soon — which is a bit of a puzzle, since a tokenised wallet normally needs the card added to it first, and the card is what is missing from stores. Take the wording at face value: the pages promise digital-wallet payments in store and do not describe them as working yet.
Blocked merchant categories are not stated, and that is a real question if you intend to use the card for anything beyond ordinary shopping. In this category, issuers commonly block whole categories — gambling is the standard example, identified by a four-digit merchant category code — but the blocked list is a policy of each issuer, not a rule, and it varies between them. Wenia publishes no list, so you cannot know in advance whether something you buy often will be refused.
Rewards are not stated at all. There is no cashback described, no tier, no programme. If you are comparing this with a card that pays you something back, that is a difference of kind rather than of rate.
Where this card does sit well is the narrow, practical case: you hold one of the three no-extra-cost assets, you want to spend it online without converting it to fiat yourself, and you do not mind that the card has no physical form.
What can go wrong
There is no list of incidents here, which is both reassuring and limited. I found no complaints or user reviews for the Wenia Card on Reddit, Trustpilot or in news coverage, and no official incidents. For a young product that absence is worth very little; a card nobody has written about has not been tested by users, not been found clean.
The specific things that could go wrong with this card, given what is and is not stated:
You cannot spend in store today. A digital card with mobile-wallet payments still described as coming soon is a genuine gap. If your day involves physical shops, this card cannot be the card you rely on.
You pick the wrong network on a top-up. Unsupported network, funds gone or held in manual recovery. This is the single most avoidable mistake here, and the pages do not help you avoid it.
The eligibility rule turns out to exclude you. Not because it is restrictive, but because nobody has published it. You may find out at application.
The conversion fee on non-COPW, USDW or EURC assets. Applies to most of the eleven supported assets, with an unpublished rate.
A payment in a currency other than your balance’s. Whether an FX fee applies is not stated, and that is the fee most likely to be small but hard to notice.
The card’s own limits. The 10,000 USD monthly cap, with higher limits only on request, can stop a large purchase outright.
Declines and holds. A declined online authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, sometimes up to a week, before it clears.
Two more category-level risks you should carry in mind, because they are properties of this whole product type rather than of Wenia specifically. First, cards get switched off: WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe, closing all its programmes, and when Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. Closures generally follow a pattern — a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. Second, if the crypto sits with a custodian, you carry counterparty risk. Holders have faced losses at platforms they trusted, as custody has a record of failures.
And the caveat that applies to anyone reading about any card: I’m not telling you this is safe or unsafe. I’m telling you what is documented, and what isn’t.
What to take instead
If a specific gap above is the one that decides it for you, there are three other cards in this category I looked at, and they trade Wenia’s strengths against the gaps.
| Card | Score | Eligibility | Card type | Cost | Notable |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wenia | 6.1 / 10 | Colombia, via Wenia App; conditions not listed | Digital Mastercard | Free to create, no monthly fee, 0% interest | No extra cost on COPW, USDW, EURC |
| Coinbase Card | 6.4 / 10 | All US states except Hawaii; no other countries | Visa prepaid debit, virtual or physical | Zero spending fees, no annual fees | Optional crypto rewards, US users only |
| OKX | 6.2 / 10 | EU plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026; Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded | Mastercard, euro-denominated virtual debit | No card fee (per explainer, May 2026) | Cashback on USDG purchases only |
| Young Card | 5.7 / 10 | Not stated | Not stated officially | Not stated officially | Cashback in YNG tokens by tier |
Coinbase Card is the one to consider if you want the clearest published terms. It is a Visa prepaid debit card, virtual or physical, available in all US states except Hawaii, with identity rules that follow the USA PATRIOT Act — name, address, date of birth, ID. It has zero spending fees and no annual fees, funding through a linked bank account or a Coinbase balance, and optional crypto rewards on every purchase for US card users with a variable rate shown in the app. The catch is geography and conversion: all crypto is converted to US dollars, there is no Coinbase transaction fee but a spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells or trades, and it does not solve a non-US problem.
OKX is the closest thing here to a European answer, and it is worth reading if you are in the EEA. It is a Mastercard, euro-denominated virtual debit card linked to OKX Pay, launched 28 January 2026 for the EU plus Norway, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded. Card fee is none per the explainer as of May 2026, and there is no transaction fee and no OKX FX fee. The conversion spread is reported inconsistently — 0.1% in the explainer (May 2026) against 0.4% in the launch press release — so treat that figure as unsettled. Funding is USDC or USDG in OKX Pay; other coins must be converted first, there is no auto top-up, and a payment is declined if the balance is short. Cashback is on USDG purchases only, not USDC, with monthly caps that the source text and table disagree on.
Young Card scores lowest here at 5.7, largely because its public information is thinner: eligibility, card type and fees are all not stated officially. What it does publish is its reward structure — cashback paid in YNG tokens at a rate set by club tier, from 0.1% at Essential up to 3.6% at Platinum, with Bronze and Silver not stated.
The pattern across all four is the one worth taking away: the cards that publish their fees and eligibility in plain terms score better on clarity than the ones that do not, regardless of headline price.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Wenia Card to someone in a fairly specific situation. You are in Colombia. You already hold crypto, or a stablecoin, and you want to spend it online without converting it to Colombian pesos yourself in a separate step. You are comfortable with a card that exists only in your phone. And you are the kind of person who will ask support which network to send on, and then act on the answer.
For you, the appeal is real and rare: no creation fee, no monthly fee, no interest, and no additional cost at all when you pay in COPW, USDW or EURC. For an active spender of their own stablecoin balance, that is hard to argue with, and it is why the cost mark is 9 out of 10.
I would not recommend it as your main card, to anyone, today. A card with no physical form, no ATM, in-store payments still to come, and no published eligibility rule is a companion card, not the one you keep in your wallet. And I would be careful with it if your spending is concentrated in BTC, ETH or SOL rather than the three free assets, or if you buy in a currency other than the one your balance is in.
Before you put money in, two questions worth asking support, both of which the pages leave open: which network should I send each supported asset on, and what is the exact FX fee if I pay in a currency other than my balance’s. Those two answers tell you most of what you need.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Wenia Card?
The Wenia Card is a digital Mastercard offered by Wenia S.A.S. in Colombia through the Wenia app. It pays for online purchases worldwide from a balance of digital assets held in the app, rather than from a bank account. There is no physical card, and in-store payments through a mobile wallet are described as coming soon.
How does the Wenia Card work?
You download the Wenia app, open an account, and create the card inside the app. Then you choose which digital asset the card should pay with, switching between them in the “Wenia Card” section. At purchase, the balance in that asset is converted and the card spends the result as an ordinary Mastercard payment online.
Is Wenia a bank?
Wenia S.A.S. is a company registered in Colombia with NIT 901656609-9, supervised by the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio. It issues and operates the card on the Mastercard network, but the public pages do not name a separate bank issuer. In this category the crypto brand is often just the programme manager, with a licensed bank or e-money institution behind it.
Who can get the Wenia Card?
Wenia’s public pages do not list eligibility conditions. The product is offered by Wenia S.A.S. in Colombia through the Wenia app, and beyond that nothing is stated about residency, nationality or existing account requirements. If you are outside Colombia, the pages neither confirm nor deny availability, so you would have to ask.
Is the Wenia Card free?
Creating the card is free, there is no monthly management fee (“cuota de manejo”) and no monthly charges, and interest is 0%. Purchases paid in COPW, USDW or EURC carry no additional cost. Choosing other cryptocurrencies may incur a conversion fee, and the rate for that fee is not stated on the page.
What are the Wenia Card’s limits?
The stated spending limit is up to 10,000 USD per month. Higher limits can be requested through customer service. Daily limits and ATM limits are not stated, and there is no physical card or ATM mentioned at all, so the monthly ceiling is effectively the whole of the published limit picture.
Which cryptocurrencies can I use to fund the Wenia Card?
You can pay from a balance of COPW, USDW, EURC, BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK or ADA, and you switch between them in the “Wenia Card” section of the app. The blockchain networks themselves are not named, which matters: you need to know which network to send on, or a transfer can be lost or need manual recovery.
Can I add the Wenia Card to Apple Wallet?
Apple Pay and Google Pay are both mentioned on Wenia’s home page, so both are supported in some form. In-store payment through the mobile wallet is described as coming soon, however, so the day-to-day value of adding it is limited until that changes. The card is Mastercard and is presented as a virtual card for online use.
Is the Wenia Card safe?
I found no complaints or user reviews for the Wenia Card on Reddit, Trustpilot or in news coverage, and no official incidents — but that is thin evidence for a young product, not an endorsement. Wenia S.A.S. is supervised by the SIC. Wenia does not publish the usual card safeguards, so ask about freezing the card and spending limits before you fund it.
Is the Wenia Card worth it?
Worth it if you are in Colombia, hold COPW, USDW or EURC, and want to spend that balance online with no creation fee, no monthly fee and no extra cost on those three assets. Not worth it as a primary card, since there is no physical card, no ATM and in-store payments are still pending. Check which network to use before your first top-up.
Exchange cards: choosing by where your coins sit – cryptocardpicker
Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team
