The only crypto card here you can only open with a Belarusian passport

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The CryptoCourse card is one of the more unusual cards in this category, and almost everything interesting about it comes from that word “Belarusian”. It is issued by BSB Bank, a Belarusian bank, to Belarusian citizens, and it turns crypto into spending money in Belarusian rubles, US dollars or euros — but it does almost none of what the crypto cards people usually want. You cannot spend directly from a wallet. You cannot hold it if you live anywhere else on earth. And the fees you would want to know before you commit are published in an app, not on a website. My score for it is 4.6 out of 10, and the reasons are less about the card being badly built than about it being a narrow, local product that solves a specific problem for a specific person in one country.

CryptoCourse works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 4.6 out of 10

The card suits a Belarusian citizen who already holds crypto, wants to convert it to ordinary rubles, dollars or euros, and is comfortable with a banking relationship that runs through identification, a mobile app and a partner exchange. It suits that person quite well on fees — there is no annual fee, no maintenance charge for residents, and top-ups in the bank’s own channels are free.

It does not suit almost everyone else. If you live outside Belarus, you cannot open it. If you want to tap a card at a café without first selling your coins, you cannot do that. If you want to know exactly what a swap will cost before you commit, the public pages will not tell you. And a 2.8 rating on the App Store, from 32 ratings, is not the kind of signal that reassures anyone.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 1 / 10 Issued by BSB Bank to citizens of the Republic of Belarus through interbank identification; the app itself is usable worldwide
Cost 7 / 10 Google Play: “No Annual Fee”; servicing “does not apply” in the BSB tariff; card top-up free; other banks’ ATMs 2% (min 2 BYN) for BYN and 2.50% for USD and EUR; exchange commissions only inside the app
Top-up options 4 / 10 Crypto is sold on the Whitebird exchange and the money goes to the BSB account; Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tether and other ERC-20, Tron; no direct spending from a wallet
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 BSB Bank and the exchange Whitebird are named but licence numbers are not; the key custodian is a “guarantor”; App Store 2.8 from 32 ratings
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa in BYN, USD, EUR and ATMs; Apple Pay and Google Pay not stated; unofficial: plastic is ordered separately
Total 4.6 / 10 A narrow, locally-correct card with hidden fees and a limited everyday experience

Read that table as the shape of the card. The high mark is cost — genuinely good, if you can see the fees. The low mark is who can get it — a hard wall. The middling marks in between reflect a product that works within its borders and stops.

Who they will give you the card

You need to be a citizen of the Republic of Belarus. The Terms of Use describe bank identification only for citizens of Belarus, and it is done through the Interbank Identification System. That is the gate. The app says it can be used “on the territory of all countries of the world”, and that is true of the software — but the card itself sits behind that Belarusian identification step, so a residency or citizenship anywhere else does not help you.

Let me be clear about a distinction that trips people up. The app is global; the card is national. You could install the app in Madrid or Nairobi and browse. But to get the card, to open the bank account behind it, to swap crypto for rubles — that needs a Belarusian passport and a Belarusian bank identification. Third-party product pages, which are not the card’s own and carry no date, describe it as being only for Belarusian citizens holding a Belarusian passport. The official pages and those unofficial ones point the same way, so I have no reason to doubt the restriction; I simply note that the strict reading of it is not spelled out on the card’s own site.

So the short answer to “can I use it in my country” is: the app, yes, almost certainly; the card, only if you hold a Belarusian passport and pass the bank identification. That is the single fact that decides whether the rest of this review matters to you.

How to get it

Getting an account starts lightly and gets heavier. You register with an email address and a mobile number, receive a verification code, and set a password of ten Latin characters with upper case, lower case and digits. The app also uses a session key. That much you can do anywhere.

The full functions require identification, and the steps are specific. There is a crypto knowledge test — a “crypto test” — before the serious parts open up. Then bank identification through the Interbank Identification System, which takes your passport ID number, phone or email, and your MSI password. You also set a code word used for bank-account operations. BSB Bank and the exchange may both ask you for additional data, and both reserve the right to refuse service. Age requirements and proof of address are not stated on the pages I read, so I will not invent them.

There are two levels to the account. Without identification you get limited functions: create wallets, receive and send crypto, read news. After identification you get the full set — quotes, opening a BSB account and the card, buying, selling and exchanging on Whitebird, payment history, and limits. Processing times and the reasons a rejection might happen are not stated. The card itself is a virtual Visa, called “Visa CryptoCourse Digital” in the BSB tariff, with available currencies BYN, EUR and USD. The Google Play description mentions withdrawing at ATMs worldwide, which implies a physical counterpart exists, but the official pages I read do not describe issuing one; an unofficial product page says the virtual card is valid for three years and that a plastic card can be ordered with free delivery. Delivery terms for the card itself are not stated; the BSB tariff does show “Free” for reissue on expiry or compromise.

One practical thing to plan for: identification is the point of friction, not registration. Budget your time around the crypto test and the bank identification, not around typing an email address.

Fees: what it really costs

This is the strongest part of the card and the most frustrating to read about. The headline numbers are genuinely good. Google Play says “No Annual Fee”. The BSB tariff row on card servicing — the row that would show 100 BYN, 50 USD or 50 EUR for certain non-resident cards — reads “does not apply” in the CryptoCourse column, and it is free for residents. Issuance is not shown as a charge in that row. An unofficial product page also describes issue and servicing as free.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a CryptoCourse payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What it says
Issuance Not shown as a charge in the official tariff row; unofficial: free
Monthly or annual fee Google Play: “No Annual Fee”; BSB tariff: “does not apply” for CryptoCourse; free for residents
Crypto buy / sell / exchange Runs through the Whitebird exchange; partner tariffs apply; percentages shown only in the app’s “Commissions” section
Foreign exchange fee Not stated on the public pages
BSB and partner-bank ATMs Free, and 0.5% of the amount withdrawn (the tariff’s column assignment is unclear in the PDF text); another bank may add its own fee
Other banks’ ATMs in Belarus and abroad 2% of the amount, minimum 2 BYN, on the BYN card; 2.50% on the USD and EUR cards
Cash at a BSB cashier on an expense order Up to 999.99 BYN equivalent — fixed 5 BYN; 1,000 to 9,999.99 BYN — 50 BYN; from 10,000 BYN — 100 BYN
Transfer from the card via a third-party P2P service 0.5% plus that service’s own fee
Unfounded dispute charged to you 37 BYN if it ends at retrieval request or fulfilment; 47 BYN at chargeback or representment; 47 BYN plus 10% of the disputed amount at later stages
Card top-up in BSB channels or the app Free
Top-up via ERIP Free up to 5,000 rubles per calendar month, then 0.5% of the amount
Top-up at the bank cashier Free

Now the catch, and it is the one I would want you to see before you commit. The crypto conversion fees — the ones that decide what a swap actually costs you — are not published on the website. The terms say that information about rewards and commissions “will be displayed in the Application’s Commissions section”. So the number that matters most to a crypto card user is behind a login. The foreign exchange fee is not stated at all. I am not going to estimate them for you; they exist, they live in the app, and you should open it and read them yourself before your first conversion.

For the three everyday payments I would imagine:

Limits: the official daily and monthly limits are not stated. What you can do is set your own — a single-transaction limit, a total, and a count per day — inside the app. That is a genuine safety feature, and it is also the only limit information available. An unofficial product page puts daily operations at up to the equivalent of $3,000, raisable to $10,000 per day; because that is undated and not from the card, treat it as a hint, not a promise.

Top up: how to move money in

Here is the design decision that shapes everything. You do not spend from a wallet. Instead, you sell crypto on the Whitebird exchange through the app, and the proceeds land on the BSB account linked to the card. The Google Play description puts it plainly: “receive money from the sale of the crypto on your bank card.” So the flow is crypto in, sell, fiat out, spend the fiat — the card spends an ordinary balance, not a coin.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up CryptoCourse starts with a transfer to the right network

The coins named in the Terms are Bitcoin, which needs two confirmations, Ethereum, Tether and other ERC-20 tokens at twelve confirmations, and Tron. Google Play additionally lists BTC, ETH, BCH and LTC. If you are holding something outside that set, or on a network the partner does not run, this is not your card.

Topping up the card itself — moving fiat onto it once your balance is there — is free in the BSB mobile bank, the internet bank, the CryptoCourse app, and third-party P2P services. Via ERIP it is free up to 5,000 rubles per calendar month and 0.5% of the amount after that. At a bank cashier it is free. The minimum top-up is not stated, and network fees for depositing crypto are not stated — on-chain fees are charged by the blockchain, not by the card, so they are real but they are not this provider’s line item.

One thing to keep in mind for cashing out rather than topping up: cash from the card at a BSB cashier on an expense order has a stepped tariff — 5 BYN up to just under 1,000, 50 BYN from 1,000 to just under 10,000, and 100 BYN from 10,000 up. A third-party P2P transfer from the card costs 0.5% plus that service’s fee. What happens to a leftover balance when you close the account is not stated, which is worth asking about if you ever plan to stop.

Paying with it every day

The everyday experience is virtual-card-plus-ATM. You get a Visa you can use online and at compatible terminals, in three currencies, and access to ATMs around the world. That is a real, if narrow, set of tools.

What is missing is where mobile payments would help most. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not stated as supported, so if you are used to tapping your phone at a till, you would be carrying the card itself or typing the number. Wallets, cards and rewards are not stated either — there is no cashback figure in the materials, and no wallet details on the official pages. Absence of a stated feature is not proof it does not exist, so check the app if it matters to you, but I would not plan around it.

The app is on iOS through the Belarus storefront and on Google Play. The App Store rating is 2.8 from 32 ratings — a small sample, but an unflattering one. The Google Play listing shows 5K+ downloads and was updated on 17 August 2026. Disputes are handled through the bank, and the tariff makes clear that if a dispute is unfounded, you pay for it: 37 BYN at the early stages, 47 BYN at chargeback, and 47 BYN plus 10% of the disputed amount at later stages. How to file and how long it takes are not stated. That is a heavy fee schedule for losing an argument with a merchant, so treat disputes as something to avoid triggering rather than something to rely on.

What can go wrong

The risks here are not exotic; they are the ordinary risks of a custodial, locally-scoped card, stacked on a thin public disclosure.

Custody first. The wallet’s private keys are held by a “guarantor” — in practice this is custodial. That means you trust a third party with the keys, and the same is true on the other side of the trade: crypto transfers are typically irreversible, so a mistake in sending cannot simply be undone. The account itself has sensible protections — password, session key, a QR backup code, email and SMS codes for operations over your limit, and device biometrics — and you can set your own transaction limits. What is not stated is how you freeze the card instantly, or what happens to the funds if the custodian or the app fails. So: assume your crypto is held by someone else and not by you.

The entity behind it matters, too, and here the disclosure is thin. The app’s rights holder is Swiss Investment Century SA, in Switzerland. The bank is BSB Bank, in Belarus. The exchange is Whitebird, also Belarus. Transaction scoring and anti-money-laundering work, and the key custody, are described as third-party services. Licence numbers are not stated. That is not a scandal — it is a reason to want more information than the site currently gives you.

Support and communication: [email protected], a Telegram news channel at t.me/cryptocoursenews, and an Instagram account, cryptocourse.app. The site is in English and Russian; support hours are not stated.

On complaints and history: I found no official incident notices, and no Trustpilot or Reddit pages for the brand across two searches. That absence is weak evidence, not evidence of absence — a card with 32 App Store ratings is a small product, and small products generate few public complaints. The App Store rating of 2.8 is the only user signal I could find, and no themes behind it are available. On official news, there is nothing stated by the card’s own sources; the BSB tariff editions I read are dated 01.10.2024, 14.04.2025 and 03.11.2025, and the Terms cite Whitebird’s public offer from 07.2024. One inconsistency worth knowing: third-party sources disagree on the exchange partner — one myfin.by piece names Whitebird, another names Currency.com. Neither is official; the official pages name Whitebird.

The category risks apply here too, for context. Card programmes get suspended — Visa ended its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and WaveCrest, which supplied crypto card brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. When a programme closes, the usual sequence is a notice, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. Stablecoins can and do lose their peg. And a card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another, because merchants can look up the issuer from the card’s first digits and apply extra scrutiny — which matters if you are using a card issued in Belarus while paying abroad.

Alternatives: what to take instead

If CryptoCourse’s core constraint — Belarusian citizenship — rules you out, or if you simply want to spend from a wallet rather than sell into a bank account, there are three other cards I looked at. Here is how they compare, and where each one is stronger or weaker than CryptoCourse.

International Visa Card — score 6.7 out of 10. A U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, paying in USD. Its exclusion list is the mirror image of CryptoCourse’s: the card is not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case. The rule is by residence or registration, not citizenship — worth noting, because it means a Belarusian citizen living abroad might be treated differently from a resident in Belarus. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. On cost: $5 one-time for the virtual card, no maintenance fee, plans from Classic free to Pro at $9 a month and Max at $19. Card use in USD is free on every plan; in a foreign currency it is “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”. You fund it by depositing USDC or USDT into the USD account, free at 1:1, and there are no cashback rewards. The physical card is listed as “Coming soon”. For most people outside CryptoCourse’s narrow eligibility, this is the more conventional and more transparent option — you can see the fees on the page.

UNi Card — score 6.1 out of 10. A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from the UNi.Global account balance. Its fee story is the cleanest of the three: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at live over-the-counter rates, and “no hidden exchange fees”. It offers spend-to-earn rewards of up to 3% with the card. Where it is thinner is disclosure: who can get it is not stated, the funding routes are not stated, and whether a physical or virtual card is offered is not stated. If you are drawn to a card that is upfront about its fees and pays a little back, this is the one to look at — with the caveat that the basics of who and how are not public.

Morse — score 7.5 out of 10. The strongest of the alternatives. Eligibility is by residence, not citizenship: you must be at least 18 and resident in a supported country, with the app available in over 140 countries and local add and withdraw in over 70. It cannot serve customers under United States sanctions (also UK, EU and UN sanctions), and a set of countries — including Australia, Hong Kong SAR China, Japan, New Zealand, Serbia, Singapore, Switzerland, Türkiye and the UK — are in closed beta and need an invite code. The card is “fully virtual for now”, a Visa prepaid debit spending from the Morse balance in any currency. Its costs read well: zero foreign exchange fees or markups at the real-time Visa rate, no markup on conversions, and paying online and contactless with the card is free; issuance and monthly fees are not stated on the card page, which points to a cardholder agreement. Funding accepts debit card, stablecoin transfer and account details, with USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana free and other tokens or chains carrying a fee — and its wallet is self-custodial, which is the meaningful contrast with CryptoCourse’s “guarantor”. Rewards are not stated on the card pages.

Here is the same comparison in one place:

Card Score Access Custody of your crypto Headline fee position
CryptoCourse 4.6 / 10 Belarusian citizens only Custodial, via a “guarantor” No annual fee; conversion fees hidden in the app
International Visa 6.7 / 10 Long exclusion list by residence, incl. Belarus Not stated here $5 issue; free in USD; +2% FX
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Not stated Not stated No annual fee; no FX fee; live rates
Morse 7.5 / 10 Residents of supported countries, some by invite Self-custodial wallet Zero FX markup; contactless free

The honest summary is that CryptoCourse is not competing with these on breadth. It competes on one thing: letting a Belarusian citizen turn crypto into a card that works at Belarusian shops and ATMs, cheaply, with no annual fee. If that is your situation, the card does its job. If it is not, the alternatives are simply better fits.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card, without much enthusiasm but without much hesitation either, to exactly one person: a citizen of Belarus who already holds crypto, wants to spend it in Belarusian rubles, dollars or euros as ordinary money, is content to sell through an exchange rather than tap directly from a wallet, and will open the app’s Commissions section once to see the real conversion costs before their first trade. For that person it is a low-cost, sensibly built tool, and the free top-up and absent annual fee are genuine advantages.

I would steer everyone else toward something else. To non-Belarusian residents, the card is simply unavailable. To anyone who wants to spend straight from a self-custodial wallet, its custodial model and its sell-first design are the wrong shape. To anyone who wants to see fees before committing, a card that hides its conversion costs in an app is a poor fit. And to anyone who reads a 2.8 App Store rating as a warning sign — which I would — the alternatives give more comfort, simply because they publish more.

Frequently asked questions

What is the CryptoCourse card?

The CryptoCourse card is a Visa payment card issued by BSB Bank in Belarus and connected to a crypto app. You sell cryptocurrency through a partner exchange, the money lands on a linked BSB bank account, and the card spends that account balance in Belarusian rubles, US dollars or euros. It is a Belarusian banking product with crypto at its front end, not a card that taps directly from a blockchain wallet.

How does the CryptoCourse card work day to day?

You sell crypto on the Whitebird exchange inside the app, and the proceeds go to the BSB account behind your card. From then on the card behaves like an ordinary Visa balance: pay in shops, online, or withdraw at ATMs. The card itself is a virtual Visa in BYN, USD or EUR, and you can set your own limits — per transaction, per day in total, and by number of transactions.

Do I need KYC to use CryptoCourse card?

Yes for anything beyond the basics. Registering needs only an email, a mobile number and a password. But full functions require a crypto knowledge test, bank identification through the Interbank Identification System with your passport number and MSI password, and a code word for bank-account operations. The bank and the exchange may also request extra data. Identification is what lets you open the card.

Who can get the CryptoCourse card?

Citizens of the Republic of Belarus. The bank’s identification step is described in the Terms only for Belarusian citizens, and the card sits behind it. The app itself can be used anywhere in the world, which is a common point of confusion — the software is global, the card is national. Third-party product pages agree, describing it as limited to Belarusian citizens with a Belarusian passport.

Is the CryptoCourse card free?

Mostly, yes, and this is its strongest suit. Google Play states “No Annual Fee”, the BSB tariff shows servicing as “does not apply” for CryptoCourse and free for residents, and topping up through the bank’s channels or the app is free. The costs you cannot see from outside are the crypto conversion commissions, which live only in the app’s Commissions section, and any foreign exchange fee, which is not stated on the public pages.

What does it cost to withdraw at an ATM?

At other banks’ ATMs in Belarus and abroad it is 2% of the amount with a minimum of 2 BYN on the ruble card, and 2.50% on the US dollar and euro cards. BSB and partner-bank ATMs are free or charged at 0.5% of the amount withdrawn, though the tariff’s own columns are unclear in the PDF. The ATM’s bank may add its own fee on top, and there is no free allowance stated.

Can I spend straight from my crypto wallet?

No. That is the main design choice to understand before you apply. The card draws on a bank balance, and crypto reaches that balance by being sold on the Whitebird exchange. If you want to spend directly from a wallet, you want a different card — one of the self-custodial options, where the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment.

Is CryptoCourse a bank, and who owns it?

No, it is not a bank. The app’s rights holder is Swiss Investment Century SA in Switzerland; the bank is BSB Bank in Belarus; and the crypto exchange is Whitebird, also in Belarus. A third party described as a “guarantor” holds the wallet keys, and transaction scoring and key custody are named as third-party services. Licence numbers are not stated anywhere on the pages I read.

Is the CryptoCourse card safe to use?

Treat it as custodial. Your wallet’s private keys are held by a guarantor, so you trust a third party, and crypto transfers cannot be reversed. The app does add sensible protections — password, session key, QR backup code, email and SMS codes over your limit, device biometrics, and your own spending limits — but instant card freezing and fund safeguarding are not stated. Card programmes like this can also be wound down by the network, as happened with FTX and WaveCrest.

How do I withdraw money from CryptoCourse, and what does it cost?

Crypto itself is sold to your linked bank account. For cash from the card, a BSB cashier on an expense order charges a stepped fee: 5 BYN up to 999.99 BYN equivalent, 50 BYN from 1,000 to 9,999.99 BYN, and 100 BYN from 10,000 BYN up. A transfer from the card through a third-party P2P service costs 0.5% plus that service’s fee. What happens to a balance left when you close the account is not stated, so ask before you ever plan to stop.

Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team