A euro prepaid card with published gaps
The Gekkard card is a prepaid Mastercard paired with a euro IBAN account, aimed at people in and around Europe who want a card that spends from a balance rather than from a bank account. On paper that is a genuinely useful thing for someone without a traditional card, or someone who wants to keep crypto in the picture rather than in a current account. On paper. The problem with this review is that a great deal of what you would want to know is simply not published: the fees are not stated, the ATM situation is not stated, the identity checks are not stated, and the card issuer and licences could not be read. I scored it 4.7 out of 10, and most of the deduction is for silence rather than for anything negative I found.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Read the rest of this page as someone deciding whether to spend an afternoon on this, not as a recommendation to sign up. I have deliberately not told you how to get around any check, and I cannot promise you anything is safe, anonymous or refundable — nobody who writes about cards like this can.
The score, and who this card actually suits
My total is 4.7 / 10. Here is the breakdown, criterion by criterion, with my reasoning in plain words rather than marketing language.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Offered to residents of EEA countries and Switzerland; version 1.0.6 added registration outside the EEA, and plastic can be mailed “to any address worldwide” |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Fees are not disclosed — the site would not load because of a certificate error; the app claims 3% on EURG and a 1% purchase bonus |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | SEPA, Gekkoin Europe (EURG), and Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero through partner AtlantEX OÜ; no stablecoins or networks listed, and new-client onboarding is paused |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Papaya Ltd; issuer and licences could not be read; custodial app per WalletScrutiny; App Store 3.0 from 4 ratings, another storefront 2.6 from 15 |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Prepaid Mastercard, plastic or virtual, with limits and a freeze function in the app; wallets and ATM not disclosed |
| Total | 4.7 / 10 |
Who does this fit? The intended reader, as far as I can tell from what is published, is a European who wants a euro IBAN with a prepaid card attached to it. If that sentence describes you — you are in Europe, you want a euro account with an IBAN, you would rather hold a balance than a credit line, and you are comfortable with a prepaid model where the balance can run out — then this is at least aimed at you.
Who it does not fit: anyone who needs to know what a coffee costs before they buy it. Every one of my five sub-scores would be higher if the fee schedule were published, and the single largest improvement available to this card is publishing its own price list. It is also a poor fit for anyone whose income or savings sit in this card for long periods, for reasons I get to under what can go wrong.
Will they give you the card?
Short answer: probably yes if you live in Europe, and possibly yes if you do not, because the card widened its own eligibility in a recent version. The published offer is to residents of EEA countries and Switzerland. Version 1.0.6 added registration for clients outside the EEA, and the physical card can be mailed “to any address worldwide”.
That mailing line deserves more attention than it usually gets. “Any address worldwide” describes logistics, not eligibility — the card can reach you almost anywhere, but whether the account opens still depends on where you live and on checks the card does not describe. The obvious question at this point is whether you have to prove who you are. The card’s public pages do not state what identity checks it performs or what documentation it needs, so I cannot tell you whether you will need a passport, a proof of address, a selfie, or nothing beyond an email. That gap is not a small one: in the EU, customer due diligence normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end an existing one. That is the background rule the card sits inside — and the card does not tell you its own version of it.
Note also what is *not* on offer here, so you don’t go looking for it: the card does not publish any tier structure, and it does not publish an account level. There is no basic-versus-premium ladder to climb, because there is no ladder published.
How to get it
The card itself is a prepaid Mastercard, offered as plastic or virtual according to the card’s own FAQ. The physical card is delivered by international mail; a European IBAN account in EUR comes with it, which is the feature most likely to matter to you if you are outside the euro area but need to receive euros. Additional cards can be ordered.
That is the whole of the practical picture, and it is thinner than it sounds. The card’s public pages do not state the delivery time or the delivery cost, and they do not state how activation works beyond the fact that a card exists to be activated. If the speed of getting plastic into your hand decides anything for you — a trip, a subscription starting this week — that is a question for support before you rely on it, and I would want the answer in writing.
There is one more thing that belongs here, because it changes who can even get started. The crypto partner, AtlantEX OÜ, paused onboarding of new clients from 1 July 2026 during MiCA licensing. That pause sits upstream of the card: a card whose crypto side cannot take new customers is not a card for a brand-new customer in the way the marketing implies. Existing customers are a different case. Whether the card itself remains open to new applicants while the crypto partner is paused is not something the card’s pages explain to me.
I also cannot tell you what to compare this against if you are outside the EEA, because residency rules and citizenship screening often differ, and the card does not say which it applies. If your country is sensitive for sanctions or licensing reasons, the answer is not something to guess at.
Fees and other costs: what you will pay
Here is the honest position: the card does not publish its costs. The issue price is not stated. The fee schedule is not stated. ATM fees are not stated. The card’s site was not readable because of a certificate error, so the pages that might have carried a price list could not be checked. A version-history listing mentions cash top-up locations, which implies a cash route exists, but nothing about what it costs.

I am not going to fill that gap with estimates. Anything I said about “typically 1% to 3%” would be my own figure, not the card’s, and it would be the figure you remember when you are trying to work out whether the euro you loaded is really yours. What I will do is lay out what a prepaid card’s costs are *made of*, so you know which lines to demand before you load anything.
| Cost or limit | What the card publishes |
|---|---|
| Issuance / issue price | not stated |
| Monthly or maintenance fee | not stated |
| Currency conversion fee | not stated; card currency not stated |
| Foreign exchange fee | not stated |
| ATM fees | not stated |
| Spending limits | not stated as numbers, but settable in the app |
| Daily and monthly limits | not stated |
| Tier structure | not stated |
| Card currency | not stated (the IBAN account is EUR) |
| SEPA top-up | available; fees and minimums not stated |
| Cash top-up | locations mentioned in version history; fees not stated |
Two or three everyday payments, and which fees apply to each — this is how the gaps show up in practice:
- A coffee in a euro country. If the card is euro-denominated, this is the one payment where no conversion happens at all. Every unanswered fee is irrelevant here. This is the card at its most comfortable.
- A coffee in a non-euro country. Now a conversion is involved, at whatever rate the card’s issuer applies, and the card publishes neither the conversion fee nor the card currency. You are buying a currency pair you cannot price from public information.
- A subscription billed monthly in dollars. Same problem, recurring instead of one-off, so it repeats every month rather than once. If the card does not tell you its currency handling, you cannot tell whether a $9.99 service costs you nine euros, eleven, or something set by a rate you never see.
The closest thing to a number I have is the app’s own claim: 3% on EURG holdings and, in the version history, a 1% card purchase bonus. I want to be careful even here. The official site reportedly says the service is not an investment product, and the conditions on that 3% were not readable. A rate advertised on a card that says elsewhere it is not an investment product is something to ask about in writing before you treat it as income.
How to top it up
Top-up runs through three routes, and none of them is a mainstream stablecoin transfer, which is the single most important thing to understand about this card.
The first is SEPA payments — ordinary euro bank transfers in, which is the least exotic and probably the most reliable route for you. The second is buying and selling Gekkoin Europe, a currency called EURG, described as pegged 1:1 to the euro. The third is access to Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero, through the partner Gekkoin, with the crypto services themselves provided by AtlantEX OÜ, a licensed exchange.
What is missing from that list is the thing most crypto card users arrive expecting: stablecoins and networks are not listed. No USDC, no USDT, no Solana, no Tron, no Polygon. If your plan was to hold dollars on-chain and spend euros, this is not the card for that plan. If your plan was to hold bitcoin and move it to a prepaid balance, the route exists — through a partner, not through the card itself.
Two further things I would not want you to discover late. Cash top-up locations are mentioned in the version history, but their fees and minimums are not stated. And withdrawing money is not stated at all — not the fee, not the route, not whether it is possible. On a prepaid card, the ability to get your balance back out is not a minor feature; it is most of what makes the balance feel like your money. Ask this question before you load, not after.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day, you get a prepaid Mastercard that spends from a stored balance. Money is loaded first, then the card spends only that balance, so in the ordinary case the card cannot overdraw. That is the structural advantage of the prepaid model and it is real: you cannot be hit with a negative balance you did not authorise.
The controls in the app are decent for what they cover: spending limits you set yourself, transaction tracking, a temporary freeze, and — per the version history — biometric confirmation for online purchases. If you want a limit you can trust without reading terms, being able to set one in the app is more useful than it first sounds.
What is not disclosed is the part that decides whether daily life is smooth. Which wallets are supported is not stated — so Apple Pay and Google Pay are simply questions, and adding this card to a phone wallet is something you would have to test yourself. Which ATMs work is not stated, despite the cash top-up locations mentioned elsewhere, and ATM fees are not stated. And the card currency is not stated even though the account is a euro IBAN, which leaves the recurring question of what happens to a purchase in a currency that is not yours.
The apps are where you would notice the service most directly, and here the ratings are thin but not catastrophic. The iPhone app “Gekkard: Prepaid Card & Wallet” shows 3.0 out of 5 from 4 ratings on the US App Store (read 2026-10-21, version 1.0.9). A Google Play listing, com.papaya.gekkard, “Gekkard: Banking Alternative”, exists but its rating was not readable. Four ratings is not a signal in either direction. Another App Store storefront shows 2.6 out of 5 from 15 ratings — unofficial, and not opened.
Dispute handling is not stated. I want that in its own line because it is the thing people discover during a bad month rather than before it. Whether you can charge back, how long a hold stays on your balance, and what happens if a merchant takes the money and never delivers — none of it is published.
What can go wrong
Here is where I stop being generous. Three clusters of risk, in order of how much they should worry you.
The money sits with a custodian. The app is custodial, per WalletScrutiny, which also reports it as not verifiable. That means the provider holds the credentials to your balance, so you have to trust them completely — there is no wallet you control. This is the standard trade-off of this category, and it is not a criticism of this card specifically: custodial platforms have a record of failures, including Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Holding funds with a custodian means carrying counterparty and hack risk. If you self-hold instead, you carry key-loss and phishing risk instead — nobody’s version of this is free.
The counterparty chain is not fully visible. The company behind the app is Papaya Ltd, listed as the developer on the App Store under the Gekkard brand. The crypto partner is AtlantEX OÜ (the OÜ form is Estonian-style, though the country is not specified). The card issuer and its licences could not be read. That last one is the gap that matters most. A prepaid card is issued by a licensed institution, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager in front of it — so when something goes wrong, the question of which licensed party answers you is not academic.
The regulatory position is unsettled. Under MiCA — Regulation (EU) 2023/1114, which ESMA says took legal effect in June 2023 — the transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026, or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. The crypto side and the card side are regulated separately: MiCA covers custody, exchange and transfer, while a card is a payment service under e-money and payment-services law, so a card like this often rests on two licences rather than one. AtlantEX’s pause on new-client onboarding from 1 July 2026 during MiCA licensing is the visible edge of that. If you want to check a provider yourself, ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, white papers and non-compliant entities.
And the category’s own sharp edges. Declined authorisations can leave a hold on funds that stays for several days, typically up to 7 — so a hotel deposit that fails can tie up money you were counting on. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and the issuer country, and address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. Merchant category codes can be blocked by issuer policy — gambling (MCC 7995) is the classic one — and the blocked list varies by issuer. Programme closures are also a real pattern: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, WaveCrest’s European programmes were closed after Visa suspended it in 2018, and closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. Prepaid-card coverage under chargeback rules varies by country and should not be assumed.
On complaints specifically, I found no readable official record of incidents and no Trustpilot page. That is genuinely ambiguous: no complaints found is not the same as a clean record, and with four App Store ratings there is barely a sample either way. Support contact details are not stated.
What to take instead
I would rather you pick a card with a published price list. Here are the three I looked at against this one, on the same questions.
| Gekkard | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Morse | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 4.7 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 7.5 / 10 |
| Card | Prepaid Mastercard, plastic or virtual | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual (physical “coming soon”) | Multicurrency UNi Card on Mastercard | Fully virtual Visa prepaid debit |
| Currency / FX | EUR account; card currency not stated | Pays in USD; “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” | No foreign transaction fee; live OTC rates | Zero FX fees or markups, real-time Visa rate |
| Issue / monthly fee | not stated | $5 virtual issuance; Classic free, Pro $9.00/mo, Max $19.00/mo | No annual fee | not stated; “fees may apply, see Cardholder Agreement” |
| Crypto in | EURG, and BTC/ETH/Monero via partner; no stablecoins listed | USDC or USDT 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow | not stated | USDC, USDG, EURC via Solana free; other tokens/blockchains carry a fee; wallet is self-custodial |
| Eligibility | EEA and Switzerland; extended outside the EEA | Excludes residents/registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; purchases blocked in several of those | not stated | Residence-based, 18+, app in over 140 countries; closed beta with invite code in the UK, Switzerland, Singapore, Australia, Japan, New Zealand, Serbia, Türkiye and others |
| Rewards | 3% claimed on EURG, 1% purchase bonus claimed | no cashback stated | Spend-to-Earn up to 3% | not stated on the card pages |
Where Gekkard is genuinely competitive: zero-fee FX. Morse’s “zero foreign exchange fees or markups” at the real-time Visa rate, with online and contactless payment free, is simply a better answer to the coffee-in-a-foreign-country question that Gekkard leaves blank. Morse also has real stablecoin deposit options and a self-custodial wallet, which inverts the custodial risk in the other three.
Where Gekkard is genuinely different: the euro IBAN. Morse is not obviously an euro-denominated account with a European IBAN; UNi’s specifics are not stated; the Visa alternative pays in USD. If receiving euros into a European account number is your actual requirement, that is a real differentiator and it is the one to weigh.
Morse, at 7.5, is the strongest of the three on price transparency. Its catch is eligibility friction: it is available “only in certain countries”, the list is not published on the card page, and a long list of countries including the United Kingdom, Switzerland, Singapore, Australia and Japan sits behind an invite code. The International Visa Card, at 6.7, publishes its numbers most completely — $5 issuance, plans at free, $9.00 and $19.00 a month, 2% FX, free deposits — but it is virtual only, with the physical card listed as “coming soon”, and its country exclusions are long and blunt. UNi, at 6.1, has no annual fee and no FX fee but publishes the least about eligibility and funding of the four. All three are unofficial comparison figures from the same review pass; treat the ranking as a reading, not a verdict.
Who I would recommend this to
I would recommend Gekkard to someone who already knows what they want: a European who needs a euro IBAN with a prepaid card attached, who is comfortable with a custodial balance, who can afford to load money and check what is left, and who treats the balance as spending money rather than savings. If that is you, the card’s shape fits — a euro account, a Mastercard that spends from a balance, limits and a freeze in the app, and SEPA as the unglamorous reliable way in.
I would not recommend it to anyone who is choosing a card for the first time and needs the price list to make a decision. Not because the fees are high — as far as I can tell, nobody has published them, including the card — but because a card that will not tell you what it charges is not a card you can plan around. I would also steer it away from anyone intending to hold a meaningful balance long-term, anyone whose money arrives in dollars or stablecoins and needs to be spent in euros, and anyone who needs to know today that a disputed payment will be refunded.
Before I would use it myself, four things would have to be answered in writing: the full fee schedule including conversion and FX, what identity checks are performed, who the licensed card issuer is and under which licence, and how money gets out. Those are not nitpicks. They are the difference between a prepaid product and a wallet with a card attached.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Gekkard card?
The Gekkard card is a prepaid Mastercard — available as plastic or virtual according to the card’s own FAQ — attached to a European IBAN account denominated in euros. It draws on a stored balance rather than a bank account, so it spends what you have loaded and does not overdraw in the normal case. Alongside it sits a euro-denominated currency called EURG and access to Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero through the partner Gekkoin. The developer listed is Papaya Ltd, and the crypto services come from AtlantEX OÜ.
How does the Gekkard card work in practice?
You load money first, then the card spends from that balance. Top-up runs through SEPA payments, buying and selling Gekkoin Europe (EURG, pegged 1:1 to the euro), or crypto through the Gekkoin partner. In the app you get spending limits you set yourself, transaction tracking, a temporary freeze, and biometric confirmation for online payments per the version history. Stablecoins and networks are not listed, so this is not a route for holding USDC or USDT on-chain.
Is Gekkard a bank?
No — I found nothing to support calling it one. It is a prepaid card programme with a euro IBAN account attached, which is a different thing from being a bank. The card issuer and its licences are not published, so I cannot tell you which licensed institution stands behind the card. That is exactly the question to ask before you load money, because the licence determines who is accountable to you.
Who owns Gekkard?
The app developer listed on the App Store is Papaya Ltd, under the Gekkard brand. The crypto side is handled by AtlantEX OÜ, described as a licensed exchange, with the OÜ form being Estonian-style — though the source I have does not state its country. The card issuer itself is separate again, and not readable. So the answer is a chain of parties rather than a single owner, which is normal for this category but worth knowing.
Does the Gekkard card require KYC?
The card’s public pages do not state what identity checks it performs, so I cannot tell you. In the EU generally, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person — and if it cannot be completed, the institution must decline the relationship. Given that AtlantEX paused new-client onboarding from 1 July 2026 during MiCA licensing, expect onboarding friction rather than a frictionless signup.
Can I get the Gekkard card in my country?
The published offer covers residents of EEA countries and Switzerland. Version 1.0.6 added registration for clients outside the EEA, and the physical card can be mailed “to any address worldwide”. That last line is about delivery, not eligibility — check whether the account itself will open where you live. Note also that residency and citizenship are screened separately in this industry, so being able to receive a card somewhere does not mean you would pass a sanctions or risk check.
How do I top up the Gekkard card?
Through SEPA payments, which is the plainest route, or through buying and selling Gekkoin Europe (EURG), or by using crypto through the Gekkoin partner for Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero. Cash top-up locations appear in the version history. Two things are not stated: the fees and minimums for topping up, and any withdrawal route at all. On a prepaid card, being able to get the balance back out is not a detail — confirm it before you load.
Is the Gekkard card free?
I genuinely cannot tell you, and that is the finding rather than a hedge. The issue price is not stated, the monthly fee is not stated, conversion and FX fees are not stated, and ATM fees are not stated. The card’s site was not readable because of a certificate error. The nearest numbers are the app’s claim of 3% on EURG holdings and a 1% purchase bonus in the version history — while the official site reportedly says the service is not an investment product, and those conditions were not readable.
Is the Gekkard card safe to use?
It is custodial, per WalletScrutiny, which also reports the app as not verifiable — meaning the provider holds the credentials to your balance and you are trusting them completely. On a card, safety is mostly about fraud and about how you handle disputes, and here dispute handling is not stated. Use the app’s limits and freeze, treat the balance as spending money, and note that a declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds for up to seven days. Manage your expectations and treat the balance as funds you are ready to spend.
Can I add the Gekkard card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
I cannot tell you, because which wallets are supported is not stated. The app does support biometric confirmation for online purchases per the version history, which suggests the card is built to work with modern authentication, but that is not the same thing as tokenised mobile wallet support. Mobile wallet support is common on cards of this type and easy for the issuer to add, so it is a reasonable thing to ask support before you rely on the card for daily transport or coffee.
How do I withdraw money from the Gekkard card?
Withdrawal is not stated — not the method, not the fee, and not whether it is available at all. That is a genuine gap, not an oversight on my part, and it is the question I would put first to anyone considering loading a significant balance. On prepaid cards generally, the balance is yours in a way that makes cash-out a core expectation, so an answer you cannot get in advance should be treated as an answer of no.
App and neobank cards: when one suits you – cryptocardpicker
Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team
