Pay It Now: a virtual card you fill with crypto, and only two countries can get one
Pay It Now is a virtual Mastercard that you refill with crypto from the PIN Network app, then spend like an ordinary payment card at shops and online. On paper it does one narrow thing well: it accepts more than fifty different digital assets, converts them to USDC, and turns them into a card balance. In practice it is a two-country product with no physical card, no ATM access, a suspended Apple Pay path, and a score that sits in the middle of the field rather than at the top. I went through the card’s own pages, the company filings behind it and the reviews people have actually left, and here is what I found.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.6 out of 10
The score is 5.6 / 10. That is not a disaster and it is not a recommendation either. It is the score of a service that does its one job adequately for a small, specific group of people — New Zealand and Australia residents holding crypto who want a spendable card balance and do not particularly want a plastic card in the post — and is unhelpful to almost everyone else.
Who it suits: residents of New Zealand and Australia who already hold or plan to hold crypto, who want to convert more than fifty assets into a single USDC balance, and who are content to have no physical card, no ATM and no reliable Apple Pay path. If that is you, the funding side is genuinely the best part of the offer, and it scores 9 out of 10 on its own.
Who it does not suit: anyone outside those two countries today, anyone who needs a physical card or cash withdrawal, anyone who plans around Apple Pay, and anyone who wants to see a published, fixed fee schedule with an FX number in it. The score for who can get it is 2 out of 10, which drags the whole thing down more than any other single factor.
Here is how the marks break down:
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | New Zealand and Australia only; the US and Europe are being worked on, not available |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Issuance 5.00 USDC, described as free for a limited time, no annual fee; 1.5% on non-USD purchases and a spread on conversion |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | More than 50 digital assets (the FAQ says 40+), including BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT, TRX and BNB, all converted to USDC |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Regulated entities in both countries and a named issuer, but Trustpilot sits at 4.0 out of 5 on only 13 reviews, with support and lost-funds complaints |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Mastercard only, Google Pay works, adding new cards to Apple Pay paused since 11 May 2026, no ATM |
| Total | 5.6 / 10 | A narrow product with one outstanding feature |
Read that table row by row and the shape of the thing becomes clear. The two highest marks — funding at 9 and cost at 7 — are the two things you can get from a plain crypto exchange and spend through an ordinary virtual card. The two lowest — eligibility at 2 and everyday use at 5 — are the two things you cannot work around.
Will they give you the card?
They will give it to PIN users in New Zealand and Australia. That is the whole eligibility list as the card states it. Expansion “into other regions, including the U.S. and Europe” is described as work in progress, not as available.
So if you are reading this from anywhere else, the honest answer to “can I get a Pay It Now card in my country” is: not now. That is a country restriction, not a technical obstacle, and there is no workaround I would suggest. The card is not hiding from you; it simply is not there yet.
One thing worth being clear about, because people often conflate it: the fact that you can *spend* a card somewhere does not mean you can *get* one there. Other crypto cards advertise how many countries their cards are accepted in, which is a different number from where residents are eligible. That distinction matters here more than usual.
How to get it
The route runs through the PIN Network app rather than a website form. The steps the card describes: install the PIN app, open the Cards section, apply, complete the card provider’s KYC, then top up. The card says this takes “just a few minutes”.
That is a longer KYC path than it sounds, and it is the part I would flag hardest. Onboarding and ID verification happen on the PIN Network side, and then there is *additional* KYC through the card provider even if you have already completed PIN’s own verification. Two checks, two sets of documents, two chances to be asked for something again. The card does not state which documents are needed, does not state whether proof of address is required, and does not state the age threshold. What it does say: prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults, 18 and over.
What you end up holding is a virtual, reloadable prepaid Mastercard. There is no physical card — deliveries of physical cards are not available at this time, and the “10 minutes” figure refers to the virtual card appearing in your account, not to post. You can create more than one virtual card. The balance is USDC displayed as USD.
Behind the product sit two regulated companies and an issuer: Pay It Now NZ LTD (NZ FSP 1002374), Pay It Now AUS PTY LTD (AFSL 700050, AUSTRAC DCE100820697-002), and Takeoff Media Limited (Authorised Representative 1313795), which holds the balance. The card itself is issued by Immersve (AFSL 545925).
If any of that is unclear to you — what an FSP number is, why the issuer is a different company from the brand — that is normal. These structures look odd until you know that a card programme almost never runs end to end inside the company whose name is on the app.
Fees: what it really costs
The headline cost is 5.00 USDC to issue the card, taken out of your app wallet balance, and the card markets it as “FREE for a limited time”. That word “limited” is doing real work there: it is not stated how long the promotion runs or what the price becomes afterwards. There is no annual fee, and cancelling is free.

After that, the money is in the conversion and in non-USD spending. Converting your crypto to USDC costs a spread, and the rate you get is the one shown in the app at the time — the card does not publish it, so you have to look. Purchases in currencies other than USD carry a 1.5% transaction fee. There is no separate FX fee on top of that.
Here is what the card’s own materials state:
| Item | What is charged |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | 5.00 USDC from app wallet balance, described as “FREE for a limited time” |
| Annual fee | None |
| Cancellation | Free |
| Crypto-to-USDC conversion | Spread only, rate shown in the app |
| Non-USD purchase | 1.5% transaction fee |
| Separate FX fee | None |
| ATM | Not stated; the card is virtual only |
| Transaction limits | USD 20,000 daily, USD 100,000 yearly |
| Value load limits | USD 5,000 daily, USD 100,000 yearly |
| Tier structure | Single tier |
Three everyday payments, and which fees bite
A USD 40 subscription in dollars. No conversion, no non-USD fee, no spread. This is the clean case, and the one the pricing is built around. The only cost is whatever you paid to get the crypto in the first place.
A EUR 60 subscription billed in euros. The 1.5% applies, so EUR 0.90, on top of whatever the card network’s own rate conversion does to the amount. There is no separate FX line to inspect, which makes this harder to check than a card that shows you both.
A USD 25 coffee paid for with SOL. You converted SOL to USDC first, so the spread is charged there, at a rate you saw in the app and cannot audit afterwards. Then the purchase itself is in USD and costs nothing extra. The cost of this coffee was decided by the spread, not by the coffee.
The pattern to notice: with a card like this the interesting fees happen *before* you tap. The spread is the real price of the service, and it is the one number the card does not print anywhere. Everything else in the table is fixed and knowable in advance.
On-chain network fees for your deposit are a separate matter entirely — gas or bandwidth is charged by the blockchain you send on, not by the card company.
Top up: how the money gets in
This is the strongest part of the product and the reason I would not write the card off entirely. You fund the card from the PIN Wallet using more than 50 digital assets — the card’s own FAQ puts it at 40-plus, so I would trust the higher figure only as a rough sense of breadth — including BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT, TRX and BNB. Everything is converted to USDC and the card spends from that.

The practical steps: send crypto to the right network, and deposits made through a Web3 smart contract can take up to 10 minutes to arrive. Maximum top-up is USD 5,000 per day, matched by the yearly USD 100,000 load limit. There is no separate deposit fee, but the spread applies — the top-up is itself a conversion. No minimum is stated, and fiat top-up is not stated at all, which means you should not assume you can load the card from a bank account.
That network point is where most of the avoidable losses in this whole category happen, so it is worth being blunt: blockchain transfers are irreversible. Send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, and the funds can be gone or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. Pick the network from the app’s own instructions, not from memory.
Withdrawing works back out to your app wallet or to a bank account, at a fixed fee of 0.2 USDC for a withdrawal to PIN Wallet. One structural detail you should sit with: your balance is held by Takeoff Media. That is custody — the company holds it, you trust it — and it is the same trust question that applies to any crypto platform, minus the transparency.
Paying with it every day
Day to day you have a virtual Mastercard and not much else. It works for online and in-store payments wherever Mastercard is accepted, and it is compatible with Google Pay.
Apple Pay is the sharp edge. From 11 May 2026, adding new cards to Apple Pay has been unavailable “until further notice”. Cards you added before that date still work. So if your plan was “get the card, drop it in my Wallet”, that plan is on hold for new users, and the card’s own announcement of the pause is one of the documented complaints against it.
Other day-to-day facts, and where they are missing: blocked merchant categories are not stated, which means you cannot tell in advance whether gambling, adult content or crypto-adjacent merchants will decline. Rewards of any kind are not stated — no cashback, no points, nothing on the card’s pages. ATM use is not stated, and with no physical card that question is largely academic.
The app is the PIN Network app on iOS and Android. I could not retrieve store ratings — the store pages did not load when I checked on 2026-10-21 — so I am not going to quote a number I could not read.
For a disputed payment, the card gives you one route: a “Report” button under the transaction in the app, which opens a support ticket. How the chargeback then runs, how long it takes, who decides — none of that is stated. Given what the reviews say about support responsiveness, I would treat that gap seriously rather than formally.
What can go wrong
The complaints are the most useful part of this review, because they are the part the card’s marketing does not cover. Trustpilot shows 4.0 out of 5 across 13 reviews as read on 2026-10-21 — 77% of them five stars, which is a good-looking number attached to a very small sample. The company has not replied to negative reviews.
The themes, all from user reports rather than company statements:
- Unresponsive support. Raised across three separate months — February, April and July 2026. The same complaint three times is not noise; it is a pattern in a small sample.
- Unexplained loss of funds. One report in July 2026. This is the serious one, and with a custodial balance it cannot be waved away.
- Unclear spread. One report in April 2026, which lines up exactly with the missing published rate I flagged in the fees section.
- Delays and held transactions. February 2026 — and note that declined authorisations can leave a hold on funds for days, in this category typically up to seven, so a held transaction is not automatically a lost one.
Officially, the only service disruption on record is the Apple Pay pause from 11 May 2026.
There are also structural risks that are not this card’s fault but land on you anyway. A card programme can be suspended by the network at short notice — Visa terminated its FTX agreements on 13 November 2022, and WaveCrest had all its Visa programmes closed in Europe in 2018. The usual sequence in a closure is a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. One 2026 programme closure I found reported by a secondary source put new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — a single unconfirmed source, so I would not lean on the dates, only on the shape of the process.
Some merchants treat prepaid and foreign-issued cards differently. The first six to eight digits of a card number identify the issuer and its country, and a shop can look that up and apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. That is the background reason behind declines you will occasionally meet on any crypto card. Address verification, which compares the street number and postcode you type at checkout with the issuer’s records, is mostly a US, Canadian and UK mechanism and generally does not work for foreign-issued cards — another routine source of failed checkouts.
What the card does offer is reasonable: cancel the card in-app, set a PIN, transaction monitoring, and a security guide at its security centre. What it does not state is whether customer funds are safeguarded or segregated. For an EU e-money institution, safeguarding — holding your money in dedicated accounts or insuring it — is a legal requirement, and such funds are not the same as a bank deposit. I found no such statement here, so treat it as not stated.
Support is ticket-only, at support.payitnow.io, with a status page at support.payitnow.io/status. No phone line. Languages and opening hours are not stated.
What to take instead
Three other cards come up in this category often enough to be worth placing next to Pay It Now. Their public pages are thinner than Pay It Now’s in several places, so I have marked what is missing rather than guessing at it.
CardFlow — scores 4.9 / 10. Aims at Nigeria, describing itself as “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” and aimed at “Nigerians and global users”; no country list or exclusions are published. Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes, and creating a virtual card is “completely free” per its own FAQ; monthly fee not stated, transaction fees not stated. Funded with Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer, networks not stated. Rewards not stated.
HyperCard — scores 4.7 / 10. Official pages state no country list; the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries”, which is about acceptance, not eligibility. A prepaid card with the network not stated on that page, balance in USD or EUR. No fees listed on the pages I could read. You deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app and it converts to USD or EUR on the card; networks not stated. Rewards not stated.
Card.fi — scores 6.6 / 10, the highest of the four, and the most expensive to enter. Cards ship to “200+ countries”, but its terms bar residents of, or orders from, any country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service. It is the only one of these with physical and metal cards, and every physical order includes a virtual card. One-time cost: Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249; physical and metal prices are not listed, and there is no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee. Fees are the detailed part: top-up Classic 1.5% + $1.00 and Premium 1%; FX Classic 3.5% and Premium 2.5%, with the conversion fee shown before each top-up. It accepts 32 coins across 5 networks including USDT, USDC, ETH, BNB and SOL, converted at market rate on arrival — and warns that the wrong chain risks permanent loss. Rewards are the strongest of the group: cashback on card spending of 0.8% on Classic (capped at 10 USDT/month), 1% on Premium, and 1.2% or 2% on Metal with monthly caps of 100 or 250 USDT.
Put side by side, the choice looks like this:
| Pay It Now | CardFlow | HyperCard | Card.fi | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.6 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 | 6.6 / 10 |
| Who can get it | New Zealand, Australia | Nigeria-focused, no list | Not stated | 200+ countries, sanctions excluded |
| Card type | Virtual Mastercard | Virtual USD Mastercard | Prepaid, network not stated | Virtual and physical, metal |
| Entry cost | 5.00 USDC, “free for a limited time” | Free | Not stated | $49 to $249 for virtual tiers |
| Funding | 50+ assets to USDC | BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira | USDT, BTC, ETH | 32 coins, 5 networks |
| Named fees | Spread, 1.5% non-USD | Not stated | Not stated | Top-up, FX, conversion |
| Rewards | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Cashback up to 2% |
The honest summary: Pay It Now is cheaper to enter than Card.fi and broader in asset coverage than anything here, but it is the only one of the four that will not consider you if you are not in New Zealand or Australia. Card.fi costs more and publishes more, which is worth something when you are judging a company you have never heard of. If you are outside those two countries, the eligibility column settles the question before any other column gets read.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Pay It Now to a specific person, and it is not “anyone who wants a crypto card”. It is a New Zealand or Australia resident who already sits in the crypto world, holds several tokens they would rather not sell one at a time, and wants all of them spendable from one balance without going through an exchange for each. The 9 out of 10 on top-up is the reason: converting fifty-plus assets into USDC in one place is a real convenience and nothing else in this comparison does it at that breadth.
I would not recommend it if any of these are true. You need a physical card. You need to take money out at an ATM. You plan to pay with Apple Pay and have not added a card yet. You are outside New Zealand or Australia. You want a fixed, published conversion rate. Or you are the kind of person who will not put money into a custodial balance held by a company whose support is described by users as unresponsive and which has not answered its negative reviews.
That last list is longer than it should be, and it is why the score is 5.6 rather than 7.
The card is not badly built. It is narrowly built, honestly priced in the parts it prints, quiet in the parts it does not, and currently mid-way through a platform-level change on Apple Pay that is not its own fault. If you know those three things and they still suit you, it is a reasonable tool. If you are reading this hoping it solves a problem it was never built for, it will not, and the eligibility restriction means you may not even get the chance to find out.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Pay It Now card?
The Pay It Now card is a virtual, reloadable prepaid Mastercard funded from the PIN Network wallet. You convert crypto into USDC and the card spends that balance like an ordinary payment card, online and in shops. It exists only as a virtual card — no plastic version is available at this time — and it is issued by Immersve, distributed by Takeoff Media Limited.
How does the Pay It Now card work?
You convert digital assets into USDC inside the PIN app, and that USDC becomes the card’s spendable balance. At checkout the card behaves as a normal Mastercard, deducting from the stored balance rather than from a bank account. Because it is prepaid, it cannot overdraw. One catch: purchases in currencies other than USD carry a 1.5% transaction fee, and conversions are charged at a spread.
Is Pay It Now a bank?
No — the card describes no banking relationship, and nothing on its public pages suggests deposit insurance or a safeguarded account. Your balance is held by Takeoff Media Limited, a New Zealand Authorised Representative (1313795), with Pay It Now NZ LTD as an FSP (1002374) and Pay It Now AUS PTY LTD holding an AFSL (700050). Whether customer funds are safeguarded is not stated, so do not assume it.
Who owns Pay It Now?
The card pages name Pay It Now NZ LTD and Pay It Now AUS PTY LTD as the regulated entities, Takeoff Media Limited as the Authorised Representative that holds the balance, and Immersve as the card issuer. Ultimate ownership and funding behind those entities are not stated on the pages I read, so treat the corporate chain as known only as far as it is published.
Can I use the Pay It Now card in my country?
It depends where you live, and the distinction is the one that trips people up. If you are in New Zealand or Australia you are eligible to apply. If you are elsewhere — including the US and Europe, which the card says it is working towards — you cannot get one today. Being able to *spend* the card where you are once you hold it is a separate question from being able to *get* it.
How do I get the Pay It Now card?
Install the PIN Network app on iOS or Android, open the Cards section, apply, then complete the card provider’s own KYC — which is required in addition to PIN’s, even if you have already verified with PIN. Then top up. The card says this takes “just a few minutes”. Which documents are needed, whether proof of address is required, and the age threshold are all not stated.
Does the Pay It Now card require KYC?
Yes, twice over. Onboarding and identity verification happen through PIN Network, and then additional KYC runs through the card provider even if PIN’s own checks are already complete. Identity checks of this kind are a legal requirement for regulated businesses, covering identity documents, address, date of birth and sanctions screening. If the checks cannot be completed, an account may simply be refused or frozen — that is standard, not a sign of anything wrong.
How do I top up the Pay It Now card?
From the PIN Wallet, using more than 50 digital assets — the card’s FAQ says 40-plus — including BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT, TRX and BNB, all converted to USDC. Deposits made through a Web3 smart contract can take up to 10 minutes. The maximum is USD 5,000 per day and USD 100,000 per year. There is no deposit fee, but the conversion spread applies, and fiat top-up is not stated.
Is the Pay It Now card safe?
Treat it as any custodial crypto product: you are trusting the platform with the balance. It offers in-app card cancellation, a PIN, transaction monitoring and a security centre, but it does not state whether funds are safeguarded. User reviews on Trustpilot — 4.0 out of 5 from 13 reviews — include reports of unresponsive support and unexplained fund loss. Support is ticket-only, with no phone line.
Is the Pay It Now card worth it?
Worth it if you are in New Zealand or Australia, already hold several tokens, and want them spendable from one balance without selling each one separately. Not worth it if you need a physical card, an ATM, Apple Pay for a new card, a fixed published conversion rate, or a fee schedule printed in full. The single-tier structure and lack of a stated ATM policy mean the card’s practical scope is narrow.
Virtual cards: picking one for online use – cryptocardpicker
Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team
