The parts that work, and the parts nobody will explain

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Meru card is a USD-denominated Visa you can hold in your hand or in your phone, and fill from a crypto balance rather than from a bank account. It comes with the strongest top-up network list I have seen in this category — USDC and USDT across Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism, Monad, plus Tron, BSC and Ethereum — and no monthly fee to keep it alive. That is genuinely more than most cards in this category offer, and it is why I scored it 7.3 out of 10 rather than lower.

Meru works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

But the same review has to say the quiet part out loud. The card’s own pages do not publish a country list. The one phrase about eligibility is “from anywhere in the world*” — with an asterisk that leads nowhere on the page. The issuing bank is not named. The scores on the complaint pages are tiny. And the help centre is in Spanish. None of that is disqualifying on its own; taken together it means you are being asked to trust a structure the public pages only partly describe, and you should decide whether you can live with that before you move money.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 7.3 out of 10

Criterion Mark Why I gave it that
Who can get it 8 / 10 Accounts can be opened “from anywhere in the world*”, but the asterisk is never expanded and no country list is published
Cost 7 / 10 Virtual card free, physical 5 USD, no maintenance fee; payments in USD outside the US 1%, other currencies 1.2%; crypto top-up 1% + 1 USD; ATM 0 USD
Top-up options 10 / 10 USDC and USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism and Monad, plus Tron, BSC and Ethereum
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Operator is R3MIT Solutions Inc. (Florida, an MSB registered with FinCEN), the issuing bank is not named; Trustpilot shows 5 reviews with complaints about support and being blocked from logging in; App Store 4.7 out of 5
Everyday use 7 / 10 Physical and virtual Visa, ATM with no Meru fee up to 250 USD per withdrawal; Apple Pay and Google Pay not disclosed

That total is the whole of my arithmetic on this card, and the low mark belongs to reliability. Not because I found a scandal — I found the absence of information, and in this category the absence of information *is* the risk.

Who this suits: someone who earns or holds in dollars, already has crypto they want to convert into spendable money, and lives somewhere where an ordinary bank card is hard to get or hard to keep. If you are that person, the top-up network alone justifies a look.

Who it does not suit: someone who needs a card that works everywhere without surprises, who wants Apple Pay, or who cannot absorb the combination of a 1% foreign-payment fee and a support channel that operates in one language. If your spending is mostly domestic and local, a plain debit card is cheaper.

Will they give you the card?

The card’s public page says accounts can be opened “from anywhere in the world*”. I want to be precise about what that is: it is a marketing sentence with a footnote marker attached, and the footnote is not expanded anywhere on the page. There is no published country list. Whether the test is citizenship or residence is not stated either — and that distinction matters enormously in this industry, because sanctions screening is applied to nationality and country of birth as well as to where you live. A card that says “anywhere in the world” without saying which test it applies is telling you less than it appears to.

So the honest answer to “will they give me the card?” is: probably, and I cannot tell you for your country from public information. What I can tell you is what they will ask you for.

Verification is described in one pass. You upload a photo of a valid identity document — the page names national ID, DNI or passport — and complete a facial validation if asked. You must be an adult. Proof of address, specific age thresholds, processing times and the reasons a review might be refused are not stated. There are no tiers to speak of: one account, one set of rules.

One thing I would watch: the card can be frozen and unfrozen in the app, and limits can be set there too. If your account is ever frozen, the app is also where you look for support. Those two facts sit uncomfortably close together, and the complaints section later in this review comes back to exactly that.

How to get it

Short version: a national identity document opens the account, and then you choose plastic or not.

The page describes a “physical and virtual card” — a physical and a virtual card — which is a “Tarjeta Visa Internacional”, “Emitida en USA”, running on a USD account. Whether the plastic is metal is not stated, which tells you about the level of detail on the marketing page generally.

Here is what it costs to get hold of one:

What you get Cost
Virtual card Free
Physical card 5 USD
Shipping “According to the shipping country” — the amount is not stated

Which countries the physical card ships to, how long delivery takes, and what a replacement card costs are all not stated. If you live somewhere that makes international card postage slow or expensive, that 5 USD is the smaller half of the question.

The steps in detail are not published either. There is no numbered walkthrough to check against. Anyone promising you a smooth five-minute setup for this card is describing their own experience, not the card’s documented process.

Fees: what it really costs

This is the part of the review I would read twice, because the headline number and the number you pay are different numbers.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Meru payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Free: the virtual card, the account opening, and the ongoing maintenance. There is no monthly fee to keep the account alive, and no plans or tiers to buy up to — it is a single tier.

Card payments. This is a USD card, and the mechanics matter. When you buy something priced in another currency, you are charged in that local currency, the transaction goes to Visa, and it is converted into dollars at the rate applying at that moment. The rate is not Meru’s rate — it is Visa’s, and it moves.

Where you spend Fee on top of the Visa rate
United States, in USD 0%
Outside the US, in USD 1%
Outside the US, in another currency 1.2%

Those are the figures that decide whether this card is cheap for you. If you spend in dollars outside the US, you pay one percent. If you spend in euros or pesos, you pay one point two percent. For someone spending a few hundred dollars a month, that is a real, recurring cost, and no amount of savings elsewhere in the structure offsets it.

Cash at ATMs. Meru charges 0 USD for the withdrawal itself. That is genuinely good and unusual in this category. But read the asterisk in the card’s own terms: the ATM operator or Visa’s conversion may charge you. So the zero is a zero on the card’s side of the counter, not a promise about what comes out of the machine.

Two ordinary payments, so you can see the shape of it:

What is not disclosed. The fees page exists and is linked, but no amounts are shown on the card page itself, beyond the words “sin cargos adicionales”. The last update to the fee page was August 2026. If a cost matters to your decision, look for it in the app before you confirm a transaction — the exact top-up fee is shown there.

Top up ways in

This is where Meru is strongest, and it is the section that earned a 10 out of 10.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Meru starts with a transfer to the right network

Deposits go in with “tus criptomonedas favoritas” — your favourite cryptocurrencies. The specific coins and networks are not stated on the general funding page, but the fee schedule below is far more specific, and it is the fee schedule that tells you what is actually supported.

Top-up method Fee
ACH (global, MX, CO) 2 USD
ACH (ES) 3 USD
Wire (global) 15 USD
Wire (ES) 25 USD
SEPA (global, CO) 2 USD
SEPA (ES) 3 USD
SPEI 2 USD
PSE 0.30% + 0.3 USD
Credit card (Stripe) 5.40% + 1 USD
MoneyGram 0.5 USD
PIX 0
USDC/USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism, Monad 1% + 1 USD
USDT on Tron 1% + 5 USDT
USDC on BSC 1% + 3 USDC
USDC on Ethereum 1% + 10 USDC
Crypto from exchanges 1% + 1 USDC

Two rows in that table are the whole argument for this card. Moving USDT on Stellar or Solana costs one percent plus a dollar. Moving USDC on Ethereum costs one percent plus ten. That is a tenfold difference in the fixed component, for the same asset, decided entirely by which network you pick. Anyone who tells you the fee is “one percent” has not read the table.

The minimum top-up is not stated. The exact fee is shown in the app before you confirm, which is the right way round.

Getting money back out, since the exit matters as much as the entrance:

Withdrawal method Fee
ACH / SEPA 0.75% + 1.5 USD
Wire 0.75% + 25 USD
Swift 0.4% + 15 USD
USDC/USDT on Polygon or Stellar 1% + 1 USD
USDC on Tron 1.50% + 5 USDC
PIX 0
MoneyGram 0.5 USD

And closing the account is deliberately simple, per the terms: withdraw your balance, notify Meru, uninstall the app. No retention process, no phone call. I would rather see that written down than have to ask.

One warning that belongs here rather than later. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send on a network Meru does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the money can be lost, or need manual recovery through support with no guarantee of success. This is not a Meru failing — it is how the technology works — but it is the single most common way people lose funds on cards like this one.

Paying with it every day

The mechanics are the prepaid model, and understanding it removes most surprises: your crypto is converted and loaded as a balance, and the card spends only that balance. It cannot overdraw. What you hold is what you can spend, and when it is gone the card simply declines.

Spending limits. 10,000 USD per day on purchases. ATM withdrawals up to 250 USD per transaction, three per day. Limits on individual cards also come from the issuing bank and from merchants, and both of those are outside Meru’s control.

What the virtual card will not do. Betting platforms, adult sites and dating apps, virtual wallets, streaming and video-game platforms (geolocation-dependent). Named merchants that are restricted include Binance, Interactive Brokers, Skrill, PayPal and Zinli. This is a policy list, not a legal one, and it can change — but if any of those are your use case, this is not your card.

Apple Pay and Google Pay. Not mentioned anywhere on the pages I read. I am not going to guess. If tokenising the card in your phone wallet is important to you, treat this as unconfirmed and check in the app before you rely on it.

Rewards. No cashback is stated. The page offers “Descuentos y promociones especiales en comercios seleccionados” — discounts and special promotions at selected merchants. That is a pleasant thing to have and not a reason to switch.

The app. iOS is the platform I can report on: iPhone and iPad, iOS 15.5 and above, rated 4.7 out of 5 from 1.7K ratings as I read it on 20 October 2026. A Google Play listing exists; I did not read its rating. The card can be frozen and unfrozen in the app, limits set there, real-time notifications turned on, and ATM withdrawals enabled — that last one is not on by default, and if you arrive at a cash machine without it you will be standing there with a working card that will not dispense.

Getting a payment back. Disputes go to [email protected] or through in-app chat, within 30 calendar days of the transaction. Review takes up to 15 business days. There is a 30 USD fee per disputed transaction, deducted whether or not the dispute succeeds. A reversal is not guaranteed, and chargebacks are not explicitly addressed. So: a 30 USD fee to try to recover a 20 USD payment is a losing proposition, and I would only use the process for amounts where the 30 USD is worth the effort.

What can go wrong

I found no official incidents — no licence changes, no fines, no regulator action against the operator. That is worth saying plainly, because it is not nothing in an industry where those things are common. What follows is what I could not verify, and what users have reported.

The company you are trusting. The operator is R3MIT Solutions Inc., a Florida corporation registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN. The issuing bank is not named on the fetched page. That name matters less than what it lacks: I cannot tell you which institution stands behind the card programme, and I would want to before I moved real money through it.

What the terms say about your crypto. The terms say Meru “does not administer digital assets on the user’s behalf” — the app displays the balance. That is a narrower claim than it first sounds, and you should read it as written rather than as a promise of protection. The App Store text claims funds are “100 % protegido”. Insurance and deposit protection are not addressed in the terms. Two-factor authentication is not stated.

To be fair to the card: it does have real controls. Freeze and unfreeze in the app, adjustable limits, real-time notifications, and ATM withdrawals that must be deliberately switched on. Those are the right tools. The question is what happens to you when support is the thing that is not working.

What users have actually reported. These are user reports on third-party sites, not confirmed by the card. On Trustpilot, meru.app shows about 3.0 out of 5 from 5 reviews — the company has not invited reviews, so the sample is people who had a reason to go looking and a reason to write. One Spanish-language review says a third-party transfer through Hotmart was not credited and Meru then stopped accepting third-party payments. Another says a rejected withdrawal was still debited and that support is close to nonexistent. One user could not open the app for about a day and reached out through Instagram. Two one-star fraud accusations appear without detail. Dates are not shown.

On the Meru website, Trustpilot lists 39 reviews. I did not see the overall score. One one-star review dated 20 June 2025 describes being locked out for over a week with roughly 20 support tickets closed unresolved. In the App Store reviews, the recurring themes are slow support, an unresolved withdrawal, and difficulty closing an account.

I want to be careful with numbers this small. Thirty-nine reviews is not a statistical base, and five is not evidence of anything except that five people were unhappy. What the pattern does tell me is which part of this card is fragile: not the technology, not the network list, but support and access. Being locked out of the app is the nightmare scenario in this category, because the app is where your money and your controls are. The scenario is rare enough that it should not stop you, and frequent enough that you should open an account with a small balance first.

Support, in full. The main channel is in-app chat, behind the support icon in the top right. A support email is listed but the address is not given. Social channels exist on X, Facebook, Instagram, Discord and LinkedIn. The help centre is in Spanish. Hours are not stated; one article is dated 9 April 2026. If you do not read Spanish, you are relying on the in-app chat and nothing else.

What to take instead

I looked at three alternatives in this category. Here is how they compare, with the same caution: eligibility details on most of these are equally patchy.

Card Score Card and cost Spending fees Funding
Meru 7.3 / 10 Physical and virtual Visa, USD, issued in USA; physical 5 USD, virtual free, no maintenance 0% US/USD, 1% non-US/USD, 1.2% non-US other currencies USDC/USDT across ten named networks
Morse 7.5 / 10 Fully virtual Visa prepaid debit, spends from Morse Balance in any currency Zero FX fees or markups, real-time Visa rate; online and contactless payment free Debit card, stablecoin transfer, USDC/USDG/EURC via Solana free; Bitcoin, USDT, Ethereum also accepted
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual only; physical “coming soon”; issuance 5 USD, no maintenance; plans Classic free, Pro 9.00/month, Max 19.00/month USD use free on all plans; foreign currency Visa rate + 2% FX; deposits free USDC or USDT into the USD account at 1:1, free; networks not stated; also USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Multicurrency Mastercard, spends from the UNi.Global balance; no annual fee; issuance fee not stated No annual or foreign transaction fee; converted at live OTC rates, “no hidden exchange fees” Not stated

Morse scores a fraction higher and is the closest comparison. It is the better card on paper for spending abroad — zero FX markup and a real-time Visa rate beats Meru’s 1% to 1.2% outright, and its self-custodial wallet is a structurally different risk profile from Meru’s custodial one. It is also strictly harder to get: eligibility is by residence, you must be 18 and living in a supported country, it cannot serve anyone under US, UK, EU or UN sanctions, and a list of countries including the United Kingdom, Japan, Australia, Singapore, Switzerland, Türkiye and New Zealand is closed-beta behind an invite code. The card is fully virtual for now. Morse is more expensive to enter and cheaper to use, and which of those dominates depends on where you are.

International Visa Card is worth knowing about for one reason above all others: it publishes an exclusion list. Seventeen countries and territories — Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Türkiye, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam — cannot open an account, and purchases are blocked in seven of them. FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case. The rule runs on residence or legal registration, and citizenship is not mentioned. That specificity is worth something on its own, even though the card costs more to use abroad: 2% FX versus Meru’s 1.2%.

UNi Card has the cleanest fee structure in the group — no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, live OTC rates — and it is the only one here advertising spend-to-earn rewards of up to 3%. But it tells me the least: eligibility not stated, funding not stated, physical or virtual not stated. A card with good published fees and no published eligibility is not a card I would put money through first.

Who I would recommend it to

If you hold dollars or stablecoins and you are somewhere that a normal bank card is difficult to open or easy to lose, this is a genuinely good tool. The top-up network list is the best in this category, the maintenance cost is zero, and the ATM fee is zero. For someone who has been converting crypto through an exchange and paying a spread to spend it, the 1% plus 1 USD on Stellar or Solana is a real improvement.

I would start small. Open the account, put in an amount you could afford to be annoyed about losing, and use it for a fortnight before you move anything serious. That advice is not specific to Meru — it is what you do with any custodial card in this category — but it matters more here, because the card’s public pages do not tell you enough for you to be confident on paper alone.

I would not recommend it if you need Apple Pay or Google Pay, if you need to use Binance or PayPal or a betting site from the card, if you are outside the US and spend primarily in local currency and cannot carry 1.2%, or if you need a support team you can read. In each of those cases one of the alternatives above fits better, or a plain bank account does.

And I would want one thing answered before I committed at scale: which bank issues this card. Everything else about Meru is either good or honestly quiet. The issuing bank is the piece that is neither, and it is the piece that stands between your balance and a bad day.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Meru card?

Meru is a USD Visa card you can hold physically or use virtually, funded from a crypto balance rather than a bank account. You load it with stablecoins such as USDC or USDT across ten named networks, and the card spends that stored balance like a prepaid card, so it cannot overdraw. It runs on a USD account, the card is issued in the USA, and there is no monthly maintenance fee. The operator named in the terms is R3MIT Solutions Inc.

How does the Meru card work?

It works on the pre-loaded balance model. You convert or deposit crypto into the account, and the card then spends only what is loaded, spending nothing beyond that balance. When you pay in another currency, you are charged in the local currency, the transaction passes through Visa, and the amount is converted into dollars at the rate applying at the time. On top of that sits Meru’s own percentage fee. Your app controls are the card freeze, adjustable limits, real-time notifications, and ATM withdrawals, which must be enabled inside the app.

Is Meru a bank?

No, and I would not treat it as one. Meru is a card programme run by R3MIT Solutions Inc., a Florida corporation registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN — a money transmitter registration, not a banking licence. The issuing bank behind the Visa programme is not named on the card’s public page, which is the detail I would want answered before moving significant money. Card balances of this kind are payment funds rather than bank deposits, so deposit-guarantee schemes should not be assumed to cover them.

Who owns Meru?

The card’s public page names the operator as R3MIT Solutions Inc., a Florida corporation, and its terms describe it as a Money Services Business registered with FinCEN. That is the entity to look up if you want to check its standing. What the public pages do not do is name the issuing bank or detail the licences, so the full chain from your balance to the institution that ultimately holds it is not something I could verify from what is published.

Which countries can use the Meru card?

The card’s public pages do not publish a country list, and I could not establish eligibility for your country from them. The one statement available is that an account can be opened “from anywhere in the world*”, with an asterisk that is never expanded. Whether the test is citizenship or residence is not stated either, which matters because sanctions screening often applies to nationality as well as address. If your country is uncertain to you, that is a genuine gap, and you would need to resolve it with support before relying on the card.

Does the Meru card require KYC?

Yes. The account is opened with your national identity document — the card names national ID, DNI or passport — plus a facial validation if one is requested. You must be an adult. Proof of address, specific age thresholds, how long review takes, and the reasons an application might be refused are not stated on the pages I read. This is ordinary identity verification under anti-money-laundering rules; a regulated provider is expected to check identity, screen sanctions lists, and keep monitoring transactions afterwards.

How much does the Meru card cost?

The virtual card is free and there is no maintenance fee. The physical card costs 5 USD, with shipping charged according to the destination country — the amount is not published. Spending costs 0% for purchases in USD inside the US, 1% for purchases in USD outside the US, and 1.2% for purchases in another currency outside the US. Meru charges 0 USD for ATM withdrawals, though the ATM operator or Visa’s conversion may charge separately. Limits are 10,000 USD of purchases per day.

How do I top up the Meru card?

The cheapest routes are stablecoins on the fast networks: USDC or USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism or Monad costs 1% plus 1 USD. USDT on Tron costs 1% plus 5 USDT, USDC on BSC 1% plus 3 USDC, and USDC on Ethereum 1% plus 10 USDC — that last one is the figure to watch. Bank rails are also available: ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI, PSE, PIX, MoneyGram and credit card through Stripe. The exact fee appears in the app before you confirm, which is where I would check it.

Is the Meru card safe to use?

It has the right controls — instant freeze and unfreeze in the app, adjustable limits, real-time notifications, and ATM withdrawals that must be deliberately enabled. But two gaps deserve your attention. The App Store text claims funds are “100 % protegido” while insurance and deposit protection are not addressed in the terms, and two-factor authentication is not stated. User reports on third-party sites, not confirmed by the card, describe being locked out of the app and slow or unresolved support. I would start with a small balance.

Can I add the Meru card to Apple Wallet?

I could not confirm it either way — Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned on the card’s pages I reviewed, and I would not guess. What I can tell you is that the card is a standard Visa issued in the USA, which is the normal requirement for adding a card to a phone wallet, so it may well work. Check inside the app before you rely on it, particularly if tokenised mobile payment is the main way you intend to spend. The virtual card is also restricted at named merchants including Binance, PayPal, Skrill and Zinli.

Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team