A USDe-backed Visa you can only use if you are already inside a closed beta
If you have struggled to get an ordinary bank card — blocked applications, a closed account, a country your bank will not touch — then a crypto-backed payment card sounds like a way out. Ethena Pay is one of the more interesting versions of that idea: it turns USDe, a dollar stablecoin, into a Visa you can add to Apple Pay in about a minute, in a self-custodial wallet that keeps your keys out of a bank’s hands. That is a genuinely different design, and I like the reasoning behind it. But after working through the card’s own pages and terms, my honest conclusion is that this is a beta product behind an invitation list, offered in a fixed set of countries, from a company that says outright it is not licensed as a financial firm — and for most people the sensible answer right now is to watch it, not to plan around it.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.7 out of 10 — promising idea, thin evidence
I scored Ethena Pay 6.7 / 10. That number is not a verdict on the concept, which is sound, but on what I could actually verify about a product that launched its invite-gated beta on 1 Sep 2026 and, at launch, had a few hundred early users. The idea is strong, the cost side is unusually clean, the everyday mechanics are good. What holds it back is the absence of a named issuer on the official terms, the absence of any track record, and a top-up story that is still vague about which coins and networks are accepted.
Who this suits. You already hold USDe or other digital assets in a self-custodial wallet, you are in one of the covered countries, and you want to spend crypto without handing the private keys to a platform. You are comfortable with stablecoin risk and with the fact that your balance is yours to protect — nobody can recover a lost seed phrase for you. You like cashback paid in a token rather than in dollars. And you have enough patience to expect changes, because the product is a beta.
Who this does not suit. You are looking for a bank account. You want card issuance in your country today. You want a physical card in the post next week. You plan to rely on ATM cash. Or you want someone else to hold the risk of a lost key while you still get a debit card. For those people, the honest answer is that this card is not the tool yet.
Here is how the score breaks down, criterion by criterion.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Invite-only beta across 48 countries in Latin America, the Caribbean, Asia and the Middle East, Africa and Oceania; the United States is excluded |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Virtual card, account opening and maintenance are free; FX on non-USD spending is “typically around 1.0%” at the network rate; cash withdrawal is $1.00 plus 0.65% |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | A self-custodial wallet with USDe and other assets as collateral, spending debits the USDe balance; MoonPay and Iron are named as partners; the coins and networks are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Ethena Pay Ltd. in Malta, number C114576, states it is not licensed; the official terms name no issuer; third-party sites mention Third National and Signify (Rain); a 400-user beta with no complaints found |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual card in about a minute with Apple Pay, physical cards in Standard, Pro and VIP tiers, ATMs available, Google Pay “available soon”; third-party reports say virtual only |
| Total | 6.7 / 10 | A well-built beta with a clean cost structure, held back by an unnamed issuer, no track record and a vague top-up story |
Notice how the two highest marks and one of the lowest sit next to each other. That is the shape of this product. It is cheap and pleasant to use, and it is hard to fully trust yet.
Will they give you the card?
Short answer: only if you are in the right country and you get an invitation. The card is described by the company as an invite-gated beta, and the country list is long — 48 in total — but it is not the world.
The coverage breaks down roughly like this, from the card’s own listing:
- Latin America (17): Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay.
- Caribbean (12). The card states the region and count; it does not enumerate the twelve on the page I reviewed.
- Asia and the Middle East (8): Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, UAE.
- Africa (9): Cote d’Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Morocco, Senegal, South Africa, Uganda, Zambia.
- Oceania (2): Australia, New Zealand.
Not offered to U.S. persons. And the terms carry a separate restricted-jurisdictions clause: access is restricted for anyone “located in, ordinarily resident in, established in, or accessing the Services from” Belarus and Russia. Note the wording — that is about residence and location, not citizenship. It is the kind of clause that catches people who travel, so if you move, read it again.
One thing worth knowing before you check your country: a card is not automatically available just because your country is on the list. The beta is invitation-based, so the practical gate is whether an invitation reaches you. The company has said the United States, the EU, the UK, Canada, Switzerland, Taiwan and South Korea are “coming soon” — which is a statement about intention, not a date.
And there is a category of card in this market whose whole appeal is that it does not care about your country. If you are reading this because your bank will not open an account for you and you expected a crypto card to fix that, be clear-eyed: this one is not the fix. It is restricted to 48 countries by name, and in Europe it is a future tense.
How to get it
The application is short, and the checks are the standard kind. From the terms and the card’s own walkthrough, the sequence is: register, pass verification, and generate a virtual card — in about a minute.
Verification is handled by Ethena Pay or by third parties including Sumsub. What they may ask for is set out plainly in the terms: “government-issued photo identification, proof of address, source of funds information”, plus tax details and biometric or liveness data. You must be 18 or older, and the terms allow one account per person.
That is worth reading twice if you have had a bad experience with financial onboarding elsewhere, because it is fairly standard. It is identity verification; it is not a workaround, and there is nothing in this card that lets you skip it. Passing the checks is not the same as being approved — a third-party report noted exactly that, which is honest of the product.
What the public pages do not tell you: anything about delivery of a physical card. Physical cards are listed in the Standard, Pro and VIP tiers, but the countries, the time and the cost of getting one in the post are not stated. If you need plastic, that is a question to ask before you commit, not after.
There is also a difference in the information you will find. A third-party card directory states the card is virtual only, with no physical option at all. That contradicts the official page, which lists physical cards in the three paid tiers. Where they disagree, the official page is the primary source.
Fees: what it really costs
The cost side is where this card scores well, and I want to be precise about which numbers are firm and which are not. Some are flat and published. One is an approximate pass-through the company itself hedges. And one big number — the crypto conversion fee — is simply not stated anywhere on the public pages.

Here is the whole picture as published.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | Free |
| Card replacement | Free |
| Card activation | Free |
| Account opening | Free |
| Monthly maintenance | Free |
| Minimum balance | None |
| Inactivity fee | None |
| Physical card fee | Not listed (varies by tier) |
| FX on non-USD spending | “typically around 1.0%”, passed through from the card network at cost — not a cap or guarantee |
| Cross-border fee | None |
| Domestic USD purchase | No fee |
| Interest on purchases | 0.00% |
| Late payment fee | Up to $40 |
| Returned payment fee | Up to $29 |
| Cash withdrawal | $1.00 plus 0.65% of the amount, plus any ATM operator surcharge |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
| Third-party costs | Gas and funding-partner fees charged separately |
Now let me put three ordinary payments through that table, because a fee list on its own does not tell you what a Tuesday costs.
A $40 lunch in Mexico City. You tap in a restaurant. The network converts your dollars to pesos at its own rate and passes a cost of around 1.0% through. So you pay roughly the day’s rate plus about forty cents. There is no cross-border fee on top and no fee for the domestic purchase itself. If the restaurant accepts Visa, that is it. This is the case the card is genuinely good at.
A $15 subscription in euros, billed monthly. Same mechanism: conversion at the network rate, with the around-1.0% passed through. The company is explicit that this figure is typical rather than fixed — it is the network’s cost, not a promise. You should plan on it as a variable you cannot pin down in advance, and on a subscription it quietly recurs every month.
$200 in cash from an ATM in Manila. Here the cheap picture ends. You pay $1.00 plus 0.65% of the amount, and the ATM operator may add its own surcharge on top, which the card does not control and does not publish. Availability of cash withdrawals also depends on eligibility. If you take out real money regularly, this is the number to look at, not the 1.0%.
Two more charges deserve a mention because they are the ones that bite in a bad month: a late payment fee of up to $40 and a returned payment fee of up to $29. Neither will appear in normal use. Both are worth knowing exist.
And one more, because it is the biggest unknown on this list. The crypto conversion fee — the cost of turning your collateral into spendable balance — is not stated. That is not a small gap. It is the fee that would tell you what the card really charges for its central trick, and I cannot tell you what it is. Ask.
Limits sit alongside the fees, with an odd asymmetry worth understanding. There are no spending limits listed. What *is* listed is a cap on the Daily Boost, which is the interest feature: $5,000 on Standard, $100,000 on Pro, $1,000,000 on VIP. A third-party directory describes spending limits as dynamic, tied to your collateral value and reducible even to zero. The terms back that up in spirit: they reserve the right to impose transaction limits and change them without notice. So the limit you have today is not a promise about tomorrow.
Top up: where the money comes from
Here I have to be blunt: this is the weakest part of the product, and it scored 5 out of 10 for a reason.

The model is self-custodial, and it is a good model. Your own wallet holds USDe and other supported digital assets as collateral. You top up that wallet, and when you spend, the charge debits your USDe balance. The company is explicit that it “doesn’t hold your funds, keys, or seed phrases” and that it provides no custodial or safeguarding service. Nobody can move your money, and nobody can lose it in a corporate collapse — but equally, nobody can recover it if you lose the key.
What the card does *not* tell you is which coins and networks it accepts for a top-up. MoonPay and Iron are named as funding partners, and the app launched on Avalanche, but the coin and network list is not published on the pages I reviewed. That is a real practical problem, and it is not a nitpick. Crypto transfers are irreversible. If you send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the money can be gone or need manual recovery with no guarantee of success. A stablecoin balance that sits on the wrong chain is not a balance you can spend from.
Two other top-up facts, both partial. Sending to other Ethena Pay users is free. No deposit fee is published. The minimum top-up is not stated. And the third-party costs — MoonPay, Iron, and the network’s own gas — are charged separately, on top. So your top-up price is not one number; it is the amount plus whatever partner and network fees apply.
If you already hold USDe in the right place, this system is clean and fast. If you are starting from nothing and need to know which chain to use, the card cannot yet tell you, and you should not guess.
Paying with it every day
This is the part I enjoyed reading. The card is fast, familiar and, for the most part, free to use.
The virtual card generates in about a minute and goes straight into Apple Pay. USD spending is free. Physical cards exist in the Standard, Pro and VIP tiers, on the Visa network, and ATMs are available. Google Pay is “available soon”. Apple Pay’s version of this is the good version: the card number is replaced by a device-specific number stored on the phone’s secure hardware, never on Apple’s servers, with a fresh one-time code per payment.
The blocked merchant categories are not stated, which you may notice the moment something declines. But the cashback exclusions are listed in detail, and they explain a lot: cash advances, ATM withdrawals, purchases of crypto, stablecoins, NFTs and securities, gambling, gift cards, peer-to-peer transfers, and funding your own account all earn nothing. That last group is the point — the card pays you for spending, not for moving money around inside the crypto world.
Cashback itself is one of the more generous structures I have seen, and it is paid in AVAX, daily, after settlement:
- Standard: 4% on the first $2,500 of monthly spend, then 1% from $2,500 to $4,000, then nothing.
- Pro: 4.5% up to $8,000, then 2%, then 1%, then 0.5%.
- VIP: 5% up to $20,000, then 2%, then 1%, then 0.5%.
Pro is reached by subscription or referrals. Transactions under $1.00 earn nothing at all — worth remembering if you are the type who pays for coffee constantly. Refunds reverse the cashback you earned, and a refunded, charged-back or ineligible purchase drops out of your monthly spend total, which can also push you down a cashback band.
One caution that has nothing to do with this company: because a crypto card’s issuing bank can be in a different country from where you live, some shops treat the card as foreign and scrutinise it. A billing address that matches where you actually are, and a card that behaves like an ordinary Visa in the app, reduce the friction but do not remove it.
What can go wrong
Nothing bad has surfaced yet, and I want to be honest about how much that is worth. A beta with a few hundred early users has not had time to disappoint anyone.
Officially, there are no known incidents. I found no Trustpilot page and no Reddit presence in searching. The complaint process exists and is concrete: [email protected], acknowledged within five business days, with a final response targeted within fifteen. That is a real commitment on paper. The only user report I found was a Philippines user quoted a $10 charge for a first card; it reads as isolated, and it does not match the official page’s claim that virtual issuance is free.
The company is candid in a way that should make you pause. Ethena Pay Ltd. is a Maltese limited company, number C114576, registered at Ta’ Xbiex, Malta. It states plainly that it is “not licensed, registered, authorized, or otherwise approved” by financial regulators, and that it works through third-party providers. The official terms name no card issuer at all. Third-party reporting fills that gap: the card is described as a Visa issued by Puerto Rico-chartered Third National and managed by Signify Holdings (Rain). That is not confirmed by the card’s own pages — but a card programme with no issuer named in its own terms is a structural gap, not a technicality.
Self-custody cuts both ways. Your keys and funds stay with you, which is the feature. It also means a lost seed phrase is gone permanently — there is no support line for it — and that you carry the full weight of phishing and malware that swaps wallet addresses. Two-factor authentication and card freeze are not stated. On the cashback side, chargebacks can be deducted from your balance, and if that pushes you negative, the negative remains your liability.
The Beta’s own edges. The iPhone app is in beta. A third-party report notes the app is English-only, and another that the rating in one country’s App Store showed only two reviews, both 5.0 — a sample too small to mean anything. Google Pay is promised, not shipped. The Daily Boost needs one card transaction a month to pay, so an unused card earns nothing. A third-party listing puts new loads and spending stop dates for one 2026 programme closure on 8 July and 8 August, single-sourced and unconfirmed, but it is a reminder of the category’s pattern: Visa ended its agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and WaveCrest had all its Visa programmes closed in Europe in 2018.
On refunds, complaints are acknowledged in five business days with a final response targeted in fifteen, and no chargeback time frames are stated — so if a dispute goes badly, you have no published deadline to lean on.
What to take instead
I looked at three other cards that spend a stablecoin balance, so you can weigh Ethena Pay against something with a longer track record or a broader country list. These are the same criteria, applied honestly — including the places where they are simply quiet.
Sponge — 4.9 / 10. The most experimental of the three. A virtual card, described on the homepage as a credit card issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, accepted wherever Visa is accepted. USDC collateral moves from the Sponge wallet with a card-funding command; the example chain is Base, with Base or Solana as optional in the developer kit. Beyond that, the card pages do not state costs, fees or rewards, and there is no country list on those pages at all. It scores lowest here because there is almost nothing published to review.
| Ethena Pay | Sponge | |
|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.7 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 |
| Who can get it | 48 named countries, invite-only beta | Not stated on card pages |
| Card | Visa; virtual, physical in three tiers | Virtual; credit card issued by Rain |
| Costs | Virtual card, account, maintenance free; FX around 1.0% | Not stated |
| Top-up | USDe and supported assets in self-custody | USDC collateral from wallet |
| Rewards | Cashback in AVAX, daily | Not stated |
Xplace — 7.7 / 10. The strongest of the three on paper, and the one I would look at if your priority is a card that behaves like a financial product with tiers and a rewards ladder. It is a Visa, virtual instantly and physical in Silver now with Gold and Platinum coming, delivered in 7–14 business days. It has a Cash mode that spends a stablecoin balance and a Credit mode that borrows against your holdings, with no origination fee on the borrowing. You deposit BTC, ETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT or x-stocks on Solana. Cashback is tiered: 0.5% on Basic, 1% on Silver, 1.5% on Gold, 2% on Platinum, paid in USDC at settlement. “0% FX on Platinum”, and the company says stablecoin spending carries “no hidden spread”.
The catch is the annual fee structure, and it is the opposite of Ethena Pay’s: Basic free, Silver $99 a year, Gold $249, Platinum $999. It also does not publish a country list, saying only that services are “not available in all jurisdictions”, and it does not state its card currency. So: the richest feature set here, and the highest ongoing cost.
ether.fi — 6.7 / 10. Tied with Ethena Pay, and in some ways more settled. A Visa, virtual and physical, issued only in listed jurisdictions based on residence — Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, the UAE, the UK, plus 31 US states, with Belgium and Ireland eligible even without physical delivery. If your jurisdiction is not on the list, you cannot apply. ATM withdrawals are blocked in North Korea, Iran and Myanmar. Core members normally get one free virtual card, though the first costs $10 in a long list of regional-pricing countries including Mexico, the Philippines, Thailand and South Africa. FX runs on top of the base rate by tier — 0.5% on Core, 0.25% on Luxe, none on Pinnacle and VIP — and euro purchases carry a 0% FX rate. Cashback is paid in ETHFI, locked for seven days before you can claim it, at 3% up to tier-dependent monthly caps. Crypto conversion fee is not stated.
| Ethena Pay | Xplace | ether.fi | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.7 / 10 | 7.7 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 |
| Country coverage | 48 named countries, beta | Not stated | Named jurisdiction list, 31 US states |
| Card | Visa; virtual plus physical tiers | Visa; virtual and physical, credit mode | Visa; virtual and physical |
| Upfront cost | Virtual card and account free | Free to $999/year by tier | One free virtual card, or $10 by region |
| Spending | Prepaid balance of USDe | Stablecoin balance or loan | Collateral in credit mode, or balance |
| Rewards | Cashback in AVAX, daily | Cashback in USDC by tier | Cashback in ETHFI, 7-day lock |
| Main gap | No issuer named; conversion fee unstated | No country list; card currency unstated | Conversion fee unstated |
My read on the three-way comparison: Ethena Pay is the cheapest and the most transparent about its costs, and the only one of the four that will not lend you money against your holdings. Xplace is the fullest product if you are willing to pay for tiers. ether.fi is the most established-looking. Sponge is the one to watch from a distance.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Ethena Pay to three kinds of person, and warn the rest.
If you already hold USDe in a self-custodial wallet, you are in one of the 48 listed countries, and your bank has been unhelpful or closed you — this is a card worth watching closely, and worth applying for when an invitation arrives. You get a real Visa, free to hold and free to use in dollars, spendable straight from crypto without giving anyone the keys, with cashback that pays you daily in a token and an FX cost that is close to the raw network rate. The design is right and the costs are honest.
If you are a crypto-native reader in Europe or the UK who wants this in a year rather than this month, put it on a watch list. The company says the EU and UK are coming soon, and a MiCA-authorised provider will be a different proposition from this one. A card that spends crypto is regulated as a payment service and, on the crypto side, as a crypto-asset service — it depends on two licences, not one — and the rules for e-money tokens changed materially from 30 June 2024, with a transitional period running to 1 July 2026.
If you want to spend a paycheck, need a physical card next week, or plan to take out cash often, I would not plan around this. And if you want to be sure your money is safe, remember what this card is: not a bank, not licensed, no issuer named in its own terms, no independent rating, no reviews to read, and a self-custodial key that nobody can restore for you. That is a coherent set of trade-offs, but it is not the trade-off you want if what you need is an ordinary card.
The category this sits in has a history worth keeping in mind. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, had all its European programmes closed by Visa in 2018. Programmes close. Balances do not always move with them. A crypto card is infrastructure you rent, not an account you own — with the partial exception of this one, where at least the underlying funds are yours.
One last practical note, since it is the thing that trips people up most: paying with crypto funded from a wallet is generally a taxable event. Digital assets are treated as property, spending them produces a gain or loss measured in your local currency at the value on the day, and each payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal. I am not giving you tax advice — I am telling you to ask someone who does, before you spend, not after.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Ethena Pay card?
It is a Visa payment card you fund from crypto instead of a bank account. Your own self-custodial wallet holds USDe and other supported digital assets as collateral, and when you spend, the charge comes out of your USDe balance. The virtual card generates in about a minute and goes straight into Apple Pay. The company says it does not hold your funds, keys or seed phrases. It is currently an invitation-only beta.
Is Ethena Pay a bank?
No. Ethena Pay Ltd. is a Maltese limited company, number C114576, and it states in its own terms that it is “not licensed, registered, authorized, or otherwise approved” by financial regulators, working instead through third-party providers. The official terms name no card issuer. Third-party reporting says the Visa is issued by Puerto Rico-chartered Third National and managed by Signify Holdings (Rain), but that is not confirmed on the card’s pages.
Which countries can I use the Ethena Pay card in?
The beta covers 48 countries: 17 in Latin America, 12 in the Caribbean, 8 in Asia and the Middle East, 9 in Africa and 2 in Oceania — including Brazil, Mexico, Singapore, Japan, UAE, South Africa, Kenya and Australia. It is not offered to U.S. persons. The terms restrict access for anyone located in, ordinarily resident in, established in, or accessing the services from Belarus and Russia.
Does the Ethena Pay card require KYC?
Yes. Verification is run by Ethena Pay or third parties including Sumsub, and they may ask for government-issued photo identification, proof of address, source of funds information, tax details and biometric or liveness data. You must be 18 or older and may hold one account per person. Passing the checks does not guarantee approval. There is no way around identity verification here.
Is the Ethena Pay card free?
Mostly. Virtual card issuance, replacement and activation are free, as are account opening and monthly maintenance, and there is no minimum balance or inactivity fee. FX on non-USD spending is “typically around 1.0%”, passed through from the card network at cost — a typical figure, not a guarantee. Cash withdrawals are $1.00 plus 0.65%, plus any ATM surcharge. Physical card fees are not listed.
Is there a fee to convert crypto into card balance?
The card’s public pages do not state it. That is the single largest gap in the cost picture: the conversion fee is what the card charges for its central function, and no figure is published. Third-party costs — gas and funding-partner fees from MoonPay and Iron — are charged separately, on top. Ask the company directly before you rely on this card day to day.
How do I top up the Ethena Pay card?
You send assets to your own self-custodial wallet, where USDe and other supported assets act as collateral, and spending then debits your USDe balance. Sending to other Ethena Pay users is free and no deposit fee is published, but the minimum top-up is not stated. Critically, the accepted coins and networks are not listed either. The app launched on Avalanche — check before you send, because transfers on an unsupported network can be lost.
How do I add the Ethena Pay card to Apple Wallet?
Generate the virtual card in the app — it takes about a minute — and add it to Apple Pay from there. Apple Pay replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored on the phone’s secure hardware, so the real number never sits on Apple’s servers and each payment uses a fresh one-time code. Google Pay is described as “available soon” rather than available now.
What is the cashback and what does it exclude?
Cashback is paid daily in AVAX after settlement. Standard earns 4% on the first $2,500 of monthly spend, then 1% to $4,000; Pro earns 4.5% to $8,000 then 2%, 1%, 0.5%; VIP earns 5% to $20,000 then 2%, 1%, 0.5%. Excluded: cash advances, ATM withdrawals, buying crypto, stablecoins, NFTs or securities, gambling, gift cards, peer-to-peer transfers and funding your own account. Payments under $1.00 earn nothing.
Is Ethena Pay card safe to use?
Define “safe” first. Your funds and keys stay in your own wallet, so no corporate collapse can take them — but a lost seed phrase cannot be recovered by anyone, and two-factor authentication and card freeze are not stated. The company is not licensed and names no issuer in its terms. No Trustpilot page or Reddit presence surfaced, only a single report of a $10 first-card charge and one editorial rating of 3.9 out of 5. I would treat it as an early product, not a finished one.
Credit and cashback cards: choosing between them – cryptocardpicker
Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team
