A virtual dollar card for people locked out of ordinary US banking, priced with crypto fees and weighed down by a 1.9 Trustpilot score

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

US Unlocked is one of a small family of cards that exist for a specific person: you live outside the United States, you want to pay an American online shop in dollars, and ordinary banks will not give you a card that works there. If that is you, this card does something real, and it does it plainly. If you want a card for everyday life in your own country – a shop on your street, a card that works at a terminal, something you can hold – then this is the wrong instrument, and the gap between what you need and what it does is wide.

US Unlocked works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I gave it 5.1 out of 10. That is not a rounding of “bad” into “okay”. It is a card with a genuine narrow job, done competently on the eligibility and pricing side, undone by the fact that the platform people run it through has a visible record of freezing accounts and payments failing at merchants. I unpack each part below so you can decide whether the narrow job is yours.

The conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.

What I found, at a glance

My score is a total of 5.1 out of 10. It is the sum of six criteria, each of which I score out of 10 and each of which I explain. I do not weight one above another; I just add them and read the total honestly.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a US Unlocked payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Any resident outside the US with valid ID and proof of address; about 175 countries listed, with no published excluded list
Cost 4 / 10 $4.95 monthly or $39.95 yearly subscription, $2 for a One-Time Use Card, 2% to load crypto, 3% when the merchant does not take USD, $10 to unload
Top-up options 5 / 10 Crypto and stablecoins (coins and networks not named on the pages, arriving in 1-2 hours), plus SEPA, UK Faster Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and credit cards
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Run by Tern Commerce Inc., card issued by “Third National” under Visa licence; a payment-partner problem the company itself acknowledged in March 2026; Trustpilot 1.9 out of 5 from 113 reviews, with accounts held for review and closed after deposits
Everyday use 3 / 10 Virtual USD Visa only, maximum $3,000 in the account; Apple Pay and Google Pay are load methods, not ways to pay; no plastic card and no ATM access
Total 5.1 / 10 A card that does its specific job and little else, on a platform with real payment problems

This is a card for non-US residents paying US online shops in dollars. That is the audience note that runs through everything below, and when a weakness does not touch that audience – say, the absence of a physical card – it costs the card less than it otherwise would. When a weakness does touch that audience, such as a payment partner failing, it costs a great deal.

Who they will give you the card to

The eligibility rule here is unusually clean, and it is the strongest thing about the product. US Unlocked’s public pages say the card is for “anyone residing outside the U.S. with valid ID and proof of address”. US residents are not eligible, and the card terms require the applicant to attest “You are not a United States citizen”. The rule is residence-based, not citizenship-based, with that one attestation layered on top.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up US Unlocked starts with a transfer to the right network

The countries page lists about 175 available countries, running from Albania to Zambia, and including Kazakhstan, Georgia, Armenia, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova and Turkmenistan. There is no published list of excluded countries. Russia and Belarus do not appear on the list. The site does not state a minimum age. If you are in one of the listed countries and can produce ID and a document showing where you live, you are, on the face of it, exactly who this card is for.

Two things to hold onto as you read the rest. First, “no excluded list” is not the same as “everyone is guaranteed approval” – the card still runs verification, and I come to that next. Second, if you are a US resident, this is simply not available to you, whatever your citizenship. That is the one hard border the card draws.

How to get it

The process is short and entirely digital. You register, verify your ID, choose a plan, load the account, and cards are issued. Verification wants a government-issued photo ID; a recent utility bill or bank statement may also be requested as proof of address. PO boxes and virtual addresses are not accepted, so a real residential document is required, not a mailbox or a rented forwarding address.

The timing is stated as typically under three minutes, up to 24 hours. There is a single verification step, and the stated reasons a verification can be refused are an expired ID, poor image quality, or mismatched information. In some cases additional review may be required.

What you get is a virtual card only, in USD, on Visa – the site describes it as “issued under license from Visa”. There are three kinds:

CVV and expiry date are shown in the dashboard after SMS or OTP verification. Delivery is digital only – there is no physical card, so nothing is posted to you.

For a reader deciding whether to apply, the practical checklist is short: a government photo ID you can photograph clearly, a recent real utility bill or bank statement that is not a PO box, and a way to fund the account before you need the card. The Store Locked and One-Time Use variants are the ones I would actually reach for if the card is being used on a shop you do not know well.

What it really costs

Here is what the pricing page and the card terms say, line by line. Read the 3% row twice – it is the one that catches people out.

Fee or limit Amount
Subscription $4.95 per month, or $39.95 per year (annual plan shown as “Save 33%”)
Additional Everyday Spend Cards $1 per month each (the FAQ text says $2 each; the pricing page and card terms say $1/month)
One-Time Use Card $2 each
Free trial None
Crypto load fee 2%
Foreign currency transaction fee 3% when the merchant does not accept USD (card terms; the FAQ says cards are billed in USD with no FX)
Fee for a $0.00 transaction $0.50
Returned or reversed payment $30
Unload fee $10
Maximum balance $3,000 per account
Spending limit Generally set by US Unlocked; the issuer may set additional limits

The subscription comes in exactly two plans, Monthly at $4.95 and Annual at $39.95, with the same inclusions: one Everyday Spend Card, up to 10 cards in total, and no domestic USD transaction fees. There are no further tiers, no higher-spend tier, and no card that removes the 3%.

Now, three everyday payments, and which fees bite. This is the part that tells you whether the card is cheap or expensive for you.

A $30 software subscription from a US site, merchant accepts USD. You pay $30. The subscription is $4.95 for the month, and the load from crypto cost you 2% on top of whatever you sent. No currency fee, because the merchant took dollars. If you topped up by credit card instead, the load was $1.00 plus 5%, which on a $30 balance is $1.50.

A $60 order from a European shop that prices in euros. The card terms say a 3% foreign currency transaction fee applies when the merchant does not accept USD. On $60 that is $1.80. The card’s own FAQ says cards are billed in USD with no FX fee, so the honest reading is that the fee attaches when the merchant refuses dollars and converts. That is a difference you cannot control from your side – it depends on the shop.

A $12 purchase that fails, or is reversed by the merchant. There is a $30 fee for a returned or reversed payment, and a $0.50 fee even on a $0.00 transaction. This is the row that should make you use the One-Time Use Card for anything unfamiliar. A $30 charge against a $12 purchase is the single worst line in the pricing table.

On the scoring, I put Cost at 4 out of 10. The subscription is cheap for a card; the load fees are ordinary for the category; the 3% currency fee, the $30 reversal fee and the $0.50 zero-value fee are the kind of small print that quietly erodes trust in a card you cannot hold in your hand.

How to top it up

The headline method is crypto and stablecoins. The pages I read do not name the specific coins or the networks, which is a real gap – if you are about to send funds, you will want to know the supported chain before you send, not after. Funds arrive in 1-2 hours. The other methods listed are SEPA, UK Faster Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and credit cards, and which of those are available to you varies by country. PayPal and Venmo are not supported.

The costs of loading differ sharply by route:

Top-up route Fee Arrival
Crypto / stablecoin 2% 1-2 hours
SEPA / UK Faster Payments $2.00 + 2% (pricing page; the FAQ says SEPA $0.70 + 4.5%) 3-5 business days
Apple Pay / Google Pay / credit card $1.00 + 5% Usually instant

A minimum top-up is not stated. Loads are non-reversible once submitted – that is the single most important operational fact on this page, and it deserves a moment. A crypto transfer you have sent is gone from your control the moment it leaves your wallet, and a load you have submitted cannot be undone on the card side either. If you send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the money can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Please send a small test amount first.

Getting money back out is the gap in the story. The pages do not describe a withdrawal to crypto or to a bank account beyond the $10 unload fee, and closing the account requires a $0 balance. So the practical shape of this card is one-directional: money in, spend it, and if you want it back, there is a $10 charge and the details are not published on the pages I read.

I scored Top-up options 5 out of 10. The routes are varied and the SEPA and Faster Payments options are a genuine convenience for anyone in Europe or the UK. But naming no coins and no networks for a card whose main selling point is loading with crypto is a real gap, and it is the kind of gap that turns a small test into a large worry.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is where this card is thinnest, and it is worth being blunt about that.

The card is virtual only, in USD. The maximum balance is $3,000 per account, and the spending limit is generally set by US Unlocked, with the issuer free to set additional limits. Apple Pay and Google Pay appear only as ways to load the account – adding the card to a phone wallet is not described at all. There is no plastic card and no ATM, and ATM fees are not stated because there is nothing to draw cash with. There is no App Store or Google Play app mentioned; the dashboard is a website. Rewards are not stated – no cashback is mentioned anywhere.

Some merchant categories are restricted: high-risk categories such as gambling, crypto, adult, money transfer and weapons, and the terms also name internet gambling and cash-like purchases such as lottery tickets and casino chips.

What this means in practice: this card is for paying one type of bill – a US online merchant that takes dollars – and it does that job. It is not for the coffee shop, the supermarket, the taxi or the person who needs to hand over something physical. If your mental image of “a card” includes tap-to-pay on a terminal in your own country, that image does not apply here.

If a payment is disputed, the process the site describes is: contact the merchant first, then open a dispute with support; report any disputed charge within 60 days of the statement; chargebacks resolved in your favour are credited to the account; pre-authorization holds can take up to 31 days to release. For fraud, the site asks you to email support at once and mark the charge in the dashboard.

I scored Everyday use 3 out of 10, and I want to be fair about why this is not lower. For its actual audience – someone paying US online shops in dollars – the absence of plastic is not a failure, it is the design. But the 3 reflects that even inside that narrow job, the card is limited: $3,000 maximum, no wallet integration, no app, no ATM, and named categories that will not work on it.

What can go wrong

The risks on this card are unusually concentrated in one place: the platform behind it.

The company behind the brand is Tern Commerce Inc. The card programme’s issuer is “Third National”, with the card issued under licence from Visa. Tern Commerce’s registration country is not stated. To be clear about the shape of that arrangement, because it is the same shape most cards of this kind have: the card network routes the payments and sets the rules, the issuer is the institution licensed to issue, and the brand is often only a programme manager and front end that markets and supports the card. When something goes wrong, knowing which of the three to email matters.

The reliability record is the part I keep coming back to. On Trustpilot the card sits at 1.9 out of 5 from 113 reviews, 18 of them in the last 12 months, which I read on 2026-10-21. The themes in those reviews are consistent: merchants rejecting the card between February and Sep 2026; accounts suspended or placed under review after deposits between January and Sep 2026; billing and refund disputes; an annual fee charged where a monthly one was expected in Sep 2026; and fees kept after cancelling in Nov 2025.

Two of those themes are corroborated from the other side. In March 2026 the company’s own reply on Trustpilot acknowledged an ongoing issue with its payment partner. And the cards-per-account cap has moved over time – reported on review pages as cut from unlimited to 100, and then to 10 – which tells you the platform’s own risk appetite can change without much notice. On the news side: the card launched in the UK and Australia in October 2025, the March 2026 payment-partner reply is the only significant item I found, and I found no licence revocation or fine against the programme.

The pattern I would want you to hold on to is this: the complaints are not mainly “the fees are high”. They are “the money went in and the account went under review” and “the shop would not take the card”. Those are the two failure modes that cost a person the most, and both appear repeatedly across the review record.

There are sensible protections built in, and they are worth using. Two-factor authentication is available via an authenticator app under Account Settings and Security, and card details require SMS or OTP verification before they display. 3-D Secure is mentioned. The account auto-unlocks after 30 minutes of inactivity. The Store Locked and One-Time Use Card types exist precisely to limit how much exposure a single card number carries. How the funds themselves are safeguarded is not described on the pages I read, and with a custodial load the provider holds the balance until you spend it.

I scored Reliability and complaints 3 out of 10. A 1.9 Trustpilot with a self-acknowledged payment-partner problem is not a rounding error, and “we closed the account after I deposited” is not a complaint a small fee reduction answers.

What to take instead

The comparison is useful mainly because it shows what you are trading away. Here is US Unlocked beside three other cards in the same family, with the honest caveat that these are different products aimed at different people, not ranked against each other.

US Unlocked CardFlow HyperCard Card.fi
Score here 5.1 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10 6.6 / 10
Who it is for Residents outside the US with ID and proof of address Aimed at Nigeria and “Nigerians and global users”; no country list or exclusions stated Official pages state no country list; the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility) Cards ship to “200+ countries”; terms bar residents of, or orders from, a sanctioned country
Card Virtual USD Visa Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes Prepaid “HyperCard”, balance in USD or EUR; network not stated on the App Store page Virtual and physical Classic and Premium, plus metal; issued under licence from the relevant card schemes
Cost $4.95/month or $39.95/year Creating a virtual card is “completely free” (site FAQ); monthly fee not stated Not stated; the App Store page lists no fees One-time: Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249; no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee
Fees 2% crypto load, 3% if merchant does not accept USD, $30 reversal, $10 unload Not stated Not stated on the pages I could read Top-up 1.5% + $1.00 (Classic) or 1% (Premium); FX 3.5% (Classic) or 2.5% (Premium)
Top-up Crypto and stablecoins (coins and networks not named), SEPA, Faster Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay, credit cards Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR; networks not stated 32 coins across 5 networks, with a deposit address per card; converted at market rate on arrival
Rewards Not stated Not stated Not stated Cashback on card spending: Classic 0.8%, Premium 1%, Metal 1.2% or 2% with caps

Where US Unlocked is genuinely competitive: eligibility. About 175 listed countries and a residence-based rule with no published exclusions is broader and clearer than most of the field. CardFlow names Nigeria explicitly and states no exclusions; HyperCard makes a point of acceptance in “more than 176 countries” but that is where the card works, not who can hold it. Card.fi is the strongest card in this group on paper – 6.6 here, one-time pricing with no recurring fee, the widest top-up network coverage, and actual cashback – but it costs $49 or $249 up front and bars sanctioned countries, and its wrong-chain risk is explicitly called out in its own terms.

If you are outside the US and only need to pay a few US sites, US Unlocked’s low entry price is a fair reason to try it. If you want something you will use more often, Card.fi’s higher score reflects a card with real features; if you are in Nigeria, CardFlow may serve you better.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend US Unlocked to one person: someone living outside the United States, in a listed country, who has a US online bill or a US merchant to pay, has valid ID and a real address document, and wants to try a dollar card for a monthly $4.95 without a large up-front cost. For that person it is a reasonable first experiment, particularly with a Store Locked or One-Time Use Card, and particularly after a small test load.

I would not recommend it to someone whose main problem is “I need a card for my own country’s shops”. There is no plastic, no ATM, no wallet, no app, and a $3,000 ceiling, so it cannot do that job. I would not recommend it to anyone whose bank already issues a usable virtual card, because the subscription, the load fee and the reversal fee are pure addition in that case. And I would think twice, hard, before loading a sum you would miss, because the review record is full of accounts held or closed after a deposit, and the loads cannot be reversed.

My own advice, if you proceed: use the monthly plan, not the annual, so you are not committed a year in advance to a platform with a 1.9 rating; keep the balance small; test with the cheapest route first; and use a One-Time Use Card for anything unfamiliar, because of that $30 reversal fee.

Frequently asked questions

What is US Unlocked card?

US Unlocked is a virtual payment card issued in USD on Visa that lets people living outside the United States pay American online merchants in dollars. It is run by Tern Commerce Inc., with the card programme issued under licence from Visa by “Third National”. It is virtual only, so there is no plastic card and no cash withdrawal. It is aimed at people who cannot get an ordinary bank card that works with US online shops.

How does US Unlocked card work?

You register, verify a government photo ID, possibly add proof of address, choose a plan, load the account with crypto or another payment method, and cards are issued to your dashboard. The card spends only the balance you have loaded, so it cannot overdraw. Card details including CVV and expiry appear in the dashboard after SMS or OTP verification. Three card types exist: open-to-buy, locked to one store, and single-use.

Is US Unlocked a bank?

The public pages do not describe it as a bank. It is a card programme run by Tern Commerce Inc., with the card issued under licence from Visa by an issuer named “Third National”. In general, a card brand like this is often only a programme manager and front end, while the licensed issuer holds the card programme and the network routes payments. Registration country for Tern Commerce is not stated on the pages I read.

Who owns US Unlocked?

US Unlocked is the brand, and Tern Commerce Inc. is the company behind it. The card programme itself is issued by “Third National” under licence from Visa. That three-layer structure – brand, issuer, network – is standard for cards of this type and matters when something goes wrong, because the support you reach may not be the institution that actually holds your balance.

Is US Unlocked card available in my country?

The countries page lists about 175 available countries, from Albania to Zambia, including Kazakhstan, Georgia, Armenia, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova and Turkmenistan. There is no published list of excluded countries. Russia and Belarus do not appear in the list. The rule is residence-based: you must reside outside the US, US residents are not eligible, and the card terms require you to attest you are not a US citizen.

Does US Unlocked card require KYC?

Yes. It asks for a government-issued photo ID, and may also request a recent utility bill or bank statement as proof of address. PO boxes and virtual addresses are not accepted. Verification is a single step, typically under three minutes and up to 24 hours, and can be refused for an expired ID, poor image quality or mismatched information. Additional review is sometimes required.

How do I top up the US Unlocked card?

Crypto and stablecoins are the headline route, arriving in 1-2 hours at a 2% fee, though the pages do not name the supported coins or networks. SEPA and UK Faster Payments cost $2.00 plus 2% and take 3-5 business days. Apple Pay, Google Pay and credit cards cost $1.00 plus 5% and are usually instant. PayPal and Venmo are not supported. Loads are non-reversible once submitted, so test small first.

Is US Unlocked card free?

No. The subscription is $4.95 per month or $39.95 per year, additional Everyday Spend Cards are $1 per month each (the FAQ says $2), and a One-Time Use Card is $2. There is no free trial. On top of that, loading with crypto costs 2%, loading by SEPA or card has its own fees, and a returned or reversed payment costs $30, with a $0.50 fee even on a $0.00 transaction.

Is US Unlocked card safe?

It has real safeguards: two-factor authentication through an authenticator app, SMS or OTP before card details are shown, 3-D Secure, and an account that auto-locks after 30 minutes. Store Locked and One-Time Use Cards limit how much a single number exposes. But its Trustpilot record is 1.9 out of 5 from 113 reviews, with accounts placed under review or closed after deposits, and in March 2026 the company acknowledged a payment-partner issue. Keep balances small.

Can I withdraw money from US Unlocked?

The pages describe an unload fee of $10 and say closing the account requires a $0 balance, but they do not describe a withdrawal to a crypto wallet or a bank account in detail. So the card is effectively one-directional: money goes in, and you spend it. If you need money back out, that is the detail to ask support about before you load anything you would not want to spend.

Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team