I read the MetaMask card pages closely. Here is what the fees, limits and complaints actually say.
If you have been trying to spend from a crypto wallet and keep running into the same wall — a shop declines the card, a country is not on the list, a “fee” turns out to be something you cannot find written down anywhere — then this review is written for you. I went through MetaMask’s own card pages and FAQ, compared them against each other, and read what users report on third-party sites. My overall mark for the card is 7.1 out of 10. It is a good card for one specific person: someone who already keeps their money in a self-custody wallet, mostly in Europe or Latin America, and wants to spend it directly without moving it to an exchange first. It is a poor fit for everyone else, and there are two specific things you should read before you apply.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
The conditions described here are current as of October 2026.
Verdict: 7.1 out of 10
The card works, the free tier is genuinely free, and the everyday-use mechanics are the strongest part of the offer. But the reliability score is the lowest in my table, and it is low for a reason you will feel in your support tickets, not just read about: refunds that land in a separate balance, contradictory FAQ versions, and a physical card that some users report arriving well past the promised window.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Sign-up open in 45 countries (Europe, Latin America, Canada and others), other regions on a waitlist; US and UK temporarily closed |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Virtual is free, no annual or monthly fee; Metal is $199/year; “minimal fee” per transaction with no amount given; no currency fee |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | Spends directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad, Solana; tokens mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC, USDT; a Solana-only wallet cannot withdraw |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Issuer Monavate, provider Crypto Life; complaints about refunds stuck in “Credits”, tickets looping, card freezes; unofficial: physical card took a month |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual instantly, plus Metal, Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATM $1,000/day on Virtual and $5,000 on Metal |
The total is 7.1 out of 10. The shape of that number matters: this is a card with an excellent day-to-day experience attached to an issuer relationship I could not verify in detail. MetaMask is a wallet company; the card programme is run by Crypto Life and issued by Monavate. That is the normal arrangement for this category, and I mention it because when something goes wrong, you are dealing with those two, not with a support team inside a consumer app.
Will they give you the card?
Short answer: if you live in one of 45 listed countries or territories and can prove residency, probably yes. If you live anywhere else, you are on a waitlist. If you live in the United States or the United Kingdom, sign-ups are temporarily closed.
The listed examples include Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain and Uruguay. The full official list of 45 sign-up countries is: Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Guernsey, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Jersey, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Uruguay. Russia, Belarus and Turkey are not in it.
Proof of residency is required. What the public pages do not state is the citizenship rule, so if your citizenship differs from where you live, do not assume either way — that is a question for support, not for me. The card’s own wording is worth keeping in mind: “Ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending.” In other words, the list governs who can apply, not where an already-issued card can be used.
One more thing about availability. The same official material is inconsistent about the United States: sign-ups are described as temporarily closed in the US, and on the same page the Metal card is described as available in the US. Where official pages contradict each other, treat the more restrictive statement as the working reality until you have an answer in writing.
How to get it
You need a MetaMask wallet and the MetaMask app; the card is managed inside that app. The flow is: you are approved, a virtual card is issued instantly, and if you want the physical Metal card you pre-order it in the app after the virtual approval. One card per user.
Let me be precise about what that means in practice. The virtual card activates instantly and nothing physical is mailed at signup. The Metal card “ships securely to a verified address”, so a verified address is a condition of getting it — but the delivery time, the delivery cost and the replacement cost are not stated anywhere on the pages I read. That gap is worth asking about before you pay $199, because the single most common unofficial complaint I found about delivery is a promised two weeks turning into over a month.
On the checks themselves: MetaMask’s official position is proof of residency, handled by Crypto Life, and no credit check. Which documents count, how many levels of verification there are, how long processing takes and why a rejection happens are not stated. An unofficial third-party source (cryptocards.so, 2026) says email, phone and ID are required, that address proof and a selfie are not required, and that approval is fast or near-instant. I could not confirm that from MetaMask. There is also no age requirement stated on the card pages — and as a general matter in this category, prepaid and debit cards are normally adult products, so if you are under 18 that is a question to ask before you start.
If a card is lost or stolen, MetaMask Card Support is available 24/7 for assisted replacement in your region. That is the one part of the process the pages describe clearly.
Fees and limits: what it really costs
The honest headline: the Virtual card has no annual fee and no monthly fee, and there is no foreign transaction fee, but there is a per-transaction “minimal fee” whose amount I could not find printed on the pages. That single missing number is the biggest gap in the cost picture, and it is why my cost mark is 8 and not 9.

| Fee or limit | Virtual | Metal |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | Free | Metal, $199/year |
| Monthly or annual fee | None | None; the $199 is the yearly Metal charge |
| Transaction fee | “Minimal fee for each transaction” — amount not stated on the pages I read; no additional MetaMask fees | Same |
| Currency / FX | No foreign transaction fee; Mastercard rate used | Same |
| ATM | $1,000/day limit; free “up to $1,200/mo” with the tier unclear | $5,000/day limit |
| Card spend limit | $15,000/day | $30,000/day |
| Cashback | 1% | 3% to the first $10,000 spent, then 1% |
| $FLY bonus | 5X | 7X |
An older FAQ version quotes different numbers: 8,750 EUR or 10,000 USD per day for card spend, and says ATM withdrawals were available only to Metal and US Virtual users. Those conflict with the card page above. Treat the card page as the current figure and the older FAQ as a leftover.
Now, two or three everyday payments, so this stops being a table.
A coffee at a local café. The amount leaves your delegated token balance, a “minimal fee” per transaction applies in the background, and there is no currency fee if you are spending in your own country. This is the case where the missing fee amount matters least and the card feels best.
An online subscription in a currency you do not hold. The card converts using “the best rate Mastercard allows” with no added fee, so the spread is inside the Mastercard rate, not inside a MetaMask fee. You still carry whatever movement there is between the moment of conversion and the moment the merchant captures the amount.
A purchase from a shop that declines it. This is not a MetaMask fee, but it is a cost in the way you would notice one. The card’s BIN identifies it as issued by an institution in a particular country, and some merchants apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address — which is also why address verification, offered mainly in the US, Canada and the UK, is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for several days. None of that is written as a fee, and none of it is MetaMask’s fault, but it is the thing I would warn a first-time user about before anything else in this review.
One thing I should flag as a contradiction rather than resolve for you: an unofficial third-party listing (cryptocards.so, 2026) describes monthly, issuance, ATM, FX, top-up and decline fees as free. That directly contradicts MetaMask’s own “minimal fee for each transaction” and the $199/year Metal charge. I would not plan around the unofficial version.
How to top it up
There is no preloading. This is the single most important thing to understand about the card, and it differs from most prepaid cards you have used.
The card spends directly from the token balances you have delegated to it from your connected wallet. When you make a purchase, it draws on the tokens assigned to the card; the card balance view shows the highest-priority token set under Manage. There is no step where you convert to fiat and load a balance, and no fiat top-up is described anywhere on the pages.
Supported networks are Linea, Base, Monad and Solana. The tokens named are mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT — the page says nine in total without listing all of them. One hard limitation: a wallet that is Solana-only cannot withdraw the credit.
Network fees, deposit fees and minimum top-up amounts are not stated. The support pages link to a limits-and-fees table that returned no figures when I checked it. So the rule of thumb is the honest one: on-chain network fees for your transfer are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, and you should assume you need the native gas token of whichever network you send on.
Getting money out works like this: withdrawals go out as mUSD. Money Account holders receive it as Monad mUSD into their vault; everyone else receives Linea mUSD to their priority EVM address. Monad withdrawals have sponsored gas. To close the card you contact Crypto Life support. And the part I like most: if the card is frozen or deactivated, your funds stay in your own wallet. The withdrawal fee is not stated.
Paying with it every day
This is where the card scores highest, 9 out of 10, and the reasons are concrete.
You get a virtual card immediately, so there is no waiting period to start spending. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, which is how most people will actually use it day to day — the card number goes into your phone wallet and each payment uses a one-time code rather than the stored number itself. If you go Metal, you get the physical card on top.
Cashback is paid in mUSD into the Money Account: 1% on Virtual, 3% on Metal up to the first $10,000 spent and 1% after that. There is also a $FLY bonus — 5X on Virtual, 7X on Metal — earned through the Blackbird dining app. Metal holders can opt into a 90-day Club Regular trial.
If a payment goes wrong, the order of operations matters: ask the merchant for a refund first, and if that does not work, request a chargeback from Crypto Life support. Refunds go to the Credits balance. Time frames are not stated — and I would note that Credits is exactly where unofficial user reports say refunds get stuck, so if a refund matters to you, keep the merchant conversation documented.
What is not stated: which merchant categories are blocked. In this category, gambling (casinos, betting, lotteries) is the category most often blocked by issuer policy, and prepaid or foreign-issued cards are the ones most often declined — but I am telling you about the general pattern, not about a MetaMask restriction the pages do not publish. If gambling or similar is part of what you intend to spend on, ask first.
What can go wrong
I will put the most serious item first, because it is the reason the reliability mark is 4.
Refunds trapped in a separate balance. User reports collected via cryptocards.so (2026) describe refunds ending up in Crypto Life’s “Credits” balance rather than back in your wallet, with tickets looping through automated replies without resolution. If you are the kind of person who needs money back quickly, this is the failure mode to weigh before you apply, not after.
Slow, templated support. The same unofficial source describes slow responses, copy-paste replies and no live chat. The official position is that Crypto Life support is reachable by email, and that MetaMask Card Support is 24/7 for assisted replacement — that is for replacement, not general queries.
Slow physical delivery. One App Store reviewer reports a promised two-week delivery that took over a month (unofficial, cryptocards.so, 2026).
Card freezes and limits. Community posts describe cards frozen at lifetime-transaction limits until a manual upgrade, and account closure for inactivity. The card does let you set your own daily, weekly and monthly limits, which is the tool I would use defensively — set them lower than the card’s own ceilings.
Bridging quietly costs you rewards. The same unofficial reporting notes that bridging to Linea or Base can erode cashback. Worth assuming until you have measured it yourself.
The provider behind the provider. Crypto Life is the card provider; Monavate is the issuer, spelled “Monavate” in the FAQ. The site footer reads “Copyright 2026 Consensys, Inc.”, but the FAQ does not say Consensys provides the card. The issuer’s registered country and licences are not stated, and insurance on the card is not stated. An unofficial community post names Monavate Limited as the FCA-regulated entity for UK complaints; I could not confirm that from the card’s own pages.
The wallet’s own reputation, which is not the card’s. Trustpilot shows 1.4/5 from 647 reviews for MetaMask the wallet overall, as recorded by rfp.wiki when read on 2026-10-20. The themes are poor support and slow resolution. Those are wallet reviews, not card reviews — but when the card lives inside the wallet, the support experience is shared.
On the safer side, the design is genuinely non-custodial: your private keys stay in your wallet. You can freeze or replace the card instantly in the app, funds stay in your wallet, and the virtual card stays active for your subscriptions. You get transaction alerts and activity monitoring. What that does not buy you is insurance — insurance is not stated — and it does not protect you from crypto’s own irreversibility: blockchain transfers cannot be undone, a deposit sent on an unsupported network or to the wrong network’s address can be lost, and stablecoins themselves can lose their peg.
What to take instead
I looked at three alternatives. None of them is a straight substitute — each trades away the thing MetaMask does well, which is spending straight from a self-custody wallet.
| Card | Score | Card | Where it runs | Cost and fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MetaMask | 7.1 / 10 | Mastercard, Virtual + Metal | 45 countries, US/UK sign-ups closed | Virtual free; Metal $199/year; “minimal fee” per transaction; no FX fee |
| TokenPocket | 5.8 / 10 | Mastercard/Visa debit, virtual, on Arbitrum | Visa for a list of European countries/territories; Mastercard for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, UK and others; Americas “planned” | NFT creation fee partly covered, user pays “a small portion”; 1% fee on depositing crypto, refunded later via rewards; no other fees stated |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | Visa — virtual and physical, up to 10 cards, several tiers | Residence-based list shown at sign-up, not published | Standard $0/year, Premium $1,000/year, Private $10,000/year billed annually upfront; FX 0.5%–1.75%; stablecoin top-up, USD spend, transaction fee and Apple/Google Pay all 0%; declined transaction $0.50 |
| Zeal | 6.1 / 10 | Visa, virtual, addable to Apple Pay | 150+ countries; programme live in EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia, Thailand | Not published; no additional FX fee, conversion at Visa wholesale rate |
Where each of them wins:
- KAST publishes its numbers. Zero on stablecoin top-up, zero on spending in USD, zero transaction fee, zero for Apple and Google Pay — with the catch being a real FX fee of 0.5%–1.75% depending on where you live, where you spend and which programme you hold, plus $0.50 for a declined payment. Its cashback is the strongest of the group in structure: 1.5% to $2,000/month on Standard, 2% to $10,000 on Premium, 3% to $40,000 on Private, paid in USD at authorisation. But the tiers are expensive and the membership is billed annually upfront, and its KYC depends on both residence and the ID you hold — the terms say that living in a supported country with only an ID from a restricted region may still fail KYC.
- TokenPocket is the one with a 1% deposit fee refunded later through rewards, and balances in EUR24 and USD24. It is also the one whose regional story is least settled — the Americas are described as planned rather than live.
- Zeal is the simplest to hold: up to 4% cashback in GNO if you keep GNO in the card Safe, up to 5% variable APY advertised on EUR/USD balances, no added FX fee, virtual Visa that goes straight into Apple Pay, and spendable balances in EUR, USD and GBP. Its weakness is that no fee schedule is published at all, which is the same kind of gap that holds MetaMask back from a higher mark.
If your problem is “no ordinary bank card works for me,” all four of these face the same wall. The real difference is how each one handles the awkward parts: refunds, support, delivery, and whether the fees are written down.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to one person: you already run a self-custody wallet, your money is in stablecoins or a small set of tokens, you live in one of the 45 listed countries, and what you want is to spend from that wallet directly instead of routing every payment through an exchange. For you the design is right, the fee structure is simple, and the $15,000 daily limit is not the binding constraint.
I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true:
- You live in the US or the UK and your plan depends on signing up now.
- You need a physical card in your hand this week — delivery time is not stated, and users report over a month.
- You intend to send money from an exchange, because there is no fiat top-up described; the card draws on tokens already in your wallet.
- You are a Solana-only wallet user who needs to withdraw the credit.
- You are comparing cards by total cost, because the per-transaction fee amount is not published on the pages I read.
- You have been burned by a refund stuck in a non-withdrawable balance before, and you would rather not risk it again.
If you fall in the second group, KAST’s published fee schedule is worth reading next; if you fall in the third, none of these four is the right tool and a normal bank card with a stablecoin-friendly issuer is.
Frequently asked questions
What is the MetaMask card?
It is a Mastercard that spends directly from tokens you delegate to it from your own self-custody wallet — no exchange account and no preloaded balance. You get a virtual card instantly and a physical Metal card for $199/year. MetaMask markets it; Crypto Life is the card provider and Monavate the issuer. Non-custodial: your keys stay in your wallet.
How does the MetaMask card work?
You delegate tokens from your connected wallet to the card, and each purchase draws on the highest-priority token set shown under Manage. Networks named are Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with tokens including mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT. There is no preloading step. A Solana-only wallet cannot withdraw the credit.
Is MetaMask a bank?
No. It is a wallet company — Consensys, Inc. appears in the site footer — and the card is provided by Crypto Life and issued by Monavate. Visa and Mastercard license issuers rather than issuing consumer cards themselves, and can suspend a programme. So MetaMask is not the institution holding your money or deciding declines.
Availability and Country Rules
Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories, mostly Europe plus Canada and Latin America; examples include Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain and Uruguay. Other regions join a waitlist, and US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed. Proof of residency is required. Citizenship rule is not stated.
Does the MetaMask card require KYC?
Yes — proof of residency is required, Crypto Life handles the checks, and there is no credit check. Which documents count, how many verification levels there are, processing time and rejection reasons are not stated. An unofficial third-party source says email, phone and ID are needed and no selfie, which I could not confirm from MetaMask itself.
What does it cost to use the MetaMask card?
Virtual is free with no annual or maintenance fee; Metal is $199/year. There is a “minimal fee for each transaction” whose amount is not stated on the pages I read, and no additional MetaMask fees. There is no foreign transaction fee — the Mastercard rate is used — and no foreign exchange surcharge on top of it.
How do I top up the MetaMask card?
You don’t, in the usual sense. There is no preloading and no fiat top-up described; the card simply spends the tokens delegated to it from your connected wallet. You supply those tokens from your wallet on Linea, Base, Monad or Solana, paying the blockchain’s own network fee. Deposit fees and minimum amounts are not stated on the pages.
Is the MetaMask card safe?
Your keys never leave your wallet, and you can freeze or replace the card instantly in the app with funds staying put — that is a real advantage. Set your own daily, weekly and monthly limits. But insurance is not stated, blockchain transfers are irreversible, and refunds reportedly land in a separate “Credits” balance where some users say they get stuck.
Why was my payment declined, and what do I do now?
Common causes in this category: the card is prepaid or foreign-issued, address verification is unavailable for foreign-issued cards, or the merchant category is blocked by policy. MetaMask does not publish its blocked categories. Request a refund from the merchant first, then a chargeback from Crypto Life support. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for several days.
Is it worth getting the $199 Metal card?
Only if you will use it. Metal raises the card limit from $15,000 to $30,000/day and the ATM limit from $1,000 to $5,000, lifts cashback from 1% to 3% up to the first $10,000 spent, and raises the $FLY multiplier from 5X to 7X. If you mostly pay for everyday purchases, the free Virtual card covers that, and delivery time and replacement cost are not stated.
Wallet cards: who should pick one – cryptocardpicker
Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team
