Volet loads from its own wallet and charges you for it

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Volet is not a bank and not a conventional fintech. It is a custodial e-wallet that, since some point in its life, has sold payment cards attached to the fiat balance inside that wallet. That single sentence explains almost everything that follows: the card is a convenient spending front end for money you have already converted from crypto, and every step between your coins and a shop counter has a price attached to it. I went through the card’s own pages and reports and came to 6.0 out of 10 — a middle-of-the-road score that reflects a service that works, with a real cost structure you should read before you commit, and a corporate structure the public pages do not explain.

Volet works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Who this suits: you already hold crypto, you want to spend it through something that behaves like an ordinary Mastercard or Visa, and you are in a region where Volet actually issues a card. Who it does not suit: you want a card with no monthly cost and no loading fee, you want to be able to read the name of the bank that issued your card, or you want a rewards programme that exists today rather than “coming soon”.

Score card

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Service in “180+ countries”; a Global digital Mastercard in 150+ countries, plus regional cards for Asia-Pacific and Europe
Cost 4 / 10 Issuance: Digital global $5, Asia-Pacific plastic $5, Europe Virtual 1 USD/EUR; loading a card from the e-wallet is 2.5% + $1 on the Digital global, 1% + 1 USD/EUR on Europe; loading the wallet by card is 3.5%
Top-up options 6 / 10 The card can be loaded only from the Volet fiat wallet; USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH and others are deposited and converted to USD or EUR; networks not named
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Issuer and legal entity not named, region-specific agreements; Trustpilot 4.1 out of 5 across 965 reviews, with complaints about high fees, verification limits and cards not arriving
Everyday use 7 / 10 Digital and plastic Mastercard and Visa cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay on some cards; ATM terms not officially disclosed
Total 6.0 / 10 A workable wallet card with a fee structure that rewards careful reading

The one line in that table I would underline is Cost, at 4 out of 10. That is the number that decides it for most people. The card is not expensive to open; it is comparatively expensive to keep fed.

Will they give you the card

Volet says the service runs in “180+ countries”. Card availability is narrower and depends on region. The Global digital Mastercard is offered in 150+ countries. There are separate Asia-Pacific cards, and Europe cards for Europe, Turkey and Israel. That is the whole eligibility picture as the card states it — and note the wording: the pages talk about *region*, not citizenship. Whether the deciding factor is where you live, where your documents are, or where your money sits, the public pages do not say, so anyone whose situation straddles two regions should assume nothing until they have an answer from support.

Unofficial third-party reporting, which the card itself does not confirm, lists the US, UK, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Iran, Syria and North Korea as restricted, with 29 restricted countries in total and 51 available. It also names the Asia-Pacific countries served: Australia, Cambodia, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand and Vietnam. Treat that list as a guide to what people have observed rather than as published policy.

For Europe the unofficial picture is more specific: Europe cards for EU residents plus Switzerland and Norway, with Turkey and Israel for Visa. Here is a table of the regional split as it appears across the sources, with the unofficial lines clearly separated from the official one:

Region Card Currency Status of the country list
Global Digital Mastercard USD Official: 150+ countries
Asia-Pacific Plastic Mastercard USD Unofficial country list: Australia, Cambodia, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, Vietnam
Europe Virtual and Plastic Visa/Mastercard USD or EUR Unofficial: EU residents plus Switzerland, Norway; Turkey and Israel for Visa
Restricted — — Unofficial: US, UK, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Iran, Syria, North Korea among 29

If you are in the UK or the US, this is where you should stop reading and check support directly. The service itself may be reachable while the card is not.

How to get it

The path is the app, not a branch. Basic wallet functions need no identity verification. Full verification is what unlocks the cards, all features and higher limits, and the card says it “usually takes only a few minutes”. That is the optimistic version. What the pages do not state is which documents are needed, whether proof of address is required, what age is enforced, what the verification tiers are, or why a verification is refused. For a service whose own reviewers complain about verification limits, that silence matters.

Unofficial third-party sources describe what the programmes ask for in practice: an identity document, a selfie or liveness check, proof of address, and source-of-funds information depending on the programme, with Asia-Pacific reportedly requiring proof of residential address in a named country. Again: not confirmed by Volet.

The card you end up with depends on your region: a Global digital Mastercard in USD, an Asia-Pacific plastic Mastercard in USD, or Europe Virtual and Europe Plastic Visa or Mastercard in USD or EUR. Physical cards exist for Asia-Pacific and for Europe, Turkey and Israel; delivery is described as “free or express”, but the timeframe and the price of express are not stated, and neither is the cost of a replacement. Unofficial figures for replacement are Digital $19.95, Europe €/$1 for virtual or €/$5 for plastic, and Global Plus $120 — again, not from Volet.

So the honest summary of “how to get it” is: download the app, verify, and pick up whatever card your region gets. How long that takes and what it costs beyond the issuance fee are things you will find out by doing it.

Fees: what it really costs

Two fee layers sit between your crypto and a purchase, and they are easy to conflate. Loading the card from your e-wallet balance is one thing. Loading the e-wallet itself — by bank card or by crypto — is another. A person who only reads the first will be surprised by the second.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Volet payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Digital global Asia-Pacific Europe
Issuance $5 $5 (plastic) Virtual 1 USD/EUR; Plastic $5/€5
Monthly fee None listed; FAQ says no monthly fees Not listed Not listed
Card load from e-wallet 2.5% + $1 1.5% + $1 1% + 1 USD/EUR
POS / FX No extra fee, Mastercard rate Not stated No POS fee
ATM Not stated officially Not stated officially Not stated officially
Per purchase Up to $50,000 Up to $22,000 Not listed
Per day load Not listed $6,500 Not listed
Monthly cap Not listed Not listed Not listed

There are no tiers and no perk levels: one card type per region, and the differences are regional rather than status-based.

Now three everyday payments, with the fees as stated. Take a $100 purchase on the Digital global card, loaded from your e-wallet: the load costs 2.5% + $1, so $3.50 comes off before you spend anything, and the purchase itself carries no extra POS or FX fee. If that $100 came from $100 of USDT converted in the app, add $1 for the auto-conversion, and the total friction on $100 of spending is $4.50. Now the same purchase on the Europe card: the load is 1% + 1 USD/EUR, so $2.00, with no POS fee. Finally, the route that costs the most: filling the e-wallet by bank card adds 3.5%, so topping up the same $100 with a Visa or Mastercard costs $3.50 before the card-load fee on top.

One reviewer calculated the wallet-to-card route at up to 11%. The official figures above do not reach that, but they do show how three small percentages stack when you route money through several steps instead of one.

Top up routes

Cards load only from the fiat Volet e-wallet. That is a single sentence and it constrains everything. You cannot top a Volet card directly from an exchange or a bank account; you must hold the balance inside Volet first.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Volet starts with a transfer to the right network

Crypto — USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH and others — is deposited into the crypto wallet and then converted to USD or EUR. Deposit is free. Conversion is $1 for USDT and USDC, free for BTC, ETH and others. The networks are not named on the pages I read, and that omission is a genuine hazard rather than a technicality: blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. If you are going to send a meaningful amount, send a small test first.

Fiat goes in by bank card at 3.5%. Minimum top-up is not stated, and SEPA and bank-transfer top-up fees are not stated either.

Withdrawals out are where the fee list gets long. From a fiat balance: to a Volet card from 1%, to a Visa or Mastercard card from 3%, SWIFT 1% + 25 USD, SEPA from 1%, a local bank from 1%, P2P free. From the crypto wallet: USDT on TRC-20 3.5 USDT, USDT or USDC on other chains 0.5, BTC and ETH at network fee. From a fiat or stablecoin balance: USDT on TRC-20 0.5% + 3.5 USD, other chains 0.5% + 0.5 USD. What happens to a leftover balance if you close the account is not stated, and that is worth asking about before you open one.

Paying with it every day

In a shop, it behaves like the card it is. The Daily cards are Mastercard and Visa, digital or plastic, in USD or EUR depending on the region: the Global digital Mastercard is USD, Europe cards are USD or EUR, Asia-Pacific is USD. Apple Pay and Google Pay work on some cards — each card’s own description is the place to check, because support is not uniform — and unofficial reporting puts them on the Digital and Spend Virtual cards, not advertised for Europe and not supported for Asia-Pacific or Global Plus. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, and in this category that is usually a per-issuer policy rather than a rule.

For online payments, expect the checks any foreign or prepaid card faces. Merchants can look up the issuing institution and country from the card’s first six or eight digits and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address — which is exactly what a card issued in one region and used in another looks like. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards; that alone causes declines. Declines can also leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.

There is no cashback. A referral programme is listed as “coming soon”: 2 USD/EUR per activated digital card and 5 USD/EUR per activated plastic card. The app is on Google Play; the site shows an App Store badge but also says iOS is coming soon, so the iOS app is not yet available as of these checks. Store ratings are not stated. Disputes and chargeback handling are not stated either, which matters more than it sounds: a refund is normally ordered by the card issuer using reason codes, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed.

What can go wrong

Start with the part most reviews skip: who is your counterparty. Volet is a custodial e-wallet, so your money sits with Volet, and the pages I read do not name the card issuer or the legal entity. The footer says “Volet.com” only, and the agreements are published per region — “Agreement Canada”, “Agreement Costa Rica” — which suggests the contracting entity differs by region. Licences are not stated. Unofficial sources say Volet was formerly ADVcash and that card issuers are not publicly named; that last point is an observation, not something the card confirms.

That structure is why the crypto-card category has a history worth knowing. Card programmes get wound down: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what remains.

On fees and limits, Trustpilot reads 4.1 out of 5 across 965 reviews as I read it on 2026-10-20, with 72% five-star and 16% one-star. The recurring themes are high fees — in June 2025, in August 2026 (“fees to get euros in are somewhat high”), and in a February 2026 review that calculated up to 11% for the wallet-to-card route. Verification and withdrawal limits appear too: a September 2026 UK user could not fully verify. So do transactions blocked from India without justification in January 2026, funds sent to an old wallet address in August 2026, cards not sent in September 2026 at one star, and a bank-statement PDF rejected as proof of address in March 2025 — with Volet saying the issuing partner decides those.

I found no official incident record and read no news reports that would change the picture; third-party guides show Russian-language users routing money through the Volet EUR balance and exchangers, reporting card-load costs above the official figure of up to 3.5%, unverified. On security, the site claims multi-layer security, encryption, access controls and continuous monitoring, and displays PCI-DSS, GDPR, SSL and ISO badges. Two-factor authentication, in-app card freeze, spending controls and any safeguarding or insurance are not stated. Support is described as 24/7 live, with a support centre and a contact page, and the site runs in about 20 languages.

One structural point to carry with you: a crypto payment often rests on two licences, not one. The card side is a payment service regulated under e-money and payment-services law; the crypto side — custody, exchange, transfer — is regulated separately. In the EU, MiCA took legal effect in June 2023, its token rules applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers and white papers that you can check. And electronic money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them; such funds are not bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.

What to take instead

None of these is a recommendation — they are the other names that come up when people in the same situation search, with their own trade-offs.

Card Score Positioning Cost shape
Volet 6.0 / 10 Regional Mastercards from a fiat wallet Load from wallet 2.5% + $1 (Digital global); wallet top-up by card 3.5%
CardFlow 4.9 / 10 Aimed at Nigeria and “Nigerians and global users” Virtual USD Mastercard; “Creating a virtual card is completely free”
HyperCard 4.7 / 10 Prepaid card, balance in USD or EUR Fees not stated on the pages I could read
Card.fi 6.6 / 10 Virtual and physical Classic, Premium and metal, shipping to 200+ countries Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249; top-up 1.5% + $1.00 (Classic) or 1% (Premium); FX 3.5% (Classic) or 2.5% (Premium)

CardFlow is the cheapest to open and the narrowest: its own banner calls it “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”, it issues a virtual USD Mastercard in a few minutes, and it takes Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer. Fees beyond the free card creation are not stated.

HyperCard is the vaguest. Official pages give no country list — the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries”, which is about acceptance, not eligibility — and neither fees nor the card network are stated on the pages I could read. It takes crypto such as USDT, BTC and ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR.

Card.fi scores highest of the three alternatives and is the most expensive to open: virtual cards at $49 and $249 one-time, plus cashback on spending — 0.8% on Classic capped at 10 USDT a month, 1% on Premium, 1.2% or 2% on Metal — and up to 18% on balances, variable. It takes 32 coins across 5 networks with a deposit address per card, converted at market rate on arrival, and warns in its own terms that sending on the wrong chain risks permanent loss. Its terms bar residents of, or orders from, countries subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service.

The pattern across all four: you are choosing between a narrow cheap card and a broad card with fees at several layers, and almost nobody publishes the full price of moving money in.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Volet to someone who has crypto sitting in a wallet, needs a card that works in a region the big card-issuing names will not serve, and is content to treat the card as a spending tool rather than a status account. The card is real, it is a Mastercard or Visa, it loads instantly from a balance you control the terms of, and there is no monthly fee to forget.

I would not recommend it to someone who plans to use it as their main everyday card until they have asked support two specific questions: which legal entity contracts with them in their region, and what happens to a remaining balance if they close the account. Nor to someone whose country is on the restricted list, and not to anyone attracted mainly by the referral programme that does not exist yet.

Above all, do the arithmetic before you commit. A $1,000 month of spending (a hypothetical figure not confirmed by the card) on the Digital global card costs $25 + $10 to load, before conversion. On the Europe card it is $10 + €1. That difference, not the card’s logo, is what you are choosing.

Frequently asked questions

What is a Volet card?

A Volet card is a payment card issued through the Volet e-wallet rather than by a conventional bank. You hold a balance inside Volet, and the card spends that balance — it behaves more like a prepaid card than a debit card tied to a bank account. Volet offers a Global digital Mastercard, Asia-Pacific plastic Mastercards, and Europe Virtual and Plastic Visa or Mastercard cards, depending on your region.

Is Volet a bank?

No, and this matters more than it sounds. Volet is a custodial e-wallet provider: the public pages I read do not name the card issuer or the legal entity, and publish separate agreements per region, such as an Agreement Canada and an Agreement Costa Rica. Licences are not stated on those pages. Treat Volet as a payment service provider you entrust with money, not as a bank whose deposits you are holding.

Does the Volet card require KYC?

Basic wallet functions need no identity verification. Cards, all features and higher limits require full verification, which the card says usually takes only a few minutes. The pages do not state which documents are needed, what proof of address is required, or why a verification might be refused. Third-party sources describe identity documents, a liveness check and address proof, but that is unofficial.

What does it cost to get a Volet card?

Issuance is $5 for the Digital global card, $5 for Asia-Pacific plastic, 1 USD or EUR for Europe Virtual, and $5 or €5 for Europe Plastic. No monthly fee is listed and the FAQ says there are no monthly fees. Delivery for physical cards is described as free or express, but no timeframe or express price is stated. Unofficial replacement figures range from €/$1 for a Europe virtual card to $120 for Global Plus.

How much does it cost to top up a Volet card?

Loading a card from your e-wallet costs 2.5% + $1 on the Digital global card, 1.5% + $1 on Asia-Pacific, and 1% + 1 USD/EUR in Europe. Loading the e-wallet itself with a bank card costs 3.5%. Crypto deposits are free, and auto-conversion to fiat is $1 for USDT and USDC, free for BTC, ETH and others. So a $100 purchase on the Digital global card funded from converted USDT costs $4.50 in fees before the purchase itself.

What are the Volet card limits?

The Digital global card allows up to $50,000 per purchase; Asia-Pacific allows up to $22,000 per purchase and $6,500 of loading per day; Europe limits are not listed. Unofficial ATM figures range from $500 per withdrawal and $500 per day on Digital to $1,000 per withdrawal and $3,000 per day on Global Plus. Monthly caps are mostly not stated, so ask before you rely on one.

Can I add the Volet card to Apple Wallet?

Some cards support Apple Pay and Google Pay — each card’s description is the place to check. Unofficial reporting says both wallets work on the Digital and Spend Virtual cards, are not advertised for Europe, and are not supported for Asia-Pacific or Global Plus. If mobile wallet support matters to you, verify it for your specific card before you apply rather than after.

Is the Volet card safe to use?

There is no official incident I could find, and the site claims multi-layer security, encryption, access controls and continuous monitoring with PCI-DSS, GDPR, SSL and ISO badges. What is not stated is the issuer, the licence, two-factor authentication, in-app card freeze, spending controls, and whether funds are safeguarded or insured. Because the wallet is custodial, your money is with Volet.

Why do Volet reviews complain about fees?

The Trustpilot score is 4.1 out of 5 across 965 reviews, with 16% one-star. The recurring complaint is that fees stack: a wallet-to-card route can add several percentages, and one February 2026 review calculated up to 11%. Other themes are verification limits, blocked transactions, funds sent to an old wallet address, cards not arriving, and rejected proof-of-address documents. Read the fee table before routing money, not after.

Is a Volet card worth it?

It is worth it if you already hold crypto, need a card in a region other issuers avoid, and will load it in reasonably sized amounts. It is not worth it if you want zero-cost spending, a named issuing bank, working rewards today, or the reassurance of an EU or US licence printed on the page. Work out your own monthly load first: on the Digital global card, $1,000 (a hypothetical example not confirmed by the card) costs $35 to load and convert.

Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team