Etoro Money card review: a free Visa debit for eToro investors in the EU and UK
The Etoro Money card is a Visa debit card tied to the eToro Money fiat account. In plain terms, you load fiat, the card spends that fiat, and any crypto you want to use has to be converted into pounds or euros first through the eToro crypto wallet. It is not a card that holds your Bitcoin or your stablecoin directly, and it is not open to everyone. After going through the card’s own pages and the third-party reports around it, the picture I ended up with is mixed in a specific way: the cost side is genuinely friendly, but the access rules are tight, and a few important numbers (crypto conversion, daily and monthly limits, KYC steps) are simply not on the page.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.8 out of 10, with strong costs and narrow access
If I had to put a single number on the Etoro Money card, I would land on 6.8 out of 10. That score reflects two things pulling in opposite directions. The cost side is unusually clean: no issuance fee, no monthly fee, no subscription, free delivery, free replacement up to three cards a year, and “no FX fees” abroad. The access side is the opposite of clean: you must be an EU or UK resident, you need an eToro Club tier, you need the matching fiat account in EUR or GBP, and several practical details (crypto conversion fee, KYC documents, delivery time, daily limits) are not stated on the pages I read. The card suits people who already invest on eToro, hold a Club tier, and live in the EU or UK. It does not suit people outside those regions, people without a Club tier, or anyone who wants to spend a stablecoin directly without a conversion step.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | EU and UK residents only, and you need an eToro Club tier (UK: any Club tier; EU: Diamond, Platinum+ or Platinum, with one FAQ saying Diamond only) plus the matching EUR or GBP fiat account. |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | Free to issue and maintain, no subscription, free delivery, free replacement up to 3 cards a year, “no FX fees” abroad, and ATM withdrawals are free up to a monthly allowance before a 1% fee kicks in. The crypto-to-fiat conversion fee is not disclosed on the card pages. |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | The card draws on the eToro Money fiat account; crypto must be converted to GBP or EUR through the eToro crypto wallet first, and the EUR account is funded by SEPA bank transfer. No other funding methods are described. |
| Reliability and complaints | 8 / 10 | Card services come from eToro Money Malta Ltd (EU) or eToro Money UK Ltd (UK, FCA-authorised for e-money), and customer funds are held in a segregated safeguarding account. The Trustpilot score for eToro is 4.0 from 32,233 reviews, and the complaints themes I found are about the broker, not the card. |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Visa debit card, Apple Pay and Google Pay supported, ATM withdrawals allowed, virtual or physical form not stated, and a metal variant is not mentioned. The reward is up to 4% back in stocks but only for Platinum, Platinum+ and Diamond. |
| Total | 6.8 / 10 | — |
If you are an EU or UK resident who already trades on eToro, holds a Club tier, and wants a low-friction way to spend converted balances in fiat, the Etoro Money card is worth a serious look. If you are outside the EU/UK, do not have a Club tier, or want a card that holds and spends a stablecoin directly, this is the wrong product for you.
Who they will give the card to
The headline rule is short and worth reading twice. To get the Etoro Money card you have to be a resident of the EU or the UK. That is a residence-based rule, not a nationality-based one, but the card’s own pages do not list the individual countries on the main card page, so I am taking the residence test at face value. Country-by-country availability is on a separate availability page that I did not read for this review.
Layered on top of the residence rule is a tier rule. In the UK, you have to be an “eToro Club member.” In the EU, the card’s own FAQ has a small inconsistency: one section says Diamond, Platinum+ or Platinum, another says Diamond only, so treat the EU requirement as “at least Platinum” until the page is clarified. There is no way around the tier: lower tiers are not eligible.
You also need a matching fiat account. UK applicants need a GBP account, EU applicants need a EUR account. The card’s own footnote mentions AUD and DKK accounts as well, but it is not clear whether a card can be issued against those, and you cannot hold both a EUR and a GBP account at the same time, so the card you get is the one that matches the single currency account you hold.
The KYC process is not described on the card pages. The card only states the residence test, the Club tier test and the EUR/GBP account requirement, and refers to a separate verification article for the rest. That means I cannot tell you what documents you will be asked for, how long the checks take, or what would cause a rejection, and the card has not said so. If those answers matter to you, the practical move is to ask eToro’s Customer Service or Live Chat before you start, because the card pages will not tell you.
Finally, the card itself is a Visa debit card. There is a Green tier and a Black tier, the card payment network is Visa, and the card is linked to a GBP or EUR local account. The card’s pages do not say whether you get a virtual card, a physical card, or both, and there is no mention of a metal card. That is a small but real gap: a “card” that may or may not be a physical artefact in your hand is harder to plan around than a card whose form factor is described.
How to sign up
The sign-up path is short on the page but has a few moving parts in practice. The order is roughly: confirm you live in the EU or UK, reach the right eToro Club tier, open the matching EUR or GBP eToro Money account, complete the verification the card page does not describe, and request the card.
The first card delivery is free on both Green and Black tiers, whether you choose the standard or the urgent option, and replacements are also free, with up to three free replacement cards a year for the GBP card. The EUR Black card allows up to three free replacements a year as well, while the EUR Green card lists the replacement as N/A. Delivery time is not given on the page, and the page links to a help article for the current window rather than stating one. If the timing matters (for example, you are about to travel), the help article is the only place that will tell you.
One thing the page does not say is how long the full process takes end-to-end, because the KYC step itself is not described. From what I can see on the card pages, the user-visible requirements are residence, Club tier, and the matching fiat account, and the rest is handled behind the scenes. That is good for a smooth user experience, but it is also a reason to keep your own documents ready: a KYC request can come at any point in the process, and accounts are sometimes frozen pending documents.
Fees: what it really costs to own and use the card
The cost side is the strongest part of the Etoro Money card, and the fee table is the cleanest single thing in this review. Issuance, maintenance, card payments, and delivery are free on both tiers, and there is no monthly subscription. Replacements are free up to three cards a year, which is generous compared with most debit cards. The card’s pages describe a “Zero FX fees abroad” policy (footnoted with the card’s own FX terms), and chargebacks are listed as “Free” in the fee table.

| Fee or limit | Green | Black |
|---|---|---|
| Card issue | Free | Free |
| Monthly fee / subscription | None | None |
| Card payments | Free | Free |
| Delivery (first card) | Free (standard and urgent) | Free (standard and urgent) |
| Replacement card | Free up to 3 per year (GBP card) | Free up to 3 per year (GBP and EUR Black card) |
| FX fee abroad | “Zero FX fees*” (see card FX terms) | “Zero FX fees*” (see card FX terms) |
| ATM free allowance (GBP account) | Up to GBP 2,000 / month, then 1% | Up to GBP 10,000 / month, then 1% |
| ATM free allowance (EUR account) | Up to EUR 2,500 / month, then 1% | Up to EUR 12,000 / month, then 1% |
| Chargeback | Free (process not described) | Free (process not described) |
| Daily / monthly spend limits | Not stated on the card page (see Account Activity Limits article) | Not stated on the card page (see Account Activity Limits article) |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion fee | Not stated on the card pages | Not stated on the card pages |
Three everyday payments, walked through:
- Paying for a coffee in London with the GBP card. Card payment, no currency conversion, no fee charged by eToro. You see the debit on your GBP eToro Money account, and that is the cost of using the card.
- Paying for a hotel in Tokyo with the GBP card. The merchant sees a Visa transaction in JPY, Visa converts to GBP, and the card’s pages describe this as “zero FX fees.” The asterisk points to the card’s own FX terms, and that is the file to read for the exact wording, because card networks and card issuers can each apply a mark-up. If you want a hard number, the FX terms are the place to find it; the headline page does not give one.
- Withdrawing GBP 300 from a UK ATM. The withdrawal is inside the GBP 2,000 (Green) or GBP 10,000 (Black) free monthly allowance, so no ATM fee is charged. If you go over the allowance, the rate is 1% on the excess. ATM operators can still apply their own surcharge, which is not in eToro’s fee table.
The one number I could not find is the crypto-to-fiat conversion fee. The card’s pages say the conversion happens through the eToro crypto wallet, but they do not state the fee or the spread on the conversion. That is a meaningful gap. The card is free, but the act of turning crypto into spendable fiat is the step where most crypto cards earn their margin, and the Etoro Money card has not published that number on the pages I read. If the conversion fee matters to you, check the eToro crypto wallet’s fee schedule before you load the card, because the card pages will not tell you.
Top up: how to fund the card
The Etoro Money card is not topped up directly. The card draws on the eToro Money fiat account, and the fiat account is what you actually fund. That distinction matters, because the routes and the fees depend on the account, not on the card.

For a EUR account, the path is: open the eToro Money account, go to the Wallet tab, and use Add Funds under the eToro Money account. The EUR local account is funded by a SEPA bank transfer, and SEPA transfers in and out are free, with no account opening, closing, or maintenance fees. There is no minimum top-up stated on the card page, and the card-specific top-up fee is not stated either. The page also does not list the usual alternatives (card top-up, instant payment, third-party transfer) for the EUR account, so SEPA is the only route I can confirm from the card’s own text.
If you want to spend a crypto balance, the flow is two steps. First, convert the crypto to GBP or EUR through the eToro crypto wallet, because the card only spends fiat. Then top up the matching fiat account. The crypto side is where the undisclosed conversion fee sits, and it is the one cost that the card pages do not name.
For taking money off the card, the path is the SEPA route in reverse: send money from the local-currency account to a linked bank account, free of charge. Fees and times for the card balance itself are not described, and the balance on account closure is also not stated (closing the account is free). The withdrawal page is silent on cross-border or non-EUR bank transfers, and the AUD and DKK account footnote is not a card pathway as far as I can tell.
Paying with it every day
The day-to-day picture is mostly positive. The Etoro Money card is a Visa debit card, so it is accepted anywhere Visa is accepted, including online, in apps, and at point of sale. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, which is a big deal for a card whose form factor is not clearly described, because a tokenised wallet can substitute for a plastic card if the physical card is slow to arrive. Restricted merchant categories are not stated on the card page, so I cannot tell you which MCCs are blocked, if any, and that is worth checking in the app if you rely on a specific category.
The reward on spending is up to 4% back in stocks, with a stated cap of up to $100 of value per month, paid in the GBP or EUR equivalent. The catch is the tier: stock rewards are for Platinum, Platinum+ and Diamond. Green-card users on Silver and Gold tiers are inconsistently described on the page, with one section saying they get no rewards and another saying rewards are opt-in, so do not rely on a specific number until you see it in the app for your account. A press release describes the same programme with a higher cap of up to EUR 1,500 per month and adds that you pick a European-listed stock, opt in via a form, and receive a monthly email confirming the stock added. The launch offer wording suggests the cap may change, so take the higher number as a launch figure rather than a permanent one. There are also Visa perks attached to the card: the Visa Luxury Hotel Collection, up to 10% off Sixt car rental, and Visa AirRefund, all third-party and subject to the providers’ own terms.
For disputes, the fee table lists chargebacks as “Free,” but the page does not describe the process, the time frame, or the reason codes. The only document linked in the disputes area is a Complaints Policy PDF, which is not the same as a chargeback guide. If a chargeback matters, the practical step is to ask Customer Service or Live Chat for the actual flow before you need it.
The eToro app is on the App Store and Google Play, and the web platform is the other front end. The card’s pages do not state the app’s store rating or the number of ratings. The card pages do not describe the user experience of the app either, beyond the freeze, top-up, and support entry points.
What can go wrong
The Etoro Money card sits on top of an e-money account, and that has two consequences worth understanding. First, the card is provided by a licensed e-money institution, not a bank. In the UK, GBP card services are provided by eToro Money UK Ltd, which is FCA-authorised for e-money. In the EU, card services are provided by eToro Money Malta Ltd, and the EUR account is denominated in EUR (the footnote also lists a DKK account). The card’s pages do not name the BIN sponsor, so I cannot tell you which entity appears on the card itself.
Second, the funds are safeguarded, not deposited. The card’s pages describe EUR funds as held in a designated safeguarding account at a regulated EU bank, not usable for investing or lending, and explicitly not covered by the Malta Depositor Protection Scheme. That is a meaningful distinction: the money is segregated from the company’s own balance sheet, but it is not the same as a bank deposit protected by a deposit guarantee scheme, and if the safeguarding mechanism worked as intended, you would be made whole from the segregated funds, but you would not be relying on a national deposit guarantee.
The complaint landscape is dominated by eToro the broker, not by the card. The main eToro Trustpilot page, read 2026-10-20, sits at 4.0 out of 5 from 32,233 reviews, with about 20% one-star. The recurring themes are withdrawals held pending ID checks, restricted accounts, slow support, and trading and closing fees on the broker side. The card-specific themes I could find are thin: a Trustpilot (AU) page for eToro with 2.5 out of 5 from 6 reviews, mostly about broker account closures and forced liquidations, and a single UK Financial Ombudsman decision (DRN-4221697) where a complainant did not receive a promised debit card because of account type. There were also two third-party status-page reports of credit-card deposit issues in mid-2026 and one outbound-payments incident in August 2026, but those are snapshots and not a trend I can call confirmed. I did not find Reddit threads specifically about the card, which can mean either that there are no major problems or that the user base is small and quiet; on its own, absence is not evidence.
For security, the UK app lets you freeze the card instantly, the EU app has a “Manage Card, Report lost or stolen, Disable Card” flow, and the UK has a 24/7 stolen-card phone line. Two-factor authentication is not mentioned on the card pages, which is a gap in the description rather than evidence of absence, but it is the kind of detail I would expect a card to spell out. The chargeback process is described only as “Free” in the fee table, with no time frame, and the only dispute-side document linked is a Complaints Policy PDF. If you lose the card or have a disputed transaction, the practical advice is the same as for any other e-money card: freeze it in the app the moment you suspect a problem, call the stolen-card line if you have one, and open the dispute in writing so there is a record.
Two background points that matter even if they sound procedural. The card is part of an e-money programme, and e-money programmes can be wound down. The industry history includes WaveCrest’s 2018 suspension by Visa in Europe, which closed every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme, and the November 2022 termination of Visa’s global agreements with FTX, after which the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. The Etoro Money card has no such history, and the company is a regulated e-money institution, but the category risk is real, and a card is only as durable as the programme behind it. The other point is the residency rule: the card is for EU and UK residents, and if you stop being a resident, the basis for the card may no longer hold. The page does not say what happens in that case, and it is a question worth asking before you move.
What to take instead
The Etoro Money card is one of several ways to spend a crypto balance on a Visa or Mastercard rail, and the comparison below covers three alternatives. They are not equivalent products, and the differences matter.
- Young Card, score 5.7 / 10. Cashback is paid in YNG tokens, with rates that depend on a Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%, with Bronze and Silver not stated. The country list, card form factor, fees, and funding path are not publicly stated, so a side-by-side cost comparison is not possible from the available information.
- Coinbase Card, score 6.4 / 10. Available in all US states except Hawaii, with KYC following the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules (name, address, date of birth, ID). It is a Visa prepaid debit card, virtual or physical, that spends cash or crypto, and all crypto is converted to US dollars for purchases and ATM withdrawals. Spending fees and annual fees are described as zero, but a spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells, or trades crypto. Optional crypto rewards on every purchase are US-only, and the reward rate is variable and shown in the app.
- OKX, score 6.2 / 10. Available in the EU plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded (the explainer’s conclusion says “entire EEA,” which is inconsistent). Operated under OKX Europe Ltd as a MiCAR-licensed entity. The card is a Mastercard euro-denominated virtual debit card linked to OKX Pay, with no card fee, no transaction fee, and no OKX FX fee; the conversion spread is 0.1% per the explainer (May 2026) versus 0.4% in the launch press release, so the explainer is the newer number. Funding is via USDC or USDG held in OKX Pay, and other coins must be converted first. Cashback is only on USDG purchases (USDC earns none), with monthly EUR caps that vary by tier: Regular 2% cap 10, VIP1 4% cap 300, VIP2 4.5% cap 450, VIP3 5% cap 1,000, VIP4+ 10% cap 1,000 (the text says 2–5% while the table says 10% for VIP4+, an inconsistency on the source page).
A few things stand out when you put the four cards next to each other. The Etoro Money card is the only one of the four tied to a brokerage Club tier, which is a real barrier if you are not already an eToro investor. The Coinbase Card is the only one that is open to a US audience, and the OKX card is the only one of the three alternatives that lives natively on a stablecoin balance, although only USDG earns cashback. The Young Card’s public materials are the thinnest of the four, which is itself a reason to be cautious. If you are choosing on cost alone, the Etoro Money card is hard to beat on the card fees themselves; if you are choosing on access, the Coinbase Card (US) and the OKX card (EU plus Norway) are easier to enter.
Who I would recommend it to
The Etoro Money card is a good fit for a specific reader and a poor fit for most others. If you are an EU or UK resident, already invest on eToro, hold an eToro Club tier of at least Silver (UK) or at least Platinum (EU, per the FAQ), and want a free Visa debit card that spends a GBP or EUR balance with no monthly fee and no FX fee abroad, this is one of the cleaner options in the category. The Black tier, with its larger ATM allowance and the stock-rewards programme, makes sense if you spend enough each month to use that allowance and to clear the rewards cap.
If you are outside the EU and UK, the card is simply not available to you, and you should look at the Coinbase Card (US) or a local non-crypto Visa debit card instead. If you are inside the EU/UK but do not have a Club tier, the upgrade path is the practical next step, but the card is not something you can sign up for as a standalone product. If you want a card that holds and spends a stablecoin directly without a conversion step, the Etoro Money card is the wrong shape, because the conversion is built into the flow, and the conversion fee is not published. If you want a metal card, a clearly described physical card, a clear KYC document list, a stated daily limit, or a stated crypto conversion fee, this is also the wrong card, because the card’s own pages do not give you those answers, and you would be relying on support for every one of them.
A practical checklist before you sign up:
- Confirm you are an EU or UK resident and intend to stay one while you hold the card.
- Confirm your eToro Club tier meets the requirement for the card you want (UK: any Club tier; EU: at least Platinum per the FAQ, with one section saying Diamond only).
- Open the matching EUR or GBP eToro Money account; you cannot hold both at once.
- Read the FX terms linked from the card’s “Zero FX fees” line, because the headline does not give you the full wording.
- Read the eToro crypto wallet’s fee schedule before you convert any crypto, because the card page does not publish the conversion fee.
- Check the Account Activity Limits article for the daily and monthly spend limits, because the card page does not state them.
- Ask Customer Service or Live Chat to confirm KYC document requirements, delivery time, and replacement rules for your specific currency and tier, because the public pages are not consistent on all of these.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Etoro Money card?
The Etoro Money card is a Visa debit card linked to the eToro Money fiat account, available in Green and Black tiers for EU and UK residents who hold an eToro Club tier. It spends the GBP or EUR balance in that account, and any crypto must be converted to fiat first through the eToro crypto wallet.
How does the Etoro Money card work?
The card draws on the eToro Money fiat account at the moment of purchase; you top up that account, the card spends it, and the merchant sees a Visa debit transaction. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and the card’s pages describe no FX fees abroad, with a footnote pointing to the card’s own FX terms for the full wording.
Is Etoro Money a bank?
No, Etoro Money is not a bank. In the UK, GBP card services are provided by eToro Money UK Ltd, which is FCA-authorised for e-money, and in the EU, card services are provided by eToro Money Malta Ltd. Funds are held in a safeguarded account at a regulated EU bank, not as deposits.
Who owns Etoro Money?
Etoro Money is part of the eToro group, with EU services from Etoro Money Malta Ltd and UK services from Etoro Money UK Ltd. The card’s pages do not name the BIN sponsor, and the press release describes the providers as Etoro Money UK Limited and Etoro Money Malta Limited.
How do I get the Etoro Money card?
Confirm you are an EU or UK resident, reach the required eToro Club tier, open the matching EUR or GBP eToro Money account, complete the verification, and request the card. The first card delivery is free, and the page links to a help article for the current delivery time.
Does the Etoro Money card require KYC?
The card’s pages state the residence test, the Club tier test, and the EUR/GBP account requirement, and they refer to a separate verification article for the rest. The specific KYC documents, the time it takes, and the rejection reasons are not stated on the card pages, so the practical step is to ask Customer Service before you start.
How do I top up the Etoro Money card?
The card draws on the eToro Money fiat account, so you top up the account rather than the card. A EUR account is funded by SEPA bank transfer, and any crypto must be converted to GBP or EUR through the eToro crypto wallet first, with the conversion fee not stated on the card pages.
Where can I use the Etoro Money card?
Anywhere Visa debit is accepted, including online, in apps, at point of sale, and through Apple Pay and Google Pay. Restricted merchant categories are not stated on the card page, and the residency rule means the card is tied to the EU and UK, so card acceptance abroad depends on the merchant’s own policies.
Is the Etoro Money card safe?
The card is issued by licensed e-money institutions (FCA-authorised in the UK), funds are held in a safeguarded account, the card can be frozen instantly in the app, and the UK has a 24/7 stolen-card phone line. Two-factor authentication is not mentioned on the card pages, and funds are not covered by a national deposit guarantee scheme, which is the usual e-money trade-off.
Is the Etoro Money card worth it?
For an EU or UK resident with a Club tier who wants a free Visa debit card with no FX fees and no monthly fee, the Etoro Money card is a strong option, especially on the Black tier with the larger ATM allowance. For anyone outside the EU/UK, without a Club tier, or wanting a card that spends a stablecoin directly, the answer is no, and the Coinbase Card (US) or the OKX card (EU plus Norway) are the closer alternatives.
Exchange cards: choosing by where your coins sit – cryptocardpicker
Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team
