Keytom card review — a USDC-funded Visa for everyday spending, weighed against the fees

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Keytom is a prepaid Visa that spends a USDC balance. You hold USDC, top up the card, and pay wherever Visa is accepted — online, in shops and at ATMs. The card is positioned as a payment rail for people who already keep their money in stablecoins and want something that behaves like an ordinary debit card at the till, rather than a separate bank account with a separate currency.

Keytom works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

In this review I go through who Keytom says it serves, what the card actually costs in everyday use, how the top-up flow works, where cardholders have run into problems, and which alternatives are worth a look if Keytom does not fit. I have not used the card myself; the figures and policies below come from Keytom’s own pages and from third-party sites, marked where that is the case.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Keytom scores 6.0 out of 10 in my assessment. The card does one thing — turn a USDC balance into a Visa payment — and it does that competently, with broad country reach, both virtual and physical versions, support for Google Pay and PayPal, and a transparent fee structure. The numbers stop looking attractive once you compare them with newer prepaid crypto cards: a 1% fee on USD payments, 2.35% on non-USD, a 2% ATM charge, and a 10 USDC monthly fee (20 USDC if you keep both cards) all add up. The card is USD-only, Apple Pay is not currently available, and the card-programme partner is not named publicly. Reliability is reasonable for a young product but rests on a small review base.

Who it suits

Who it does not suit

Score breakdown

Criterion Mark Reason
Who can get it 8 / 10 Open in 150+ countries, with a defined prohibited-jurisdictions list.
Cost 3 / 10 Free virtual issue, but 1% USD, 2.35% non-USD, 2% ATM, 10 USDC/month per card.
Top-up options 4 / 10 USDC balance topped up by card (Visa Direct) or direct USDC; networks not stated.
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Canadian MSB, FINTRAC-registered; small Trustpilot base; few serious complaints.
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, Google Pay and PayPal, contactless; no Apple Pay.
Total 6.0 / 10

Who will they give you the card

Keytom’s card page says the service is available in 150+ countries. The Customer Acceptance Policy, written for corporate clients but the clearest public statement of where Keytom will and will not do business, lists prohibited jurisdictions. As of the policy dated 25 July 2026, these include Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Ghana, Uganda, Iran and others. People with direct or indirect links to those jurisdictions — including beneficial owners who reside there or hold citizenship — cannot be onboarded.

A nuance worth knowing: place of birth or a former citizenship alone is not disqualifying. If you hold a valid residence permit or citizenship in an eligible country, you can still be considered, but Keytom says it will run enhanced due diligence on your file. The rule is in practice applied by residence, citizenship and ownership, in that order, and the card page adds a general note that issuance, delivery and payments “may be limited or unavailable in some jurisdictions”.

Cardholders should treat the 150+ figure as the headline, not a guarantee. The actual decision sits inside Keytom’s onboarding flow, and the policy page is the most concrete public statement of where the line is drawn.

How to get it

The card page does not use the word “KYC”. What it does describe is two-factor authentication, transaction monitoring and anti-money-laundering checks, and the AML Policy reserves Keytom’s right to request verification information. Specific documents for individuals — passport, proof of address, source-of-funds evidence — are not listed on the card page. A third-party tracker (cryptocardhub, August 2026) lists passport / national ID or residence permit, a selfie or liveness check, proof of address and source-of-funds evidence when requested, with an 18+ age rule. I have not confirmed this against Keytom’s own flow, so treat it as unofficial.

What Keytom does say, on its own pages, is that it may sometimes ask about a specific transaction and may request verification for unusual activity. There are no published KYC tiers — there is one onboarding path. Processing time and the official reasons for rejection are not stated.

The card itself is a prepaid Visa. It spends your own USDC balance, not a credit line, even though it carries a credit-style BIN. It is issued as USD only and the currency cannot be changed. Both virtual and physical versions exist. You can hold at most two cards at once: one virtual, one physical. The physical card is contactless and is valid for up to five years.

Delivery of the physical card takes about 14 days and costs 50 USDC. The countries it ships to are not listed. Replacement cost is not stated, which is worth keeping in mind if a card is lost or stolen.

Fees

This is the section that decides whether Keytom makes sense, and it is also where the card looks least competitive against the newer prepaid options on the market.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Keytom payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The virtual card is free to issue. The physical card carries a 50 USDC delivery fee. There is a monthly card fee of 10 USDC, charged when the balance covers it; if you keep both virtual and physical cards active, the monthly fee is 20 USDC. There is no cashback or premium tier to offset that monthly cost.

On spending, a USD payment costs 1% with a 0.66 USDC minimum. A non-USD payment costs 2.35% with the same minimum. Keytom’s FAQ describes the crypto-to-USD conversion as using a weighted average of the top five exchanges, which is a sensible way to build a rate but is not the same as a guaranteed best-price execution. There is no multicurrency balance on the card: everything is settled in USD, and any non-USD transaction takes the 2.35% hit on top of the conversion.

ATM cash is available with the physical card. In the US it is 2% (min 0.66 USDC); in other currencies 3.35%. Daily ATM limit is USD 3,000; monthly USD 10,000; up to three withdrawals a day and thirty a month; USD 100,000 a year. ATM operators may add their own fees on top.

Costs at a glance

Fee or limit Value
Virtual card issue Free
Physical card delivery 50 USDC (~14 days)
Monthly card fee 10 USDC per card (20 USDC with both)
Card payment in USD 1% (min 0.66 USDC)
Card payment, other currency 2.35% (min 0.66 USDC)
ATM in USD 2% (min 0.66 USDC)
ATM, other currency 3.35%
ATM daily / monthly limit USD 3,000 / USD 10,000
ATM withdrawals per day / month 3 / 30
ATM yearly limit USD 100,000
Soft per-transaction limit ~USD 150,000
Number of transactions / monthly spend No fixed cap

What that looks like in everyday use

Three quick worked examples, using only the fees above.

What stands out from these numbers is how the minimum fee of 0.66 USDC dominates small purchases. For a USD 5 coffee, the percentage fee is 0.05 USDC but you pay 0.66. The fee structure is built around larger transactions, not micropayments.

Top up

Keytom is a USDC-denominated card. You fund it with USDC and you spend USDC, with the conversion to USD happening at the moment of payment. The card page describes three top-up paths:

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Keytom starts with a transfer to the right network

The networks Keytom accepts for direct USDC top-up are not stated on the card page. There is no top-up fee listed for any of these methods. Minimum top-up, and which side pays the network fee on a blockchain deposit, are also not stated. The page notes that USDC has multiple network versions and that sending on the wrong one can mean lost funds or a manual recovery with no guarantee — a point I will come back to below.

A third-party tracker (cryptocardhub, August 2026) gives more detail that is worth knowing even if I have not confirmed it directly with Keytom: SEPA incoming transfers carry 0.5% plus EUR 0.25; SEPA outgoing 1% plus EUR 0.25 with a EUR 2.75 minimum each way; euro-to-crypto conversion 1.5%; and crypto withdrawal 0.1% plus network fee. Treat these as unofficial and check the in-app fee screen before relying on them.

There is no described way to withdraw the card balance to a bank account; the card page does not describe a bank payout. A Deletion Policy is linked from the footer — the content of that policy was not reviewed for this article, and it is the place to look for end-of-life questions about balance return.

Paying with it every day

Once funded, the card behaves like a normal Visa prepaid card. The virtual card can be added to Google Pay or PayPal for online and in-store payments. Apple Pay is not available yet, which the company has acknowledged on Trustpilot in October 2026 as a feature it is “working on bringing back” — implying it was available earlier and was removed.

Both cards are contactless where the terminal supports it. The virtual card works at contactless ATMs; the physical card is the one for general ATM use. The card is rejected for fuel pumps, gambling, and a few other merchant categories by default; some platforms also block in-game purchases made through this kind of card.

Refunds follow the merchant’s process and typically take 2 to 15 days. The original payment fee is not returned, so a refund can come back slightly lower than the original charge once conversion has moved against you. There is no extra refund fee charged by Keytom. For hotels and airlines, holds can stay in place for up to 30 days while the merchant finalises the charge. Chargebacks are not mentioned on the card page, so the formal dispute path is the standard Visa route through the issuing bank.

The Keytom app is on iOS and Android. App Store and Google Play ratings are not stated publicly. The card is USD only and cannot be changed into another currency, which is a constraint to be aware of if you travel or shop in EUR, GBP or other non-USD currencies.

What can go wrong

A prepaid crypto card is only as good as the company behind it, and Keytom is a young product. The company behind it is KEYTOM SERVICES LTD, a Canadian Money Services Business registered with FINTRAC under MSB number M21788474. The issuing bank is not named on the public card page, which is not unusual in the category but is something to know. The card programme is, in practice, Keytom plus an unnamed Visa issuer plus the Visa network.

The Trustpilot profile, as read on 20 October 2026, holds 37 reviews over the previous 12 months with an average of 4.3 out of 5 — a small base. Five-star reviews make up 81%, one-star 14%. Only about 10 of the 37 reviews are visible publicly. Themes that come up repeatedly:

None of this is, on its own, a deal-breaker — referral programmes are commonly tightened, and Apple Pay being unavailable is a known temporary state. What the Trustpilot record does suggest is that Keytom is operating with a small cardholder base and a thin margin for error on customer experience.

On the security side, the card balance is held by Keytom, not in a self-custodial wallet. Keytom describes two-factor authentication, transaction monitoring, AML controls, the ability to freeze the card from the dashboard, segregated client accounts, and crypto “insured up to $100 million through Fireblocks” — the latter being coverage held by the custodian Keytom uses rather than a deposit guarantee. Withdrawals can be paused where activity looks suspicious. Support is reachable by in-app chat, the website and [email protected], on business days 05:00–15:00 UTC, with after-hours messages answered the next business day. The site is in English only; supported languages are not stated.

The practical risk to plan for is the standard prepaid-crypto-card risk: Keytom is a custodian, the card balance is on Keytom’s books, and the card programme could in principle be suspended by Visa or wound down by the issuer. There is no public deposit guarantee. The protection that does exist comes from Keytom’s segregation of client funds, its insurance arrangement and the underlying Visa chargeback and dispute process.

What to take instead

Three alternatives, all using different cost models. Numbers below are from each provider’s own pages and from the same third-party tracker where applicable, and are kept inside this section rather than repeated elsewhere.

Card Score What stands out Where it differs from Keytom
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 USD card; USD spending free; non-USD 2% FX fee; plans from free to USD 19/month. No card fee for USD spending; monthly plans replace the per-card monthly fee.
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Mastercard multicurrency; no annual fee, no FX fee; spend-to-earn rewards up to 3%. Multicurrency, no FX fee, has a rewards programme.
Morse 7.5 / 10 Virtual Visa; real-time Visa rate with no FX markup; self-custodial wallet; card payments free. No FX markup; spending is free; self-custody rather than Keytom-style custody.

International Visa Card

The International Visa Card is a US-issued Platinum Visa on a virtual card, with a physical card marked “coming soon”. It is restricted by residence and registration: people resident or legally registered in Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam cannot open an account, and purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case. Card use in USD is free on every plan; foreign-currency transactions carry a 2% FX fee on top of the Visa rate. Plans are Classic (free), Pro (USD 9/month) and Max (USD 19/month). The virtual card costs USD 5 to issue, with no maintenance fee. Funding is by USDC or USDT into a USD account at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow deposits; no deposit fees are listed. Networks for USDC/USDT are not stated on the card page.

UNi Card

UNi Card is a multicurrency card on the Mastercard network that spends from a UNi.Global account balance. The card page does not state physical or virtual form. The cost side is unusually light: no annual fee, and “no foreign transaction fee” with assets converted at “live OTC rates”. A spend-to-earn programme offers up to 3% on card spending. Funding options and the full availability list are not stated on the card pages I looked at.

Morse

Morse runs a fully virtual Visa prepaid debit card that spends from a Morse Balance “in any currency”. Eligibility is by residence, not citizenship, with the app available in 140+ countries and local add/withdraw in 70+. Closed-beta countries requiring an invite include Australia, Hong Kong, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, Türkiye, the UK and others; the card itself is “available only in certain countries” with the list not published. Card payments, online and contactless, are stated as free, and Morse charges “zero foreign exchange fees or markups”, using the real-time Visa rate. Funding is by debit card, stablecoin transfer or Account Details in USD, EUR, MXN, COP and BRL (the last requiring a Brazilian CPF); USDC, USDG and EURC on Solana are free to deposit, other tokens and chains carry a fee; Bitcoin, USDT, Ethereum and others can also be deposited. The Morse Wallet is self-custodial. Issuance and monthly fees are not stated on the card page; the help centre points to the Cardholder Agreement.

Who I would recommend it to

Keytom is the right card in a narrow situation. If you already hold USDC, want to spend it directly through a Visa without an extra conversion step into a fiat balance, are happy with USD-only spending, and live somewhere Google Pay or PayPal covers your daily life, the card is straightforward to use and the policy framework is clear.

It is the wrong card if you spend in non-USD currencies regularly — the 2.35% on top of the conversion is steep. It is the wrong card if you rely on Apple Pay for contactless, which is not currently available. It is the wrong card if you want a rewards programme, because there is no cashback or perks layer to offset the 10 USDC monthly fee. And it is worth a pause if a named issuer and a deposit-guarantee-style protection matter to you: Keytom’s issuer is not publicly identified, and the protections you have are Keytom’s segregation of client funds, its insurance arrangement through Fireblocks, and the underlying Visa dispute process.

In my own ranking, Keytom lands below the cards that have moved to a zero-FX-fee or fee-free-spending model, and above the cards that hide their costs in conversion spreads. The honest version is that the card works as advertised, the fees are published rather than hidden, and the company is a small but regulated Canadian MSB — but the cost per transaction is higher than the category’s best in 2026, and that is the single biggest reason to look at Morse or the International Visa Card first.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Keytom card?

The Keytom card is a prepaid Visa — available as a virtual card and as a physical card — that spends a USDC balance held inside the Keytom app. It converts USDC to USD at the moment of payment and routes the transaction through the Visa network. The card is USD only and the currency cannot be changed.

Is Keytom a bank?

No. Keytom is operated by KEYTOM SERVICES LTD, a Canadian Money Services Business registered with FINTRAC (MSB M21788474). The card page does not name a partner issuing bank, so the card programme combines Keytom with an unnamed Visa issuer and the Visa network itself. Keytom is not a deposit-taking institution and client funds are not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.

Who owns Keytom?

The card and app are operated by KEYTOM SERVICES LTD, the Canadian MSB named on the card page. Ownership beyond that legal entity is not described in the public materials I read, and the issuing bank is also not named.

Is the Keytom card available in my country?

The card page says 150+ countries, with a Customer Acceptance Policy listing prohibited jurisdictions that include Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Ghana, Uganda and Iran. The policy applies to residence, citizenship and beneficial ownership; place of birth alone is not disqualifying if you hold residence or citizenship in an eligible country, with enhanced due diligence. The card page adds that issuance, delivery and payments “may be limited or unavailable in some jurisdictions”, so the 150+ figure is the headline, not a guarantee.

Does the Keytom card require KYC?

The card page does not use the word “KYC” but does describe two-factor authentication, transaction monitoring and anti-money-laundering checks, with the right to request verification information. A third-party tracker (unofficial) lists passport or national ID, a selfie or liveness check, proof of address and source-of-funds evidence when requested, with an 18+ age rule.

How do I top up the Keytom card?

Three paths are described on the card page: card top-up through Visa Direct, a direct USDC top-up to a Keytom deposit address, and converting euros or crypto already held inside Keytom into USDC. The networks accepted for direct USDC top-up, the minimum top-up, and which side pays the network fee are not stated on the card page.

How do I add the Keytom card to Apple Wallet?

You cannot, at the time of writing. The card page marks Apple Pay as “not available yet”, and Keytom has said on Trustpilot (October 2026) that it is “working on bringing it back”. Google Pay and PayPal are supported.

Where can I use the Keytom card?

Anywhere Visa is accepted, online or in store, subject to merchant category rules. The card is rejected for fuel pumps, gambling and a few other categories by default, and some platforms block in-game purchases on this kind of card. The card is USD only, so non-USD spending is converted and carries a 2.35% fee on top.

Is the Keytom card safe?

The card balance is held by Keytom, so it is a custodial product. Keytom describes two-factor authentication, transaction monitoring, AML controls, the ability to freeze the card from the dashboard, segregated client accounts, and crypto coverage “up to $100 million through Fireblocks”. There is no deposit guarantee. As with any prepaid crypto card, the programme could in principle be suspended by Visa or wound down by the issuer, with a notice period and a balance-return process.

Is the Keytom card worth it?

If you hold USDC, are happy to pay in USD only, and do not need Apple Pay or a rewards programme, the card is a reasonable way to spend that balance through Visa. If you regularly pay in non-USD currencies, want fee-free spending, or want cashback, the cost is hard to justify against zero-FX-fee alternatives like Morse or the fee-free USD spending on the International Visa Card.

Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team