A virtual Mastercard on a crypto balance, with the issuer left unnamed

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Zoomex card is a virtual Mastercard with a dedicated IBAN, settled in USD, EUR, CHF, SGD, HKD, JPY and more, spendable from a crypto balance through Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay. It costs nothing to issue and nothing a year, and it converts crypto to fiat at 1%. In exchange for that, the company’s own announcements leave several things unsaid: which countries are served, which networks the USDC arrives on, who the issuing institution is, and what the ATM withdrawal terms are. That combination — a clean fee structure attached to an unusually thin public disclosure — is the whole story of this card, and it is why I scored it 6.8 out of 10.

Zoomex works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

If you are choosing between cards, the number is less useful than the shape of the gap. Here the gap is documentation, not cost. What follows takes the card apart section by section: who gets it, how you would get it, what leaves your balance, how the money arrives, how it behaves in a shop, what can go wrong, and what I would tell a friend to look at instead. Read the sections that match your situation and skip the rest.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.8 out of 10, and the caveat matters more than the score

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 The press release gives no country list. An earlier check of the service suggested it is global apart from USA, Russia, Iran, North Korea and some US territories — but that is not confirmed by the card’s own current pages.
Cost 8 / 10 No issuance fee and no annual fee; crypto-to-fiat conversion at 1%; cross-currency transactions at Mastercard’s real-time exchange rates.
Top-up options 5 / 10 A USDC deposit, and a USDC transfer from a Zoomex exchange account to a UR account. No networks are named, which is the practical gap.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Zoomex is in Seychelles, founded 2021, and claims registrations including Canada MSB, U.S. MSB, NFA and AUSTRAC. The card runs on UR’s infrastructure with no issuer named, and a third-party aggregator rates the exchange 1.9 out of 5 across 81 reviews.
Everyday use 7 / 10 A virtual Mastercard with a dedicated IBAN, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. No plastic, and ATM terms undisclosed.
Total 6.8 / 10 Cheap and practical on paper; thin on disclosure.

Who this suits: you already hold crypto on the platform, you want a virtual card number with a European-style IBAN attached to spend it, you are comfortable paying a 1% conversion, and you live somewhere the service actually opens. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a card in hand, who lives in one of the excluded countries, who plans to lean on cash withdrawal, or who is uncomfortable with a provider whose issuing institution it will not name.

Will They Give You the Card?

An earlier check suggested the card was open worldwide except the USA, Russia, Iran, North Korea and some US territories. The current press release publishes no country list at all, so treat that exclusion list as unofficial and unconfirmed rather than as policy. Citizenship versus residence is not stated either — which matters, because screening in this sector is often applied to the country of citizenship and birth rather than to where you live.

So the honest answer to “will they give me the card?” is: nobody can tell you from public information alone. Not the company in its announcement, and not any reviewer. What you would actually be doing is opening a UR account and discovering what your country resolves to at application time.

There is a second thing worth understanding before you start, because it shapes everything downstream. Zoomex is a crypto exchange that puts a card on top of UR’s infrastructure. Zoomex markets it; the card programme itself sits elsewhere. The company describes the card as “backed by UR’s licensed financial infrastructure” but does not explicitly name UR as issuer, and UR’s country of licensing is not stated. In the ordinary card world the issuer is the party your money sits with when you buy something, and the one that answers a chargeback. Here that party is not clearly identified in public material.

How to Get It

The card is reached through a UR account, and the release does not state what identity checks apply. It states only two membership levels, Basic and UR Pro, and says nothing about verification tiers.

Two things you can bank on, both from the company’s own description:

One pleasant detail buried in the fee section: new cardholders are automatically upgraded from Basic to UR Pro at no cost, and UR Pro brings higher limits and “better withdrawal fees”. Given the rest of the disclosure, treat “better” as a comparative word rather than a number — the improvement is not quantified publicly.

Fees: No Issuance Fee, 1% Conversion, and Then the Questions Begin

The fee structure is the strongest part of this card’s presentation. It is short, and the two numbers in it are the two you actually pay.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Zoomex payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card states
Card issuance No fee
Annual fee None
Crypto-to-fiat conversion 1%
Cross-currency transactions Mastercard’s real-time exchange rate
Settled currencies USD, EUR, CHF, SGD, HKD, JPY and more
ATM withdrawal Not stated
Monthly limit, upgraded UR Pro members Up to 100,000 CHF
Other limits Not stated

Three everyday payments, walked through:

The 100,000 CHF monthly ceiling for upgraded UR Pro members is the only limit disclosed. It is a ceiling, not an allowance, and it tells you nothing about per-transaction caps or daily limits. Anyone planning to put real volume through this card should assume those numbers are set inside the UR app and not in any public document.

Top Up: One Coin, One Route, and No Network Named

Funding works through digital assets, and USDC is the asset that is actually named. A USDC deposit goes in, and — per the earlier check — USDC can be transferred from a Zoomex exchange account to a UR account. Beyond that the release is silent: the networks are not stated, and neither the top-up fee nor the minimum is stated.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Zoomex starts with a transfer to the right network

That silence is the practical problem. USDC is not one network but many — Circle lists it as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. Sending USDC to a provider on a network they do not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, is a known way to lose a deposit outright: blockchain transfers are irreversible, and recovery then depends on the provider choosing to help, with no guarantee they will. The chain’s own fee is paid on top and is set by the network, not by the card.

On the way back out: no fee for fiat withdrawals is stated, UR Pro members get better withdrawal fees, and what happens to a remaining balance if you close the account is not stated. That last one is worth asking about before you close anything, because a card with no fee on withdrawal still ties up a balance if the exit is unclear.

Paying With It Every Day

Day-to-day, the card is a virtual Mastercard number with a dedicated IBAN, and it works with Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. For most people that is the entire experience: you add the card to your phone’s wallet and tap. It is convenient in a way a crypto-only card usually is not, and the IBAN is the feature that distinguishes it from a plain prepaid virtual card — it lets you receive and send in the currencies listed above rather than only spend them.

What is not stated: the categories that are blocked. This is not a formality. Gambling sits under merchant category code 7995, and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list differing from issuer to issuer. Some merchants also decline prepaid or foreign-issued card numbers, because the first six or eight digits of a card number identify the issuing institution and country, and a mismatch between that country and your billing address invites extra scrutiny. A foreign BIN can simply fail where a local card would have worked.

Two more real-world wrinkles. Address verification is mainly available in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.

On rewards, one promotion is documented: 1% cashback on compliant purchases through 30 April 2026 23:59 UTC, credited in real time, and a $10 reward for a purchase of $5 or more within 30 days of activation for new users. The rate after the promotion is not stated. So build your budget on the 1% conversion, not on the cashback.

What Can Go Wrong

Let me take the pieces in order of how much they should worry you.

The issuer is not named. Zoomex calls the card backed by UR’s licensed financial infrastructure, but UR is not explicitly identified as issuer and its licensing country is not stated. This is not a technicality. When you spend, you want to know which institution holds your balance, which regulator supervises it, and who rules on a chargeback. Here you cannot read that off the public material.

The company is young and offshore. Zoomex is in Victoria, Seychelles, founded 2021, with the announcing office there. It claims registrations including Canada MSB, U.S. MSB, U.S. NFA and Australia AUSTRAC. Claimed registrations are not the same as an issuer licence that covers your money, and the claims are the company’s own.

The complaint record is thin in both directions. I found no official incidents, and no Trustpilot or Reddit card reviews — which cuts both ways. No card reviews means the card is young: registration opened in late December 2025, rollout was expected in early 2026, and the card launched on 9 March 2026. You cannot have a long track record. It also means you cannot see how this provider handles a dispute. Separately, a news aggregator rates zoomex.com at 1.9 out of 5 across 81 reviews — but that is the exchange, not the card, and it is a third-party site, not a confirmed picture of the card.

Security and support are unstated. Nothing is stated about card security specifics — two-factor authentication, freeze, spending limits — though the usual categories of control exist across the industry. The exchange states it passed a Hacken audit, which is a company claim about the exchange rather than about the card. Support terms are not stated either, and support is exactly what you need if a USDC deposit goes to the wrong network.

Disputes and closures. Nothing is stated about how chargebacks work on this card. That matters more than it sounds. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. And card programmes do close: Visa terminated its agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. When that happens the sequence is always the same — a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. What happens to a balance at Zoomex is not stated.

Taxes, briefly and without advice. In the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local currency at the value on the transaction date. That can make each card payment funded from crypto its own disposal event. Your situation is yours; check with a professional.

What to Take Instead

Three comparisons, each with its own disclosure problems, which is why I have scored them rather than crowned them.

Alternative Score Card and cost Where you can get it
Zoomex 6.8 / 10 Virtual Mastercard, dedicated IBAN; no issuance or annual fee; 1% crypto-to-fiat conversion Global excluding USA, Russia, Iran, North Korea and some US territories (unofficial, earlier check)
Coinbase Card 6.4 / 10 Visa prepaid debit, virtual or physical; zero spending fees and no annual fees; a spread applies when crypto is bought, sold or traded at payment All US states except Hawaii; account opening follows US PATRIOT Act identity rules
OKX 6.2 / 10 Euro-denominated virtual Mastercard debit linked to OKX Pay, issued via an unnamed European licensed payment provider; no card fee; conversion spread 0.1% per an explainer as of May 2026 versus 0.4% in the launch release EU plus Norway from 28 January 2026, for users of OKX Europe Ltd.; Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded
Young Card 5.7 / 10 Cashback paid in YNG tokens by Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%; Bronze and Silver not stated Not stated

Three contrasts worth naming. Coinbase discloses its own fee documents and states zero spending fees and no annual fees, but its spread replaces Zoomex’s transparent 1% — you pay more, less visibly. OKX names the jurisdiction rule (EEA users of OKX Europe Ltd., a MiCAR-licensed entity) and has an independently published conversion spread, but its own materials conflict on that spread, 0.1% in the explainer against 0.4% in the launch release, and cashback there only applies to USDG purchases, not USDC. Young Card is the outlier: its headline number looks better than Zoomex’s until you notice it pays in its own token, priced by the issuer.

Who I Would Recommend It To

I would recommend this card to someone in one specific situation: you already have USDC on the platform, you want a spendable card number with a real IBAN rather than a crypto-only card, and a 1% conversion does not bother you. The fee structure is genuinely good, the multi-currency balances and mobile wallet support are genuinely useful, and the automatic free upgrade to UR Pro costs you nothing.

I would not recommend it as your only card, and I would not recommend it if any of these apply to you:

The general lesson travels beyond this card. A card number starting with six or eight issuer digits is looked up at the till; Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards themselves, they license issuers and can suspend a programme; and in the EU an e-money institution may issue cards and wallets but cannot lend, and must safeguard customer funds in segregated accounts or by insurance — which is not the same as a bank deposit and may sit outside any deposit guarantee scheme. Check your provider against ESMA’s interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, and check that the card side is a payment-services permission, separate from any crypto permission. MiCA’s transitional period ends for grandfathered providers on 1 July 2026 or when their authorisation is resolved, whichever comes first — worth remembering, since the company in question is recent.

Frequently asked questions

Understanding the Zoomex Card

It is a virtual Mastercard with a dedicated IBAN, offered by the crypto exchange Zoomex, which was founded in 2021 and is based in Victoria, Seychelles. It settles in USD, EUR, CHF, SGD, HKD, JPY and more, and you spend from a balance topped up with digital assets. There is no physical version mentioned. Registration opened in late December 2025 and the card launched on 9 March 2026.

How does the Zoomex card work?

You hold a balance, and the card spends it much like a prepaid card rather than a bank debit — the balance is loaded first and the card cannot overdraw it. Crypto-to-fiat conversion is charged at 1%, and cross-currency transactions run at Mastercard’s real-time exchange rates. The card number works in the usual Mastercard world and can be added to Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay for contactless spending.

Is Zoomex a bank?

No. Zoomex is a crypto exchange registered in Seychelles, and it describes the card as backed by UR’s licensed financial infrastructure without explicitly naming UR as the issuer or stating UR’s licensing country. It claims registrations including Canada MSB, U.S. MSB, U.S. NFA and Australia AUSTRAC. Since the issuing institution is not clearly identified, you cannot tell from public material which institution holds your balance.

Who owns Zoomex?

The card is reached through a UR account, and the platform runs two membership levels, Basic and UR Pro, with no verification tiers stated. New cardholders are automatically upgraded from Basic to UR Pro at no cost, which brings higher limits and what the company describes as better withdrawal fees. Zoomex markets the card; the card programme itself sits on UR’s infrastructure.

Is Zoomex card available in my country?

Nobody can answer that from the public pages. An earlier check of the service suggested it was open worldwide except the USA, Russia, Iran, North Korea and some US territories, but the current press release publishes no country list, so treat that as unofficial. Whether the rule follows citizenship or residence is not stated either. You would find out by opening a UR account and seeing what your country resolves to.

Does Zoomex card require KYC?

The release does not say what identity checks apply, only that the card comes through a UR account. In practice, any regulated business must verify customers and screen them under anti-money-laundering rules, and a card issued in the EU or US would follow those local requirements — name, address, date of birth and identity documentation. If verification cannot be completed, accounts are commonly frozen or closed pending documents rather than simply refused.

How do I top up the Zoomex card?

Funding runs through digital assets, and USDC is the coin actually named: a USDC deposit, or a USDC transfer from a Zoomex exchange account to a UR account. Top-up fee and minimum are not stated, and no networks are named — which matters, since Circle lists USDC as native on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026. Sending on an unsupported network can lose the deposit outright, because blockchain transfers are irreversible.

Where can I use the Zoomex virtual card?

Anywhere Mastercard is accepted, in person or online, since it is a Mastercard number with a dedicated IBAN across USD, EUR, CHF, SGD, HKD, JPY and more. Two practical caveats. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued numbers because the first digits identify the issuer and its country. And address verification is mostly a US, Canada and UK service, so it is often unavailable on foreign-issued cards, which causes declines.

Is Zoomex card safe?

I found no official incidents and no Trustpilot or Reddit card reviews, which tells you more about the card’s age than about its reliability — it launched on 9 March 2026. A third-party aggregator rates zoomex.com at 1.9 out of 5 across 81 reviews, but that is the exchange rather than the card. Nothing is stated about card security controls, support terms, chargeback handling, or what happens to your balance if you close the account. Plan for those gaps rather than assume they are covered.

Is the Zoomex card worth it?

There is no card issuance fee and no annual fee, and crypto converts to fiat at 1% — that is a good deal on paper. The 1% cashback promotion on compliant purchases runs only through 30 April 2026 23:59 UTC, with a $10 reward for a $5 purchase within 30 days of activation, and the rate afterwards is not stated. The worth depends on whether 1% is acceptable to you and whether you are already holding USDC on the platform.

Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team