PayitFast card review — a self-custody Visa with a quiet fee structure and a few open questions

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you keep your crypto in your own wallet and you want a payment card that spends from that balance, the PayitFast card sits in an interesting middle ground. It is a Visa you can top up directly from a self-custody wallet (think MetaMask, Trust Wallet, Binance Wallet), and it plugs into Apple Pay and Google Wallet on day one. The trade-off is that the official pages leave a number of practical questions unanswered. Pricing, for instance, is not stated on the card’s public pages; what we know about fees comes from third-party tracking sites, and those numbers should be read with that in mind. This review goes through who the card is for, what the application looks like, what it really costs you to spend and withdraw, where the open questions are, and what you might pick instead if PayitFast is not a fit.

PayitFast works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

PayitFast earns a 6.9 out of 10. That is a “worth a look, but read the fine print” score rather than a clear recommendation. The strengths are real: it works with self-custody wallets, it pays up to 10% back in USDT, and it has a published regulatory identity (Silverleaf E-Money Services Ltd., registered with FINTRAC as money services business M23026009 and supervised by the Bank of Canada). The weaknesses are equally real: the official pricing page is missing, the country list is not published, and the physical card is waitlist-only. If you are comfortable with crypto-native flows, if you already hold USDT, Bitcoin or Ethereum in a self-custody wallet, and if you are happy with a virtual card, PayitFast does the job. If you need a clear, written-down fee schedule before you start, or if you need a physical card in hand this month, you will want to keep looking.

Score breakdown

Criterion Mark Short reason
Who can get it 8 / 10 Official wording is “varies by jurisdiction” and onboarding is locked to supported countries; no published list. Unofficial sources put coverage at 189 countries.
Cost 4 / 10 Pricing is not stated on the public pages read. Unofficial figures: a 3% annual fee, a 2.2% non-USD transaction fee, and a roughly 0.75% crypto conversion fee per transaction.
Top-up options 8 / 10 Self-custody wallets (MetaMask, Trust Wallet, Binance Wallet, or any wallet); stablecoins, USDT, Bitcoin, Ethereum. Specific networks are not named.
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Clear corporate identity (Silverleaf E-Money Services Ltd., BC, Canada; FINTRAC MSB M23026009; Bank of Canada RPAA supervision). No user complaints surfaced.
Everyday use 7 / 10 Visa; virtual card available, physical card waitlist-only. Apple Pay and Google Wallet are supported. ATM withdrawals are mentioned without conditions.
Total 6.9 / 10 A self-custody-friendly Visa with strong cashback potential, held back by a thin public fee schedule and an unpublished country list.

The card is best for self-custody users who want up to 10% back in USDT and who are willing to top up from their own wallet rather than from a fiat bank account. It is not for someone who needs the cheapest possible debit card, someone who requires a written, official fee schedule, or someone who needs a physical card shipped in a predictable timeframe.

Will they give you the card

PayitFast is built around a Visa payment card, and the eligibility question is more layered than a typical prepaid card. The official wording is that availability “varies by jurisdiction and is subject to regulatory approval.” Certain countries may be temporarily unavailable even if the app loads. If your country is missing from the in-app verification list, onboarding is unavailable there, full stop. Support cannot manually approve or override a country decision; this is written into the policy, not into a footnote.

There is no published country list. That makes “will they give me the card?” a question you cannot answer from the website; you can only answer it by downloading the app and looking at the verification screen. Unofficial trackers (DefiLlama, checked for an earlier review pass) place the reach at around 189 countries. Treat that number as unofficial: it has not been confirmed by PayitFast’s own pages, and it can move without notice.

The regulatory identity is on firmer ground. PayitFast is a trade name of Silverleaf E-Money Services Ltd., a company incorporated in British Columbia, Canada. Silverleaf is registered with FINTRAC as a money services business under registration number M23026009, and The firm is supervised by the Bank of Canada (RPAA). The issuing bank is not stated on the official pages. Unofficial sources point to Third National Bank as the Visa issuer. That, again, is not confirmed by the card’s own material.

The card itself comes in two forms. A virtual Visa is the default; it is issued inside the app. A physical card exists but is on a waitlist, with no published timeline for when waitlisted users will be reached. If you specifically need a piece of plastic in your wallet before a trip, that gap matters.

How to get it

The application is app-first, in two stages: install, then verify.

Identity verification happens inside the app. PayitFast will ask for identity documents and, where required, a proof of address. Documents can be rejected if they are expired, damaged, unclear, mismatched with the rest of your details, or issued by a country that is not supported. The public pages do not list which document types are accepted, what counts as proof of address, or what the minimum age is. If you live in a country that is not on the verification list, you will be stopped at this step. There is no way around it, and Support is explicit that it cannot manually approve or override.

Once KYC passes, the virtual card is provisioned inside the app. The card currency is not stated. If you want to add the virtual card to Apple Pay or Google Wallet, that happens in the same app flow. The physical card is a separate path: you join a waitlist, and the waitlist is the only path to a physical card.

A few practical points. First, KYC is mandatory, so the card is not anonymous. Second, the rejection reasons (expired, damaged, unclear, mismatched, country unsupported) are the only reasons that surface in the policy, so check your documents before you upload. Third, the company warns that certain ID formats or issuing authorities may not be supported in your country even if the country itself is; if you have dual nationality or a non-standard ID, expect to spend extra time on the verification screen. Fourth, the company behind the card publishes a corporate identity in Canada, so for the moment the support team operates in business hours aligned with North America, with a Telegram bot (t.me/payitfastbot) for quick questions and email for anything that needs a written trail.

What it really costs: fees and the everyday breakdown

This is where the review gets uncomfortable. PayitFast’s public pages do not state a fee schedule. There is no published “pricing” page, and the official cardholder agreement documents do not disclose these figures. The Master Terms and an Elite Terms document both exist on the site, but the contents of those documents were not retrieved. That means everything in this section that quotes a percentage comes from a third-party tracker (DefiLlama, October 2026) and should be treated as unofficial. DefiLlama itself notes that the pricing page and the card agreement can differ.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a PayitFast payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is what the unofficial figures look like, plus a column for the things the official pages say nothing about.

Costs at a glance

Fee or limit Value (official unless marked) Notes
Issuance Not stated Virtual card provisioned in app; physical card waitlist-only.
Monthly or annual fee Not stated officially; UNOFFICIAL: 3% annual fee DefiLlama, Oct 2026.
Crypto conversion fee Not stated officially; UNOFFICIAL: 0.75% per transaction Earlier card.md check.
Foreign transaction (non-USD) Not stated officially; UNOFFICIAL: 2.2% DefiLlama, Oct 2026.
ATM withdrawal Not stated “Any contactless ATM” mentioned; fee and allowance not stated.
Daily spending limit Not stated Earlier check described the spending limit as collateral-based.
Monthly spending limit Not stated Same.
Card currency Not stated —
Cashback Up to 10% back in USDT Paid to the PayitFast wallet; “eligible transactions” not defined.

The card does publish a cashback headline (“up to 10% back on eligible transactions”), paid in USDT to the PayitFast wallet “immediately,” and that depends on which eligible asset is spent. The promo is real, but the official pages do not list the eligible transactions, the eligible assets, or the spending tiers. The cashback is paid into the in-app PayitFast wallet and is non-withdrawable; it can be spent on eligible card transactions, but you cannot pull it back out.

Three everyday payments

Let’s walk through three payments a typical user would make, and what the unofficial fee stack looks like. None of this is financial advice; these are estimates that may change based on PayitFast’s internal pricing policies.

Coffee, USD 5, in a US coffee shop, paid by Apple Pay with USDT balance converted at the moment of payment. Unofficial crypto conversion: 0.75% (about 4 cents). No FX fee because the merchant is in USD. Unofficial cashback: up to 10% in USDT, but only on “eligible” transactions, and a 5 USD coffee is a small enough spend that promotional tiers rarely reach the maximum. Net cost: a few cents in conversion; cashback somewhere between zero and the maximum, depending on the promo active that day.

Hotel booking, EUR 220, in Paris, paid with the virtual card online. Unofficial crypto conversion: 0.75% (about 1.65 EUR). Unofficial non-USD transaction fee: 2.2% (about 4.84 EUR). The hotel’s 3-D Secure challenge (Visa Secure) may fire, which is normal for a European hotel. Total unofficial fee stack: about 6.49 EUR, or roughly 3% of the booking. The 3-D Secure flow itself does not cost you anything, but it is a friction point if your phone is not at hand.

ATM withdrawal, USD 100 equivalent, in a country where the card currency is not local. Unofficial crypto conversion: 0.75% (about 0.75 USD). Unofficial non-USD transaction fee: 2.2% (about 2.20 USD). ATM fee and ATM allowance are not stated officially, so the ATM operator’s own surcharge (typically 2 to 5 USD at a third-party ATM) is on top. The card is “any contactless ATM” in PayitFast’s wording, with no published monthly free allowance. If you withdraw 100 USD at a foreign ATM, you can land at roughly 5 to 8 USD in total fees without any single fee being a large number.

The point of the walkthrough is not the specific cents; it is the shape. Crypto conversion is the floor. The non-USD fee is the multiplier on every foreign trip. There is no “free” tier. And the official numbers, the ones you would actually budget against, are not on the page.

Top up: how to fund the card

The card is built for self-custody top-ups, not bank transfers. You connect your own wallet, you send crypto in, and the card spends that balance. The wallets named on the official pages are MetaMask, Trust Wallet, and Binance Wallet, plus “any” compatible wallet. The assets named are stablecoins (USDT in particular), Bitcoin, and Ethereum. The official pages do not name which networks are accepted. That is a real gap, because sending USDT on the wrong network is the most common way to lose a top-up: stablecoin transfers are not reversible, and if the deposit arrives on a chain the card does not support, you have to open a support ticket with the transaction ID and hope.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up PayitFast starts with a transfer to the right network

A few practical rules of thumb. First, send a small test amount before you move meaningful funds. Second, copy the deposit address from the app, not from an email or a Telegram message; clipboard-hijacking malware is a known attack vector against self-custody users. Third, keep a small amount of the network’s native token (ETH for Ethereum mainnet, TRX for Tron, and so on) in the sending wallet so the network fee can be paid; an ERC-20 USDT transfer needs ETH to pay gas, and a USDT-only wallet will not send. Fourth, if a deposit is missing, contact support with the TXID; the public pages say the team will look into it, but they do not promise a turnaround time.

The card also supports withdrawals back to crypto. Withdrawals may be pending for a number of reasons: compliance review, Travel Rule checks, network congestion, or a manual review of large amounts. Promotional credits, referral rewards, cashback, and bonus funds are non-withdrawable; they can be spent on the card but not pulled out. Fees on the withdrawal side are not stated.

Paying with it every day

The virtual card plugs into Apple Pay and Google Wallet out of the box. Tokenisation works the way it does for any other Visa: the wallet replaces the card number with a device-specific number, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. That means a lost phone does not equal a lost card number, and the issuer can freeze the tokenised number without touching the underlying card.

In a shop, you tap to pay, just like a normal contactless card. Online, you type in the card details or use the wallet’s autofill. 3-D Secure (Visa Secure) may challenge you with a one-time code or a biometric check; that is the network protecting you, not the card acting up.

Two friction points are worth flagging. The first is address verification. Some merchants, especially in the US, Canada, and the UK, use Address Verification Service (AVS) to check the numeric parts of your billing address. If the card is foreign-issued, AVS often does not work, and the merchant may decline. The second is merchant category code (MCC) blocking. Some issuers block gambling (MCC 7995) or other categories. PayitFast does not publish a blocked-category list, so the only way to know is to try.

A small number of general background points are worth keeping in mind, because they are how this category of card tends to surprise new users. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on the card balance for up to a week. Tokenised card numbers can be restricted by the issuer to phone, online, or in-store use only, and that restriction is invisible to the merchant. And because the card spends from a pre-loaded balance, it cannot overdraw, which is reassuring if you want to give one to a teenager or use it for subscriptions.

What can go wrong

The most likely failure mode is the one nobody likes to plan for: a card that stops working. PayitFast’s policy is that cards can be restricted for repeated declines, unusual activity, or compliance reviews. There is no published escalation path beyond “contact support.” A 2FA, an in-app freeze, or a temporary block toggle is not stated on the official pages, so the only thing you can be sure of is that the issuer can restrict the card on its side.

The second failure mode is a top-up that does not arrive. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network PayitFast does not support, or to an address copied wrong, can be lost. The recovery process is “open a support ticket with the TXID,” and the public pages do not promise a refund or a turnaround time.

The third failure mode is regulatory. PayitFast is supervised by the Bank of Canada under the RPAA, and Silverleaf is registered with FINTRAC. The card is therefore subject to the same KYC and sanctions-screening rules as any other regulated payment product: if your country is not supported, if your name appears on a sanctions list, or if your documents are not acceptable, you can be locked out. Citizenship is screened separately from residence; some users with a passport from an unsupported country may be blocked even if they live in a supported one, and dual citizens with one supported passport can sometimes pass.

The fourth failure mode is the broader one affecting every crypto card: programme closures. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. Earlier, WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme was closed. When a programme closes, there is typically a notice period, then new loads stop, then spending stops, and finally the issuer asks users to withdraw any remaining balance. The risk is small for any given month but real over the life of a card, and it is the reason a card with a thin public fee schedule is riskier than a card with a clear one: the harder it is to compare, the harder it is to switch quickly.

The fifth failure mode is cashback. The “up to 10% back” headline is real, but the eligible-asset and eligible-transaction definitions are not public, the bonus is paid to the in-app PayitFast wallet rather than to your self-custody wallet, and that wallet balance is non-withdrawable. If you are budgeting for cashback, treat the headline as a ceiling, not a guarantee.

What to take instead

If PayitFast is not a fit, the three cards below cover the most common reasons. The scores come from the same review framework used in the main table, on a 10-point scale, with the same categories and weights.

MetaMask Card (7.1 / 10)

MetaMask Card is the most direct alternative if you live in a self-custody world. Sign-ups are open in 45 listed countries or territories, including Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, and Uruguay. Other regions join a waitlist. The card is a Mastercard; the issuer is Monovate, with Crypto Life as the card provider. The virtual card is free and instant; a Metal version costs $199 a year. Cashback is paid in mUSD into the Money Account: 1% on the Virtual tier, 3% headline on Metal with a footnote that limits the 3% to the first $10,000 spent and then drops to 1%. Spending is direct from the connected wallet, on Linea, Base, Monad, or Solana, with tokens including mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC, and USDT.

The advantage over PayitFast is the fee schedule: a Virtual card is free, MetaMask charges no foreign transaction fee, and the Mastercard wholesale rate is used for FX. The disadvantage is the country list: US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed.

KAST (6.1 / 10)

KAST is the comparison if you want a tiered product and you can pay for it. Sign-up is residence-based and locked to a country list that is shown only at the KYC screen; the public pages do not publish the list, and a “Restricted Locations” list is referenced without naming the countries. There are three tiers: Standard (0 USD a year), Premium (1,000 USD a year), and Private (10,000 USD a year), all billed annually upfront with no monthly option. Card spend in USD is 0%, stablecoin top-ups are 0%, Apple and Google Pay are 0%, and the non-USD FX fee is between 0.5% and 1.75% depending on residence country, transaction country, and card programme. Cashback in USD runs from 1.5% on Standard (capped at 2,000 USD a month) up to 3% on Private (capped at 40,000 USD a month). KAST also offers up to 10 cards per user, with Visa Platinum, Visa Infinite metal, and Visa Infinite gold plated as the standard designs.

The advantage over PayitFast is the published fee schedule and the zero-fee USD spending. The disadvantage is the cost of the higher tiers and the friction around KYC.

TokenPocket (5.8 / 10)

TokenPocket Card is the comparison if you live in Europe. The Visa debit variant is available for a list of European countries and territories (Germany, France, Spain, Switzerland among them), while the Mastercard debit variant covers Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, and the UK, with the Americas planned. The card runs on Arbitrum and balances are held in EUR24 and USD24. The “Apart from these, TP Card does not charge any additional fees” line is reassuring; on the other hand, a 1% fee is charged when depositing cryptocurrency into the TP Card, with the promise that it is “later refunded to users through rewards, reduced transaction fees, etc.” The fiat24 cards are virtual only, with no physical card mentioned, and the FX fee is not stated.

The advantage over PayitFast is the clear “no additional fees” framing and the European debit reach. The disadvantage is the 1% deposit fee and the limited physical card story.

A short comparison

Card Score Where it works Annual cost FX fee Cashback
PayitFast 6.9 / 10 Not published officially; UNOFFICIAL 189 countries Not stated officially; UNOFFICIAL 3% Not stated officially; UNOFFICIAL 2.2% non-USD Up to 10% in USDT, non-withdrawable
MetaMask Card 7.1 / 10 45 countries/territories (US/UK closed) Free (Virtual) or $199/year (Metal) Mastercard rate, no extra fee 1% (Virtual) or up to 3% (Metal, capped)
KAST 6.1 / 10 Residence-based, shown at KYC 0 / $1,000 / $10,000 per year 0% (USD), 0.5%–1.75% (non-USD) 1.5% to 3% in USD, tiered
TokenPocket 5.8 / 10 Europe (Visa), Asia-Pacific (Mastercard) “No additional fees” beyond a 1% deposit fee Not stated Deposit fee refundable via rewards

Who I would recommend it to

PayitFast is a self-custody card first, and everything else second. If you already keep the bulk of your crypto in a wallet you control, and you want a way to spend that crypto without first off-ramping to a bank, PayitFast does the job. The “up to 10% back in USDT” headline is genuinely generous, and the link to Apple Pay and Google Wallet on day one is a real plus. The company is a real Canadian e-money institution with a FINTRAC registration and a Bank of Canada supervisor, so the regulatory floor is solid.

I would hesitate for three reasons. First, the pricing is not on the public pages. That makes it hard to budget, and it makes it hard to compare the card to anything else at a glance. Second, the country list is not published, so you cannot tell from the website whether you can sign up. Third, the physical card is waitlist-only, which rules PayitFast out for anyone who specifically needs a piece of plastic.

If you are happy with a virtual card, if you can verify your eligibility in the app before you move any funds, if you are comfortable reading unofficial fee numbers with a grain of salt, and if you already hold USDT or ETH in a self-custody wallet, PayitFast is a sensible pick. If you need a clear fee schedule, a published country list, or a physical card shipped this month, MetaMask Card (where you can get it) or KAST (if you can stomach the higher-tier price tag) are better fits.

Frequently asked questions

What is the PayitFast card?

PayitFast is a Visa payment card that spends from a crypto balance held in a self-custody wallet. It is run by Silverleaf E-Money Services Ltd., a company incorporated in British Columbia, Canada, registered with FINTRAC as money services business M23026009 and supervised by the Bank of Canada. The card is virtual by default, with a physical card available on a waitlist.

How does the PayitFast card work?

You install the PayitFast app, complete identity verification, and a virtual Visa is provisioned in the app. You top up by sending crypto (USDT, Bitcoin, or Ethereum) from your own wallet — MetaMask, Trust Wallet, Binance Wallet, or any compatible wallet — to the address shown in the app. The card spends that balance; the cashback is paid in USDT back into the in-app PayitFast wallet, and that wallet balance is non-withdrawable but usable on eligible card transactions.

Is PayitFast a bank?

No. PayitFast is a trade name of Silverleaf E-Money Services Ltd., a Canadian e-money institution, not a bank. E-money institutions safeguard customer funds in segregated accounts, but those funds are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes. The card sits on the Visa network; the issuing bank is not named officially, and an unofficial source points to Third National Bank.

Who owns PayitFast?

The brand is a trading name of Silverleaf E-Money Services Ltd., incorporated in British Columbia, Canada. The company is registered with FINTRAC under MSB registration M23026009 and is supervised by the Bank of Canada. Beneficial ownership is not stated on the public pages.

Is the PayitFast card available in my country?

The official answer is that availability “varies by jurisdiction and is subject to regulatory approval,” and that if your country is missing from the in-app verification list, onboarding is unavailable there. There is no published country list, and Support cannot manually approve or override. Unofficial trackers put the reach at around 189 countries. The only way to know for sure is to download the app and look at the verification screen.

Does the PayitFast card require KYC?

Yes. Identity verification is mandatory in the app, and the company is explicit that documents can be rejected if they are expired, damaged, unclear, mismatched, or issued by an unsupported country. Support cannot manually approve or override a decision. The list of accepted document types, the proof-of-address rules, and the minimum age are not stated on the public pages.

How do I top up the PayitFast card?

You send crypto from a self-custody wallet (MetaMask, Trust Wallet, Binance Wallet, or any compatible wallet) to the deposit address shown in the app. Stablecoins, USDT, Bitcoin, and Ethereum are named on the official pages; the specific networks are not. The safest workflow is a small test transfer first, copied from the app rather than from an email or message, with a small amount of the network’s native token in the sending wallet to cover gas.

Is the PayitFast card free?

The official pages do not state a fee schedule. Unofficial figures from third-party trackers (DefiLlama, October 2026) put the annual fee at 3%, the non-USD transaction fee at 2.2%, and the crypto conversion fee at about 0.75% per transaction. DefiLlama itself notes that its pricing page and the card agreement can differ. Treat those numbers as unofficial until PayitFast publishes its own schedule.

How do I add the PayitFast card to Apple Wallet or Google Wallet?

Open the PayitFast app, go to the virtual card, and follow the prompt to add the card to Apple Pay or Google Wallet. The tokenisation is standard: the wallet replaces the card number with a device-specific number, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. The card can be frozen through the issuer without affecting the underlying card details.

Is the PayitFast card safe?

The card is operated by a Canadian e-money institution with a FINTRAC registration and a Bank of Canada supervisor, and the self-custody model means your crypto stays in your wallet until the moment of payment. The main risks are operational: a missing top-up due to a wrong network, a card restriction for compliance reasons, or a programme-level closure on the Visa network. Two-factor authentication, an in-app freeze, and a spending limit toggle are not stated on the official pages, so the safeguards you can rely on are the network-level ones (3-D Secure, tokenisation) plus your own wallet security.

Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team