YPT card review — a crypto-funded virtual card with an open country list and a few gaps

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The YPT card is a crypto-funded payment card that lets you spend USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH anywhere a Visa card is accepted. It was launched jointly by YPT.COM Company and RedotPay, and it leans hard on the use case of people who already hold crypto and want to use it at the point of sale without first cashing out to a bank. In this review I walk through who can get one, what the sign-up process looks like, what it actually costs to run day to day, and where the card still has rough edges. If you have tried and failed to open a normal bank account, or if your local banking rails are slow or expensive, this is exactly the kind of product worth a close look — but it is not the right card for everyone, and there are a few things I would check before committing.

YPT works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Card conditions and fees are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

YPT scores 7.4 / 10 in my reading. That score reflects a product that is open to almost anyone, cheap for normal spending, and backed by a reasonably credible structure — but that still leaves several practical questions unanswered on the official pages. The headline number is supported by five criteria, and I have laid each one out in the table below.

Criterion Mark Why it scored there
Who can get it 9 / 10 A very short blocklist (Egypt, Tunisia, Palestine, Puerto Rico, Tanzania) for mailing address; billing address supported everywhere else, so most readers can apply
Cost 7 / 10 1% in USD, 2.2% in other currencies; a $0.20 fee on very small authorisations and a $0.5 fee on declined transactions; the price of the card itself is not stated
Top-up options 7 / 10 Four assets (USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH), converted to fiat at payment; networks are not named on the official page; a minimum top-up of 1 USD applies
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Backed by YPT.COM Company and RedotPay, with assets at a licensed trust company carrying $50 million in insurance; the card issuer is not named; no public complaint trail to check
Everyday use 6 / 10 Virtual card with Apple Pay and Google Pay is live; the physical card and ATM withdrawals are still marked as “coming soon”

Putting those five together: the YPT card suits someone who already holds crypto on a phone, who lives outside a short blocklist, and who is happy to spend from a virtual card in Apple Pay or Google Pay. It is weaker for someone who needs a physical card, who relies on ATM cash withdrawals, or who wants every fee, every limit and the issuer’s name on a single page before they sign up.

Who YPT will issue a card to

YPT opens the door to most readers. According to the help centre, the only countries or regions that are not supported as a *mailing address* are Egypt, Tunisia, Palestine, Puerto Rico and Tanzania. The important nuance is that this restriction is on the shipping address, not on eligibility: a billing address is supported even if it sits in one of those locations, and the virtual card, which is what most users will be issued first, does not need any physical delivery at all. In practice, that means almost anyone can complete the sign-up and get a working card number, and the only people who hit a hard wall are those in the five listed places who specifically need a physical card sent to them.

Beyond the address question, YPT also runs standard KYC, the same anti-money-laundering checks that any regulated payments company has to perform. The full legal name, date of birth and an identity document — passport, identity card or driver’s licence — are required, and the provider can ask for more if the case needs it. I have not seen YPT publish a list of countries they refuse to serve outright on citizenship grounds, and that is one of the gaps I would want them to close. What they have published is an address-level restriction, so the safest working assumption is that your passport and your address will be checked against their internal rules before the card is issued.

The other practical thing to know is age. As with any prepaid or debit card, you need to be 18 or older to sign up. YPT does not state a higher age limit, but it does not rule one out either, and that is a minor unknown I would want to clarify with support if it matters for you.

How to sign up

Sign-up runs through the YPT app and starts with identity verification. YPT uses Sumsub, a third-party electronic KYC provider, to handle the document check. You upload your full legal name, your date of birth, and a clear photo of one accepted identity document: a national identity card, a passport, or a driver’s licence. The verification usually completes quickly, but in some cases Sumsub or YPT will come back asking for more — typically a proof of address, a selfie, or a source-of-funds declaration — and you have to respond before the account can be activated.

Once KYC is done, the next step is to create the card. YPT offers a virtual card, and the physical card is referenced in the navigation but flagged with the words “IT WILL BE PUT INTO USE SOON”. The brand of the card network and the currency are not stated on the public page, although the fees section of this review tells you that the default settlement currency is the US dollar. If you only need to spend online or through a mobile wallet, the virtual card is the one to use; if you need a piece of plastic in your wallet, you should expect to wait.

A few practical notes on sign-up that I think are worth flagging:

Fees — what it really costs to run the YPT card

The honest answer to “what does YPT cost?” is “less than many rivals, but the official page does not tell you everything.” The numbers that are public are clean and easy to read; the numbers that are not public are the kind of thing a careful buyer should ask support about before loading the card with a large balance.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a YPT payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is the cost picture as I can confirm it from the official page:

Fee or limit Amount
Card issuance Not stated
Monthly fee Not stated
In-card-currency transaction (USD) 1%
Non-default-currency transaction 2.2%
Small-amount authorisation ($0–$1) $0.20 per transaction, first 5 per card per month waived
Declined transaction $0.5 per transaction, first 3 per card per month waived
ATM withdrawal Not stated; physical card and ATM use marked “coming soon”
Daily spend limit (USD card) Unlimited
Per-transaction spend limit (USD card) $100,000
Minimum top-up 1 USD equivalent (see Top up section)

The 1% fee on USD transactions is competitive. Many crypto cards charge more on the conversion side, so if you load the card in stablecoins and spend in dollars, 1% is the headline number that should drive your decision. The 2.2% fee for non-USD spending is the cost of letting YPT do the FX conversion for you, and it is roughly in line with the category average.

The two small fees that people tend to miss are the $0.20 authorisation fee on tiny transactions (capped at five per month, so it does not bite normal users) and the $0.5 fee on declined transactions (capped at three per month). I have read this as a clear nudge from YPT: do not test the card with $0.10 probes, and do not keep retrying a card that is being declined. Both fees are visible on the official fee page, but you have to read the small print to find them.

A few things to think through with everyday examples:

Top up — how to add money to the YPT card

Top-up is the part of the flow that YPT keeps deliberately simple. The app shows you a wallet address (or a QR code) per currency, you send crypto to that address, and YPT credits your card balance at the moment of payment by converting the crypto to fiat at the rate it has on file. You do not have to convert first and then load — the conversion happens in the background when the card is used.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up YPT starts with a transfer to the right network

Four assets are supported for top-up:

Networks are not specified on the official help page, which is a small but real gap. In practice, the major stablecoins (USDT and USDC) typically exist on several networks at once, and sending the same token on the wrong network is the most common way to lose a deposit. Before sending any non-trivial amount, I would treat the in-app “choose currency and network” screen as the single source of truth: the network is whatever the app shows next to the address, not whatever a third-party tutorial or a friend tells you.

Three rules from the help centre are worth keeping in mind:

That last point has a behavioural consequence. If you top up with BTC and Bitcoin jumps 10% the day before a big purchase, you capture that gain. If Bitcoin drops 10% the day before, you eat the loss. Stablecoins sidestep the volatility but still leave you exposed to a possible depeg. None of this is unique to YPT — it is just how crypto-funded prepaid cards work — but it is the kind of detail that is easy to skim past until the receipt looks different from the number you saw in the app.

There is no on-ramp from a bank account listed in the help centre, so fiat top-up via card or bank transfer is not part of the documented flow. If you want to fund the card from a bank account, the working assumption is that you first buy USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH somewhere, then transfer it to the YPT address.

Paying with the YPT card every day

In daily use, the YPT card behaves like a prepaid Visa that happens to be funded by crypto. You can bind it to Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the help centre also mentions “multiple payment platforms”, which I read as the standard set of mobile wallets plus online checkout integrations. The virtual card is the one to start with, and the moment you tokenise it into Apple Pay or Google Pay, it works at any contactless terminal that already takes those wallets.

A few things to know about everyday spending:

The physical card is the part of the daily-use story that is still in transition. YPT’s site refers to the physical card and lists “ATM offline withdrawal” as a feature, but both are marked “IT WILL BE PUT INTO USE SOON”. If your daily life runs on contactless and mobile wallets, the virtual card covers the vast majority of that already. If you regularly pull cash from an ATM, or if you want a piece of plastic in your wallet as a backup, the YPT card is not the right tool yet.

What can go wrong with the YPT card

Every crypto-funded card sits on top of three different things: a regulated payments stack, a crypto custodian, and an app that ties them together. Each layer has its own way of going wrong, and YPT is no exception. Here is what I would keep an eye on.

The first layer is the issuing bank. YPT is “jointly launched by YPT.COM Company and RedotPay”, and the underlying card issuer is not named on the public page. That matters because if the issuer changes its mind, suspends the programme, or has its own licence pulled, the card can be wound down. The category has seen this before: in November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX” and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer, and in 2018 WaveCrest was suspended by Visa in Europe, which closed every Visa card programme that WaveCrest had been issuing for crypto brands. The pattern is not unique to crypto cards, but it is a pattern worth understanding before you put a large balance on a card whose issuer is not on the front page.

The second layer is the crypto custodian. YPT says digital assets are held by a licensed trust company, and that there is $50 million in insurance backing that custody arrangement. That is reassuring, and the “licensed trust company” wording is more specific than what a lot of competitors publish, but it does not turn a custodial wallet into a bank deposit — customer funds in a trust company are not the same as deposits at an insured bank, and they may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. There is also a per-user blockchain address structure, which means your funds are not pooled with the next user’s, and Sumsub KYC plus a PIN code plus anti-misuse fees and negative-balance rules are the rest of the security story. Third-party reporting (May 2025) adds that a PIN code protects the card, which matches the official line.

The third layer is the app and support side. There is no Trustpilot page for YPT Group that I could find, and the public complaint trail is thin. That is not a red flag on its own — many legitimate new products have not been around long enough to accumulate reviews — but it does mean you are partly buying on the strength of the partners (YPT.COM Company and RedotPay) and the help-centre copy. Support is reachable by email, Telegram, X and a GitBook help centre in English, and I would test the email channel with a real question before loading a large balance, just to see how fast and how thoroughly they answer.

A few smaller risks I would put on your list:

What to take instead

YPT is a sensible default for a specific kind of reader, but it is not the only crypto-funded card on the market, and depending on what you need, one of three alternatives may suit you better.

CardFlow (4.9 / 10) is a virtual USD Mastercard that can be created in minutes. Its marketing is aimed at Nigeria and at “Nigerians and global users”, but it does not publish a full country list or any exclusions, so the eligibility question is something you would need to ask support. Creating the card is free, but monthly fees, conversion fees and FX fees are not stated on the pages I could read. Top-up is in Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer, with no network details. The pitch is simplicity and a free virtual card; the trade-off is that almost everything else about the cost and reach of the card is left for you to discover.

HyperCard (4.7 / 10) is a prepaid card with a USD or EUR balance. The official pages do not state a country list, but the App Store page says the card works in “more than 176 countries” — that is acceptance, not eligibility, so you can use it where merchants take Mastercard, but you still need to clear KYC at the point of application. App Store fees are listed as none, but the rest of the fee schedule is not stated. Top-up is in USDT, BTC or ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR on the card, with no network details published. HyperCard is the alternative to consider if you want a card with both USD and EUR balances and you are willing to live with the missing fee disclosure.

Card.fi (6.6 / 10) is the most fully featured of the three. Its banner says cards ship to “200+ countries”, and the terms bar residents of or orders from any sanctioned country that would prohibit the service. The card range is wider than YPT’s: virtual and physical, Classic and Premium, and a metal (stainless steel) tier, with every physical order including a virtual card. The card network is licensed but not named (Visa or Mastercard are not stated). Card.fi does not list a monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee, and the one-time prices are Virtual Classic $49 and Virtual Premium $249; physical and metal prices are not listed. Top-up fees are 1.5% + $1.00 for Classic and 1% for Premium; FX fees are 3.5% for Classic and 2.5% for Premium. There is a 32-coin, 5-network top-up (Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch), with a deposit address per card. Cashback is tiered: Classic 0.8% (capped at 10 USDT a month), Premium 1%, Metal 1.2% (capped at 100 USDT a month and 5,000 USDT) or 2% (capped at 250 USDT a month and 20,000 USDT), plus a 10% headline rate at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT a month, and a variable “up to 18%” earn rate on Metal balances.

In one sentence: CardFlow if you want a free virtual Mastercard and live in Nigeria or are happy to ask; HyperCard if you want a USD or EUR balance and do not mind the missing fee detail; Card.fi if you want the most fully featured card and are willing to pay more for the privilege.

Who I would recommend the YPT card to

Pulling the threads together, the YPT card is a good fit for a fairly specific reader. If you already hold USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH, if you live outside the short mailing-address blocklist (Egypt, Tunisia, Palestine, Puerto Rico, Tanzania), and if you are comfortable spending from a virtual card via Apple Pay or Google Pay, then the 1% in-USD fee, the $100,000 per-transaction limit, and the unlimited daily ceiling are a hard combination to beat. The insurance-backed custody and the licensed trust company structure are stronger signals than many competitors publish, and the KYC flow is standard.

The YPT card is a worse fit if you need a physical card today, if you rely on ATM cash withdrawals, if you need the issuer’s name on the front page before you sign up, or if you want a fully itemised fee schedule covering issuance, monthly fees and ATM costs. It is also a worse fit if you want to fund the card directly from a bank account, because the documented flow runs through crypto. None of those are dealbreakers, but they are real reasons to slow down.

My short version: if your day-to-day spending already runs through a phone wallet, and if your bank account is the weak link in your financial life, the YPT card is worth a serious look. If your day-to-day spending still relies on a piece of plastic in your pocket, wait until the physical card is no longer marked “coming soon”.

Frequently asked questions

What is the YPT card?

The YPT card is a prepaid card, virtual today and physical “coming soon”, that lets you spend USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH at any merchant that takes a Visa. Crypto is held by a licensed trust company and converted to fiat at the moment of payment, and the card was launched jointly by YPT.COM Company and RedotPay.

How does the YPT card work?

You complete KYC, create a virtual card in the YPT app, send crypto to the wallet address the app shows you, and spend from the card. At the point of sale, YPT converts the crypto balance to fiat and the merchant sees a normal card payment; you do not have to convert manually before you spend.

Is YPT a bank?

No. YPT is a card programme launched by YPT.COM Company and RedotPay, with digital assets held by a licensed trust company. Customer funds in that arrangement are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes, even where insurance of $50 million is in place.

Who owns YPT?

YPT is described as “jointly launched by YPT.COM Company and RedotPay”. The issuing bank behind the card programme is not named on the public page, and YPT does not list ownership beyond those two partners.

Is the YPT card available in my country?

The help centre says the only countries and regions not supported as a mailing address are Egypt, Tunisia, Palestine, Puerto Rico and Tanzania. A billing address is supported even in those places, and the virtual card does not need a physical delivery, so most readers can complete the sign-up.

How do I get the YPT card?

Download the YPT app, complete Sumsub KYC with a passport, identity card or driver’s licence, and create a virtual card. The physical card is still flagged as “coming soon” and the issuance price is not stated.

Does the YPT card require KYC?

Yes. KYC runs through Sumsub and requires your full legal name, date of birth and an identity document. YPT can ask for more if the case needs it, which is the standard pattern for regulated card programmes.

How do I top up the YPT card?

Open the app, pick a currency (USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH), pick the network the app shows you, and send the funds to the address or QR it provides. The minimum top-up is 1 USD equivalent and anything below that will not be credited; unsupported coins or networks are lost.

Can I add the YPT card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Yes. The YPT card can be bound to Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the help centre also mentions “multiple payment platforms”. Tokenisation replaces the card number with a device-specific number, so the underlying PAN is not stored on Apple or Google’s servers.

Is the YPT card safe?

YPT publishes several safety measures: assets held by a licensed trust company with $50 million in insurance, a unique blockchain address per user, Sumsub KYC, a PIN code, and anti-misuse and negative-balance rules. The card still depends on a custodian and on an unnamed card issuer, so it carries the same counterparty and programme-closure risks as any other crypto-funded card.

Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team