The crypto card that made Telegram its front door

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Karta is a crypto payment card that lives inside Telegram. You verify in the app, load it with USDT or USDC from one of eight networks, and spend from a balance that behaves much like a prepaid account rather than a bank account linked to your current account. It is one of the more generous cards in this category on the two things that actually decide whether a card is usable: what it charges you to hold it, and how many ways you can get money into it. It is noticeably weaker on the things that decide whether you can trust it with your balance for years: a company that says outright it is not a bank, an issuer it does not name, and a score out of five on Trustpilot from a very small number of reviews.

Karta works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

My score for Karta is 7.9 out of 10. That number is not a ranking of crypto cards in general. It is my assessment of this card against what you would reasonably want from one, and I break it into the parts below so you can see whether the marks match your priorities. If your problem is that a normal bank card is hard to get, Karta is one of the more sensible options I have looked at. If your problem is that you want a card with a regulated bank behind it, a long public track record, or a dispute process, then the gaps here are real and you should read the later sections before you decide.

The conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score, part by part

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Works in 200+ countries and territories where Visa is accepted; availability depends on local rules and partner coverage
Cost 7 / 10 Virtual Visa activation 5.00 USDT, physical from 100.00 USDT; crypto top-up free; card payments 1.5%; ATM 1.5% + 1 USDT
Top-up options 10 / 10 USDT or USDC on Tron (TRC-20), Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Base, Solana; plus fiat rails
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Karta Finance Inc., not a bank, issuer not named; Trustpilot 3.9 from 25 reviews; unofficial “0% commission” and “25% cashback” claims called misleading
Everyday use 9 / 10 Visa Signature virtual and physical, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM access worldwide
Total 7.9 / 10

The ten out of ten for top-up options is not a marketing flourish. It is the single best feature here, and I explain why in the funding section. The five out of ten for reliability is the one that should govern your decision, and I explain that too.

Who this suits

Who should look elsewhere

The audience I most expect to find this useful is someone whose working life already runs through Telegram and who tops up with multi-network USDT — the kind of person who has three chains open in three apps and wants one card that accepts all of them.

Will they give you the card

Karta says it works in “200+ countries and territories where Visa is accepted”. Read that sentence carefully, because it does two different jobs at once. The first half describes reach: this is not a card restricted to one licensing zone. The second half is a condition: it works *where Visa is accepted*, and the card adds its own condition on top — availability “depends on local regulations and partner coverage”.

That second clause is where the ambiguity lives, and it is the first thing you should check for your own country before anything else. The card’s public pages do not state a country list, and they do not say whether the test is citizenship or residence. If you are a citizen of one country and resident in another, the card gives you no way to tell which one decides. My read is that both can matter: in this industry, sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are routinely applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to country of address, so a card that would open for your address may still not open for your passport.

The practical way to find out is to start the verification flow in the Telegram app and see what the service tells you before you commit money. There is no indication that simply checking this is costly.

What the verification actually involves

Karta describes a single “quick verification (it takes up to 5 minutes)” performed in the app inside Telegram. There is one level, as far as the pages say. The card does not publish what documents are required, what age it applies to, what unlocks you get at which level, or why a verification might be refused. Those gaps are worth naming, because “five minutes” tells you about speed and nothing about depth.

One third-party description, which I am passing on as unofficial and not confirmed by the card, lists what it calls “ID Verification”: email, phone and an identity document, and says that proof of address and a selfie are not required. Treat that as a hint about what to have ready, not as a promise. It carries no date, and the card itself does not confirm it.

Whether a check is light or thorough matters more than it might seem. If you are trying to avoid a bank, you probably already know that a product promising an ordinary Visa without any checks is either misdescribed or temporary. What you are really buying is access with a plausible paper trail, not privacy.

How to get it

The route is short and entirely inside Telegram:

  1. Start the Karta Telegram bot.
  2. Complete the verification — the card says it takes up to five minutes.
  3. Top up to activate the virtual card.

That is the whole sequence. There is no application form, no branch, no separate website account, and no card-reader mailer in the middle. The card itself is a Visa Signature, available in a virtual and a physical version. The card currency is not stated anywhere on the public pages, which matters if you plan to hold a balance in something other than dollars — I come back to that in the costs section.

The physical card takes activation from 100.00 USDT, against 5.00 USDT for the virtual one. Twenty times the price for a piece of plastic. The card does not state which countries it ships to, how long delivery takes, what delivery costs, or what a replacement costs if you lose it. Those are four separate unknowns, and for a card aimed at people who travel, they are not trivial ones. I would not travel somewhere I could not replace the card until you have asked support directly.

The Telegram-first design is the card’s real product decision, and it cuts both ways. For the person I described at the top — someone already living in Telegram, holding USDT on several chains — it is the shortest possible path from money to spendable card anywhere in this category. For someone who does not use Telegram, it is an odd constraint to accept, and one that puts your entire financial relationship with this provider inside a messaging app rather than a banking app.

What “Karta is an app” hides

The card works as an app inside Telegram, and the site does not list App Store or Google Play listings or ratings. One third-party source, undated and unconfirmed by the card, gives the Android app 3.0 stars without saying how many ratings that is based on. A three-star average is not reassuring in isolation, but a three-star average on an unknown number of reviews is close to no information at all. I mention it so you can look for yourself rather than so you can decide on it.

What it really costs: Fees

Here is the honest version, and it is not uniform. Karta charges almost nothing to get in and nothing to load crypto, then takes a percentage on the way out. That shape suits a person who loads in large amounts and spends steadily. It punishes a person who loads small amounts often.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Karta payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card states
Virtual Visa activation 5.00 USDT
Physical Visa activation from 100.00 USDT
Virtual card accounts free
Monthly fee none listed
Crypto top-up free
Card payments 1.5%
SEPA 1.5% + EUR 2
SWIFT (USD) 1.4% + $2
Send to crypto wallets network fee only
ATM cash withdrawal 1.5% + 1 USDT
FX fee not stated separately
Daily and monthly limits not stated
Tiers none — two card types only
Minimum top-up not stated

One footnote on the activation price, because it confuses people: the card’s FAQ shows “30 USDT 5 USDT”, which reads as an old price of 30 USDT struck through and replaced by 5 USDT. The current figure is 5.00 USDT.

What 1.5% actually means for you

Take a coffee at EUR 4. The card pays it, and 1.5% of EUR 4 is about seven cents. Nobody will notice that. Now take a EUR 2,000 flight. 1.5% is EUR 30 — the price of the seat upgrade you did not buy. The percentage is small enough to feel negligible at the point of sale and large enough to matter in aggregate, because it applies to every single payment. If you spend EUR 1,000 a month through this card, you are handing over EUR 15 a month in payment fees alone, on top of whatever the currency conversion costs you.

That is the number I would hold in your head: 1.5% on everything, forever, with no cap and no tier that reduces it.

Three everyday payments

A EUR 12 supermarket shop in Berlin. Card payment fee 1.5% applies, so EUR 0.18. On top of that, the payment is denominated in euros while your balance is denominated in stablecoins. The card does not state a separate foreign-exchange fee, and it does not state the card’s currency. Both gaps sit directly on top of this transaction, so the real cost is 1.5% plus whatever conversion applies, and I cannot tell you the conversion element from the card’s own pages.

A USD 40 subscription paid online from a non-US account. Here you meet the wider payment system rather than Karta. Address verification services compare the numeric parts of your billing address with the issuer’s records; they are mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and are generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. A card issued through a Delaware company and used with a billing address elsewhere is exactly the profile that some merchants decline, and merchants can also look up the first six or eight digits of your card number — the issuer identification number — and see both the issuing institution and its country. This is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. If a subscription declines, this is often the reason, and retrying will not fix it.

A USD 200 ATM withdrawal abroad. The card charges 1.5% plus 1 USDT — so USD 4 on a USD 200 withdrawal. On top of that, the ATM operator may add its own charge, and the withdrawal will convert the balance at whatever rate applies. The card does not state a free allowance, so I would assume there is none until told otherwise. Note also that an unofficial third-party page claims ATM withdrawals are free and unlimited, which directly contradicts the card’s own stated fee; the card’s number is the one I would rely on.

Where the cost score loses a point

I gave cost 7 out of 10 because the entry and load are excellent and the spend fee is ordinary. What holds it back is not the 1.5%. It is the volume of things the card declines to publish: the FX fee, the card currency, the limits, whether there is a free ATM allowance. A reader cannot budget from a page that leaves the largest variable blank. I could put the missing figures next to nothing in the table above precisely because the card’s pages do not carry them.

How to Top up the card

This is where Karta is genuinely ahead of its field, and I would argue 10 out of 10 is right.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Karta starts with a transfer to the right network

You can fund the card with USDT or USDC on eight networks: Tron (TRC-20), Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Base and Solana. Crypto top-up is free — the chain takes its own fee, but that is charged by the network rather than by the card provider. You can also send money by fiat: ACH, SWIFT, domestic wire in USD, SEPA in EUR, PIX in BRL, bank transfer in COP, and SPEI in MXN, varying by country.

For someone who already holds stablecoins, having all eight networks point at one card removes an entire category of mistake. It is the standard way people lose money with these cards: sending USDT on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. The network cannot freeze or return funds, and recovery then depends entirely on the provider choosing to help, with no guarantee. A card that accepts the network you already use, at no charge, is worth more than a card that accepts one network slightly more cheaply.

Two practical warnings that come from the stablecoin world rather than from Karta:

Getting money back out

Withdrawals to external crypto wallets are supported, charged at the “network fee only” — again the chain’s cost, not Karta’s. Bank withdrawals are listed as “coming soon”, which is a phrase I would read literally: if your plan depends on extracting euros to a bank account, this card does not do that yet. What happens to a remaining balance if you close your account is not stated, and given that bank withdrawals do not exist, that question is not academic. Ask before you load money you might want back in cash.

The minimum top-up is not stated. Since the load is free, the only real cost of a small top-up is the chain fee you would pay anyway.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, Karta behaves like a normal card, and that normalcy is the point. It works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, so you tap rather than fish a card out of a wallet. It gives global ATM cash access, at the fee we covered above. It offers 3-D Secure for online payments, Visa’s own version of which is called Visa Secure.

That last one works in a way worth understanding. When you pay online, the issuer assesses the risk of the transaction and either approves it without friction, or challenges you — with a one-time code, or a biometric check. When Apple Pay is involved, the card number is replaced by a device-specific number held in the phone’s secure hardware rather than on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a fresh one-time security code. Issuers can restrict a tokenised number, for instance blocking it on magnetic stripe, phone, or website use only. So a card that supports Apple Pay and Google Pay is, in security terms, a fairly strong setup.

What is not published is almost as interesting:

One more thing about declined payments: a failed authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven. It usually reverses, but until it does, that money is not spendable. Worth remembering before you conclude you are short.

The card claims it is “used monthly by over 20,000 people”. I would note that the card’s public pages carry no news, funding or press section I could see, so treat that figure as the company’s own claim rather than something independently corroborated.

What can go wrong

This is the section I would read twice.

Karta is not a bank, and does not say who is

The operating company is Karta Finance Inc., at 221 W 10th St, 4th Floor, Wilmington, DE 19801, USA. The card states plainly that it is “not a bank” and that its funds are not FDIC insured. It refers to “regulated financial and card-issuing partners” but does not name the issuer, and does not state what licences it holds.

For US readers, that last point has a specific name and a specific check. US money-transmitter rules treat administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money services businesses, while people merely buying goods or services with crypto are not. There is an interim public register of authorised crypto-asset service providers maintained by ESMA in the EU, and in the EU e-money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them — funds that are not bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. Karta names no licence, so you cannot run either check from what the card publishes. That is the core of the 5 out of 10 for reliability, and it is not fixable by reading harder.

Understand what this means practically. The card lists a self-custody wallet, 3-D Secure, encrypted transactions and PIN protection. It does not mention two-factor authentication or an instant card freeze, which are the first two items on any standard list of sensible card safeguards. And the safeguarding position is not stated — you are not told, in the card’s own words, how your balance is protected while it sits there.

Complaints

On Trustpilot, Karta sits at 3.9 out of 5 from 25 reviews. Twenty-five reviews is a very small sample; a single bad month moves that number a lot. Within it the picture is mixed: some reviewers praise how quick the setup is, one says the fees are high, and another says there was too little information before registration. That last complaint is the one that keeps recurring across sources, and it is the same gap I have described three times in this review.

A third-party aggregator, which I am treating as unofficial and unverified, scores Karta Virtual Visa 4.0 out of 10 and flags the “0% commission” marketing as deceptive. It also says the “25% cashback” claims are widely seen as misleading, that cashback is paid in an illiquid token, and that there are extra fees for non-US users and privacy concerns. None of this is confirmed by the card. But it explains something: I have found no fee schedule anywhere that supports a “0% commission” claim, and the card’s own page says 1.5% on card payments. If you encounter that number elsewhere, the card’s own pricing is the one to go by.

The self-custody question

Karta lists a self-custody wallet, which is the better of the two models. With a custodial wallet the provider holds your credentials and you must trust them entirely. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of your private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Crypto transfers are irreversible, so a stolen key has no recovery path.

Self-custody flips the risk onto you: your funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, but you bear sole responsibility for key loss, for phishing, and for clipboard-hijacking malware that silently swaps an address you copied. Neither model is free of risk. The difference is whose mistake ends your balance.

The category’s track record

Karta’s own history is short and its issuer is unnamed, which is why the wider category matters here. Custodial platforms have failed repeatedly: Mt. Gox with about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck with about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network with US$625 million in 2022. On the issuing side, Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; Visa separately suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes.

Closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw whatever remains. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — a single unconfirmed source, offered here only as an illustration of how the sequence works, not as a claim about Karta. Karta is not any of these cases. But the card does not name its issuer, and if that issuer were ever suspended, the mechanism would work the same way.

Currency risk you did not sign up for

Your balance is dollars. If the peg slips, your balance slips. This is not theoretical: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Roughly 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation sits in USDT and USDC, and stablecoins can be frozen — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list. The world of crypto card balances is not a risk-free substitute for a current account.

Where I would check for trouble early

What to take instead

I am including three cards I looked at, mainly to show where Karta’s strengths stop being advantages. They are not endorsements.

Azul Card, 5.3 / 10. Virtual only — no physical card, though one may come later. Works anywhere Mastercard is accepted, with the balance in USD. Card creation is $20 one-time, refunded after $2,000 in spending, and monthly maintenance is $5. Crypto top-up is 4% and there is a $0.25 per-transaction charge; the FX fee is not stated. Available worldwide except Russia, Belarus, North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Sudan, Venezuela, Ukraine and the Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions — and the restrictions apply regardless of your nationality. Crypto is sent to the card in Telegram, but the pages I read do not name which coins or networks; first top-up takes up to ten minutes, later ones one to five.

Telecard, 6.1 / 10. Virtual Mastercard, instant, no physical or metal card. The standard plan is $5 one-time; VIP is $49 setup then $19 per month, with a $15 reissuance. The main page says signing up is free with no monthly fee on the basic plan, and there is a $99 minimum deposit to activate, which the card states is “NOT a fee” because it stays in your wallet. Currency conversion is 1.5% on non-USD payments, a 0.5 USDT gas fee applies per successful card transaction, and FX and cross-border fees are “up to 3% each”. It supports USDT on Tron or Ethereum, USDC on Ethereum; Polygon is not supported, though the main page also lists ETH and TRX while the help page does not. No cashback rate is specified, only referral points. On availability, the site says over 150 countries, but publishes no list of which; the terms only bar users “blocked or sanctioned by the United States Government, including OFAC”.

OnCards, 4.6 / 10. Virtual only, a “virtual Mastercard / Visa card directly in your Telegram”, with the network not fixed and the card currency not stated. You fund it with USDT on BEP20; bank transfers are not accepted. Fees are described as “simple and clear” with no amounts given, and no country information is published at all.

Karta Azul Telecard OnCards
My score 7.9 5.3 6.1 4.6
Card Visa Signature, virtual + physical Virtual Mastercard only Virtual Mastercard only Virtual, network not fixed
Activation 5.00 USDT virtual, from 100.00 USDT physical $20, refunded after $2,000 spent $5 standard; $99 minimum deposit, not a fee not stated
Monthly fee none listed $5 none on basic plan not stated
Card payment fee 1.5% $0.25 per transaction 0.5 USDT per transaction not stated
Conversion fee not stated not stated 1.5% on non-USD not stated
Crypto top-up free 4% advertised as 0% not stated
Networks 8 named, USDT and USDC not named on pages read USDT/USDC, Ethereum and Tron USDT BEP20
Cashback claimed, rate not stated none stated referral points only not stated

Against that table, Karta’s case is specific. It is the only one of the four that publishes its fee percentages, names its networks, and offers a physical card. It is also the only one that publishes nothing at all about its limits or its tier structure — though on tiers there is nothing to publish, since it has two card types and no levels.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Karta to someone in this position, and I would be fairly confident about it: you cannot easily open an ordinary bank card where you are, you use Telegram anyway, and you already hold USDT or USDC across more than one chain. In that situation the card does something concrete for you — it converts a crypto balance into a Visa you can tap, at 1.5% a payment and nothing to load, in a format that works in most of the world.

I would not recommend it as a primary card for someone with meaningful savings, because the balance sits with a company that says it is not a bank, is not FDIC insured, does not name its issuer, and publishes no safeguarding terms. That is not a criticism of the card’s honesty — it is unusually direct about being a non-bank — it is a statement about where risk sits. If the provider closes or the issuer is suspended, your exit is whatever the network fee for a withdrawal costs, and only once support agrees to process it.

Two narrower cases. If you need physical plastic that arrives to a specific address, ask about delivery first; the card states none of it. If you are considering it for cashback, wait — the rate is not published and one third-party source says the advertised figure is misleading and paid in an illiquid token.

And a general word, because it applies beyond this card. Every crypto card routes through at least two sets of rules: the card network’s rules, set by Visa or Mastercard, who do not issue these cards to consumers themselves and can suspend a programme; and the rules of whoever actually issued it. Nobody named in this review gives you a deposit guarantee.

Frequently asked questions

What is Karta card?

Karta is a Visa Signature payment card you manage inside Telegram rather than a banking app. You verify once, load the card with USDT or USDC, and it spends that balance like a prepaid card — the balance cannot go negative, because there is nothing to overdraw. There is a virtual version and a physical one. The company behind it, Karta Finance Inc., states plainly that it is not a bank and its funds are not FDIC insured.

How does Karta card work?

Three steps: start the Karta Telegram bot, complete a verification the card says takes up to five minutes, and top up to activate the virtual card. After that it behaves like an ordinary Visa — you can add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, pay online with 3-D Secure, and withdraw cash at ATMs worldwide. Each payment costs 1.5%, and loading crypto is free; the blockchain charges its own network fee for the deposit.

Is Karta a bank?

No. Karta Finance Inc. is registered at 221 W 10th St, 4th Floor, Wilmington, DE 19801, USA, and describes itself as “not a bank”, not FDIC insured. It says it works through “regulated financial and card-issuing partners” but does not name the issuer, and does not state which licences it holds. That is the single most important thing to understand before loading money.

Who owns Karta?

The card names Karta Finance Inc., a Delaware-registered company, and gives a Wilmington, Delaware address. It does not publish a founding date, funding history, or news on the pages I read, so I cannot tell you who backs it or how long it has operated. The only scale figure offered is a company claim that it is “used monthly by over 20,000 people”.

Is Karta card available in my country?

Karta says it works in “200+ countries and territories where Visa is accepted”, while adding that availability “depends on local regulations and partner coverage”. The pages do not list countries, and do not say whether the test is citizenship or residence. Since that decides the answer for you, start the verification flow in the app and see what it tells you before committing any money.

Does Karta card require KYC?

Yes. There is one “quick verification (it takes up to 5 minutes)” in the app. The card does not state which documents, what age it applies to, or why a check might be refused. A third-party page, unofficial and undated, says email, phone and an identity document are required and that proof of address and a selfie are not — useful to prepare for, but not confirmed by Karta.

How do I activate a Karta card?

The virtual card activates when you top up after verification; activation is priced at 5.00 USDT. The FAQ shows “30 USDT 5 USDT”, which appears to be an old price of 30 struck through and replaced by 5. The physical card takes activation from 100.00 USDT — twenty times as much — and the card publishes nothing about delivery countries, timing, cost or replacement.

What fees does Karta charge?

Card payments cost 1.5% and ATM withdrawals 1.5% plus 1 USDT. Loading crypto is free; virtual card accounts are free and no monthly fee is listed. SEPA is 1.5% plus EUR 2, SWIFT in USD is 1.4% plus $2, and sending to an external crypto wallet costs the network fee only. What is not stated: any separate foreign-exchange fee, the card currency, and limits.

Is Karta card safe?

“Safer” than what, is the honest framing. The card lists a self-custody wallet, 3-D Secure, encrypted transactions and PIN protection, and it works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, which store a device-specific token rather than your card number. But it is not a bank, is not FDIC insured, does not name its issuer, and does not state how your balance is safeguarded. Two-factor authentication and card freeze are not mentioned. Load what you can afford to hold.

Is Karta card worth it?

Worth it if you have USDT across several chains and no easy route to a normal Visa, because the eight supported networks and the free crypto top-up are genuinely good. Less worth it if you spend heavily, since 1.5% on every payment adds up fast, or if you are chasing cashback, since the rate is not published and third-party sources call the advertised figures misleading. For long-term balance storage, look for a named, licensed issuer instead.

Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team