The Bitget card turns a self-custody wallet into an everyday payment card — free to hold, cheap to use, and thin on support

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Bitget card is a payment card issued by Bitget Wallet that spends directly from a self-custody wallet holding USDT, USDC, ETH or SOL. There is no annual fee and no monthly card fee. What you pay is a conversion fee of 0.05%, a foreign exchange fee of 1.7%, and — if you want a piece of plastic — $49 for a physical card in the Asia-Pacific region. If you are the kind of person who already keeps crypto in their own wallet and wants to pay for coffee, groceries and travel with it, that is a genuinely useful thing to have. If you are looking for a bank account in a country you cannot otherwise open one in, it is worth understanding exactly what this is and is not.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Bitget works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 2026.

I gave it 6.8 out of 10. That is not a bad score for what this card is. It is a good tool for a specific person, built by people who clearly understood crypto, with support and transparency that are the weakest part of the package.

Who this card suits, and who it does not

The short version: the Bitget card suits people who already hold stablecoins in a self-custody wallet and want to spend them without converting to a bank balance first. It does not suit people who need a bank account, a credit line, salary account, or anything with deposit protection. It also does not suit people in the United States, who cannot get it at all as far as anyone can confirm.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bitget starts with a transfer to the right network

Where it earns marks and where it does not:

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Issued in 50+ countries and regions, including the EEA, the UK, Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Singapore, South Africa, Pakistan and Bangladesh, with more regions said to be opening soon
Cost 7 / 10 No annual fee and no monthly fee; FX 1.7%, conversion fee 0.05%, a physical card in APAC at $49, and bank ATM fees of 1% or $5
Top-up options 8 / 10 USDT, USDC, ETH and SOL, funded into a self-custodial wallet you control
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Issues Bitget Wallet, but issuing partners are not named, Trustpilot shows 3.4 out of 5 across 82 reviews for the card, and support is weak
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual card everywhere, physical only in parts of Asia and Australia; Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayPal, Alipay and WeChat Pay; bank ATMs on the physical card
Total 6.8 / 10 A well-built crypto wallet card with a thin safety net underneath it

You will not find account tiers here. Bitget describes one card, one wallet, and one rewards programme. What decides whether it works for you is whether you are comfortable holding crypto yourself.

Will they give you the card

Yes, in a wide part of the world — 50+ countries and regions, including the European Economic Area, the United Kingdom, Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Singapore, South Africa, Pakistan and Bangladesh, with “more regions opening soon” as the official wording.

The important caveat is the United States. Multiple unofficial sources report that it is not available there, and I could not find the card’s own public pages confirming this. So treat it as unofficial but plausible. Other unsupported countries are not listed at all.

That gap is worth dwelling on, because it is the single fact that decides the question for a lot of readers. A card that is unavailable in the US, unavailable in a country you can name as your residence, or unavailable to you on grounds of citizenship is a hard no. There is no partial access, no waiting list, no branch of the application where you can slip through.

There is also an unofficial report worth knowing about: one third-party site describes cards being closed with a small balance deduction when proof-of-address review failed, and lists Nigeria as not open. Two sources, neither from Bitget, both pointing the same way — that this is a card where documentation problems can end the relationship rather than delay it. I would not treat that as a rule; I would treat it as a reason to have your documents in order before you apply.

One more thing about country rules generally, because people ask this constantly and it is not card-specific. Card providers screen nationality and country of birth separately from your address, because sanctions screening works that way. Your ID has to be accepted, not just where you live. And it is not always written down: the citizenship rule for this card is not stated on its public pages.

How to get it

You apply inside the app, and the route is short: Wallet, then Card, then submit your ID. If your information is complete, approval can take about a minute.

What you get is a virtual card, available immediately. The card network is Visa or Mastercard, and which one you get depends on your region — the issuing partner is not the same everywhere. The currency of the card is not stated on the public pages.

A physical card is a different story. It is available in Singapore, South Korea, Japan, Vietnam, Malaysia, Taiwan, Australia, Thailand and the Philippines, and the application terms are citizens or residents of those places, with an employment pass or proof of address. It costs $49 including international shipping, taken from your card balance — though Bitget offsets that if you invite three friends. Delivery is by FedEx, and if it has not arrived after two weeks you contact support. There is a helpful recovery path: if you lose the physical card, freeze it, get a new virtual card with a new number, and reapply for the physical one. Delivery time is not stated.

There are no tiers — no upgraded status you unlock, no different verification level for higher limits. There is one identity check when you apply, approval in about a minute, and a help article on applying and verifying identity. Proof of address and age requirements are not stated.

One unofficial detail: one user reports getting Mastercard in Europe. Nobody names the issuing partner.

Fees and what a payment really costs

There is no annual fee, no monthly card fee, no interest markup, and no stated issuance fee for the virtual card. The number you will feel most is the FX fee at 1.7%, and the conversion fee at 0.05%.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bitget payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Annual fee None
Monthly card fee None
Interest markup None
Virtual card issuance Free
Physical card, APAC 49 USD including international shipping, deducted from card balance
Conversion fee 0.05%
Foreign exchange fee 1.7%
ATM fee, physical card 1% of the amount or 5 USD per transaction, whichever is higher; some ATMs add their own
ATM limits 3,000 USD per transaction; 10,000 USD daily, maximum 20 withdrawals; 100,000 USD monthly, maximum 30; counts toward the daily spend limit
Daily spending limit 50,000 USD
Annual spending limit 990,000 USD

Those limits and the ATM fees come from the APAC physical card FAQ, so treat them as region-specific. The spending limit figure for other regions is not stated — the page just points to the rules on the in-app Card page.

There is one thing here that genuinely improves the maths. Once your monthly spend reaches a certain threshold, Bitget’s Assetback programme typically covers your top-up and conversion fees, and standard fees apply only beyond that allowance. The exact amounts on each side of that line are not stated. The idea is that a card you use heavily gets cheaper to use, which is the opposite of how most card fees work.

Now the three payments that show what this really means.

A $12 coffee in your own currency. You spend $12 of stablecoins, the conversion fee of 0.05% is $0.006, and there is no FX fee because no currency changed hands. This is the case the card is built for, and it is close to free.

A $60 train ticket bought while you are abroad in euros. Now the 1.7% FX fee applies, which is about $1.02, plus the 0.05% conversion fee on the underlying conversion — about 3 cents. So roughly a dollar for a ticket. Below your monthly allowance, Assetback may absorb both.

A $300 hotel booking, declined once. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days — up to seven is typical. If that happens on a $300 balance, you cannot spend that money for nearly a week while the shop waits. Nothing in the card’s documents describes a shorter or card-specific timeline, so plan around the worst case rather than the average.

One thing you should know about the fee documentation. Top-up fees are listed as 1% in the Bitget help centre and 0% in Bitget’s blog articles — the company contradicting itself. Unofficial sources also suggest the physical card is exempt from the FX fee up to $600 a month. I have not counted that exemption into the table above because I could not confirm it.

How to top it up

You fund the card with USDT, USDC, ETH or SOL, sent to the wallet the card spends from. There is no minimum top-up stated.

The critical detail is the network. A blockchain transfer sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee — transfers are irreversible by design. That single point causes more lost money than fees ever will, so check the network before you confirm, every time.

There is no stated top-up fee figure, but Assetback typically covers most top-up and currency conversion fees, with standard fees applying beyond the monthly allowance. The conversion fee is 0.05%.

What happens if you lose the wallet or the seed phrase is not fully described, and it is worth knowing before you need it: if the wallet or seed is lost, an already-activated card still spends, but topping up, withdrawing from the card, and card recovery become impossible. Your money does not vanish on the spot, but you lose the ability to add to it or get it back through the card. That is the price of self-custody, and it is the same trade-off every self-custody wallet makes.

Paying with it every day

The virtual card works wherever Visa or Mastercard is accepted. You can link Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayPal, WeChat Pay and Alipay from inside the app, which is how most people will actually use it day to day.

The rewards programme is called Assetback. Every cardholder gets 2% back, rising to 3% for new users or once you reach a monthly spend threshold, paid in BTC, gold, US stocks or USDC — and you can change that choice once per calendar month. Certain merchant category codes are excluded from rewards, and refunded, reversed or cancelled transactions do not earn it. Bitget does not describe any blocked spending categories, which is a real difference from cards that block gambling and adult sites outright.

Two operational details that affect whether a purchase goes through. Merchant category codes are the four-digit numbers that classify a business, and certain of them are excluded from rewards here. And because a card number starts with a BIN that merchants can look up, a card issued in one country can read as foreign to a shop in another — which is a normal reason a payment gets declined and nothing to do with anything you did wrong.

The app is the Bitget Wallet app, with the card under Wallet and Card. I did not read the store ratings, so I cannot tell you how people rate it in the app stores, and I would rather say that than guess.

What can go wrong

This is where the card loses most of its marks, and it is the section I would read twice.

Nobody will tell you who issues the card. Bitget Wallet issues it, the issuing partner varies by region and is not named, and no licences are stated. One reviewer mentions OSL Pay. That chain matters more than it sounds: the Visa and Mastercard networks do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. So your money sits with a named-in-law issuer in a region you may not be able to identify. An EMI in the EU can issue e-money and payment cards but cannot lend, and must safeguard customer funds in segregated accounts or insurance — funds that are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme.

Support is the worst part of the card. Trustpilot shows 3.4 out of 5 for the Bitget Wallet Card across 82 reviews, which a third-party site scores lowest for support and transparency. The themes are consistent: automated generic replies, and Bitget not answering the reviews. The exchange itself sits far lower, around 2 out of 5 across roughly 2,000 reviews, with support and account-verification disputes the recurring subject, and one reviewer saying Bitget and a partner stopped responding after a loss. I found no official incidents recorded.

A previous Bitget card reportedly closed to new customers. Unofficial sources report the exchange-branded Bitget Card stopped accepting new applications on 1 August 2026, while the physical Bitget card press release is dated 1 April 2026. If that is what happened to you, the card you had may not be the card you get now — and it is a reminder that these programmes move.

Programmes get shut down. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing every Visa programme it had issued. Closures normally run through a notice period, then stop spending and loading, then ask you to withdraw what is left.

Self-custody cuts both ways. Keeping your own keys means no custodian can lose them — Mt. Gox at about $350 million reported stolen across 2011–2014, Coincheck at about $400 million in 2018, Ronin Network at $625 million in 2022 are all things that happened to other people’s custodians. It also means the seed phrase, typically 12 to 24 words, is the whole of your protection: anyone who gets it restores the wallet and spends the funds, transfers are irreversible, and the network cannot freeze or return anything.

The mitigations exist and are cheap. You can freeze the card instantly under Card and Manage and Freeze Card. Bitget links to a Protection fund whose contents I did not read. Use app-based two-factor authentication and spending limits, and expect a hold of up to seven days after a declined authorisation.

Stablecoins are not risk-free. About 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation sits in USDT and USDC. Circle says USDC is fully backed by cash and cash equivalents with monthly reserve attestations, and redeemable 1:1 for dollars. Both can still lose their peg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC wobbled in March 2023. Tether also disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list, so these are not censorship-proof assets.

The pattern in all of this: this is a well-made tool resting on a thin set of legal and support guarantees. The card mechanics look solid. The institution around them is where the risk lives.

What to take instead

I looked at three alternatives. None is clearly better, but each fails differently, and which one hurts you least depends on where you are.

Bitget TokenPocket MetaMask KAST
Score 6.8 / 10 5.8 / 10 7.1 / 10 6.1 / 10
Countries 50+ incl. EEA, UK, Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Singapore, South Africa, Pakistan, Bangladesh European list for Visa; Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, UK and others for Mastercard 45 listed countries/territories, others on a waitlist; US and UK sign-ups temporarily closed per FAQ Residence list shown at KYC, not published
Card Virtual; physical in parts of Asia and Australia Virtual (Fiat24), on Arbitrum Virtual instantly; metal pre-orderable, one per user Virtual and physical, up to 10 cards, Visa tiers
Annual or monthly fee None None beyond a partly-covered NFT fee Virtual free; metal $199/year Standard 0; Premium 1,000/year; Private 10,000/year; 1/month inactivity after 12 months
FX fee 1.7% Not stated None, Mastercard rate used 0.5%–1.75% by country and programme
Funding USDT, USDC, ETH, SOL Crypto deposits, networks not listed Spends from connected wallet; Linea, Base, Monad, Solana USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD on several networks
Rewards 2% base, up to 3%, in BTC/gold/US stocks/USDC No cashback; the 1% deposit fee refunded later 1% virtual, 3% metal capped at first $10,000, in mUSD USD cashback 1.5%/2%/3% by tier, up to monthly caps

MetaMask scores highest at 7.1, largely on clarity. It names its issuer, Monovate, and its card provider, Crypto Life. No FX fee. A free virtual card issued instantly, with metal at $199 a year. What it charges you is narrowness: 45 listed countries, US and UK sign-ups temporarily closed, one card per user, and spending tied to specific networks and tokens. If you want a named legal issuer more than you want breadth, this is the one.

KAST at 6.1 is the most explicit about who is allowed in and what it costs, which is refreshing. Its address-based acceptance criteria are stated plainly, its stablecoin top-up and USD spending are both 0%, and cashback runs 1.5% to 3% by tier. The prices are not for everyone: Premium is $1,000 a year, Private $10,000, plus delivery and an inactivity fee.

TokenPocket at 5.8 is the weakest on this evidence. It charges 1% to deposit cryptocurrency into the card, refunded later through rewards, and its country coverage is split across two card networks with the Americas planned rather than live.

If none of these fits, that is a legitimate conclusion. The honest summary is that this category is young, and the best sign of quality is a card that names its issuer and publishes its support record.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Bitget card to someone who already runs a self-custody wallet, already thinks in USDT or USDC, and wants to spend that balance in an ordinary shop without a bank in between. If you travel across currencies, the 1.7% FX fee is worth knowing but not frightening. If you spend steadily, the Assetback allowance at $200–$400 a month may cover your top-up and conversion costs entirely.

I would not recommend it as a way to solve a banking problem. It is not a bank account, it carries no deposit guarantee, the issuer is not named, and support is the part of this card most likely to disappoint you at the worst moment. If your need is an ordinary card you can rely on for rent, wages and anything that must not fail, keep looking until you find one with a named issuer and a published support record — and treat the crypto card as what it is: spending money you already decided to hold in crypto.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bitget card?

It is a Visa or Mastercard payment card that spends directly from a self-custody crypto wallet rather than a bank account. You load it with USDT, USDC, ETH or SOL, and each purchase converts the crypto and deducts it. Bitget Wallet issues it, with a regional issuing partner that the card’s public pages do not name.

How does the Bitget card work?

You top up your wallet, convert or load a balance, and the card spends it like a prepaid card. Crypto is converted at the point of payment, with a 0.05% conversion fee. Because it draws on a stored balance rather than a credit line, it cannot overdraw — and if you lose your seed phrase, an activated card keeps spending but topping up and withdrawal become impossible.

Is Bitget a bank?

No. Bitget is a crypto exchange and the issuer here is Bitget Wallet, with partners varying by region and unnamed. A card is a payment service regulated separately from crypto rules, and funds held by such an issuer are safeguarded rather than banked — they are not deposits and may not have deposit guarantee coverage.

Who owns Bitget, and is it regulated?

Bitget is a crypto exchange business, and the card comes from its wallet arm. Its issuing partners vary by region and are not named, no licences are stated on the public pages, and I found no licence information from third-party sources either. One reviewer mentions OSL Pay as a partner, which I could not confirm.

Which countries can get the Bitget card?

It is issued in 50+ countries and regions, including the EEA, the UK, Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Singapore, South Africa, Pakistan and Bangladesh, with more regions said to be opening soon. It is not available in the United States according to unofficial sources, which the card’s own pages do not confirm. Nigeria also appears as not open on one third-party site.

Does the Bitget card require KYC?

Yes — identity verification in the app, via Wallet, Card, then submit your ID. Approval can take about a minute if your information is complete. There are no tiers and no stated proof-of-address or age requirements. Because nationality is screened separately from address, your ID must be accepted, not just where you live.

How do I top up the Bitget card?

You send USDT, USDC, ETH or SOL to the wallet behind it, and no minimum is stated. The detail that matters is the network — a transfer on an unsupported network, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee, because transfers are irreversible.

How much does the Bitget card cost to use?

There is no annual fee and no monthly fee. You pay a 0.05% conversion fee and a 1.7% foreign exchange fee, and a $49 fee for a physical card in the Asia-Pacific region. ATM withdrawals cost 1% of the amount or $5, whichever is higher, and standard fees stop applying once monthly spend passes $200–$400.

Is the Bitget card safe to use?

The card mechanics look sound: instant freeze, virtual card numbers, and spending limits, with crypto held in your own wallet rather than a custodian’s. The weak points are around it — the issuing partner is unnamed, licences are not stated, Trustpilot shows 3.4 out of 5 across 82 reviews with weak support, and programmes like this have been wound down before.

Is Bitget card worth it?

Worth it if you already hold USDT or USDC in self-custody and want to spend it in ordinary shops; not worth it if you need a bank account, deposit protection, or reliable human support. The free virtual card and 2% base rewards are genuinely attractive, while the unnamed issuer and weak support record are the reasons I would not rely on it for anything critical.

Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team