A crypto-balance card that skips card fees but hides who issues it

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The LBank card is not a bank card in the ordinary sense. It is a payment card issued inside a crypto exchange, and everything about it follows from that: the money sits in your exchange account, the card spends that balance, and the institution behind the plastic is not named on the pages I could read. If you already keep funds at LBank and spend straight from your Spot balance, that is a genuinely useful shape for a card. If you are looking for an ordinary bank card with a crypto top-up on the side, this is a different product and the comparison below will tell you whether it is the right one.

LBank works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I scored it 6.8 out of 10. The card itself is unusually good at the everyday mechanics — free issuance on the virtual card, no annual fee, no top-up fee, Apple Pay and Google Pay, cashback that rises with your exchange tier. What holds it back is everything around those features: no named issuing bank, no published licence for the card, no stated card currency, no published limits, and a very unhappy body of reviews about the exchange that runs it.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.8 out of 10

Here is how the score breaks down, criterion by criterion.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up LBank starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Open to users outside prohibited countries; an earlier list of restricted ones includes US, mainland China, Canada, Hong Kong, Macao, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Sudan
Cost 8 / 10 Virtual issuance, annual and top-up fees all waived; physical card carries a “low” issuance fee; 0.8% transaction fee on both
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDT and other supported coins come straight off the Spot balance; no networks involved, which is convenient but means no card-specific funding rails
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Issuer and card licences not named; 325 Trustpilot reviews on the exchange, 82% one-star — frozen withdrawals, disputed liquidations. The card is not mentioned in those reviews
Everyday use 10 / 10 Virtual 8 Card Instant and physical 8 Card GO, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM on the physical card

The full total is 6.8 / 10.

Who this suits: people who already hold a balance at LBank, who are comfortable leaving funds in a custodial exchange account, and who want to turn crypto into everyday spending without a separate on-ramp. Cash sits in the app, the card spends it, and unused USDT earns a yield.

Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a named, licensed bank behind the card. Anyone in one of the restricted countries. Anyone who wants the card to be independent of the exchange’s solvency — because it is not independent at all, it is a feature of the account. And anyone who wants hard numbers on limits, card currency or FX rate before signing up, because the card’s public pages do not give them.

Will they give you the card?

They will, if you are outside the prohibited countries and clear identity verification. That is the short version, and it is thinner than it sounds.

LBank’s own wording is that the card is “available to users outside prohibited countries”. The full list lives in LBank’s User Service Agreement, which I did not read. An earlier check of the same page listed the US, mainland China, Canada, Hong Kong SAR, Macao SAR, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria and Sudan among the restricted ones.

That list deserves two careful readings. First, it is an earlier check, not the agreement itself, so treat it as a signpost rather than the rule. Second, and more importantly for you: eligibility to hold an exchange account is not the same as eligibility to get a card. Countries can restrict the card while leaving the exchange open, and the card page itself does not publish a country list. If your country is anywhere near the boundary, the only reliable answer is the answer you get from the app after you verify — not from any page I could read.

One more thing that is worth understanding before you apply, because it is not specific to this card. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from where you live. Sanctions screening is usually applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address, so a citizen of a restricted country living legally elsewhere is in a different position from a resident of that country who holds another passport. I am not telling you how to work around anything — I am telling you why “I live in a permitted country” is not a complete answer to “can I get this card”.

How to get it

The route is short, and it runs entirely inside the app.

If your materials are complete, LBank says issuance can take as little as 1 minute. Treat that as a best case for the virtual card, not a schedule. What the card pages do not say: whether proof of address is required, whether an age check is run, and which KYC tier your account will end up at. Those three are not stated. That is a real gap, not me being cautious — if you are someone for whom an unexplained document request would be a problem, you want to know that before you start rather than after.

There are two card products, and they are not versions of one another:

Both work at merchants that accept Visa. The card currency is not stated, which matters more than it sounds — I come back to it in the fees section.

The physical card is ordered through an “Apply for physical card” flow. Countries, delivery time and delivery cost are not stated. So before you order, the honest position is: you do not know when it arrives, you do not know where it is shipped from, and you do not know what it costs to ship.

Fees and limits: what it really costs

The headline numbers are good. The per-payment numbers are where the structure shows.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a LBank payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

LBank’s own table of fees and limits, as published:

Item 8 Card Instant 8 Card GO
Issuance Waived A “low” fee, amount not stated
Annual fee Waived 0
Top-up fee 0 0
Transaction fee 0.8% 0.8%
ATM Not applicable Covered, fee and allowance not stated
Card currency Not stated Not stated
FX rate Not stated Not stated

Now let me walk three everyday payments through it, because a 0.8% fee only means something once you see it against a price.

The coffee you buy with your phone. Apple Pay is supported, so the card number goes into your wallet and the payment goes through as a tokenised, device-specific number — Apple Pay replaces the real card number with a per-device account number, and each tap carries a one-time security code. The 0.8% transaction fee applies. The cashback line is where this gets interesting: 10% cashback on coffee purchases, capped at 10 USDT per month per user. On a 3 USDT coffee that is a real rebate, larger than the fee you paid. That is the single best-value use of this card, and it is not a coincidence — coffee is exactly where a small flat rebate beats a percentage charge.

The 40 EUR subscription you pay online. Here the 0.8% is 0.32 EUR, before anything else. If the merchant prices in a currency your card does not natively hold, you are also inside the cross-currency rule: cross-currency payments follow Visa’s clearing result and may differ from the amount that was authorised. The rate itself is not stated. So you can end up paying more than the sticker price by an amount that depends on a rate LBank does not publish. On a subscription you pay every month, that uncertainty repeats every month.

The cash you take out. Only the physical 8 Card GO covers ATM use. The fee and the allowance are not stated, and daily and monthly limits are not stated either — they “depend on card tier and account status”, and no figures appear on the page. If cash is part of why you want a card, this is the section where LBank tells you the least, and you should find out before you rely on it.

Two more fees you should know about. There is an authorisation fee charged when you bind a card, and it is charged whether or not the binding succeeds — the amount is not stated. And one structural point that is easy to miss: many crypto cards behave like prepaid cards, drawing on a stored balance rather than on a linked bank account. In that model the card cannot overdraw, which is reassuring, but it also means the card is spending money you have already converted, not money a bank is extending to you.

How to top it up

Top-up is the simplest thing about this card, and it is genuinely simple because almost nothing happens.

That last pair is the ones to sit with. There is no minimum published, and there is no published route for adding fiat directly to the card. In practice the model is: you hold crypto on the exchange, you spend from the Spot balance, and the card is a view onto that balance rather than a separate pot of money you fund. For someone already inside LBank that is a clean setup. For someone who wants to walk into a shop, hand over dollars, and have a card balance appear, it is the wrong shape.

The convenience comes with a boundary worth naming. Freezing or cancelling a card does not affect your deposits or withdrawals from the account balance — cancellation is permanent. So a card freeze is a spending control, not an account control, and a mistaken cancellation is not undoable. Think of it as pulling one card out of your wallet, not closing the account.

One more category fact that belongs here even though it is not about this card: on-chain network fees for a deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. Here that does not bite, because there is no separate chain transfer to make. If you have used other crypto cards where you had to pick a network, you will notice the absence.

Paying with it every day

Day-to-day, this card is well equipped. That is what the 10 out of 10 in the everyday-use column is measuring.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, which covers most in-person spending without touching the plastic. On the virtual card that is the main reason to have one. The physical card works at Visa-accepting merchants.

ATM access is on the physical 8 Card GO only.

Cashback follows your LBank VIP level, paid monthly per user:

Level Cashback Monthly cap Qualification
VIP0–VIP2 0.8% 10 USDT None stated
VIP3–VIP4 1% 30 USDT At least 1,500 USDT spent the previous month
VIP5–VIP6 1.2% 100 USDT At least 5,000 USDT
SVIP 2% 250 USDT At least 20,000 USDT
Coffee purchases 10% 10 USDT None stated

If you qualify on both the tier rate and the coffee rate, the higher one applies. What the cashback is paid in is not stated — and that is not a small thing, because if it arrives in a token rather than in spendable balance, its value depends on that token.

The app is the LBank App on iOS and Android. I did not read store ratings.

When something goes wrong with a payment, merchant refunds “generally return to the original payment method” — generally, not always. For a suspicious transaction the documented move is to freeze the card and contact support. Time frames are not stated, which is unhelpful precisely when you need one.

What can go wrong

Three things, in order of how much they should worry you.

The issuer is not named. LBank says “LBank issues the card”. The issuing bank or e-money institution behind it is not stated, and neither are the licences that apply to the card. This is the single biggest gap on the page, and it is not a technicality. A payment card sits on top of somebody’s licence. The network — Visa here — licenses issuers and can suspend programmes; in November 2022 Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. None of that is a prediction about LBank. It is a reminder that the card’s continuity is tied to a regulatory relationship whose other end you cannot see on this page.

Your funds are custodial. They are held in the LBank app, in an exchange account. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key, and here that is LBank. That is the trade you are making when you use this card, and it is a reasonable trade for a small spending balance — but it is a trade. Custodial platforms have a record: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). The lighter side of the same coin: losing the physical card does not put your funds at risk, and idle USDT earns a yield. Freeze and unfreeze the card any time through Card Management.

The exchange’s reputation is not good. I found no card-specific complaints, which is worth saying plainly — and is also worth weighing against the fact that the card is young enough that complaints may not have accumulated. What is there is about the exchange. On Trustpilot, LBank has 325 reviews (79 in the last 12 months) with 82% at one star, read 2026-10-21; the overall rating is unavailable “due to a breach of guidelines”. Themes from user reports: frozen withdrawals (Jun–Oct 2026), disputed futures liquidations (Aug–Sep 2026), fiat deposits not credited (Jul 2026). The card is not mentioned in any of those reviews, so you should not read them as card reports. You should read them as reports about the institution that holds your money and operates the card. That is the honest weight to put on them.

Support is stated as “24/7 customer service”, with [email protected] the address named in company replies on Trustpilot. News and announcements about the card are not stated on the pages I read.

What to take instead

Three alternatives, with what I could actually verify about each.

Coinbase Card — 6.4 / 10. Available in all US states except Hawaii; no other countries. A Visa prepaid debit card, virtual or physical, spending cash or crypto, with crypto converted to US dollars for purchases and ATM withdrawals. “Zero spending fees and no annual fees”. The catch is that there are no Coinbase transaction fees but a spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells or trades — so you pay inside the conversion, at the moment of payment. Funding is by linking a bank account or depositing part of a paycheck; the crypto balance on Coinbase is spent and converted to USD. Optional crypto rewards on every purchase for US Card users, at a variable rate shown in the app, chosen from rotating rewards. If you are in the US, this is the comparison worth making, because its eligibility is stated in plain terms.

OKX — 6.2 / 10. EU plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026; Iceland and Liechtenstein are excluded. It is a Mastercard, euro-denominated virtual debit card linked to OKX Pay and issued by OKX Europe Ltd., a MiCAR-licensed entity; no physical card is mentioned. Card fee: none. There is no transaction fee and no OKX FX fee, but a conversion spread applies: 0.1% for standard use, or up to 0.4% per market rates. Funding is USDC or USDG held in OKX Pay via Convert or an external deposit; other coins must be converted first; there is no auto top-up and payments are declined if the balance is insufficient. Cashback is available on USDG purchases — USDC earns none — with rates from 2% to 5% (up to 10% for VIP levels) and a 30-day launch promo offering 15% to 20% for new users. Compared with LBank’s flat 0.8%, OKX’s conversion spread is far lower — which is the single most consequential difference between the two.

Young Card — 5.7 / 10. Who can get it, the card itself, costs, fees and funding are not stated officially. What is stated: cashback is paid in YNG tokens, at a rate by Club tier — Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%, with Bronze and Silver not stated. I would not rank a card on this basis. A rewards rate paid in the platform’s own token, with the eligibility basics unpublished, is a claim rather than an offer.

Who I would recommend it to

To someone who already uses LBank as their exchange, holds USDT or another supported coin on the Spot balance, and wants to spend it without thinking about it. For that person the card does what it says: no annual fee, no top-up fee, free virtual issuance, mobile wallets, and a coffee rebate that comfortably beats the transaction fee.

I would not recommend it as a first card, and I would not recommend it to anyone whose plan depends on cash withdrawals, on published limits, on a stated card currency, or on knowing which licensed institution stands behind the card. Those four are all not stated. You can still get the card, and plenty of people will be perfectly happy with it — but you should be choosing it with those gaps open, not closed.

If you are in the US, in the EEA, or anywhere with a well-established card option in local currency, compare against that first. The comparison table above is the starting point, not the conclusion.

Frequently asked questions

What is the LBank card?

The LBank card is a Visa payment card issued inside the LBank crypto exchange, not a bank card from a bank. There are two products: 8 Card Instant, a virtual card, and 8 Card GO, a physical one. It spends your crypto directly from your LBank Spot account balance, converted at the point of payment. Your funds stay in the exchange account, so the card is a feature of your account rather than a separate product.

Is LBank a bank?

No — LBank is a crypto exchange, not a bank. The card page says “LBank issues the card”, but the issuing bank or e-money institution behind it is not stated, and neither are the licences applying to the card. That matters because a payment card normally sits on somebody’s licence, and you cannot see whose from the public pages. I would not treat this card as a bank account, and I would not treat its balance as a bank deposit.

How do I get the LBank card?

You do it in the app: log in to LBank, open the LBank Card section, enter your identity information and complete security verification. Additional documents may be requested. If your materials are complete, LBank says issuance can take as little as 1 minute. Whether proof of address is required, whether an age check runs, and which KYC tier you land in are all not stated, so expect to be asked for more than the minimum.

Does the LBank card require KYC?

Yes — identity verification is part of the application, and you cannot get the card without it. That is normal and not itself a warning sign: KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and screen them under anti-money-laundering law. The thing to know is that nationality is screened separately from residence, so eligibility depends on your citizenship and country of birth as well as your address, even when you live somewhere the card is available.

How much does the LBank card cost?

Issuance, the annual fee and top-ups are all free on the virtual 8 Card Instant. The physical 8 Card GO charges a “low” issuance fee with no amount stated, and 0 annual and top-up fees. Both cards charge a 0.8% transaction fee. There is also an authorisation fee when you bind a card, charged whether or not binding succeeds, amount not stated. That 0.8% is the number that decides whether this card is worth it for you.

Can I top up the LBank card with fiat?

Not as a published feature. Top-ups run through USDT and other supported cryptocurrencies, deducted automatically from your LBank Spot balance, with no network selection involved. The top-up fee is 0 and fiat top-up is not stated. So if you want to load dollars directly onto the card, the card’s public pages do not describe a way to do it — the model is spending from a crypto balance you already hold.

Does the LBank card work with Apple Pay and Google Pay?

Yes, both are supported, and on the virtual card they are the main reason to have one. When you add the card to Apple Pay, the card number is replaced by a device-specific number stored in your phone’s Secure Element, and each payment carries a one-time security code. The physical 8 Card GO also works at Visa-accepting merchants and covers ATM withdrawals, though the ATM fee and allowance are not stated.

Is the LBank card safe?

Safety here is not one question but two. Losing the physical card does not put your funds at risk, and you can freeze and unfreeze any time through Card Management. But your money is held custodially in the exchange account, which means counterparty risk: Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin Network are the historical reference points. Separately, the issuer and the card’s licences are not stated. Neither fact means something bad will happen; both mean you are taking a risk you should price.

Is the LBank card available in my country?

LBank says the card is available to users outside prohibited countries, with the full list in its User Service Agreement. An earlier check listed the US, mainland China, Canada, Hong Kong SAR, Macao SAR, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria and Sudan. That list is an earlier reading rather than the agreement itself, and country rules can change. The reliable test is what the app tells you after you verify — not a list on a web page, including this one.

How do I delete my LBank account or get my money out?

Freezing or cancelling a card does not affect deposits or withdrawals from your account balance, so a card freeze is a spending control only — and cancellation is permanent, so it is not reversible. Support is stated as 24/7, with [email protected] the address named in company replies on Trustpilot. There is no published account-deletion procedure on the card pages I read, so treat that as something you would have to ask support directly.

Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team