A cheap US virtual card with a 3.8% international surcharge

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Laso Finance is not really a bank account with a card attached. It is a prepaid card, sold in a US version and an international version, that only exists as a virtual card in an app, that you fill with USDC, and that spends that balance like a stored-value card. The US card is free. The international one adds 3.8% on top of whatever you spend. There is no physical card in the mail, no cash machine, and — at least on the account’s own documents — no list of countries it will not issue to.

Laso Finance works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

That combination makes it genuinely interesting for one specific person: someone who already holds stablecoins, cannot or will not open an ordinary bank card in their own name, and wants to spend crypto online without converting to fiat first. For everybody else, the arithmetic is unkind. Paying 3.8% plus, by third-party account, roughly 2% in currency conversion, plus a possible 14% fee with a $10 minimum to get unused money back, is a steep price for the convenience.

I scored it 5.6 out of 10. The reason that number is not lower is the top-up side: USDC over x402 on Base and Solana is a clean, low-friction way to fund a card. The reason it is not higher is everything downstream of that — the spending fees, the missing physical card, the blocked cash machine, the wallet situation, and the fact that Laso does not name the institution that actually issues the card.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 The official API names no restricted countries and the international card is described as having “No fixed list”; a third party reports availability in 170 countries with 26 restricted
Cost 3 / 10 USA card 0%, international card 3.8% on top of the amount; unofficial figures add about 2% FX and a 14% unused-balance refund fee with a $10 minimum; no monthly fee stated
Top-up options 8 / 10 USDC via x402 settling on Base and Solana; unofficial sources list USDC, USDT and DAI across many chains
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Laso Finance LLC in Austin, registered with FinCEN as a money services business, issuer not named; Trustpilot 4.1 with complaints about Apple Pay, region-based account closure, and a bug bounty paused indefinitely as of 21 September 2026
Everyday use 3 / 10 Virtual only; unofficial sources say Apple Pay is not guaranteed, that in October 2026 only Google Pay works, and that ATM withdrawals are blocked
Total 5.6 / 10

Who will they give you the card to

Two products, and the difference matters more than anything else on this page. The USA card is for merchants in the United States, with physical goods shipping to a US address. The International card is for merchants outside the US and for checkouts that are not in dollars. The card’s own documentation says the international card has “No fixed list” of countries, and the official API names no restricted countries at all.

Here is the part you should weigh most carefully, and it comes from third-party sources rather than from Laso. Those sources say the card is available in 170 countries and restricted in 26: Afghanistan, Albania, Belarus, Central African Republic, Cuba, DR Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Myanmar, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, Ukraine, Venezuela, Yemen and Zimbabwe. The same material contains a second claim that the card works in “100+ countries” — but that phrase describes where the international card *is accepted*, not who is eligible to hold it, and the two numbers come from different sources and different months. If you are in a restricted country, or in a country nobody has tested, you are relying on the absence of a published block list rather than on a promise.

The mechanism behind those blocks is worth knowing about, because it explains a specific complaint pattern. The restriction appears to be applied by device fingerprinting — the provider reads signals from your phone to work out where you are, rather than trusting the address you typed. A company reply on Trustpilot in August 2026 described it that way. The practical consequence for you: a travel-writer or remote worker whose device location crosses a boundary can be treated as being somewhere else entirely, and there is no appeal button to press.

On identity, the division of labour is unusual and it decides who can actually hold this. Agents cannot be the account holder. The principal — the human or organisation behind an automated system — completes identity verification personally. Payments through Venmo and PayPal also require identity verification. So if you came here hoping to let a bot or an autonomous agent hold the card in its own name, that door is closed by design; the card is issued to a person who vouches for the agent.

What the card’s public pages do not say is how much documentation you need to buy one. There are no published verification tiers, and the card-purchase document list is not stated. A third-party source says Laso does not require the conventional identity-document upload or credit check for card purchases — but that is not the company’s own claim, and it comes with a rider that changes its meaning: wallet screening, sanctions checks, device fingerprinting and ongoing monitoring still apply. Read that as “less paperwork”, not “no checks”. Sanctions screening in particular is not optional anywhere, and it operates on citizenship as well as residence.

If you want the wider frame for that last point, here is why it is not optional. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, plus a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person determination. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence precisely because sanctions and issuer policy apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as to country of address. If due diligence cannot be completed, rules require the institution to stop rather than proceed, and to end existing relationships where necessary. That is the ordinary reason accounts close.

Fees and what a purchase actually costs

The headline is good and the details are not. The USA card carries a 0% fee. The International card charges 3.8% on top of the on-card amount, and the card notes a promotion can lower that, possibly to zero. No monthly fee is stated. Beyond that, the card states one reassuring thing in writing: “Every fee, no per-authorization or per-decline charges” — no separate charge for each payment attempt, and none when a payment is refused.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Laso Finance payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Then come the numbers that are not from Laso. According to third-party material from August 2026, non-USD spending on the international card carries an FX cost of about 2%, and an unused balance is refunded for a fee of 14% with a $10 minimum, with the international card refundable only if the card was never used. An older Chrome Web Store listing said there was no currency exchange fee at all. These two positions cannot both be current, and neither is confirmed by the card. ATM fees and ATM availability are not stated by Laso; the same third party reports that ATM withdrawals are blocked outright.

Fee or limit What the card states Third-party report
Card issuance USA 0%; International 3.8% on top of the amount, promotion may reduce it —
Monthly fee Not stated —
Conversion Not stated as a separate line FX about 2% on non-USD spending
ATM Not stated Withdrawals blocked
Per-payment charge “Every fee, no per-authorization or per-decline charges” —
Card balance USA $5 to $1,000; International $100 to $1,000 on-card Daily card spend $1,000
Your own caps You set per-payment and rolling 24-hour spend caps —

Now let the fees land on three ordinary payments, because that is the only way to see whether they matter.

A $30 subscription in the United States on the USA card. You convert USDC at market rate, the card spends $30, and the fee is $0 on the card’s own schedule. This is the case the product is genuinely good at. The catch is the $5 minimum card balance and the $1,000 ceiling, and whether the merchant will take a prepaid card at all.

A €24 dinner in Berlin on the International card. The card first adds 3.8% to the amount, so the debit is about $24.91 equivalent. The merchant’s own currency conversion, if it charges one, is separate and not the card’s fee. Neither the 3.8% nor any other fee is free, and only the first is documented by the issuer.

A $12 purchase you make by mistake and then never use the card again. Here the refund terms bite. The international card is refundable only if it was never used, and the reported 14% fee with a $10 minimum means a small leftover balance can cost you a flat $10 to recover. On $12 that is most of the money.

Two more limits shape your planning. The card is USD; the international version is the one for non-US merchants and non-USD checkouts, and the billing address you enter must match the address the merchant sends back. And the size of the balance is bounded: $5 to $1,000 for the USA card, $100 to $1,000 on-card for the international one, with unofficial reports of a $1,000 daily card spend cap. There are no tiers — the USA, international and Canadian cards are separate products, not levels of one product.

The context that makes this pricing normal rather than scandalous: network fees for a deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card company. And there is a structural reason prepaid and foreign-issued cards get refused. A card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that any merchant can look up, and they can see which institution and country issued it — and may apply extra scrutiny when that country differs from the billing address. Address verification compares the numeric parts of the billing address against issuer records, and is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, so it is generally unavailable for a foreign-issued card. Both facts feed directly into the “cards not working at some merchants” complaints below.

Top up: USDC, and which network you send it on

The official answer is narrow and specific: USDC, with x402 payments settling on Base and Solana. International orders are paid in USDC from the agent’s wallet via x402. The top-up fee is USA 0%, International 3.8%, and an international load is $100 to $1,000. Network fees are not stated by the card, and fiat top-up is not stated at all — so on the published material there is no route from a bank account into this card, only a route from stablecoins you already hold.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Laso Finance starts with a transfer to the right network

Third-party sources widen that considerably: USDC, USDT and DAI across Ethereum/EVM, Solana, Stellar, Arbitrum, Polygon, Optimism, Base, BNB Smart Chain and PulseChain. Treat that as useful but unofficial, and treat the network as the part you personally own the risk of. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee attached.

Two specific traps are worth naming because they catch people out with USDC specifically. On Ethereum-style chains, gas is paid only in ETH — so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH in it cannot send anything. And USDC over Tron is not a native option, because Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024. If the address you are copying came from a service that shows a TRC20 version, that is not a supported path.

A further asymmetry catches people: USDT and USDC are both dollar-pegged, and the BIS put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in these two as of July 2025, but stablecoins are not guaranteed to hold their peg. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Nor are they censorship-proof: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. The practical point for a card top-up is narrow — if you hold a volatile asset and it moves between the moment you decide to spend and the moment it settles, the amount that lands on the card is not the amount you expected.

Getting money back out is where this card is least like a normal payment card. Non-reloadable cards expire 6 months after issuance, and the remaining balance is “forfeited to the card issuer (not Laso Finance)” — read that wording carefully, because it tells you the money goes to the bank, not back to you. The reloadable cards, discontinued per a third party, allowed a withdrawal of $2 to $10,000 to a Base wallet, usually within 1 to 3 business days, with no fee listed. Since those are gone, the practical advice is not to treat the balance as savings.

Paying with it every day

Here the picture is thin, and I would rather say so plainly than dress it up.

The card is virtual only — there is no physical card, and nothing is shipped. The USA card appears instantly. International orders are queued and fulfilled manually, “typically within 24 hours”, and you can cancel while the order is queued. That is a reasonable process, but it does mean you cannot cancel after it is issued, and the USA card’s instant issuance is the one part of the flow that feels frictionless.

Mobile wallets are the weak point. The help centre has an “Apple Pay & Google Wallet” collection with four articles; I have not read their contents. What is publicly reported is not reassuring. A company reply on Trustpilot in September 2026 said Apple Pay “depends on device eligibility and isn’t guaranteed”. A reviewer in October 2026 said only Google Pay was available at that time. And third-party material from August 2026 reports that financial-transfer merchant categories are blocked. In practice: add the card to Google Wallet and hope; do not build a routine around Apple Pay.

There is a Chrome extension. I have not read the mobile platform listings, but a third party reports an Apple US App Store rating of 3.9 out of 5 from 11 ratings as of 8 August 2026. Small numbers like that mean little in either direction.

Rewards are not stated officially, and a third party reports no cashback and no points. That is worth internalising rather than treating as a disappointment: this card pays you nothing for spending.

Refunds and disputes sit in a “Withdrawals & Refunds” help collection with five articles covering merchant refunds, reversals, duplicate charges and disputes — contents not read — while the card-lifecycle documentation does not cover disputes at all. And do not assume the protections you know from a US debit card. US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. There is a good general reason declines feel worse than they should: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds that stays for several days, typically up to 7.

One thing the card does document, and it is a genuine protection: your card funds sit on the prepaid card itself, and there is a Laso-custodied Solana wallet for the managed agent wallet, with guardrails that refuse certain external x402 challenges. You also set your own per-payment and rolling 24-hour spend caps, which is the single most useful thing you can do for yourself here.

What can go wrong

The company is Laso Finance LLC, founded March 2023 in Austin, Texas, and registered with FinCEN as a money services business, number 31000328975254. The issuer is not named — the card says “regulated partners”. Earlier third-party material cited Celtic Bank via Stripe Issuing; if that is still accurate it is only an indirect relationship, and it is not confirmed by the card. This matters more than it sounds: Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves. They license issuers and can suspend a programme. So the entity that actually holds your money and answers when a payment goes wrong is one you will have to ask about.

On Trustpilot, read 21 October 2026: 4.1 out of 5 from 22 reviews in the last 12 months, 73% five-star and 14% one-star. Those are decent numbers. The complaints underneath them cluster into four themes, all user reports rather than official statements: Apple Pay promised and not delivered, September to October 2026; an account deleted as a “prohibited region” by fingerprinting, August 2026; cards declined by some merchants, January 2026; and manual balance updates on non-reloadable cards, January to March 2026. Separately, a competitor’s page claims a Laso card stopped working in July 2026 — a single unconfirmed claim, and I would not weight it heavily.

Two official or semi-official items deserve separate emphasis. The bug bounty was paused indefinitely as of 21 September 2026, which is a security posture signal rather than a customer-facing feature, but it is not the sort of thing a healthy payments company does lightly. And reloadable US and International cards were discontinued, by January 2026, with Canadian cards added — that is the single biggest change to the product, and it is why the six-month expiry and the forfeiture clause now apply to the cards you can actually get.

The general risk to understand is that a card programme can simply stop. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. Closures usually follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, but the shape of it is what you would be exposed to.

On the custody side, the choice is simple. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust it completely; with a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, but you carry the whole burden of key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps copied addresses. Neither is free of risk. Custodial platforms have a real record of it — Mt. Gox at about $350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck at about $400 million in 2018, Ronin Network at $625 million in 2022. Transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen key has no built-in recovery.

What to take instead

None of these is a recommendation, and I have deliberately not invented numbers for the ones that do not publish them. CardFlow and HyperCard both score below Laso; Card.fi scores above it. Read the comparison the way you would read a menu where several items have no price on them.

Laso Finance CardFlow HyperCard Card.fi
Score here 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10 6.6 / 10
Who it targets US and international merchants, USDC holders, agents “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”; Nigerians and global users No country list stated Ships to “200+ countries”; bars residents of sanctioned countries
Card Virtual, USD, USA and International versions Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes Prepaid, USD or EUR balance; network not stated on the App Store page Virtual Classic and Premium, physical Classic and Premium, metal; every physical order includes a virtual card
Cost USA 0%, International 3.8% “Creating a virtual card is completely free”; monthly fee not stated Not stated; App Store page lists no fees One-time $49 Virtual Classic, $249 Virtual Premium; physical and metal prices not listed
Top-up USDC via x402 on Base and Solana; unofficial list includes USDT, DAI on ten chains Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated Crypto deposit such as USDT, BTC, ETH, converted to USD or EUR; networks not stated 32 coins across five networks including Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch
Extra fees Unofficial: ~2% FX, 14% unused-balance refund fee with $10 minimum Not stated Not stated on pages I could read Top-up Classic 1.5% + $1.00, Premium 1%; FX Classic 3.5%, Premium 2.5%
Rewards Not stated; unofficial: none Not stated Not stated Cashback on card spending: Classic 0.8%, Premium 1%, Metal 1.2% or 2% with monthly caps; up to 18% on balances

The honest comparison is between different shapes of product. CardFlow is aimed squarely at one market and offers a free virtual Mastercard; if you are in Nigeria, its unstated fees are the thing to chase, not its score. HyperCard publishes almost no fee information at all, and its “more than 176 countries” is an acceptance claim rather than an eligibility one. Card.fi is the only one of the four with a published, itemised fee schedule — and its FX of 3.5% on Classic is worse than what is attributed to Laso’s international card, while its Premium at 2.5% is close. Its rewards are real and its coin list is long, but its one-time $49 or $249 buys a physical card and metal, which is exactly the thing Laso does not offer at all.

If your priority is spending without touching a bank, compare all four on top-up and fee clarity. If your priority is a card in your hand, Card.fi is the only one here that ships one. If your priority is paying software and services agents, Laso is the only one built around USDC settlement by design.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend it to three people, and warn the rest.

Someone already holding USDC who cannot open a normal card. If a prepaid virtual USD card funded from a stablecoin solves a problem an ordinary debit card cannot, this does it at 0% on the US version, with per-payment and daily caps you control, and with the money sitting on the prepaid card rather than in a custodial wallet balance.

Someone paying for things online — software, hosting, subscriptions — in small amounts. The 24-hour order queue on the international card is tolerable when you are not in a hurry, and the $5 to $1,000 balance range suits recurring small charges.

An operator running automated payments. The x402 settlement on Base and Solana is a real piece of engineering, and it is what distinguishes this from every prepaid card on this list. The guardrails on external x402 challenges and the explicit account-owner caps are the kind of detail that suggests someone thought about failure modes.

I would warn anyone planning a month abroad on it: 3.8% plus roughly 2% in currency conversion, no cash machine, and a location check that can close your account mid-trip. I would warn anyone treating it as a place to hold money: six-month expiry, balance forfeited to the issuer, and reloadable cards already gone. And I would warn anyone whose country is on that list of 26 — the restriction is enforced by device fingerprinting, not by a form you fill in, and it is not something the card’s own documentation will tell you about in advance.

The card’s stated audience is users and AI agents paying online with USDC. Read that literally and it tells you the whole product in one line.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Laso Finance card?

It is a prepaid, virtual-only payment card sold in two versions: a USA card for US merchants with goods shipping to a US address, and an International card for merchants outside the US and non-USD checkouts. It is funded with USDC rather than from a bank account, the balance sits on the card, and there is no physical card in the mail. The card’s stated audience is users and AI agents paying online with USDC.

Is Laso Finance a bank?

Not as far as the public record shows. Laso Finance LLC is a company founded in March 2023 in Austin, Texas, registered with FinCEN as a money services business, number 31000328975254. The card itself refers to “regulated partners” and does not name the institution that issues it. So the money sits with an issuer that Laso does not identify publicly.

How much does the Laso Finance card cost?

The USA card charges 0%. The International card adds 3.8% on top of the on-card amount, though the card says a promotion may reduce that, possibly to zero. No monthly fee is stated. Third-party sources add roughly 2% in FX on non-USD spending and a 14% unused-balance refund fee with a $10 minimum. Those unofficial figures are not confirmed by the card.

Does the Laso Finance card require KYC?

Yes, in part. Agents cannot be the account holder — the principal completes identity verification personally, as do Venmo and PayPal payments. No verification tiers are published and the document list for buying a card is not stated. A third party reports that the conventional identity-document upload or credit check is not required for card purchases, while screening, sanctions checks and monitoring still apply.

How do I top up the Laso Finance card?

Officially, with USDC, using x402 payments that settle on Base and Solana, from USA 0% or International 3.8%. An international load runs $100 to $1,000. Third-party sources also list USDT and DAI across Ethereum/EVM, Solana, Stellar, Arbitrum, Polygon, Optimism, Base, BNB Smart Chain and PulseChain. Fiat top-up is not stated, and sending on the wrong network can lose the money outright.

Can I use the Laso Finance card in my country?

It depends on where you are and what you are buying. The card’s own documentation says the international card has “No fixed list” of countries and the official API names no restricted ones. Third parties report availability in 170 countries with 26 restricted, enforced by device fingerprinting rather than by your address. The USA version is for US merchants only, and the international version is for merchants outside the US.

Can I get cash out at an ATM with the Laso Finance card?

Probably not, and that is not officially documented. The card does not state ATM fees or availability. A third-party source from August 2026 reports that ATM withdrawals are blocked outright. The card is virtual and USD-denominated, so treat cash access as unavailable rather than as something to plan around.

Can I add the Laso Finance card to Apple Pay?

Do not count on it. The help centre has an Apple Pay and Google Wallet collection whose contents were not read. A company reply on Trustpilot in September 2026 said Apple Pay depends on device eligibility and is not guaranteed, and a reviewer in October 2026 said only Google Pay was available then. If mobile wallet support matters to you, ask support before you commit to anything.

Is the Laso Finance card safe?

It is a prepaid card holding a limited balance, with per-payment and rolling 24-hour caps you set yourself — that part is genuinely reassuring. Against that, the issuer is not named, the bug bounty was paused indefinitely as of 21 September 2026, non-reloadable cards expire six months after issuance with the balance forfeited to the issuer, and complaints in 2026 include Apple Pay not delivered and accounts closed as a prohibited region. Treat it as a small spending tool, not as a place to hold money.

How do I get money back off a Laso Finance card?

That is the weak point. Non-reloadable cards expire 6 months after issuance, and the remaining balance is forfeited to the card issuer rather than returned by Laso. International card refunds reportedly apply only if the card was never used, with a reported 14% fee and $10 minimum. The old reloadable cards, discontinued by January 2026, allowed a $2 to $10,000 withdrawal to a Base wallet within 1 to 3 business days — but those no longer exist.

Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team