Ultimo card review: a 3.7 out of 10 card with excellent top-ups and very little disclosure

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Verdict: 3.7 out of 10

Three point seven out of ten. That is the number I land on after reading the official pages and then the user reports, and I want to explain it before anything else, because a low score on a crypto card usually means one specific thing: the card’s own pages tell you very little, and the people who have actually used it tell you something worrying.

Ultimo works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Let me be clear about what is behind the number and what is not. This is not a card that fails at being a payment card. It is a Visa Platinum debit card, plastic and virtual, that spends straight from a crypto balance you top up across nine networks. The mechanics are ordinary. What is thin is the transparency around it — no country list, no licence list, no published card fees, no statement of which bank stands behind the plastic, and a Trustpilot record of one review describing cards and funds locked after a domain change.

So who does it suit? On the evidence I have, an experienced crypto user who is comfortable with offshore platforms, who already understands that sending funds to the wrong network can burn them, and who can afford to look the other way on a card fee figure that the official site does not print. That is a narrow group. If you are new to crypto, if you need a card you can defend to your bank, or if the phrase “which country’s regulator has checked this” matters to you, this is not the card.

How the score breaks down

Criterion Mark Why, in short
Who can get it 4 / 10 No countries named on the official pages; Russia and Belarus are not mentioned; unofficially the older Ultimo Pay Platinum is reported blocked in the EU and the UK, and no country list is published
Cost 1 / 10 Card fees are not disclosed officially; exchange is 1.5% all-in; unofficially issuance $450 and $600 total ($450 card plus $150 deposit), another report $550–$600, monthly fee free
Top-up options 9 / 10 BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT “and more” across 9 networks: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base, Avalanche
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Brand “founded in 2026”, registration country and issuing bank not named; a Trustpilot review from August 2026 reports “cards and funds are locked” after the move to the platform’s website
Everyday use 6 / 10 Visa Platinum, plastic delivered in 10-15 banking days plus a virtual card in minutes, cash withdrawal “wherever Visa is accepted”; unofficially Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported
Total 3.7 / 10 Strong funding options, weak disclosure and a live complaint
A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Ultimo starts with a transfer to the right network

Who will they give you the card

The short answer: the official pages do not say. Not one country is named on them. There is no eligibility page saying “available in X countries”, no list of accepted nationalities, no statement about where you must be resident, and no mention of Russia or Belarus either way. If you are trying to answer “can I get one where I live”, the honest position is that the card itself has not told you, and I am not going to guess on its behalf.

There is one piece of context that belongs here, and it is unofficial. The card that came before this one — Ultimo Pay Platinum — is reported as blocked in the EU and the United Kingdom, with reviewers attributing it to sanctions. No country list is published for that either. Two things follow from this. First, if a shop, a bank or a card network treats that older card as problematic, a new brand under the same name may or may not share the treatment. Second, “blocked” is not the same as “everywhere else is fine” — it means somebody, somewhere, decided this card type was too exposed to keep accepting. That decision can be revisited by the network, not just by you.

Here is the part that catches people out. Even if a card will issue to you, that is not the same question as whether a merchant in your country will accept it, and whether your own bank will let you send money to the platform. Those are three separate gates, and passing the first one tells you nothing about the other two. I would hold all three loosely until you have seen them work for someone else.

How to get it

The application is a standard crypto exchange onboarding, or close to it. An identity check is required to open an account, and again before withdrawals. That much is stated. What is not stated: which documents are accepted, whether proof of address is needed, whether there are tiers of verification, and what the review looks like when it fails. Unofficially, an email address, a phone number and an identity document are required, and neither proof of address nor a selfie is required — which lowers the friction, and also tells you that the checks are shallower than most regulated platforms run.

What you get back is a Visa Platinum debit card linked straight to your Ultimo balance. There is a physical card and a virtual card. The virtual one is ready in minutes once the account exists, which is genuinely useful and the reason many people would start here: you can be paying online the same afternoon rather than waiting out the mail. The physical card takes 10-15 banking days to arrive.

Here are the things that should be in that section and are not:

Support is described as chat and email at [email protected], available 24/7 — “any time — day or night”. The web app lives at app.ultimox.io. Store listings and ratings are not stated, which means I cannot tell you what other people rate the app itself.

What it really costs: Fees

Here is the uncomfortable part of this review, and I would rather state it plainly than bury it. The card’s own Fees section lists exchange fees only. The card’s own cost is not stated. You cannot find a number for what the plastic costs, what the balance costs to hold, or what happens when a payment is declined and retried.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Ultimo payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

What is stated is the trading side. Buy and sell is 1.5% all-in, shown up front — and I will say something in that card’s favour, because it is rare: the price is displayed before you confirm. Spot trading is 0.05% maker and 0.10% taker. The card’s foreign-exchange fee is not stated.

The unofficial picture, which the card does not confirm, is a card issuance of $450 and a total setup of $600, made up of a $450 card plus a $150 deposit, with the monthly fee free. Another report in the same review puts issuance at $550–$600. On top of that, one user cites a 3% crypto-to-fiat conversion and 0.75% per card transaction, while another source calls the FX fee free. These figures contradict each other, and I am not going to average them. Treat the whole block as what one third-party site reports, not as the card’s price list.

The cost table, with sources kept apart

Item Officially stated Unofficial report
Card issuance not stated $450; another report $550–$600
Deposit at setup not stated $150, part of a $600 total setup
Monthly fee not stated free
Buy and sell 1.5% all-in, shown up front —
Spot trading 0.05% maker / 0.10% taker —
Conversion crypto to fiat — 3% cited by a Trustpilot user
Per-card-transaction fee not stated 0.75% cited by a Trustpilot user
Foreign-exchange fee not stated free
ATM fee not stated 0.1%
ATM allowance not stated unlimited
Daily, monthly spend and ATM limits not stated all listed as “Unlimited”

Now let me take three ordinary payments and run them against that table, because an abstract fee list tells you nothing.

A coffee. Say the coffee is a few dollars. Under the unofficial 0.75% per-transaction figure, that is a rounding error on top of whatever spread the conversion carries. The coffee is the easy case. The problem is never the coffee.

A weekly shop. Say eighty dollars a week. If the unofficial 3% conversion fee reported by users holds, that is two dollars and forty cents a week, or one hundred twenty-four dollars and eighty cents a year, and it comes out of money you had already decided to spend. If the FX fee is genuinely free as some reports claim, you pay only the conversion. Nobody has published which is true. This is the single number I would want answered before funding anything meaningful.

Anything bought in a currency that is not your balance currency. Here the card’s silence is worst. If the balance is one unit and the shop charges another, something has to convert at some rate, and the card does not say who takes the spread or how big it is. Combined with “unlimited” limits and an unstated currency, this is where a card that looks generous becomes expensive. If the ATM figure of 0.1% holds and there is no hidden allowance, cash is cheap; if the FX side is live, cash at a foreign ATM is the worst version of it.

One more cost that never appears on a fee list but is real: the blockchain network fee on your own deposit. That is charged by the network, not by the card provider, and it comes out of what you send. Sending a small amount on an expensive network can eat a meaningful slice of it.

How to top it up

This is the card’s best category, and it earns its 9 out of 10 easily. The platform supports BTC, ETH, SOL and USDT “and more” over nine networks: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base and Avalanche. That is a genuine spread — nine chains for one balance is more than most competitors offer, and it means you are not forced into whichever network a given coin happens to live on.

Nine networks is also nine ways to make a mistake, and this is where I would spend your attention. Transfers on these chains are irreversible. Send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, and the money can be gone or can need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Two specific traps catch people out. Fees on Ethereum are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send. On Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy and often burn TRX. And USDC over TRC20 is not a native option, because Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024 — that route is closed regardless of what an interface offers you.

The card is linked to the Ultimo balance, but what that means for top-ups specifically is not stated. Unofficially, the top-up fee is free, and one Trustpilot user cites 1% for an immediate USD transfer against free for a 72-hour transfer. That pattern — pay for speed — is normal for this category, and if it holds, the trade is simply your decision about how urgently you need the money.

Withdrawals work differently from top-ups in one respect you should notice: they need a one-time code and an email confirmation, then a routine risk check. Fees for withdrawals are not stated. Unofficially, the withdrawal fee is 0.1% plus 0.001 BTC. The extra confirmation steps are a good sign about how the company treats money moving out — one click is how accounts get drained, and two is better than one.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, the card behaves like a normal Visa Platinum debit card: you tap, insert or type the number, and the balance pays for it. Cash withdrawal is possible “wherever Visa is accepted” — no country list again, just the network’s footprint. There is no rewards structure stated, and unofficially no cashback is listed at all. So the everyday pitch is thin: you are paying a fee to spend money you already hold.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported, unofficially. On a phone-only life that matters enormously, because typing a 16-digit number into a checkout form by hand is exactly the moment you get declined and cannot tell why. It also means no tokenised number in your wallet’s Secure Element, which is one of the better safety properties a modern card can have. It also means one fewer layer between a leaked card number and a fraudulent charge.

Some declines are ordinary and not the card’s fault. Address verification compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with the issuer’s records, and it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — so a mismatch can cause a decline that has nothing to do with your balance. A merchant category code of 7995 covers gambling, and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list differing by issuer. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds for several days, typically up to seven, which is worth remembering before you assume the money is gone.

Dispute handling is not stated. That means the one thing a card is genuinely for when a payment goes wrong — a chargeback, ordered by the issuer with a reason code such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received — is undocumented here. On prepaid cards coverage varies by country and should never be assumed. I would ask this question before I would ask about the FX fee.

What can go wrong

I want to separate two kinds of risk here: the general ones every crypto card carries, and the specific ones that apply to this card.

The general ones are worth knowing plainly. Card programmes get switched off. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. The usual sequence is a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — a single source, unconfirmed, and I include it only to show the shape of the ending.

Custody is the other general risk. The model is not stated here. If the provider holds your keys, you are trusting them completely, and the record of custodial platforms is not encouraging: Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. Unofficially, the custody providers named are BitGo, Shiftmarket and Fireblocks. None of that is a reason to run, but it is the reason a balance you cannot afford to lose should not sit here.

Now the specific risks. On Trustpilot, read on 21 October 2026, the card stands at 3.2 out of 5 from one review — one star, dated 17 August 2026, reporting that cards and funds are locked after the move to the platform’s website. I want to be exact about the weight of that: it is a single user review, it is a user report rather than an established fact, and no official incident announcement was found. But it is also the only measured signal anyone has published, it points at the most damaging failure mode there is — being unable to spend or withdraw money you have already sent — and it lands in the same month as the brand change.

The second specific report is on the older Ultimo Pay card, from 2025-2026 and undated: the card stopped working in the EU and UK, a $600 fee was still charged, support was unreachable, and the account could not be deleted. Again, this is a user report. Again, no official incident was found. But two complaints that both involve money going nowhere and nobody answering is a pattern, not a coincidence.

Then there is the corporate picture, which I find the least reassuring part. The brand is “Ultimo”, and the site says it was founded in 2026. The registration country is not stated. The physical card is described as issued through an offshore bank, unnamed. Named infrastructure partners are BitMEX, Bitget, Deribit, Cobo and Simplex — those are real and substantial names, and I want to give them their due — but no licences are listed. Unofficially, the starting data names Silver Capital Financial s.r.o., and reviews cite a Laos bank, JDB, that was later removed from the partnership.

One piece of category context belongs in this section too. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Behind most cards there is a bank or an e-money institution licensed to issue, and the crypto brand is often just the front that markets it. When a card’s pages do not say which institution stands behind it, you are being asked to be the last step of a chain you cannot see.

And there is the regulatory shape. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023, with its rules on asset-referenced and e-money tokens applying from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period lets providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers and non-compliant entities, and you can check it. A card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, so a crypto card often depends on two licences — and this card lists none.

What to take instead

If the reason you are here is that an ordinary bank card is hard to get, these are the three cards I would look at instead, with the same honesty about what I do not know.

Card Score Who it is for What the card says about itself
Coinbase Card 6.4 / 10 US residents only Available in all US states except Hawaii; zero spending fees and no annual fees; a spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells or trades; crypto converts to US dollars for purchases and ATM withdrawals
OKX 6.2 / 10 EU users, with a licence check Mastercard, euro-denominated virtual debit card linked to OKX Pay; no card fee; no transaction or FX fee; conversion spread quoted at 0.1%
Young Card 5.7 / 10 Cashback shoppers Cashback paid in YNG tokens at a rate set by club tier

Coinbase Card is the one to read first, and the reason is not the score — it is that it is the only card here that says out loud who can have it. Available in all US states except Hawaii, with account opening following the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules. Visa prepaid debit, virtual or physical, spending cash or crypto, with all crypto converted to US dollars for purchases and ATM withdrawals. Zero spending fees and no annual fees, with all fees disclosed in the Cardholder Agreement and User Agreement. You fund it by linking a bank account or depositing part of a paycheck, and a crypto balance held on Coinbase can be spent and converts to USD. Optional crypto rewards on every purchase for US card users, at a variable rate shown in the app, chosen from rotating rewards.

The catch is obvious: if you are outside the United States, this is not for you. And a spread at conversion still applies, so “zero spending fees” is not “zero cost”. What it buys you is disclosure, which is exactly what is missing here.

OKX is the European answer, and it is more transparent than Ultimo on the point that matters most. Card fee: none. No transaction fee, no OKX FX fee. Conversion happens to euro at purchase, with a spread — and here I must flag a genuine conflict: one explainer quotes 0.1% as of May 2026, while the launch press release quoted a 0.4% market spread. The explainer is newer, so it is the one I would believe, but a conflict like that is worth noticing, and it is a reminder to check the current figure yourself. Availability covers the EU plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded; one explainer concludes “entire EEA”, which contradicts itself. The rule is that EEA users are served by OKX Europe Ltd., a MiCAR-licensed entity. The card is a Mastercard euro-denominated virtual debit card linked to OKX Pay, issued via an unnamed European licensed payment provider, and no physical card is mentioned. You fund it with USDC or USDG held in OKX Pay through Convert or an external deposit; other coins must be converted first, there is no auto top-up, and the payment is declined if the balance is insufficient. Cashback is USDG-only — USDC earns none — with monthly caps in euro that run from Regular 2% capped at 10 through to VIP4+ at 10% capped at 1,000; the text says 2-5% while the table says 10%, which is another internal inconsistency to keep in mind.

Young Card is the one I know least about, and I will not dress that up: country, card, cost, fees and funding are all not stated officially. What it does publish is the cashback structure, paid in YNG tokens at a rate set by club tier — Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%, with Bronze and Silver not stated. If you want rewards, read that table. If you want to know whether you can have the card, you will have to find out elsewhere.

Who I would recommend it to

Not to most people, and I would rather say that now than at the end.

I would recommend this card to someone who has been using crypto exchanges for years, who is entirely comfortable holding money on an offshore platform whose licences it does not list, who understands that a nine-network deposit has nine failure modes, and who can treat the whole balance as money that might not come back. For that person the top-up story is genuinely good — nine chains, BTC, ETH, SOL and USDT and more, no stated top-up fee — and a Visa Platinum that works online the same day, from a virtual card, has real value.

For anyone else, the gaps I have described are not minor. A card that does not print its own fee, does not name its issuing bank, does not publish a country list, does not say whether your money is insured or who holds it, does not document dispute handling, and carries a one-star review about locked funds is not a card I would hand to someone who has never held crypto, or to someone who needs their banking to stay quiet. If you are in that group, the alternatives above are better documented even where they are narrower, and I would rather you had fewer options that told you more.

If Ultimo is already what you use, the two things I would do first are small. Check the current terms yourself for the fee and country pages the card has not published, and keep a working balance rather than a large one, because the failure mode reported about this brand is not being able to get money out.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Ultimo card?

Ultimo is a Visa Platinum debit card linked directly to a crypto balance on the Ultimo platform. You fund the balance with crypto and the card spends it, much like a prepaid card. A physical card arrives in 10-15 banking days, and a virtual one is available within minutes of opening an account. The brand describes itself as founded in 2026, with the physical card issued through an unnamed offshore bank.

Is Ultimo a bank?

The official pages do not present it as one. No registration country, issuing bank name or licence list is given. Infrastructure partners named on the site include BitMEX, Bitget, Deribit, Cobo and Simplex, and an unofficial source names Silver Capital Financial s.r.o. and a Laos bank later removed from the partnership. Treat the exact structure as unconfirmed and ask support directly.

Does Ultimo require KYC?

Yes. An identity check is required to open an account and again before withdrawals. The official pages do not state which documents are accepted or whether proof of address is needed. One third-party review says an email, a phone number and an identity document are required, with no proof of address and no selfie — shallower than most regulated platforms.

Is the Ultimo card free?

Not officially. The card’s Fees section lists exchange fees only, and the card’s own cost is not stated. Unofficially, issuance is reported at $450 with a $150 deposit, a $600 total setup, and the monthly fee free; another report puts issuance at $550-$600. At $450 a year of curiosity is an expensive way to find out.

How do I top up the Ultimo card?

The platform supports BTC, ETH, SOL and USDT “and more” across nine networks: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base and Avalanche. Send only on a network the platform supports, since transfers are irreversible and a wrong-network deposit can be lost. Ethereum fees need ETH in the wallet even if you are sending USDT, and USDC on Tron is no longer a native option.

Can I use Ultimo in my country?

The official pages name no countries at all. Unofficially, the older Ultimo Pay Platinum is reported blocked in the EU and the UK, attributed to sanctions, with no country list published. Russia and Belarus are not mentioned either way. If your country matters to you, ask before you send money — and remember that being able to get the card, being able to pay with it locally, and being able to fund it from your bank are three different questions.

Does Ultimo work with Apple Pay and Google Pay?

Not according to the unofficial reports: Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported, and neither is confirmed on the official pages. That matters more than it sounds on a phone-only life, because typing a card number into a checkout is also where declines happen and where you cannot see why. It also means no tokenised card number in your phone’s secure element.

Is Ultimo card safe to use?

I would not call it unsafe; I would call it unverified. There is one Trustpilot review, one star, dated 17 August 2026, reporting cards and funds locked after the move to the platform’s website, and an older undated report about an unreachable support team and no account deletion. No licences, custodian or insurance details are published, and card programmes in this category do get wound down. Start small.

How do I withdraw money from Ultimo?

Withdrawals need a one-time code and an email confirmation, followed by a routine risk check — two steps rather than one, which is better than most. Fees are not stated officially; unofficially the withdrawal fee is 0.1% plus 0.001 BTC. The two reported complaints both involve funds becoming inaccessible, so I would test a small withdrawal before trusting a large balance.

Is the Ultimo card worth it?

At 3.7 out of 10, only in narrow circumstances. The nine-network funding options are excellent and the virtual card is fast, which is genuine value for an experienced crypto user. Against that: no published card fee, no country list, no named issuing bank or licence, no documented dispute handling, and a one-star locked-funds report. For a first card, an alternative with published fees and a clear eligibility rule is the safer buy.

Content created by the «cryptocardpicker» team